DETAILED ACTION
This non-final office action is in response to claims 1-17 filed on 10/16/2024 for examination. Claims 1-17 are being examined and are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “122” (see Fig. 4); “131” (see Fig. 4); “132” (see Fig. 4); “133” (see Fig. 4); and S280 (see Fig. 10). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, 15, and 17 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “determining whether or not […]” in line 3. Examiner suggests amending to, e.g., “determining
Claim 1 recites “which is collected […]” in line 4. Referenced elements must be explicitly referenced. Examiner suggests amending to, e.g., “wherein the information is collected […]” or similar, if intended. Claims 9 and 17 recite a similar deficiency, and are objected to under like rationale.
Claim 1 recites “the modified source code settings, or environmental variables” in lines 9-10. For consistency (see claim 1, line 6), Examiner suggests amending to, e.g., “the modified one or more of source code, settings, or environmental variables” or similar, if intended. Claims 9, 8, 15, and 17 recite a similar deficiency, and are objected to under like rationale.
Claim 3 recites “in a case where […]” in line 2. Limitations should be positively recited. Examiner suggests amending to, e.g., “when .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Particularly:
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the basis" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2, 4, 6-7, 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 17 recites a similar deficiency, and are rejected under like rationale. Claims 3, 5, 8, 11, 13 and 16 incorporate the deficiency of their parent claim, and are rejected under like rationale.
Claim 1 introduces “determining […]” in line 3, and claim 2 introduces “determining comprises determining […]” in lines 1-2. Subsequently, claim 3 recites “the determining” in line 1. There is unclear antecedent basis as to which of the introduced determining is being referenced by “the determining” in claim 3. I.e., is it referencing the determining step of claim 1, or the sub-determining step of claim 2. Claim 11 recites a similar deficiency, and is rejected under like rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Particularly: Claim 17 does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because each element of the claim can reasonably be interpreted as a transitory signal. While applicant’s specification indicates “computer-readable medium may be various recording means or storage means in the form of a single type of hardware or a combination of multiple types of hardware […]” (see pg. 20), this language is open ended and does not restrict the computer-readable storage medium to such non-transitory forms. Absent a definition in the specification, a reasonable interpretation of a computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions is a transitory signal. Accordingly, claim 17 fails to fall into a statutory category of invention as a transitory signal alone is not a machine, a manufacture, a process nor a composition of matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-13, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papaxenopoulos et al. (US20180336356; Hereinafter “Papaxenopoulos”) in view of Truskovsky et al. (US11265159; Hereinafter “Truskovsky”).
Regarding claim 1, Papaxenopoulos teaches a method for automatically performing |security| migration on an application using a computing device (abstract – system is an auto-remediation system for fixing security vulnerabilities), the method comprising:
determining whether or not a first application has |security| vulnerability on the basis of information about the first application ([0014-015] and [0047] – source code/associated information is retrieved from website or source code repository. The source code/associated information is then scanned and examined to determine if the application has a security vulnerability), which is collected from an application distribution server configured to distribute source code of an application ([0014-015] and [0047] – source code/associated information is retrieved from a website or source code repository <i.e., application distribution server>. The source code/associated information is then scanned and examined to determine if the application has a security vulnerability);
modifying one or more of source code, settings, or environment variables for the first application, based on a result of the determination, by the application distribution server ([0048] and [0019-022] – Security vulnerabilities are identified by the application. Security patch rules are used to produce modified source code/application variables resolving the identified security vulnerabilities. A patch is produced, and then the patch is committed for implementation); and
generating an execution file for the first application by reflecting the modified source code, settings, or environment variables ([0020-022], [0034], and [0045] – Security patch rules are used to produce modified source code/application variables resolving the identified security vulnerabilities. The patched source code/application <i.e., execution file> is generated, approved, and committed to the source code repository for implementation).
While Papaxenopoulos teaches a system for performing security migration and identifying security vulnerabilities (see, e.g., Papaxenopoulos at [0014-022]), Papaxenopoulos appears to fail to specifically disclose wherein the security migration is a PQC migration and the security vulnerabilities are quantum vulnerabilities.
