DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 depends on claim 2 reciting in part four options for: “the set of candidate UL resource muting time location configurations is associated with one or more of: (1) a first position within a slot of a first muted symbol for the UL resource muting; (2) a second position within the slot of the first muted symbol for the UL resource muting; (3) a third position within the slot of a second muted symbol for the UL resource muting; or (4) a fourth position within the slot of the second muted symbol for the UL resource muting.” The claim language provides the option that “one or more of” four options is required. Therefore, one option may be given patentable weight, i.e., option (1) with a first position and a first muted symbol, while the other three options may not be given patentable weight, i.e., options (2), (3), and (4). Claim 4 recites “a first maximum number of candidate UL resource muting time location configurations associated with the first muted symbol for the UL resource muting and a second maximum number of candidate UL resource muting time location configurations associated with the second muted symbol for the UL resource muting; or a third maximum number of candidate UL resource muting time location configurations associated with the pattern associated with the first muted symbol and the second muted symbol for the UL resource muting.” It is not clear if at least two options including options (1) and (3) or (4), or options (2) and (3) or (4) must be included because claims 4 recite first muted symbol and second muted symbol. Claim 6 depends on claim 2 reciting in part four options for: “the set of candidate UL resource muting time location configurations is associated with one or more of: (1) a first position within a slot of a first muted symbol for the UL resource muting; (2) a second position within the slot of the first muted symbol for the UL resource muting; (3) a third position within the slot of a second muted symbol for the UL resource muting; or (4) a fourth position within the slot of the second muted symbol for the UL resource muting.” The claim language provides the option that “one or more of” four options is required. Therefore, one option may be given patentable weight, i.e., option (1) with a first position and a first muted symbol, while the other three options may not be given patentable weight, i.e., options (2), (3), and (4). Claim 6 recites the options “(1) a first maximum number of candidate SRS resource configurations associated with the first muted symbol for the UL resource muting and a second maximum number of candidate SRS resource configurations associated with the second muted symbol for the UL resource muting; (2) a third maximum number of candidate SRS resource configurations associated with the pattern associated with the first muted symbol and the second muted symbol for the UL resource muting; (3) a fourth maximum number of switches between different candidate SRS resource configurations; (4) a fifth maximum number of switches between the different candidate SRS resource configurations during a first duration, wherein the first duration is one of a first period associated with a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) configuration period, a second period associated with a time division duplexing (TDD) slot format pattern, a first number of slots, or a second number of milliseconds; or (5) a minimum time between switches between the different candidate SRS resource configurations, wherein the minimum time is one of a third number slots or a fourth number of milliseconds.” It is not clear if at least two options including options (1) and (3) or (4), or options (2) and (3) or (4) must be included when options (1) and (2) of claim 6 is given patentable weight because these two options recite first muted symbol and second muted symbol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 15-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurita et al. (WO 2024166375 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Kurita discloses An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to and A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising (Fig. 8, [0199]: the gNB100 and UE200 (the devices) described above may function as computers that process the wireless communication method of this disclosure. Figure 8 shows an example of the hardware configuration of the device. As shown in Figure 8, the device may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001, memory 1002, storage 1003):
transmit an indication of support by the UE for uplink (UL) resource muting associated with one or more of ([0193]: The following UE Capabilities may be reported from UE200 to gNB100. [0194]: UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resource indication/configuration. UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resources configured by RRC. UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resources as specified by DCI or MAC CE):
UL resource muting activation ([0097]: The UE200 may perform the following actions when it detects a dynamic instruction indicating the activation of one or more UL muting resource settings. [0109]: when the UE200 detects a dynamic instruction indicating the activation of one or more UL muting resources, it applies a frequency domain position (UL muting resource setting) to each slot/symbol in the set of slots/symbols),
a number of UL resource muting time location configurations supported by the UE ([0080]: At least one of the periodicity, offset, and duration (number of slots/symbols) may be set for the UL muting resource. [0086]: the frequency domain indication may include at least one selected from the number of PRBs that initiate UL transmission muting, PRBs that terminate UL transmission muting, and PRBs that are to be muted for UL transmission. [0099]: lt.1-2 allows UE200 to periodically apply UL muting resource settings for X times/slots/subframes/frames/ms/s. The value of X may be predefined in the wireless communication system 10, set by RRC, or indicated by dynamic instructions),
UL resource muting time location configuration switching ([0077]: the UL muting resource setting may include an index(es) of a slot (and/or slot) indicating whether or not UL transmission should be muted in the slot/symbol at the location in the frequency domain where UL transmission muting is set),
a use of zero power (ZP) sounding reference signals (SRS) resources for the UL resource muting,
one or more UL waveforms,
one or more transmission types ([0149]: Whether or not to apply the UL muting resource setting is determined by setting at least one of the following: CG PUSCH setting, SR PUCCH setting, CSI report setting, SPS setting, or SRS setting),
a maximum number of muted symbols in a time window,
a slot type,
power boosting of unmuted physical UL shared channel (PUSCH) resources,
a minimum frequency domain allocation of a PUSCH to which the UL resource muting may be applied, or
a minimum time domain allocation of the PUSCH to which the UL resource muting may be applied; and
receive, based on the indication, at least one UL resource muting configuration supported by the UE ([0074]: The UE200 is configured to use the UL muting resource for UL transmission. [0148]: The channel type to which the UL muting resource setting applies may be set by the RRC. [0129]: the dynamic instruction of the UL muting resource described above is either DCI or MAC CE. [0121]: The content of the dynamic instruction, specifically the time domain indication for muting UL transmission. [0194]: UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resource indication/configuration. UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resources configured by RRC. UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resources as specified by DCI or MAC CE).
