DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Request for Continued Examination
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s argument filed on 08/11/2026 with respect claims 1, 14, 29, and 30 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant contends that the office action fails to teach or suggest the limitation of "transmit an indication to group code blocks of the plurality of code blocks of the transport block into a plurality of code block groups for feedback reporting."
Examiner directs the applicant’s attention that during examination, a claim must be given its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2111). Therefore, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts that Chen et al. (US 2014/0053049 A1) in paragraphs [0033]-[0035], and Fig. 2 teaches the such limitation. For example, in an aspect, user equipment 102 and network entity 104 may communicate by transmitting and/or receiving one or more data packets to or from the other device. In an aspect, each of such packets may be split into at least one transport block (TB), which may be further broken down into at least one code block (CB). In an aspect, these code blocks may be received by a receiving device (e.g., user equipment 102 or network entity 104), which may decode the received code blocks at decoding manager 106. See paragraph [0033].
In a further aspect, user equipment 102 and/or network entity may be configured to encode transport blocks for transmission to a receiving device. FIG. 2 illustrates a non-limiting example structure of a transport block and its encoding. For example, at stage 206, the transport block may be a unitary block of bits carrying information to be transmitted by a transmitting device. In an aspect, the transport block 202 may undergo cyclic redundancy check (CRC) encoding, wherein an encoding component of the transmitting device may append one or more CRC bits 204 to transport block 202 at stage 208. These CRC bits may serve as an error detection mechanism at the receiving device. For example, the CRC bits (or any other type of error-detection information) may be received and decoded at the receiving device and can help the receiving device to determine whether the data in the transport block 202 has been correctly received. See paragraph [0034].
Next, the transmitting device may break the transport block-CRC of stage 208 into code blocks at stage 210. In an aspect, these code blocks may comprise M code blocks and may therefore include code block 1 to code block M. Furthermore, each code block may undergo turbo encoding, for example, by a turbo encoder to form separate turbo codewords at stage 212. Thereafter, in an aspect, each of these turbo codewords of stage 212 may be transmitted, for example, in a single subframe, to the receiving device. See paragraph [0035].
Furthermore, comparing component 308 may output the result of the comparison to one or more other components of decoding manager 106, such as, but not limited to decoder decision engine 314. In an aspect, decoder decision engine 314 may be configured to determine, based on at least the result of the comparison of reliability indicator 310 and reliability threshold 312, whether to decode one or more subsequent received code blocks of the transport blocks and/or whether to alter a number of decoding iterations associated with a current or future code block. In a related aspect, where subsequent code block decoding is permitted to continue, decoder decision engine 314 may determine the next code block to be decoded and/or the altered number of decoding iterations to be applied to a current code block or subsequent transport block. Alternatively, decoder decision engine 314 may be configured to determine whether transport block retransmission is permitted--and where retransmission is permitted, may be configured to command a retransmission component 316 of decoding manager 106 to transmit a retransmission request to the transmitting device. See paragraph [0040]. Also see Fig. 2 printed below for your convenience.
As been described above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Chen teach or suggest transmit an indication to group code blocks of the plurality of code blocks of the transport block into a plurality of code block groups for feedback reporting since the each of such packets [group code blocks] may be split into transport blocks (TBs) [a plurality of code block groups]. Also, as shown above in Fig. 2 it’s clear that the transport block-CRC 208 is grouped into code blocks 210, and the code blocks 210 are grouped into a distinct or separate subset of code blocks [turbo codewords 212]. “Emphasis added.”
Also, the applicant contends that the office action fails to teach or suggest the limitation of " receive a respective acknowledgement or negative-acknowledgement for each code block group of the plurality of code block groups based at least in part on the indication."
Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts that Chen et al. (US 2014/0053049 A1) in paragraphs [0006], [0097], and [0099] the such limitation. For example, upon receipt of the CBs, the receiving device places each of the code blocks into a receiver queue and decodes each of the code blocks that comprise the transport block individually. However, each of the code blocks do not contain cyclic redundancy check (CRC) information corresponding to the code block itself or the transport block of which it is a part. Instead, the CRC information is typically appended to one (or only a few) of the code blocks of a transport block. Thus, in legacy systems, to decode a full transport block with multiple code blocks and perform a CRC to ensure that the transport block has been successfully received, the receiving device must implement a brute-force approach to decoding and CRC procedures. This brute force implementation may require that a turbo decoder at the receiver decode each of the code blocks in the transport block multiple times (also referred to as "at full iterations"), such as, for example, during one or more decoding iterations that may occur at one or more of a first transmission of the transport block and any possible retransmission of the transport block. See paragraph [0006].
At the UE 1150, a receiver 1154 receives the downlink transmission through an antenna 1152 and processes the transmission to recover the information modulated onto the carrier. The information recovered by the receiver 1154 is provided to a receive frame processor 1160, which parses each frame, and provides information from the frames to a channel processor 1194 and the data, control, and reference signals to a receive processor 1170. The receive processor 1170 then performs the inverse of the processing performed by the transmit processor 1120 in the Node B 1110. More specifically, the receive processor 1170 descrambles and despreads the symbols, and then determines the most likely signal constellation points transmitted by the Node B 1110 based on the modulation scheme. These soft decisions may be based on channel estimates computed by the channel processor 1194. The soft decisions are then decoded and deinterleaved to recover the data, control, and reference signals. The CRC codes are then checked to determine whether the frames were successfully decoded. The data carried by the successfully decoded frames will then be provided to a data sink 1172, which represents applications running in the UE 1150 and/or various user interfaces (e.g., display). Control signals carried by successfully decoded frames will be provided to a controller/processor 1190. When frames are unsuccessfully decoded by the receiver processor 1170, the controller/processor 1190 may also use an acknowledgement (ACK) and/or negative acknowledgement (NACK) protocol to support retransmission requests for those frames. See paragraph [0097].
The uplink transmission is processed at the Node B 1110 in a manner similar to that described in connection with the receiver function at the UE 1150. A receiver 1135 receives the uplink transmission through the antenna 1134 and processes the transmission to recover the information modulated onto the carrier. The information recovered by the receiver 1135 is provided to a receive frame processor 1136, which parses each frame, and provides information from the frames to the channel processor 1144 and the data, control, and reference signals to a receive processor 1138. The receive processor 1138 performs the inverse of the processing performed by the transmit processor 1180 in the UE 1150. The data and control signals carried by the successfully decoded frames may then be provided to a data sink 1139 and the controller/processor, respectively. If some of the frames were unsuccessfully decoded by the receive processor, the controller/processor 1140 may also use an acknowledgement (ACK) and/or negative acknowledgement (NACK) protocol to support retransmission requests for those frames. See paragraph [0099].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that each code back group has been transmitted in a single frame or subframe, and Chem describes that each of these turbo codewords of stage 212 may be transmitted, for example, in a single subframe, to the receiving device. See in paragraph [0035]. “Emphases added.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
103(a) are summarized as follows:
5. Claims 1-9, 11-22, and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2014/0053049 A1) "herein after as Chen" in view of Lin (US 2019/0386781).
