DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/591,087 filed on October 17, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) is submitted on 11/1/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. According, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the term Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step” or “module” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Wi-Fi module in claims 1 and 11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verisure (WO 2024149462 A1), in view of Biffert et al. (US 20220200519 A1 and Biffert hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Verisure teaches a pet tracking device to be worn by a pet (Figure 1 and Page 7; an autonomously powered wearable pet tracking device 104 which may be integrated into, or carried on, a collar 106 or harness), comprising:
a Bluetooth scanner (Page 12; the device includes transceiver arrangement 214 that includes additional transceivers to support other communications protocols such as Bluetooth), monitor a status of a presence or an absence of Bluetooth beacons within a predefined area (Page 15; The tracking device 104 may be set up to transmit an alert, as distinct from merely a location and presence report, such an alert may be transmitted in the event that the device determines that it is outside a predefined zone set up by the user. That is, an alert may be transmitted on the detection of such a movement away from a safe place, rather than merely tracking information (location and presence) being transmitted).
a Wi-Fi module to connect to a wireless network to communicate the status (Pages 7 and 8; the wearable pet tracking device 104 may be configured to transmit its reports using Wi-Fi, provided that a Wi-Fi network with a known SSID and sufficient signal strength (e.g. better than -67 dBm) is available) with a cloud-based server (Page 8; the reports from the tracking device 104 are preferably directed towards a networked storage arrangement (e.g. one or more servers in the cloud) 116 which functions as a tracking system backend from where they are optionally pushed to a device, such as a smart phone 118, of the pet’s owner(s)),
a cellular modem to communicate the status with the cloud-based server (Page 8; the reports from the tracking device 104 are preferably directed towards a networked storage arrangement (e.g. one or more servers in the cloud) 116) when the device is outside a range of the wireless network (Pages 7 and 8; when both Bluetooth communication and Wi-Fi communication is not available, tracking device 104 may be configured to use a cellular network (e.g. a PLMN using LTE, 3GPP 3G, 4G or 5G, CDMA, optionally falling back to 2G/GPRS/Edge if necessary) via local wireless base stations 114 to transmit the reports), and
a GPS receiver to obtain location data of a pet wearing the device (Page 9; the device 104 determine its location maybe one or more first locations based on the position of the device with respect to one or more geofences. The geo fences may be established based on data from a satellite navigation (GNSS) function such as GPS embodied in the device 104, and/or using received signal strengths from one or more wireless networks) and communicate the location data (Page 6; pet tracking device may be configured to provide location and presence reports periodically, and the periodicity of the reports may be varied depending upon the location of the pet. Page 7; tracking device 104 is configured to determine its own location, for example using a GNSS receiver to determine location based on transmissions received from satellites 108) with the cloud-based server (Page 8; the reports from the tracking device 104 are preferably directed towards a networked storage arrangement (e.g. one or more servers in the cloud) 116).
Verisure does not explicitly teach a Bluetooth scanner to monitor a status of a presence or an absence of Bluetooth beacons within a predefined area. In an analogous art, Biffert teaches a Bluetooth scanner to monitor a status of a presence or an absence of Bluetooth beacons within a predefined area (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0040; a plurality of local sensors and transceivers 34 located in an area under management. Figure 6 and Paragraph 0110; the tags 20 attached to individual livestock C5, C6, and C7 are within Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range of each other and a second local sensor 34. It will be appreciated that as used in this description, “Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range” refers to the range within which the Bluetooth or LPWAN signal strength is sufficient to establish and maintain reliable communication). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verisure and Biffert because it would assist detecting, tracking, and responding to livestock location and activity, and for determining livestock behavior and physical conditions correlated thereto (Biffert, Paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Verisure teaches LED indicators to illuminate to signal a state or event (Page 14; device 104 may preferably include one or more visual indicators 226, for example one or more LED indicators to indicate status (e.g. off/on), battery condition, and optionally to act as a beacon useful in locating a lost pet. For example, the device may include a single RGB LED to indicate status in the event that the pet is lost (the device having received a command to illuminate the beacon)).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, as described above. Further, Verisure teaches the LED indicators to illuminate when the pet wearing the device is lost (Page 14; device 104 may preferably include one or more visual indicators 226, for example one or more LED indicators to indicate status (e.g. off/on), battery condition, and optionally to act as a beacon useful in locating a lost pet. For example, the device may include a single RGB LED to indicate status in the event that the pet is lost).