Regarding claim(s) 15, Kurita discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Kurita discloses further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, the transceiver being configured to (Fig. 8, [0199]: communication device 1004 coupled to processor 1001):
transmit an UL transmission with the UL resource muting based on an UL resource muting configuration from the at least one UL resource muting configuration ([0074]: The UE200 is configured to use the UL muting resource for UL transmission. The UE200 does not transmit UL channels or UL signals in UL muting resources. [0140]: when a UL muting resource is configured or specified, the UE200 will not transmit UL channels or UL signals in the UL muting resource. [0144], [0154], [0164], [0168], [0189]: The UE200 will not send UL channels that overlap with REs configured as UL muting resources).
Regarding claim(s) 16, Kurita discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Kurita discloses wherein the indication of support is a UE capability indication ([0193]: The following UE Capabilities may be reported from UE200 to gNB100).
Regarding claim(s) 17, Kurita discloses An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to (Fig. 8, [0199]: the gNB100 and UE200 (the devices) described above may function as computers that process the wireless communication method of this disclosure. Figure 8 shows an example of the hardware configuration of the device. As shown in Figure 8, the device may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001, memory 1002, storage 1003):
receive an indication of support by a user equipment (UE) for uplink (UL) resource muting associated with one or more of ([0193]: The following UE Capabilities may be reported from UE200 to gNB100. [0194]: UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resource indication/configuration. UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resources configured by RRC. UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resources as specified by DCI or MAC CE):
UL resource muting activation ([0097]: The UE200 may perform the following actions when it detects a dynamic instruction indicating the activation of one or more UL muting resource settings. [0109]: when the UE200 detects a dynamic instruction indicating the activation of one or more UL muting resources, it applies a frequency domain position (UL muting resource setting) to each slot/symbol in the set of slots/symbols),
a number of UL resource muting time location configurations supported by the UE ([0080]: At least one of the periodicity, offset, and duration (number of slots/symbols) may be set for the UL muting resource. [0086]: the frequency domain indication may include at least one selected from the number of PRBs that initiate UL transmission muting, PRBs that terminate UL transmission muting, and PRBs that are to be muted for UL transmission. [0099]: lt.1-2 allows UE200 to periodically apply UL muting resource settings for X times/slots/subframes/frames/ms/s. The value of X may be predefined in the wireless communication system 10, set by RRC, or indicated by dynamic instructions),
UL resource muting time location configuration switching ([0077]: the UL muting resource setting may include an index(es) of a slot (and/or slot) indicating whether or not UL transmission should be muted in the slot/symbol at the location in the frequency domain where UL transmission muting is set),
a use of zero power (ZP) sounding reference signals (SRS) resources for the UL resource muting,
one or more UL waveforms,
one or more transmission types ([0149]: Whether or not to apply the UL muting resource setting is determined by setting at least one of the following: CG PUSCH setting, SR PUCCH setting, CSI report setting, SPS setting, or SRS setting),
a maximum number of muted symbols in a time window,
a slot type,
power boosting of unmuted physical UL shared channel (PUSCH) resources,
a minimum frequency domain allocation of a PUSCH to which the UL resource muting may be applied, or
a minimum time domain allocation of the PUSCH to which the UL resource muting may be applied; and
transmit, based on the indication, at least one UL resource muting configuration supported by the UE ([0074]: The UE200 is configured to use the UL muting resource for UL transmission. [0148]: The channel type to which the UL muting resource setting applies may be set by the RRC. [0129]: the dynamic instruction of the UL muting resource described above is either DCI or MAC CE. [0121]: The content of the dynamic instruction, specifically the time domain indication for muting UL transmission. [0194]: UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resource indication/configuration. UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resources configured by RRC. UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resources as specified by DCI or MAC CE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita et al. (WO 2024166375 A1) in view of Lee et al. (WO 2023/068709 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 2 and 20, Kurita discloses all features of claim(s) 1 and 19 as outlined above.
