DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki; Takuya (US 2013/0006111, hereinafter Sasaki ‘111) in view of Satake (US 5,148,808, hereinafter Satake ‘808).
In re claim 1, Sasaki ‘111 teaches an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising:
a transmission unit that transmits an ultrasonic wave to a subject via an ultrasound probe (0023, 0024; 0026-0027);
a reception unit that receives the ultrasonic wave reflected by the subject via the ultrasound probe (0023, 0024; 0026-0027); and
a processor that executes processing on a reception signal output from the reception unit,
wherein the processor is configured to:
generate, based on the reception signal, Doppler waveform data regarding a blood flow in a blood vessel that is a diagnosis target (0046-0047, 0062, 0063, 0090-0093, 0117, 0124, 0125),
decide a different display range of blood flow velocity indicated by the Doppler waveform data depending on whether the blood vessel is an artery or a vein (0024, 0051, 0053, 0054, 0126, 0064, 0135, 0136).
Satake ‘808 teaches determine whether the blood vessel is an artery or a vein based on the Doppler waveform data (col. 6, lines 25-33).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Sasaki ‘111 to include the features of Satake ‘808 in order to improve detectable low velocity in the Doppler flow mapping image without degrading aliasing velocity in the blood flow pattern waveform.
In re claim 2, Sasaki ‘111 teaches an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising: a transmission unit that transmits an ultrasonic wave to a subject via an ultrasound probe; a reception unit that receives the ultrasonic wave reflected by the subject via the ultrasound probe (0023, 0024; 0026-0027); and a processor that executes processing on a reception signal output from the reception unit (0023, 0024; 0026-0027), wherein the processor is configured to: generate, based on the reception signal, Doppler waveform data regarding a blood flow in a blood vessel that is a diagnosis target (0046-0047, 0062, 0063, 0090-0093, 0117, 0124, 0125),
Satake ‘808 teaches determine whether the blood vessel is an artery or a vein based on a degree of variation in a Doppler frequency of a plurality of the reception signals obtained through a plurality of times of transmission and reception of the ultrasonic wave in one direction (col. 3, line 40-col. 4, line 15; col. 5, lines 12-65; col. 6, line 25-col. 7 line 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Sasaki ‘111 to include the features of Satake ‘808 in order to improve detectable low velocity in the Doppler flow mapping image without degrading aliasing velocity in the blood flow pattern waveform.
In re claim 3, Sasaki ‘111 teaches an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising: a transmission unit that transmits an ultrasonic wave to a subject via an ultrasound probe (0023, 0024; 0026-0027); a reception unit that receives the ultrasonic wave reflected by the subject via the ultrasound probe (0023, 0024; 0026-0027); and a processor that executes processing on a reception signal output from the reception unit, wherein the processor is configured to: generate, based on the reception signal, Doppler waveform data and color (0068-0074, hue is color) Doppler data regarding a blood flow in a blood vessel that is a diagnosis target (0046-0047, 0062, 0063, 0090-0093, 0117, 0124, 0125),
Satake ‘808 teaches determine whether the blood vessel is an artery or a vein based on the color Doppler data (col. 4, line 16-col. 5, line 35; col. 6, lines 25-33).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Sasaki ‘111 to include the features of Satake ‘808 in order to improve detectable low velocity in the Doppler flow mapping image without degrading aliasing velocity in the blood flow pattern waveform.
In re claims 5, 7, 9, Sasaki ‘111 teaches wherein the processor is configured to decide a scale factor in displaying the blood flow velocity according to the determination result (0024, 0038, 0040, 0041, 0044, 0050-0055, etc.).
In re claims 6, 8, 10, Sasaki ‘111 teaches wherein the processor is configured to decide the scale factor according to a Doppler waveform line obtained from the Doppler waveform data in addition to the determination result (0097, 0050-0055, 0102-0105).
Claim(s) 4, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki ‘111 and Satake ‘808 in view of Grunwald et al. (US 2007/0016072, hereinafter Grunwald ‘072).
In re claims 4 and 13, Sasaki ‘111 fails to teach wherein processor is configured to determine whether the blood vessel is an artery or a vein based on whether an aliasing phenomenon occurs in the color Doppler data; wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on whether an aliasing phenomenon occurs in the Doppler waveform data.
Grunwald ‘072 teaches the processor is configured to determine whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on whether an aliasing phenomenon occurs in the color Doppler data (0221-0224); wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on whether an aliasing phenomenon occurs in the Doppler waveform data (0221-0224).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Sasaki ‘111 and Satake ‘808 to include the features of Grunwald ‘072 in order to reliably identify transitions between venous and arterial or heart flows.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki ‘111 and Satake ‘808 in view of Khair; Mohammad Mohammad (US 2020/0008686, hereinafter Khair ‘686).
In re claims 11-12, Sasaki ‘111 fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to determine whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on a time differential value of a Doppler waveform line obtained from the Doppler waveform data; wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on a time integral value of a Doppler waveform line obtained from the Doppler waveform data.
Khair ‘686 teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on a time differential value of a Doppler waveform line obtained from the Doppler waveform data (0160, time differential value is a first derivative); wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on a time integral value of a Doppler waveform line obtained from the Doppler waveform data (0017, 0061, 0096, 0146, 0165, 0203, 0220).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Sasaki ‘111 and Satake ‘808 to include the features of Khair ‘686 in order to generate a set of physiological parameters in response to the balance parameter useful in clinical assessment of a patient's health condition.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki ‘111 and Satake ‘808 in view of Khair; Eibl et al. (US 2018/0353154, hereinafter Eibl ‘154).
In re claim 12, Sasaki ‘111 fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to determine whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on a time integral value of a Doppler waveform line obtained from the Doppler waveform data.
Eibl ‘154 teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on a time integral value of a Doppler waveform line obtained from the Doppler waveform data (0019, 0022, 0078, 0098, 0100, 0101, 0187).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Sasaki ‘111 and Satake ‘808 to include the features of Eibl ‘154 in order to determine whether the individual is undergoing compensated shock.
Claim(s) 14, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki ‘111 and Satake ‘808 in view of Lee, Min Hwa (JP 11-235342, hereinafter Lee ‘342).
In re claim 14, 15, 16, Sasaki ‘111 fails to teach further comprising: a pulsation detection device that detects pulsation of the subject, wherein the processor is configured to determine whether the blood vessel is an artery or a vein at a timing corresponding to the pulsation of the subject.
Lee ‘342 teaches further comprising: a pulsation detection device that detects pulsation of the subject, wherein the processor is configured to determine whether the blood vessel is an artery or a vein (0010-0012; 0020-0022, 0024-0026) at a timing corresponding to the pulsation of the subject (0009, 0020, 0023, 0025).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Sasaki ‘111 and Satake ‘808 to include the features of Lee ‘342 in order to provide additional detection features by using a temporal change in a blood flow velocity pattern to distinguishing the types of blood vessels.
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki ‘111 and Satake ‘808 in view of He et al. (US 2003/0100833, hereinafter He ‘833).
In re claims 17-19, Sasaki ‘111 fails to teach wherein a repetition frequency, when the transmission unit transmits the ultrasonic wave is set according to the display range.
He ‘833 teaches wherein a repetition frequency when the transmission unit transmits the ultrasonic wave is set according to the display range (0109).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Sasaki ‘111 and Satake ‘808 to include the features of He ‘833 in order to be set high enough to prevent aliasing, and low enough to provide adequate detection of low flow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BO JOSEPH PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797