However, Truskovsky teaches a similar system for performing security migration and identifying security vulnerabilities (see Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 11, lines 29-43), wherein the security migration is a PQC migration and the security vulnerabilities are quantum vulnerabilities (column 7, lines 1-29 and column 11, lines 29-column 12 line 5 – The system determines whether a resource is quantum attack vulnerable. The vulnerable resource is modified to use quantum-secure cryptography).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Papaxenopoulos with the teachings of Truskovsky, comprising a method for automatically performing PQC migration on an application using a computing device, the method comprising: determining whether or not a first application has quantum vulnerability on the basis of information about the first application, to protect applications against quantum computing attacks (see, e.g., Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 4, line 43-column 5 line 45).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining comprises determining whether or not the first application has quantum vulnerability using a predefined rule set, on the basis of version information of the first application (Papaxenopoulos at [0028], [0041]and [0047-048] – the security vulnerabilities are detected based on scanning the application following a rule set; Truskovsky at column 9, lines 7-24 and column 7, lines 1-29 – the detected security vulnerabilities may be, e.g., quantum vulnerabilities. The vulnerabilities may be determined/detected at least in part based on the version number). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky with the teachings of Truskovsky, wherein the determining comprises determining whether or not the first application has quantum vulnerability using a predefined rule set, on the basis of version information of the first application, to easily identify and protect applications against quantum computing attacks (see, e.g., Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 4, line 43-column 5 line 45).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Papaxenopoulos, Truskovsky teach the method according to claim 2, wherein the determining comprises, in a case where the rule set does not include information on quantum vulnerability corresponding to the version information of the first application, determining whether or not the first application has quantum vulnerability using the source code of the first application (Papaxenopoulos at [0028], [0041]and [0047-048] – other methods are used to determine whether a security vulnerability is present, e.g., the code scanning. These methods are used regardless of whether version information is present <i.e., even in a case where there is no version information, determining is made>; Truskovsky at column 9, lines 7-24 and column 7, lines 1-29 – the detected security vulnerabilities may be, e.g., quantum vulnerabilities). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combination of Papaxenopoulo and Truskovsky with the teachings of Truskovsky, wherein the determining comprises, in a case where the rule set does not include information on quantum vulnerability corresponding to the version information of the first application, determining whether or not the first application has quantum vulnerability using the source code of the first application, to protect applications against quantum computing attacks even if it is not previously documented as a vulnerability (see, e.g., Papaxenopoulos at [0028], [0041], and [0047-048]; with Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 4, line 43-column 5 line 45).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky teach the method according to claim 3, comprising updating the rule set on the basis of a result of determining whether or not the first application has quantum vulnerability using the source code of the first application (Papaxenopoulos at [0014-018], [0032-034], [0037], and [0050] – a security vulnerability is identified using the source code and updated rules are generated if not already present. The rules are then updated to the rules repository for future remediation).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky teach the method according to claim 2, wherein the modifying comprises: producing a first post-quantum cryptography library corresponding to the version information of the first application using the rule set (Truskovsky at column 9 lines 7-column 10-15 and column 7, lines 1-29 – the application version is identified. Based on the application version number, a determination is made whether the application’s quantum vulnerable cryptographic library is to be replaced by a quantum secure cryptographic library); and modifying one or more of the source code, settings, or environment variables for the first application such that a cryptographic algorithm of the first post-quantum cryptography library is further reflected in addition to a cryptographic algorithm currently being used in the first application (Papaxenopoulos at [0018-022] – the application’s source code is modified by the security patch to improve the security of the application. E.g., the cryptographic libraries are upgraded; with Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 9 lines 7-column 10-15 – the cryptographic algorithms of the quantum secure cryptographic library are utilized by the upgraded application). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combination of Papaxenopoulo and Truskovsky with the teachings of Truskovsky, wherein the modifying comprises: producing a first post-quantum cryptography library corresponding to the version information of the first application using the rule set; and modifying one or more of the source code, settings, or environment variables for the first application such that a cryptographic algorithm of the first post-quantum cryptography library is further reflected in addition to a cryptographic algorithm currently being used in the first application, to protect applications against quantum computing attacks (see, e.g., Papaxenopoulos at [0028], [0041], and [0047-048]; with Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 4, line 43-column 5 line 45).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the computing device is configured to perform PQC migration on the first application that is produced or updated and distributed by a third party (Papaxenopoulos at [0047] and [0018-022]– the source code of the application for modification can be provided by a customer or customer site <i.e., distributed by third-party>. The auto-remediation system performs the security migration on the application; with Truskovsky at column 9, lines 7-24 and column 7, lines 1-29 – the detected security vulnerabilities may be, e.g., quantum vulnerabilities). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combination of Papaxenopoulo and Truskovsky with the teachings of Truskovsky, wherein the computing device is configured to perform PQC migration on the first application that is produced or updated and distributed by a third party, to protect vulnerable customer applications against quantum computing attacks (see, e.g., Papaxenopoulos at [0028], [0041], and [0047-048]; with Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 4, line 43-column 5 line 45).