Further, Biffert teaches the pet wearing the device is out of range of the Bluetooth beacons (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0110; the tags 20 attached to individual livestock C5, C6, and C7 are within Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range of each other and a second local sensor 34. However, none of the tags 20 attached to C1, C2, C3, and C4 are within Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range of any of the tags 20 attached to C5, C6, or C7. It will be appreciated that as used in this description, “Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range” refers to the range within which the Bluetooth or LPWAN signal strength is sufficient to establish and maintain reliable communication). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verisure and Biffert because it would assist detecting, tracking, and responding to livestock location and activity, and for determining livestock behavior and physical conditions correlated thereto (Biffert, Paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, as described above. Further, Verisure teaches the LED indicators to illuminate (Page 14; device 104 may preferably include one or more visual indicators 226, for example one or more LED indicators to indicate status (e.g. off/on), battery condition, and optionally to act as a beacon useful in locating a lost pet).
In addition, Biffert teaches the LED indicators to illuminate in specific patterns or colors to signal different states or events (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0186; tag 20 can receive data, parameters, or other information related to an action commanded by an alarm or alert, cause the LED 64 to blink on and off in a particular pattern, or to cause the tone generator to play a particular tone or sound sample). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verisure and Biffert because it would assist detecting, tracking, and responding to livestock location and activity, and for determining livestock behavior and physical conditions correlated thereto (Biffert, Paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Verisure teaches the device to activate an alert mode when pet wearing the device is lost (Page 15; The tracking device 104 may be set up to transmit an alert, as distinct from merely a location and presence report, such an alert may be transmitted in the event that the device determines that it is outside a predefined zone set up by the user. That is, an alert may be transmitted on the detection of such a movement away from a safe place, rather than merely tracking information (location and presence) being transmitted).
In addition, Biffert teaches when the device detects a drop in received signal strength from the Bluetooth beacons below a threshold or the device no longer detects the Bluetooth beacons (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0110; the tags 20 attached to individual livestock C5, C6, and C7 are within Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range of each other and a second local sensor 34. However, none of the tags 20 attached to C1, C2, C3, and C4 are within Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range of any of the tags 20 attached to C5, C6, or C7. It will be appreciated that as used in this description, “Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range” refers to the range within which the Bluetooth or LPWAN signal strength is sufficient to establish and maintain reliable communication). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verisure and Biffert because it would assist detecting, tracking, and responding to livestock location and activity, and for determining livestock behavior and physical conditions correlated thereto (Biffert, Paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 5, as described above. Further, Verisure teaches the alert mode (Page 15; The tracking device 104 may be set up to transmit an alert, as distinct from merely a location and presence report, such an alert may be transmitted in the event that the device determines that it is outside a predefined zone set up by the user. That is, an alert may be transmitted on the detection of such a movement away from a safe place, rather than merely tracking information (location and presence) being transmitted).
