DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 10, 13-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattaparti et al. (US 20230403688, hereinafter “Matta”), and further in view of Hammerschmidt et al. (US 20220137177, hereinafter “Hammer”).
Regarding claim 1, Matta discloses,
A network device (FIG. 8 presents a block diagram illustrating an example of an electronic device 800), comprising:
a processor (This electronic device includes processing subsystem 810 [0095]); and
a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (Memory subsystem 812 includes one or more devices for storing data and/or instructions for processing subsystem 810 and networking subsystem 814 [0096]),
wherein the memory comprises a channel selection logic (FIG. 2 presents a flow diagram illustrating an example of a method 200 for collaboratively selecting a channel and/or a channel width, which may be performed by an access point (such as access point 116-1 in FIG. 1) [0053]) that is configured to:
receive one or more channel status messages (the information may be received in one or more packets or frames [0053]), wherein a channel status
message of the one or more channel status messages is configured to indicate a channel associated with a neighboring device of the network device (the other access points may include a neighboring access point that is within wireless communication range of the access point [0054]) and a channel metric associated with the channel (During operation, the access point may receive, associated with other access points, information (operation 210) specifying one or more communication-performance metrics associated with a shared band of frequencies. For example, the information may be received in one or more packets or frames. Note that the one or more communication-performance metrics may include one or more RSSI, SNR, etc. measurements or values. In some embodiments, the one or more communication-performance metrics may include associated channel information and/or an identifier of a given access point in the other access points that performed measurements that determined an instance of the one or more communication-performance metrics [0053]-[0055]);
select, from a set of available channels, a target channel based on the one or more channel status messages (based at least in part on the one or more communication-performance metrics, the access point may determine a proposed channel and/or a proposed channel width (operation 212) for use by the access point during communication in the shared band of frequencies [0055]; based at least in part on the feedback, the access point may select the channel and/or the channel width (operation 218) for use by the access point during communication in the shared band of frequencies [0058]).
However, Matta does not explicitly disclose, execute a ranging round by utilizing the selected target channel.
In the same field of endeavor, Hammer discloses, execute a ranging round by utilizing the selected target channel (Diagram 4600 of FIG. 46 illustrates an embodiment of random or adaptive channel hopping. In some embodiments, the NB packets (e.g., used for transmitting NB_POLL, NB_RSP, and/or NB_DATA) use different channels in different ranging rounds. For example, as depicted in FIG. 46, ranging round X 4602 may use channel A 4606, and a subsequent ranging round Y 4604 may use channel B 4608 [0213]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matta execute a ranging round by utilizing the selected target channel, as taught by Hammer for the purpose of providing techniques for utilizing a hybrid of ultra-wideband (UWB) and narrowband (NB) signaling to provide more efficient operating range and operating efficiency (abstract).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Matta discloses, wherein the channel metric corresponds to a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) value determined by the neighboring device on the channel for a source device (the one or more communication-performance metrics may include RSSI, SNR, etc. measurements of received wireless signals associated with one or more of access points 116 in different channels in the shared band of frequencies [0048]; [0053]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Matta discloses, wherein the source device corresponds to one of the network device or another neighboring device (as discussed in FIGS. 2-7, in order to address these problems one of access points 116 (such as access point 116-1) may implement the communication techniques and may collaboratively select (in conjunction with one or more of a remainder of access points 116) one or more channels and/or one or more channel widths that it will use by access point 116-1 during communication in a shared band of frequencies (such as 2.4, 5 and/or 6 GHz); [0047]-[0048]; [0054]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Hammer discloses, wherein the ranging round corresponds to a Narrowband-Assisted Ultra-Wideband (NBA-UWB) ranging round (In FIG. 4000, the NB-UWB entity first communicates its ranging round start time (denoted as Tx) to the BLE entity. The BLE then converts that time into its own time domain (denoted as f(Tx)), possibly in reference to the advertisement packet in which it is transmitted. Once the Ranging Round X 4010 completes, the NB-UWB entity communicates the start time (Tx+1) of the next Ranging Round X+1 4012 to the BLE entity. The BLE entity sends two advertisement packets 4014a-b referencing to the same Ranging Round X+1 4012, since that is the next ranging round in both the cases [0202]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Matta discloses, wherein the network device corresponds to a wireless access point (Para [0005] expressly describes the device is an access point performing the channel-selection process).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), further Matta discloses, wherein the neighboring device corresponds to another wireless access point deployed within a communication range of the network device (the other access points may include a neighboring access point that is within wireless communication range of the access point and/or a second access point that is outside of wireless communication range of the access point. In some embodiments, the second access point is hidden from the access point and is detectable by one or more of a remainder of the other access points, such as the neighboring access point [0007]).