Regarding claim 9, Papaxenopoulos teaches a server comprising a processor and a memory ([0066-069] – system implemented via processors executing computer instructions stored in memory), and configured to automatically perform |security| migration on an application (abstract – system is an auto-remediation system for fixing security vulnerabilities), wherein the memory comprises instructions configured to cause, when executed by the processor, the server to implement specific operations ([0066-069] – system implemented via processors executing computer instructions stored in memory), and wherein the specific operations comprises:
determining whether or not a first application has |security| vulnerability on the basis of information about the first application ([0014-015] and [0047] – source code/associated information is retrieved from website or source code repository. The source code/associated information is then scanned and examined to determine if the application has a security vulnerability), which is collected from an application distribution server configured to distribute source code of an application ([0014-015] and [0047] – source code/associated information is retrieved from a website or source code repository <i.e., application distribution server>. The source code/associated information is then scanned and examined to determine if the application has a security vulnerability);
modifying one or more of source code, settings, or environment variables for the first application, based on a result of the determination, by the application distribution server ([0048] and [0019-022] – Security vulnerabilities are identified by the application. Security patch rules are used to produce modified source code/application variables resolving the identified security vulnerabilities. A patch is produced, and then the patch is committed for implementation); and
generating an execution file for the first application by reflecting the modified source code, settings, or environment variables ([0020-022], [0034], and [0045] – Security patch rules are used to produce modified source code/application variables resolving the identified security vulnerabilities. The patched source code/application <i.e., execution file> is generated, approved, and committed to the source code repository for implementation).
While Papaxenopoulos teaches a system for performing security migration and identifying security vulnerabilities (see, e.g., Papaxenopoulos at [0014-022]), Papaxenopoulos appears to fail to specifically disclose wherein the security migration is a PQC migration and the security vulnerabilities are quantum vulnerabilities.
However, Truskovsky teaches a similar system for performing security migration and identifying security vulnerabilities (see Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 11, lines 29-43), wherein the security migration is a PQC migration and the security vulnerabilities are quantum vulnerabilities (column 7, lines 1-29 and column 11, lines 29-column 12 line 5 – The system determines whether a resource is quantum attack vulnerable. The vulnerable resource is modified to use quantum-secure cryptography).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Papaxenopoulos with the teachings of Truskovsky, comprising a method for automatically performing PQC migration on an application using a computing device, the method comprising: determining whether or not a first application has quantum vulnerability on the basis of information about the first application, to protect applications against quantum computing attacks (see, e.g., Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 4, line 43-column 5 line 45).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky teach the server according to claim 9, wherein the determining comprises determining whether or not the first application has quantum vulnerability using a predefined rule set on the basis of version information of the first application (Papaxenopoulos at [0028], [0041]and [0047-048] – the security vulnerabilities are detected based on scanning the application following a rule set; Truskovsky at column 9, lines 7-24 and column 7, lines 1-29 – the detected security vulnerabilities may be, e.g., quantum vulnerabilities. The vulnerabilities may be determined/detected at least in part based on the version number). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky with the teachings of Truskovsky, wherein the determining comprises determining whether or not the first application has quantum vulnerability using a predefined rule set, on the basis of version information of the first application, to easily identify and protect applications against quantum computing attacks (see, e.g., Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 4, line 43-column 5 line 45).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Papaxenopoulos, Truskovsky teach the server according to claim 10, wherein the determining comprises, in a case where the rule set does not include information on quantum vulnerability corresponding to the version information of the first application, determining whether or not the first application has quantum vulnerability using the source code of the first application (Papaxenopoulos at [0028], [0041]and [0047-048] – other methods are used to determine whether a security vulnerability is present, e.g., the code scanning. These methods are used regardless of whether version information is present <i.e., even in a case where there is no version information, determining is made>; Truskovsky at column 9, lines 7-24 and column 7, lines 1-29 – the detected security vulnerabilities may be, e.g., quantum vulnerabilities). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combination of Papaxenopoulo and Truskovsky with the teachings of Truskovsky, wherein the determining comprises, in a case where the rule set does not include information on quantum vulnerability corresponding to the version information of the first application, determining whether or not the first application has quantum vulnerability using the source code of the first application, to protect applications against quantum computing attacks even if it is not previously documented as a vulnerability (see, e.g., Papaxenopoulos at [0028], [0041], and [0047-048]; with Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 4, line 43-column 5 line 45).