Kurita does not disclose, but Lee discloses wherein the at least one UL resource muting configuration comprises a set of candidate UL resource muting time location configurations configured for the UL resource muting, and wherein the set of candidate UL resource muting time location configurations is associated with one or more of ([248]: the BS informs the UE of the specific position of the muting symbol along with the specific period (e.g., 0.5 slots, 1 slot, or 2 slots). Fig. 10, [201]: the BS 810 may allocate some symbols 1020 in the slot 1010 as muting symbols):
a first position within a slot of a first muted symbol for the UL resource muting ([249]: the BS indicates the period of 0.5 slots and symbol #1 as the period and position of the muting symbol. Fig. 18: muting symbol #0 and muting symbol #7 in slot 1810. [291]: the muting symbol is a symbol in which the uplink transmission of the UE is restricted for estimation of the self-interference channel in the BS);
a second position within the slot of the first muted symbol for the UL resource muting;
a third position within the slot of a second muted symbol for the UL resource muting (Fig. 18: muting symbol #0 and muting symbol #7 in slot 1810. [291]: the muting symbol is a symbol in which the uplink transmission of the UE is restricted for estimation of the self-interference channel in the BS); or
a fourth position within the slot of the second muted symbol for the UL resource muting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the UL muting resource setting, as taught by Kurita, to indicate specific positions of the muting symbol(s) along with a specific period, as taught by Lee.
Doing so allows the BS to perform self-interference channel estimation in the one or more muting symbols; thereby enhancing the reception SINR upon self-interference channel estimation (Lee: abstract, [205], [293]).
Regarding claim(s) 18, Kurita discloses all features of claim(s) 17 as outlined above.
Kurita does not disclose, but Lee discloses wherein the at least one UL resource muting configuration comprises a set of candidate UL resource muting time location configurations configured for the UL resource muting, and wherein the set of candidate UL resource muting time location configurations is associated with one or more of ([248]: the BS informs the UE of the specific position of the muting symbol along with the specific period (e.g., 0.5 slots, 1 slot, or 2 slots). Fig. 10, [201]: the BS 810 may allocate some symbols 1020 in the slot 1010 as muting symbols):
a first position within a slot of a first muted symbol for the UL resource muting ([249]: the BS indicates the period of 0.5 slots and symbol #1 as the period and position of the muting symbol. Fig. 18: muting symbol #0 and muting symbol #7 in slot 1810. [291]: the muting symbol is a symbol in which the uplink transmission of the UE is restricted for estimation of the self-interference channel in the BS);
a second position within the slot of the first muted symbol for the UL resource muting;
a third position within the slot of a second muted symbol for the UL resource muting (Fig. 18: muting symbol #0 and muting symbol #7 in slot 1810. [291]: the muting symbol is a symbol in which the uplink transmission of the UE is restricted for estimation of the self-interference channel in the BS); or
a fourth position within the slot of the second muted symbol for the UL resource muting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the UL muting resource setting, as taught by Kurita, to indicate specific positions of the muting symbol(s) along with a specific period, as taught by Lee.
Doing so allows the BS 810 to perform self-interference channel estimation in the one or more muting symbols; thereby enhancing the reception SINR upon self-interference channel estimation (Lee: abstract, [205], [293]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita et al. (WO 2024166375 A1) in view of Lee et al. (WO 2023/068709 A1) and Ahmadzadeh et al. (US 2025/0047442 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 3, Kurita in view of Lee discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Kurita discloses wherein the indication indicates the support for the UL resource muting associated with the UL resource muting activation ([0193]: The following UE Capabilities may be reported from UE200 to gNB100. [0194]: UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resource indication/configuration. UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resources configured by RRC. UE capability may include information indicating whether or not it supports UL muting resources as specified by DCI or MAC CE. [0097]: The UE200 may perform the following actions when it detects a dynamic instruction indicating the activation of one or more UL muting resource settings. [0109]: when the UE200 detects a dynamic instruction indicating the activation of one or more UL muting resources, it applies a frequency domain position (UL muting resource setting) to each slot/symbol in the set of slots/symbols),
Kurita does not disclose, but Ahmadzadeh discloses wherein the indication indicates support for one or more of a dynamic activation and a dynamic deactivation of the UL resource muting ([0424]: UE is to report to a network entity of the wireless communication system one or more of the following: [0426] a capability to apply or activate one or more DMRS muting patterns. [0174] an indication activating DMRS muting at a certain time instant for a certain duration, e.g., until receiving a signaling deactivating the DMRS muting or modifying the DMRS muting, e.g., for implementing semi-static muting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kurita, to report UE capability to activate one or more DMRS muting patterns, as taught by Ahmadzadeh.