Regarding claim 15, Matta discloses,
A network device (FIG. 8 presents a block diagram illustrating an example of an electronic device 800), comprising:
a processor (This electronic device includes processing subsystem 810 [0095]);
a network interface controller configured to provide access to a network comprising a plurality of access point (the computer system may include a controller of the access points, which manages and/or configures operation of the access points in a WLAN [0064]);
a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (Memory subsystem 812 includes one or more devices for storing data and/or instructions for processing subsystem 810 and networking subsystem 814 [0096]),
wherein the memory comprises a channel selection logic (FIG. 2 presents a flow diagram illustrating an example of a method 200 for collaboratively selecting a channel and/or a channel width, which may be performed by an access point (such as access point 116-1 in FIG. 1) [0053]) that is configured to:
receive one or more channel status messages (the information may be received in one or more packets or frames [0053]), wherein a channel status message of the plurality of channel status messages is configured to indicate a channel associated with one of the plurality of access points (the other access points may include a neighboring access point that is within wireless communication range of the access point [0054]) and a channel metric associated with the channel (During operation, the access point may receive, associated with other access points, information (operation 210) specifying one or more communication-performance metrics associated with a shared band of frequencies. For example, the information may be received in one or more packets or frames. Note that the one or more communication-performance metrics may include one or more RSSI, SNR, etc. measurements or values. In some embodiments, the one or more communication-performance metrics may include associated channel information and/or an identifier of a given access point in the other access points that performed measurements that determined an instance of the one or more communication-performance metrics [0053]-[0055]);
select, from a set of available channels, a target channel based on the one or more channel status messages (based at least in part on the one or more communication-performance metrics, the access point may determine a proposed channel and/or a proposed channel width (operation 212) for use by the access point during communication in the shared band of frequencies [0055]; based at least in part on the feedback, the access point may select the channel and/or the channel width (operation 218) for use by the access point during communication in the shared band of frequencies [0058]).
However, Matta does not explicitly disclose, control at least one access point of the plurality of access points to execute a ranging round by utilizing the selected target channel.
In the same field of endeavor, Hammer discloses, control at least one access point of the plurality of access points to execute a ranging round by utilizing the selected target channel (Diagram 4600 of FIG. 46 illustrates an embodiment of random or adaptive channel hopping. In some embodiments, the NB packets (e.g., used for transmitting NB_POLL, NB_RSP, and/or NB_DATA) use different channels in different ranging rounds. For example, as depicted in FIG. 46, ranging round X 4602 may use channel A 4606, and a subsequent ranging round Y 4604 may use channel B 4608 [0213]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matta by specifically providing control at least one access point of the plurality of access points to execute a ranging round by utilizing the selected target channel, as taught by Hammer for the purpose of providing techniques for utilizing a hybrid of ultra-wideband (UWB) and narrowband (NB) signaling to provide more efficient operating range and operating efficiency (abstract).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), further Matta discloses, wherein the channel metric is configured to indicate one or more of: a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) value associated with the channel, a scheduled amount of traffic associated with the channel, or an amount of traffic buffered to at least one priority queue of the channel (controller 112 may receive, associated with access point 116-1 and/or access points 116, information specifying one or more communication-performance metrics associated with access points 116 and the shared band of frequencies. In some embodiments, the one or more communication-performance metrics may include RSSI, SNR, etc. measurements of received wireless signals associated with one or more of access points 116 in different channels in the shared band of frequencies [0050]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), further Matta discloses, wherein the network device corresponds to a Wireless Network Controller (Note that the computer system may include a controller of the access points, which manages and/or configures operation of the access points in a WLAN [0013]).