As per claims 1, 14, 29, and 30:
Chen substantially teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor, with instructions stored in the at least one memory, the instructions being executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to (see paragraph [0013], herein the present disclosure describes an apparatus for wireless communication, which includes at least one processor and a memory coupled to the at least one processor. In addition, the at least one processor is configured to decode a code block from a plurality of code blocks corresponding to a transport block): transmit a transport block that comprises a plurality of code blocks (see paragraph [0034], herein user equipment 102 and/or network entity may be configured to encode transport blocks for transmission to a receiving device. FIG. 2 illustrates a non-limiting example structure of a transport block and its encoding. For example, at stage 206, the transport block may be a unitary block of bits carrying information to be transmitted by a transmitting device; paragraph [0035], herein the transmitting device may break the transport block-CRC of stage 208 into code blocks at stage 210; and Fig. 2); transmit an indication to group code blocks of the plurality of code blocks of the transport block for feedback reporting (see paragraph [0081], herein Among these physical channels, the HS-DPCCH carries the HARQ ACK/NACK signaling on the uplink to indicate whether a corresponding packet transmission was decoded successfully), wherein: a first set of code blocks of the plurality of code blocks are grouped into one or more code block groups comprising a first quantity of code blocks, a second set of code blocks of the plurality of code blocks are grouped into one or more code block groups comprising a second quantity of code blocks, each code block group comprises a distinct subset of code blocks of the plurality of code blocks,(see paragraph [0035], herein these code blocks may comprise M code blocks and may therefore include code block 1 to code block M. Furthermore, each code block may undergo turbo encoding, for example, by a turbo encoder to form separate turbo codewords at stage 212, and Fig. 2 separate turbo codeword 1 & 2 turbo codeword 2); and receive a respective acknowledgement or negative-acknowledgement for each code block group of the plurality of code block groups based at least in part on the indication (see paragraph [0097], herein the CRC codes are then checked to determine whether the frames were successfully decoded. The data carried by the successfully decoded frames will then be provided to a data sink 1172, which represents applications running in the UE 1150 and/or various user interfaces (e.g., display). Control signals carried by successfully decoded frames will be provided to a controller/processor 1190. When frames are unsuccessfully decoded by the receiver processor 1170, the controller/processor 1190 may also use an acknowledgement (ACK) and/or negative acknowledgement (NACK) protocol to support retransmission requests for those frames; and paragraph [0099]).
Chen does not explicitly teach each code block group of the one or more code block groups comprising the first quantity of code blocks comprises a same number of code blocks.
However, Lin in same field of endeavor teaches each code block group of the one or more code block groups comprising the first quantity of code blocks comprises a same number of code blocks (see paragraph [0005], herein determining, by a terminal device, first quantity information, wherein the first quantity information is information about a number of code block groups included in a transport block, and each code block group includes at least one code block, paragraph [0061], S110, the first quantity information is used to indicate the number of the code block groups included in the scheduled transport block. Or it can be understood that the first quantity information is used to indicate the number of code block groups that the scheduled transport block is divided into, and Figs.1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the communication system of Chen with the teachings of Lin by including the first quantity of code blocks comprises a same number of code blocks.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the first quantity of code blocks comprises a same number of code blocks would have improved control signaling demodulation performance, and improve system efficiency (see paragraph [0004] of Lin).
As per claims 2 and 15:
Chen teaches that wherein: the acknowledgement indicates that code blocks within a code block group were successfully decoded; and the negative-acknowledgement indicates that at least one code block in a code block group was not successfully decoded (see paragraph [0097], herein The CRC codes are then checked to determine whether the frames were successfully decoded. The data carried by the successfully decoded frames will then be provided to a data sink 1172, which represents applications running in the UE 1150 and/or various user interfaces (e.g., display). Control signals carried by successfully decoded frames will be provided to a controller/processor 1190. When frames are unsuccessfully decoded by the receiver processor 1170, the controller/processor 1190 may also use an acknowledgement (ACK) and/or negative acknowledgement (NACK) protocol to support retransmission requests for those frames).
As per claims 3, 16, and 28:
Chen teaches that the instructions being executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to further cause the apparatus to: transmit an indication of a number of code block groups to be formed, wherein code blocks of the plurality of code blocks are grouped based at least in part on the indication of the number of code block groups to be formed (see paragraph [0099], herein If some of the frames were unsuccessfully decoded by the receive processor, the controller/processor 1140 may also use an acknowledgement (ACK) and/or negative acknowledgement (NACK) protocol to support retransmission requests for those frames).
As per claims 4 and 17:
Chen teaches that wherein adjacent sets of two or more code blocks of the plurality of code blocks are within a same code block group (see paragraph [0035], herein transmitting device may break the transport block-CRC of stage 208 into code blocks at stage 210. In an aspect, these code blocks may comprise M code blocks and may therefore include code block 1 to code block M, and Fig. 2).
As per claims 5 and 18:
Chen teaches that wherein the adjacent sets of two or more code blocks of the plurality of code blocks are adjacent in a time domain or a frequency domain (see paragraph [0056], herein the receiving device (e.g., utilizing decoder 304) may decode or attempt to decode a code block a plurality of times; and paragraph [0078]).
As per claims 6 and 19:
Chen teaches that wherein a code block group comprises multiple code blocks (see paragraph [0035], herein each code block may undergo turbo encoding, for example, by a turbo encoder to form separate turbo codewords at stage 212, and Fig. 2).
As per claims 7, 20, and 29:
Chen teaches that the instructions being executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to further cause the apparatus to: identify a grouping of the code blocks of the plurality of code blocks based at least in part on a type of service associated with the transport block, or a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) used to transmit the transport block, or any combination thereof (see paragraph [0087], herein for MIMO systems utilizing n transmit antennas, n transport blocks may be transmitted simultaneously over the same carrier utilizing the same channelization code. Note that the different transport blocks sent over the n transmit antennas may have the same or different modulation and coding schemes from one another).
As per claims 8 and 21:
Chen teaches that wherein the second set of code blocks comprises a remaining set of code blocks that are distributed to one code block group comprising the second quantity of code blocks (see paragraph [0028], herein the receiving device may skip the decoding of the remaining code blocks of the same transport block and/or decode subsequent code blocks of the transport block at a reduced number of iterations).
As per claims 9 and 22:
Chen teaches that wherein at least one of the code blocks of the plurality of code blocks is included in two or more code block groups of a first plurality of code block groups, wherein the one or more code block groups of the first quantity of code blocks comprises the first plurality of code block groups (see paragraph [0035], herein the transmitting device may break the transport block-CRC of stage 208 into code blocks at stage 210. In an aspect, these code blocks may comprise M code blocks and may therefore include code block 1 to code block M. Furthermore, each code block may undergo turbo encoding, for example, by a turbo encoder to form separate turbo codewords at stage 212, and Fig. 2).
As per claims 11 and 24:
Chen teaches that wherein each code block of the plurality of code blocks is distributed to a different combination of code block groups (see paragraph [0087], herein Note that the different transport blocks sent over the n transmit antennas may have the same or different modulation and coding schemes from one another).
As per claims 12 and 25:
Chen teaches that wherein the indication assigns at least one code block of the plurality of code blocks to a first plurality of code block groups, wherein the one or more code block groups of the first quantity of code blocks comprises the first plurality of code block groups (see paragraph [0081], herein the HS-DPCCH carries the HARQ ACK/NACK signaling on the uplink to indicate whether a corresponding packet transmission was decoded successfully).
As per claims 13 and 26:
Chen teaches that the instructions being executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to further cause the apparatus to: determine one or more code blocks for retransmission based at least in part on the indication and the received acknowledgement or negative-acknowledgement for each code block group (see paragraph [0097], herein Control signals carried by successfully decoded frames will be provided to a controller/processor 1190. When frames are unsuccessfully decoded by the receiver processor 1170, the controller/processor 1190 may also use an acknowledgement (ACK) and/or negative acknowledgement (NACK) protocol to support retransmission requests for those frames); and retransmit the one or more code blocks based at least in part on the determination (see paragraph [0099], herein the data and control signals carried by the successfully decoded frames may then be provided to a data sink 1139 and the controller/processor, respectively. If some of the frames were unsuccessfully decoded by the receive processor, the controller/processor 1140 may also use an acknowledgement (ACK) and/or negative acknowledgement (NACK) protocol to support retransmission requests for those frames).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 10 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art
7. The prior art of record, considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, is listed in the attached PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OSMAN ALSHACK whose telephone number is (571)272-2069. The examiner can normally be reached on MON-FRI 8:30 AM-5:00 PM EST, also please fax interview request to (571) 273- 2069. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ALBERT DECADY can be reached on 5712723819. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/OSMAN M ALSHACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2112