Doing so provides enhancements and improvements in the use of DMRSs when receiving or sending a transmission by a user device in a wireless communication network (Ahmadzadeh: [0144]).
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita et al. (WO 2024166375 A1) in view of Lee et al. (WO 2023/068709 A1) and Choi et al. (WO 2025/234613 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 7, Kurita in view of Lee discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Kurita does not disclose, but Choi discloses wherein the indication indicates the support for the UL resource muting associated with the one or more UL waveforms, and wherein the indication indicates support for one or more of:
the UL resource muting associated with a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform for UL ([0467]: For example, the terminal may report as a terminal capability that muting symbols are applicable to PUSCH, which is a CP-OFDM waveform, and as a terminal capability that muting symbols are applicable to PUSCH, which is a DFT-s-OFDM waveform. [0468]: the terminal may report to the base station … that a maximum of B muting symbols are applicable for PUSCH, which is a DFT-s-OFDM waveform, as a terminal capability);
the UL resource muting associated with a cyclic prefix (CP) orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) (CP-OFDM) waveform for UL ([0468]: the terminal may report to the base station that a maximum of A muting symbols are applicable for PUSCH, which is a CP-OFDM waveform, … as a terminal capability);
a same UL resource muting configuration for the DFT-s-OFDM waveform and the CP-OFDM waveform; or
different UL resource muting configurations for the DFT-s-OFDM waveform and the CP-OFDM waveform ([0468]: the terminal may report to the base station that a maximum of A muting symbols are applicable for PUSCH, which is a CP-OFDM waveform, and that a maximum of B muting symbols are applicable for PUSCH, which is a DFT-s-OFDM waveform, as a terminal capability. Here, A and B can be either 1 or 2. For example, A=2 and B=1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kurita, to report terminal capability for DFT-s-OFDM waveform and CP-OFDM waveform, as taught by Choi.
Doing so allows the terminal to not transmit PUSCH if the number of muting symbols exceeds the terminal’s capacity because the UE determines that the PUSCH scheduling is invalid; and thus provides effective services in a wireless communication system (Choi: [0012], [0469]).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Kurita in view of Lee discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Kurita does not disclose, but Choi discloses wherein the indication indicates the support for the UL resource muting associated with the one or more transmission types, and wherein the indication indicates support for one or more of:
the UL resource muting for a configured grant (CG) PUSCH;
the UL resource muting for a dynamic grant PUSCH;
the UL resource muting for a transport block processing over multi-slot (TBoMS) PUSCH;
the UL resource muting for a first PUSCH associated with one or more of a first type of repetition or a second type of the repetition;
the UL resource muting for a second PUSCH with intra-slot frequency hopping;
the UL resource muting for a third PUSCH with inter-slot frequency hopping; or
the UL resource muting for a fourth PUSCH associated with one or more of a first type of resource mapping or a second type of the resource mapping ([0523]: The terminal can report EPRE options supported by the base station through terminal capability reporting. Here, the first EPRE option includes the EPRE of the unmuted RE in the muting symbol being the same as the reference EPRE, and the second EPRE option may be the EPRE of the unmuted RE in the muting symbol being P dB higher than the reference EPRE. When the terminal reports the first EPRE option to the base station, the EPRE of the RE that is not muted in the muting symbol can transmit PUSCH in the same way as the reference EPRE. When the terminal reports the second EPRE option to the base station, the EPRE of the unmuted RE in the muting symbol can transmit a PUSCH that is higher than the reference EPRE by P dB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kurita, to report terminal capability for EPRE options of unmuted RE in the muting symbol, as taught by Choi.
Doing so allows the terminal to transmit PUSCH in the same way as a reference EPRE or higher than the reference EPRE by P dB; and thus provides effective services in a wireless communication system (Choi: [0012], [0523]).
Regarding claim(s) 9, Kurita in view of Lee discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Kurita does not disclose, but Choi discloses wherein the indication indicates the support for the UL resource muting associated with the maximum number of muted symbols in the time window, and wherein the indication indicates support for one or more of:
a first maximum number of muted symbols within the slot ([0552]: the terminal may indicate to the base station, through a terminal capability report, the maximum number of muting symbols in one time unit (e.g., slot, slot set, etc.)); or
a second maximum number of muted symbols within a mini-slot ([0552]: the terminal may indicate to the base station, through a terminal capability report, the maximum number of muting symbols in one time unit (e.g., slot, slot set, etc.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kurita, to report terminal capability with a maximum number of muting symbols in one slot, slot set, etc., as taught by Choi.