Regarding claim 20, Matta discloses,
A method comprising:
in a network device (FIG. 8 presents a block diagram illustrating an example of an electronic device 800):
receiving one or more channel status messages (the information may be received in one or more packets or frames [0053]), wherein a channel status
message of the one or more channel status messages is configured to indicate a channel associated with a neighboring device of the network device (the other access points may include a neighboring access point that is within wireless communication range of the access point [0054]) and a channel metric associated with the channel (During operation, the access point may receive, associated with other access points, information (operation 210) specifying one or more communication-performance metrics associated with a shared band of frequencies. For example, the information may be received in one or more packets or frames. Note that the one or more communication-performance metrics may include one or more RSSI, SNR, etc. measurements or values. In some embodiments, the one or more communication-performance metrics may include associated channel information and/or an identifier of a given access point in the other access points that performed measurements that determined an instance of the one or more communication-performance metrics [0053]-[0055]);
selecting, from a set of available channels, a target channel based on the one or more channel status messages (based at least in part on the one or more communication-performance metrics, the access point may determine a proposed channel and/or a proposed channel width (operation 212) for use by the access point during communication in the shared band of frequencies [0055]; based at least in part on the feedback, the access point may select the channel and/or the channel width (operation 218) for use by the access point during communication in the shared band of frequencies [0058]).
However, Matta does not explicitly disclose, executing a ranging round by utilizing the selected target channel.
In the same field of endeavor, Hammer discloses, executing a ranging round by utilizing the selected target channel (Diagram 4600 of FIG. 46 illustrates an embodiment of random or adaptive channel hopping. In some embodiments, the NB packets (e.g., used for transmitting NB_POLL, NB_RSP, and/or NB_DATA) use different channels in different ranging rounds. For example, as depicted in FIG. 46, ranging round X 4602 may use channel A 4606, and a subsequent ranging round Y 4604 may use channel B 4608 [0213]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matta executing a ranging round by utilizing the selected target channel, as taught by Hammer for the purpose of providing techniques for utilizing a hybrid of ultra-wideband (UWB) and narrowband (NB) signaling to provide more efficient operating range and operating efficiency (abstract).
Claims 2, 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matta, in view of Hammer and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20120058728, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Matta and Hammer does not disclose, wherein to select the target channel, the channel selection logic is further configured to identify, based on the one or more channel status messages, a channel associated with a lowest channel metric among the set of available channels, and wherein the channel associated with the lowest channel metric is selected as the target channel.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses, wherein to select the target channel, the channel selection logic is further configured to identify, based on the one or more channel status messages, a channel associated with a lowest channel metric among the set of available channels, and wherein the channel associated with the lowest channel metric is selected as the target channel (Step 215 determines cost values for each of the available channels based on the data gathered in step 205…. Step 220 selects the channel with the best cost value as a candidate channel for use by this wireless networking device. Depending on the specific form of the cost function, the best cost value may either be the lowest cost value or the highest cost value [0017]-[0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matta and Hammer by specifically providing wherein to select the target channel, the channel selection logic is further configured to identify, based on the one or more channel status messages, a channel associated with a lowest channel metric among the set of available channels, and wherein the channel associated with the lowest channel metric is selected as the target channel, as taught by Wang for the purpose of scanning available channels and gather data about the channels and the RF environment and using this information, each wireless networking device determines a cost value for each available channel and a quality value for its overall RF neighborhood [0009].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Matta and Hammer does not disclose, wherein an interference exhibited by the selected target channel in one or more Wi-Fi operations of the network device and the neighboring device is less than a threshold value.