In addition, Biffert teaches the alert mode to trigger activation of an LED indicator of the device (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0186; tag 20 can receive data, parameters, or other information related to an action commanded by an alarm or alert, cause the LED 64 to blink on and off in a particular pattern, or to cause the tone generator to play a particular tone or sound sample). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verisure and Biffert because it would assist detecting, tracking, and responding to livestock location and activity, and for determining livestock behavior and physical conditions correlated thereto (Biffert, Paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 5, as described above. Further, Verisure teaches the alert mode to trigger transmission of a text message alert to a predefined recipient, the message to provide the location data of the pet wearing the device (Page 5; if a tracked pet is detected to have left a safe location or area (e.g., a safe geofenced area) push notifications may appear on the owner’s smart device showing the location and identity (e.g. name) of the pet, along with any route information. Page 8; the reports from the tracking device 104 are preferably directed towards a networked storage arrangement (e.g. one or more servers in the cloud) 116 which functions as a tracking system backend from where they are optionally pushed to a device, such as a smart phone 118, of the pet’s owner(s)).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Verisure teaches a rechargeable battery (Page 12; the device 104 is powered by an autonomous power supply, here shown in the form of a battery 220, preferably rechargeable battery).
In addition, Biffert teaches the device to monitor a charge level of the battery and provide notification when recharging is needed (Figure 6 and Paragraphs 0052 and 0114; each tag 20 can be adapted and configured to receive all or a subset of the livestock-related and/or other data, e.g., operational data, of each other tag 20 in a dynamic local mesh network and to transmit all or a subset of its own livestock-related and/or other data to every other tag 20 in the network. Operational data can include for example, but is not limited to, signal strength, stored power level (e.g., battery level or voltage level), and operating condition data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verisure and Biffert because it would assist detecting, tracking, and responding to livestock location and activity, and for determining livestock behavior and physical conditions correlated thereto (Biffert, Paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Verisure teaches the device to regularly send a status update to the cloud-based server (Page 8; the reports from the tracking device 104 are preferably directed towards a networked storage arrangement (e.g. one or more servers in the cloud) 116 which functions as a tracking system backend from where they are optionally pushed to a device, such as a smart phone 118, of the pet’s owner(s)) when the pet wearing the device moves out of safe area (Page 5; if a tracked pet is detected to have left a safe location or area (e.g., a safe geofenced area) push notifications may appear on the owner’s smart device showing the location and identity (e.g. name) of the pet, along with any route information. Page 6; pet tracking device may be configured to provide location and presence reports periodically, and the periodicity of the reports may be varied depending upon the location of the pet. Page 15; The tracking device 104 may be set up to transmit an alert, as distinct from merely a location and presence report, such an alert may be transmitted in the event that the device determines that it is outside a predefined zone set up by the user. That is, an alert may be transmitted on the detection of such a movement away from a safe place, rather than merely tracking information (location and presence) being transmitted).
In addition, Biffert teaches status about the presence or the absence of the Bluetooth beacons (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0110; the tags 20 attached to individual livestock C5, C6, and C7 are within Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range of each other and a second local sensor 34. However, none of the tags 20 attached to C1, C2, C3, and C4 are within Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range of any of the tags 20 attached to C5, C6, or C7. It will be appreciated that as used in this description, “Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range” refers to the range within which the Bluetooth or LPWAN signal strength is sufficient to establish and maintain reliable communication). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verisure and Biffert because it would assist detecting, tracking, and responding to livestock location and activity, and for determining livestock behavior and physical conditions correlated thereto (Biffert, Paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Verisure teaches a power switch to enable manual activation and deactivation of the device (Page 14; the device 104 may further include one or more input devices 232, for example in the form of a switch, such as a mechanical switch the responds to mechanical force applied by user for use in activating the device, selecting operating modes, and the like).
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1. Further, Verisure teaches a pet locating system (Figure 1), comprising:
a pet tracking device to be worn by a pet (Figure 1 and Page 7; an autonomously powered wearable pet tracking device 104 which may be integrated into, or carried on, a collar 106 or harness).