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky teach the server according to claim 11, wherein the rule set is updated on the basis of a result of determining whether or not the first application has quantum vulnerability using the source code of the first application (Papaxenopoulos at [0014-018], [0032-034], [0037], and [0050] – a security vulnerability is identified using the source code and updated rules are generated if not already present. The rules are then updated to the rules repository for future remediation).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky teach the server according to claim 10, wherein the modifying comprises: producing a first post-quantum cryptography library corresponding to the version information of the first application using the rule set (Truskovsky at column 9 lines 7-column 10-15 and column 7, lines 1-29 – the application version is identified. Based on the application version number, a determination is made whether the application’s quantum vulnerable cryptographic library is to be replaced by a quantum secure cryptographic library); and modifying one or more of the source code, settings, or environment variables for the first application such that a cryptographic algorithm of the first post-quantum cryptography library is further reflected in addition to a cryptographic algorithm currently being used in the first application (Papaxenopoulos at [0018-022] – the application’s source code is modified by the security patch to improve the security of the application. E.g., the cryptographic libraries are upgraded; with Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 9 lines 7-column 10-15 – the cryptographic algorithms of the quantum secure cryptographic library are utilized by the upgraded application). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combination of Papaxenopoulo and Truskovsky with the teachings of Truskovsky, wherein the modifying comprises: producing a first post-quantum cryptography library corresponding to the version information of the first application using the rule set; and modifying one or more of the source code, settings, or environment variables for the first application such that a cryptographic algorithm of the first post-quantum cryptography library is further reflected in addition to a cryptographic algorithm currently being used in the first application, to protect applications against quantum computing attacks (see, e.g., Papaxenopoulos at [0028], [0041], and [0047-048]; with Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 4, line 43-column 5 line 45).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky teach the server according to claim 9, wherein the server is configured to perform PQC migration on the first application that is produced or updated and distributed by a third party (Papaxenopoulos at [0047] and [0018-022]– the source code of the application for modification can be provided by a customer or customer site <i.e., distributed by third-party>. The auto-remediation system performs the security migration on the application; with Truskovsky at column 9, lines 7-24 and column 7, lines 1-29 – the detected security vulnerabilities may be, e.g., quantum vulnerabilities). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combination of Papaxenopoulo and Truskovsky with the teachings of Truskovsky, wherein the computing device is configured to perform PQC migration on the first application that is produced or updated and distributed by a third party, to protect vulnerable customer applications against quantum computing attacks (see, e.g., Papaxenopoulos at [0028], [0041], and [0047-048]; with Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 4, line 43-column 5 line 45).
Regarding claim 17, Papaxenopoulos teaches a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions configured to cause, when executed by a processor, a server, which comprises the processor and is configured to automatically perform PQC migration on an application, to implement specific operations ([0066-069] – system implemented via processors executing computer instructions stored in memory; abstract – system is an auto-remediation system for fixing security vulnerabilities), wherein the specific operations comprises:
determining whether or not a first application has |security| vulnerability on the basis of information about the first application ([0014-015] and [0047] – source code/associated information is retrieved from website or source code repository. The source code/associated information is then scanned and examined to determine if the application has a security vulnerability), which is collected from an application distribution server configured to distribute source code of an application ([0014-015] and [0047] – source code/associated information is retrieved from a website or source code repository <i.e., application distribution server>. The source code/associated information is then scanned and examined to determine if the application has a security vulnerability);
modifying one or more of source code, settings, or environment variables for the first application, based on a result of the determination, by the application distribution server ([0048] and [0019-022] – Security vulnerabilities are identified by the application. Security patch rules are used to produce modified source code/application variables resolving the identified security vulnerabilities. A patch is produced, and then the patch is committed for implementation); and
generating an execution file for the first application by reflecting the modified source code, settings, or environment variables ([0020-022], [0034], and [0045] – Security patch rules are used to produce modified source code/application variables resolving the identified security vulnerabilities. The patched source code/application <i.e., execution file> is generated, approved, and committed to the source code repository for implementation).
While Papaxenopoulos teaches a system for performing security migration and identifying security vulnerabilities (see, e.g., Papaxenopoulos at [0014-022]), Papaxenopoulos appears to fail to specifically disclose wherein the security migration is a PQC migration and the security vulnerabilities are quantum vulnerabilities.