Doing so allows the base station can set or instruct a muting symbol to PUSCH based on the above terminal report; and thus provides effective services in a wireless communication system (Choi: [0012], [0552]).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Kurita in view of Lee discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Kurita discloses wherein the indication indicates the support for the UL resource muting associated with the slot type, and wherein the indication indicates support for one or more of:
the UL resource muting on sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbols ([0285]: the SBFD terminal can notify the base station that the terminal attempting to connect is an SBFD terminal by transmitting capability information to the base station, which includes at least one of whether the terminal supports SBFD. [0546]: The terminal can report whether it supports phase continuity and power consistency between symbols before and after the muting symbol of PUSCH through capability reporting);
the UL resource muting on non-SBFD symbols ([0285]: the SBFD terminal can notify the base station that the terminal attempting to connect is an SBFD terminal by transmitting capability information to the base station, which includes at least one of whether the terminal supports SBFD. [0546]: The terminal can report whether it supports phase continuity and power consistency between symbols before and after the muting symbol of PUSCH through capability reporting);
a same UL resource muting configuration for the SBFD symbols and the non-SBFD symbols; or
different UL resource muting configurations for the SBFD symbols and the non-SBFD symbols.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kurita, to report terminal capability for SBFD and symbols before and after muting symbol of PUSCH, as taught by Choi.
Doing so provides effective services in a wireless communication system (Choi: [0012]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita et al. (WO 2024166375 A1) in view of Lee et al. (WO 2023/068709 A1) and Shibaike et al. (WO 2026/047994 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 11, Kurita in view of Lee discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Kurita does not disclose, but Shibaike discloses wherein the indication indicates the support for the UL resource muting associated with the power boosting of the unmuted PUSCH resources, and wherein the indication indicates that the UE supports the power boosting on the unmuted PUSCH resources transmitted in a first symbol during which the UL resource muting is applied ([0221]: Power boost is assumed for RE in symbols with UL resource muting. Note that the PUSCH transmit power does not change across symbols... The above UL resource muting is subject to UE capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kurita, to report terminal capability about power boost for RE in symbols with UL resource muting, as taught by Shibaike.
Doing so can avoid interference when frequency sharing occurs in generations even later than 5G (Shibaike: [0006]).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita et al. (WO 2024166375 A1) in view of Lee et al. (WO 2023/068709 A1) and Rudolf et al. (US 2026/0101348 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 13, Kurita in view of Lee discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Kurita does not disclose, but Rudolf discloses wherein the indication indicates the support for the UL resource muting associated with the minimum frequency domain allocation of the PUSCH to which the UL resource muting may be applied, and wherein the indication indicates a minimum number of frequency resources associated with the PUSCH for which the UE supports the UL resource muting, wherein the frequency resources comprise one of resource blocks or sub-carriers ([0228]: a minimum frequency-domain gap value of S=5 RBs may be assumed by the UE for support of a PUSCH with UL muting in a first cluster of the PUSCH frequency-domain allocation when to be transmitted in a slot with respect to a second cluster of the PUSCH frequency-domain allocation on a symbol in the slot. For example, a starting RB, or and end RB, or a range of RBs, may be provided to the UE with respect to CRB #0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kurita, to report its support of a minimum frequency-domain gap value of S=5 RBs for a PUSCH with UL muting, as taught by Rudolf.
Doing so allows the UE to suitably select a frequency-domain gap value for simultaneous UL signal or channel transmission in the slot (Rudolf: [0228]).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Kurita in view of Lee discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Kurita does not disclose, but Rudolf discloses wherein the indication indicates the support for the UL resource muting associated with the minimum time domain allocation of the PUSCH to which the UL resource muting may be applied, and wherein the indication indicates a minimum number of time-domain resources associated with the PUSCH for which the UE supports the UL resource muting, wherein the time-domain resources comprise one of slots, symbols, or milliseconds ([0219]: a minimum time-domain gap value of S=2 symbols may be assumed by the UE for support of a PUSCH with UL muting when to be transmitted in a slot with respect to a preceding or a following SRS transmission in the slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kurita, to report its support of a minimum time-domain gap value of S=2 symbols for a PUSCH with UL muting, as taught by Rudolf.
Doing so allows the UE to suitably select a time-domain gap value for simultaneous UL signal or channel transmission in the slot (Rudolf: [0219]).
Conclusion
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov