DETAILED ACTION
35 USC § 112(f) or 112 (pre-AIA ), Sixth Paragraph
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim limitation:
“an information processing unit” recited in claims 1, 2, 3, and dependent claims thereafter has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “executes” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) above has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
For “an information processing unit” recited in claims 1, 2, 3, and dependent claims thereafter, the specification (0034) discloses the following:
[0034] The information processing unit 26 may be configured by one or a plurality of processors that execute a program to realize functions of a phasing addition unit 30, a B-mode image generation unit 32, an image processing unit 34, a Doppler processing unit 36, a Doppler waveform generation unit 38, and a color Doppler processing unit 40.
Therefore, “an information processing unit” recited in claims 1, 2, 3, and dependent claims thereafter have been interpreted as being any image display device or any equivalent structures in light of the specification for the purpose of examination.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki; Takuya (US 2013/0006111, hereinafter Sasaki ‘111).
In re claim 1, Sasaki ‘111 teaches an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising: a transmission unit that transmits an ultrasonic wave to a subject via an ultrasound probe (0023, 0024; 0026-0027); a reception unit that receives the ultrasonic wave reflected by the subject via the ultrasound probe (0023-0024, 0026-0027); and an information processing unit that executes processing on a reception signal output from the reception unit, wherein the information processing unit generates Doppler waveform data based on the reception signal (0046-0047, 0062, 0063, 0090-0093, 0117, 0124, 0125), determines whether an observation site is an artery or a vein based on the Doppler waveform data (0024, 0051, 0134, 0135), and decides a display range of blood flow velocity indicated by a Doppler waveform according to a determination result (0024, 0051, 0053, 0054, 0135).
In re claim 2, Sasaki ‘111 teaches an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising: a transmission unit that transmits an ultrasonic wave to a subject via an ultrasound probe (0023, 0024; 0026-0027); a reception unit that receives the ultrasonic wave reflected by the subject via the ultrasound probe (0023-0024, 0026-0027); and an information processing unit that executes processing on a reception signal output from the reception unit, wherein the information processing unit generates Doppler waveform data based on the reception signal (0046-0047, 0062, 0063, 0090-0093, 0117, 0124, 0125), determines whether an observation site is an artery or a vein based on a degree of variation in a Doppler frequency of a plurality of the reception signals obtained through a plurality of times of transmission and reception of the ultrasonic wave (0024, 0051, 0068-0076, 0096, 0100, 0134-0136), and decides a display range of blood flow velocity indicated by a Doppler waveform according to a determination result (0024, 0051, 0053, 0054, 0135).
In re claim 3, Sasaki ‘111 teaches an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising: a transmission unit that transmits an ultrasonic wave to a subject via an ultrasound probe (0023, 0024; 0026-0027); a reception unit that receives the ultrasonic wave reflected by the subject via the ultrasound probe (0023-0024, 0026-0027); and an information processing unit that executes processing on a reception signal output from the reception unit, wherein the information processing unit generates Doppler waveform data and color (0068-0074, hue is color) Doppler data based on the reception signal (0046-0047, 0062, 0063, 0090-0093, 0117, 0124, 0125), determines whether an observation site is an artery or a vein based on the color (0068-0074, hue is color) Doppler data (0024, 0051, 0134, 0135), and decides a display range of blood flow velocity indicated by a Doppler waveform according to a determination result (0024, 0051, 0053, 0054, 0135).
In re claims 5, 7, 9, Sasaki ‘111 teaches wherein the information processing unit decides a scale factor in displaying the Doppler waveform according to the determination result (0024, 0038, 0040, 0041, 0044, 0050-0055, etc.).
In re claims 6, 8, 10, Sasaki ‘111 teaches wherein the information processing unit decides the scale factor according to a Doppler waveform line obtained from the Doppler waveform data in addition to the determination result (0097, 0050-0055, 0102-0105).
In re claim 14, 15, 16, Sasaki ‘111 teaches further comprising: a pulsation detection device that detects pulsation of the subject, wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein at a timing corresponding to the pulsation of the subject (0081, 0108, 0137).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki ‘111 in view of Grunwald et al. (US 2007/0016072, hereinafter Grunwald ‘072).
In re claims 4 and 13, Sasaki ‘111 fails to teach wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on whether an aliasing phenomenon occurs in the color Doppler data; wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on whether an aliasing phenomenon occurs in the Doppler waveform data.
Grunwald ‘072 teaches wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on whether an aliasing phenomenon occurs in the color Doppler data (0221-0224); wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on whether an aliasing phenomenon occurs in the Doppler waveform data (0221-0224).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Sasaki ‘111 to include the features of Grunwald ‘072 in order to reliably identify transitions between venous and arterial or heart flows.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki ‘111 in view of Khair; Mohammad Mohammad (US 2020/0008686, hereinafter Khair ‘686).
In re claims 11-12, Sasaki ‘111 fails to teach wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on a time differential value of a Doppler waveform line obtained from the Doppler waveform data; wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on a time integral value of a Doppler waveform line obtained from the Doppler waveform data.
Khair ‘686 teaches wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on a time differential value of a Doppler waveform line obtained from the Doppler waveform data (0160, time differential value is a first derivative); wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on a time integral value of a Doppler waveform line obtained from the Doppler waveform data (0017, 0061, 0096, 0146, 0165, 0203, 0220).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Sasaki ‘111 to include the features of Khair ‘686 in order to generate a set of physiological parameters in response to the balance parameter useful in clinical assessment of a patient's health condition.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki ‘111 in view of Khair; Eibl et al. (US 2018/0353154, hereinafter Eibl ‘154).
In re claim 12, Sasaki ‘111 fails to teach wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on a time integral value of a Doppler waveform line obtained from the Doppler waveform data.
Eibl ‘154 teaches wherein the information processing unit determines whether the observation site is an artery or a vein based on a time integral value of a Doppler waveform line obtained from the Doppler waveform data (0019, 0022, 0078, 0098, 0100, 0101, 0187).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Sasaki ‘111 to include the features of Eibl ‘154 in order to determine whether the individual is undergoing compensated shock.
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki ‘111 in view of He et al. (US 2003/0100833, hereinafter He ‘833).
In re claims 17-19, Sasaki ‘111 fails to teach wherein a repetition frequency, when the transmission unit transmits the ultrasonic wave is set according to the display range.
He ‘833 teaches wherein a repetition frequency when the transmission unit transmits the ultrasonic wave is set according to the display range (0109).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Sasaki ‘111 to include the features of He ‘833 in order to be set high enough to prevent aliasing, and low enough to provide adequate detection of low flow.
Conclusion
/BO JOSEPH PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797