DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1-16, filed on 10/16/2024, are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
please spell out “EMAID” in these claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Allamsetty” et al. (US 11962579 B2 ) in view of “Aabye” et al. (US 2026/0121422 A1).
Regarding Claim 1/9. Allamsetty discloses A method/A system for leveraging a single contract certificate stored in a vehicle for accommodating multiple charging contacts in a Plug and Charge ecosystem (see Abstract and FIG.1), the method/system comprising: at least one computer processor; and at least one memory device having instructions thereon which, when executed by the at least one computer processor, cause the at least one computer processor to carry out the method of:
a charge station authenticating a vehicle in response to a charging request from the vehicle [see FIG.1, where Allamsetty discloses vehicle 130 charging on Charger 110 authenticated by Charger Data Processing System 180];
in response to the authenticating, validating a contract certificate of the vehicle and authorizing the charging request [see FIG.1, where Allamsetty discloses charger data processing system 180 including digital certificate 185; see also Retrieve Certificate 405, FIG.4];
mapping the contract certificate of the vehicle to the contract certificate of the vehicle [Allamsetty discloses “The cloud data processing system can perform further authentication or verification, for example, based on a mapping between identifiers of charging systems (e.g., serial numbers) and certificates for the charging systems “ (col.1, lines 33-37); see also Charger To Certificate Map 255, FIG.2];
Allamsetty does not; buy, Aabye, analogues art, discloses multiple charging contracts [Aabye discloses “The electric vehicle and an energy supply terminal can communicate with each other using a protocol such ISO-15118 and can automatically negotiate multiple charge session parameters… The standard provides multiple use cases like secure communication, smart charging and plug and charge features used by some electric vehicle networks” (par.0002-0003), see also FIG.7, where Aabye discloses offering different charging option (par.0094-0111)]. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Allamsetty by incorporating the multiple charging of Aabye for enhancing the efficiency and flexibility of electric vehicle charging systems.
Allamsetty in view of Aabye further discloses,
and authorizing the charge station to provide charging services to the vehicle in accordance with the one of multiple charging contracts [Allamsetty discloses Establish Communication 4530/520, FIGS.4/5; see also PERFORM PLUG & CHARGE TRANSACTION S734, FIG.7 of Aabye].
Allamsetty in view of Aabye further disclose claim 2/10. The method/system of claim 1/9, wherein the mapping is performed by a service provider computing system [Allamsetty discloses Cloud Processing System 190 performing mapping (see FIG.2)].
Allamsetty in view of Aabye further disclose claim 3-4/11-12. The method/system of claim 2/10, wherein the service provider computing system is a centralized computing system; and wherein the service provider computing system is a decentralized computing system [see FIGS.1-2 can be implemented as in a centralized/decentralized system].
Allamsetty in view of Aabye further disclose claim 5/13. The method/system of claim 1/9, wherein the authenticating is based on an EMAID associated with the vehicle [Aabye discloses, “In some embodiments, the service provider account may be identified by a service provider account number such as eMobility account ID (eMAID)” (par.0050)]. The motivation to combine is the same as that of claim 1 above.
Allamsetty in view of Aabye further disclose claim 6-7/14-15. The method/system of claim 1/9, wherein the contract certificate is stored in a memory device of the vehicle; wherein the contract certificate is stored in a removable memory device that can be selectively coupled with the vehicle [storing certificate in device memory and removable memory is well known in the art (see FIGS.1-2 of Allamsetty)].
Allamsetty in view of Aabye further disclose claim 8/16. The method/system of claim 1/9, wherein the mapping is based on at least one of a charge point operator or a mobility operator [see FIG.1, where Allamsetty discloses vehicle 130 charging on Charger 110 authenticated by Charger Data Processing System 180; and see also Charger To Certificate Map 255, FIG.2].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See PTO—892).
For example, US 11321482 B2 is directed to Method And Apparatus For Protecting Confidential Information In Electric Vehicle Power Transfer System.
Contact Information
/AMARE F TABOR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434