However, Truskovsky teaches a similar system for performing security migration and identifying security vulnerabilities (see Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 11, lines 29-43), wherein the security migration is a PQC migration and the security vulnerabilities are quantum vulnerabilities (column 7, lines 1-29 and column 11, lines 29-column 12 line 5 – The system determines whether a resource is quantum attack vulnerable. The vulnerable resource is modified to use quantum-secure cryptography).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Papaxenopoulos with the teachings of Truskovsky, comprising a method for automatically performing PQC migration on an application using a computing device, the method comprising: determining whether or not a first application has quantum vulnerability on the basis of information about the first application, to protect applications against quantum computing attacks (see, e.g., Truskovsky at column 7, lines 1-29 and column 4, line 43-column 5 line 45).
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-13, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papaxenopoulos in view of Truskovsky, further in view of Kumar et al. (US20160350081; Hereinafter “Kumar”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky teach the method according to claim 1. Yet the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky appear to fail to specifically disclose wherein the generating comprises generating a docker container image to be executed on the basis of a cloud for the first application.
However, Kumar teaches a system for deploying software (see, e.g., [0002-003]), wherein the generating comprises generating a docker container image to be executed on the basis of a cloud for the first application ([0002], [0023], [0019-020], and [0037] – deploying software for an application may be done in a cloud system using a docker container image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky with the teachings of Kumar, wherein the generating comprises generating a docker container image to be executed on the basis of a cloud for the first application, so that the updates may be conveniently implemented in the vulnerable application (see, e.g., Papaxenopoulos at [0014-022]; with Kumar at [0002-003], [0022], and [0037]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Papaxenopoulos, Truskovsky, and Kumar teach the method according to claim 6, wherein the modifying comprises modifying a docker file for the first application on the basis of the modified source code, settings, or environment variables (Papaxenopoulos at [0014-022] – the modifying comprises modifying files for an application on the basis of source code/associated information, and committing the modified files for usage; with Kumar at [0022-023], [0043], and [0002-003] – a docker file may be modified based on the modified source elements of the application, and used in the application). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky with the teachings of Kumar, wherein the modifying comprises modifying a docker file for the first application on the basis of the modified source code, settings, or environment variables, so that the updates may be conveniently implemented in the vulnerable application (see, e.g., Papaxenopoulos at [0014-022]; with Kumar at [0002-003], [0022], and [0037]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky teach the server according to claim 9. Yet the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky appear to fail to specifically disclose wherein the generating comprises generating a docker container image to be executed on the basis of a cloud for the first application.
However, Kumar teaches a system for deploying software (see, e.g., [0002-003]), wherein the generating comprises generating a docker container image to be executed on the basis of a cloud for the first application ([0002], [0023], [0019-020], and [0037] – deploying software for an application may be done in a cloud system using a docker container image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky with the teachings of Kumar, wherein the generating comprises generating a docker container image to be executed on the basis of a cloud for the first application, so that the updates may be conveniently implemented in the vulnerable application (see, e.g., Papaxenopoulos at [0014-022]; with Kumar at [0002-003], [0022], and [0037]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Papaxenopoulos, Truskovsky, and Kumar teach the server according to claim 14, wherein the modifying comprises modifying a docker file for the first application on the basis of the modified source code, settings, or environment variables (Papaxenopoulos at [0014-022] – the modifying comprises modifying files for an application on the basis of source code/associated information, and committing the modified files for usage; with Kumar at [0022-023], [0043], and [0002-003] – a docker file may be modified based on the modified source elements of the application, and used in the application). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Papaxenopoulos and Truskovsky with the teachings of Kumar, wherein the modifying comprises modifying a docker file for the first application on the basis of the modified source code, settings, or environment variables, so that the updates may be conveniently implemented in the vulnerable application (see, e.g., Papaxenopoulos at [0014-022]; with Kumar at [0002-003], [0022], and [0037]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arbajian et al. (US11322050) teaches a system for evaluating quantum risk in systems and migrating the systems to a post-quantum cryptography scheme (see, e.g., Arbajian at columns 1-2). Rao et al. (US20250184132) teaches a system for migrating legacy security cryptographic techniques to PQC techniques (see, e.g., Rao at abstract, [0006-010]). Sharma et al. (US20250258754) teaches a system for scanning code in a repository for vulnerabilities, and when issues are found, automatically generating and submitting remediation changes for the code (see, e.g., Sharma at abstract, [0017-022]).
/J.R.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2438 /TAGHI T ARANI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2438