Verisure does not explicitly teach a plurality of Bluetooth beacons within a predefined area. In an analogous art, Biffert teaches a plurality of Bluetooth beacons within a predefined area (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0040; a plurality of local sensors and transceivers 34 located in an area under management). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verisure and Biffert because it would assist detecting, tracking, and responding to livestock location and activity, and for determining livestock behavior and physical conditions correlated thereto (Biffert, Paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, as described above. Claim 12 recites similar features as claim 5, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 12, as described above. Claim 13 recites similar features as claim 6, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 12, as described above. Claim 14 recites similar features as claim 7, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Verisure teaches a method of tracking a pet with a wearable device (Figure 1), comprising:
monitoring, with the device, the presence of pet wearing the device within a predefined area (Page 15; The tracking device 104 may be set up to transmit an alert, as distinct from merely a location and presence report, such an alert may be transmitted in the event that the device determines that it is outside a predefined zone set up by the user. That is, an alert may be transmitted on the detection of such a movement away from a safe place, rather than merely tracking information (location and presence) being transmitted);
communicating, from the device, a status of the monitoring (Page 5; if a tracked pet is detected to have left a safe location or area (e.g., a safe geofenced area) push notifications may appear on the owner’s smart device showing the location and identity (e.g. name) of the pet, along with any route information. Page 6; pet tracking device may be configured to provide location and presence reports periodically, and the periodicity of the reports may be varied depending upon the location of the pet. Page 15; The tracking device 104 may be set up to transmit an alert, as distinct from merely a location and presence report, such an alert may be transmitted in the event that the device determines that it is outside a predefined zone set up by the user. That is, an alert may be transmitted on the detection of such a movement away from a safe place, rather than merely tracking information (location and presence) being transmitted) to a cloud server Page 8; the reports from the tracking device 104 are preferably directed towards a networked storage arrangement (e.g. one or more servers in the cloud) 116 which functions as a tracking system backend from where they are optionally pushed to a device, such as a smart phone 118, of the pet’s owner(s);
activating, with the cloud server based on the status of the monitoring, an alert mode when a pet wearing the device is out of range of a safe area (Page 15; The tracking device 104 may be set up to transmit an alert, as distinct from merely a location and presence report, such an alert may be transmitted in the event that the device determines that it is outside a predefined zone set up by the user. That is, an alert may be transmitted on the detection of such a movement away from a safe place, rather than merely tracking information (location and presence) being transmitted); and
providing, from the device via the cloud server, GPS location data of the pet wearing the device (Page 9; the device 104 determine its location maybe one or more first locations based on the position of the device with respect to one or more geofences. The geo fences may be established based on data from a satellite navigation (GNSS) function such as GPS embodied in the device 104, and/or using received signal strengths from one or more wireless networks) to a predefined recipient (Page 8; the reports from the tracking device 104 are preferably directed towards a networked storage arrangement (e.g. one or more servers in the cloud) 116 which functions as a tracking system backend from where they are optionally pushed to a device, such as a smart phone 118, of the pet’s owner(s)).
Verisure does not explicitly teach monitoring the presence of Bluetooth beacons; and the device is out of range of the Bluetooth beacons. In an analogous art, Biffert teaches monitoring the presence of Bluetooth beacons (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0040; a plurality of local sensors and transceivers 34 located in an area under management); and the device is out of range of the Bluetooth beacons (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0110; the tags 20 attached to individual livestock C5, C6, and C7 are within Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range of each other and a second local sensor 34. However, none of the tags 20 attached to C1, C2, C3, and C4 are within Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range of any of the tags 20 attached to C5, C6, or C7. It will be appreciated that as used in this description, “Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range” refers to the range within which the Bluetooth or LPWAN signal strength is sufficient to establish and maintain reliable communication). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verisure and Biffert because it would assist detecting, tracking, and responding to livestock location and activity, and for determining livestock behavior and physical conditions correlated thereto (Biffert, Paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 15, as described above. Further, Biffert teaches monitoring the presence of the Bluetooth beacons with a Bluetooth scanner of the device (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0110; the tags 20 attached to individual livestock C5, C6, and C7 are within Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range of each other and a second local sensor 34. However, none of the tags 20 attached to C1, C2, C3, and C4 are within Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range of any of the tags 20 attached to C5, C6, or C7. It will be appreciated that as used in this description, “Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range” refers to the range within which the Bluetooth or LPWAN signal strength is sufficient to establish and maintain reliable communication). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verisure and Biffert because it would assist detecting, tracking, and responding to livestock location and activity, and for determining livestock behavior and physical conditions correlated thereto (Biffert, Paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 15, as described above. Further, Verisure teaches communicating the status of the monitoring to the cloud server (Page 8; the reports from the tracking device 104 are preferably directed towards a networked storage arrangement (e.g. one or more servers in the cloud) 116 which functions as a tracking system backend from where they are optionally pushed to a device, such as a smart phone 118, of the pet’s owner(s)) via a Wi-Fi module of the device, the Wi-Fi module to connect to a wireless network (Pages 7 and 8; the wearable pet tracking device 104 may be configured to transmit its reports using Wi-Fi, provided that a Wi-Fi network with a known SSID and sufficient signal strength (e.g. better than -67 dBm) is available).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 17, as described above. Further, Verisure teaches when the device is outside a range of the wireless network, communicating the status of the monitoring to the cloud server (Page 8; the reports from the tracking device 104 are preferably directed towards a networked storage arrangement (e.g. one or more servers in the cloud) 116 which functions as a tracking system backend from where they are optionally pushed to a device, such as a smart phone 118, of the pet’s owner(s)) via a cellular modem of the device (Pages 7 and 8; when both Bluetooth communication and Wi-Fi communication is not available, tracking device 104 may be configured to use a cellular network (e.g. a PLMN using LTE, 3GPP 3G, 4G or 5G, CDMA, optionally falling back to 2G/GPRS/Edge if necessary) via local wireless base stations 114 to transmit the reports)).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 15, as described above. Claim 19 recites similar features as claim 3, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Verisure and Biffert teaches all of the limitations of claim 15, as described above. Further, Verisure teaches sending an alert notification to the predefined recipient when the pet wearing the device is out of range of the safe zone (Page 15; The tracking device 104 may be set up to transmit an alert, as distinct from merely a location and presence report, such an alert may be transmitted in the event that the device determines that it is outside a predefined zone set up by the user. That is, an alert may be transmitted on the detection of such a movement away from a safe place, rather than merely tracking information (location and presence) being transmitted), the alert notification including the GPS location data of the pet wearing the device (Page 5; if a tracked pet is detected to have left a safe location or area (e.g., a safe geofenced area) push notifications may appear on the owner’s smart device showing the location and identity (e.g. name) of the pet, along with any route information. Page 8; the reports from the tracking device 104 are preferably directed towards a networked storage arrangement (e.g. one or more servers in the cloud) 116 which functions as a tracking system backend from where they are optionally pushed to a device, such as a smart phone 118, of the pet’s owner(s)).
In addition, Biffert teaches out of range of the Bluetooth beacons (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0110; the tags 20 attached to individual livestock C5, C6, and C7 are within Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range of each other and a second local sensor 34. However, none of the tags 20 attached to C1, C2, C3, and C4 are within Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range of any of the tags 20 attached to C5, C6, or C7. It will be appreciated that as used in this description, “Bluetooth or LPWAN signal range” refers to the range within which the Bluetooth or LPWAN signal strength is sufficient to establish and maintain reliable communication). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verisure and Biffert because it would assist detecting, tracking, and responding to livestock location and activity, and for determining livestock behavior and physical conditions correlated thereto (Biffert, Paragraph 0003).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Daoura et al. (US 20240362994 A1) discloses tracking devices for finding lost pets, and for activating one or more alerts activated.
Ehrman et al. (US 20210045353 A1) discloses pet collars configured to determine its geolocational position and evaluate that position with respect to the geo-fence of a predetermined, geo-fenced, and if outside the geo-fence, alert the owner and provide warning corrections to the pet.
Conclusion
/Jing Gao/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647