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses, wherein an interference exhibited (As shown in FIG. 1, channels are assigned to wireless access points 105 to maximize the distance between different wireless access points using the same channel and thus minimize radio interference [0015]) by the selected target channel in one or more Wi-Fi operations (the wireless access points 105 may use any wireless networking technology and protocol known in the art, including one or more of the IEEE 802.11 family of wireless networking standards, Zigbee and the 802.15.4 wireless networking standard [0013]) of the network device and the neighboring device is less than a threshold value (Different score or point values may be assigned based on whether the measured value of the factor falls within a particular range of values or above or below one or more threshold values [0020]; [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matta and Hammer by specifically providing wherein an interference exhibited by the selected target channel in one or more Wi-Fi operations of the network device and the neighboring device is less than a threshold value, as taught by Wang for the purpose of scanning available channels and gather data about the channels and the RF environment and using this information, each wireless networking device determines a cost value for each available channel and a quality value for its overall RF neighborhood [0009].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16), however the combination of Matta and Hammer does not disclose, wherein the channel selection logic is further configured to select, as the target channel, one of: a channel associated with a lowest RSSI value among the set of available channels, a channel associated with a lowest scheduled amount of traffic among the set of available channels, or a channel associated with a lowest amount of traffic buffered to at least one priority queue among the set of available channels.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses, wherein the channel selection logic is further configured to select, as the target channel, one of: a channel associated with a lowest RSSI value among the set of available channels, a channel associated with a lowest scheduled amount of traffic among the set of available channels, or a channel associated with a lowest amount of traffic buffered to at least one priority queue among the set of available channels (Step 215 determines cost values for each of the available channels based on the data gathered in step 205…. Step 220 selects the channel with the best cost value as a candidate channel for use by this wireless networking device. Depending on the specific form of the cost function, the best cost value may either be the lowest cost value or the highest cost value [0017]-[0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matta and Hammer by specifically providing wherein the channel selection logic is further configured to select, as the target channel, one of: a channel associated with a lowest RSSI value among the set of available channels, a channel associated with a lowest scheduled amount of traffic among the set of available channels, or a channel associated with a lowest amount of traffic buffered to at least one priority queue among the set of available channels, as taught by Wang for the purpose of scanning available channels and gather data about the channels and the RF environment and using this information, each wireless networking device determines a cost value for each available channel and a quality value for its overall RF neighborhood [0009].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matta, in view of Hammer and further in view of Li et al (US 20200359275, hereinafter “Li”)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Matta and Hammer does not disclose, wherein the selected target channel is commonly utilized by the network device and the neighboring device to execute corresponding ranging rounds.
In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses, wherein the selected target channel is commonly utilized by the network device and the neighboring device to execute corresponding ranging rounds ( as illustrated in FIG. 19, PHYs of both sides have switched to a selected channel, where future ranging round(s) may be operated on…After the configuration of DCS, future ranging round(s) may be operated on the selected UWB channel, [0176]-[0180]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matta and Hammer by specifically providing wherein the selected target channel is commonly utilized by the network device and the neighboring device to execute corresponding ranging rounds, as taught by Li for the purpose of implementing of more efficient ranging protocols to reduce the number of required message exchanges for many ranging pairs [0109].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matta, in view of Hammer and further in view of Verma et al. (US 20240027570, hereinafter “Verma”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Matta and Hammer does not disclose, wherein the target channel utilized by the network device to execute the ranging round is different from a channel utilized by the neighboring device to execute one or more ranging rounds.
In the same field of endeavor, Verma discloses, wherein the target channel utilized by the network device to execute the ranging round is different from a channel (the UWB device may use a different frequency, channel, and/or timing than the neighboring device [0031]) utilized by the neighboring device to execute one or more ranging rounds (A device that receives the UWB-AP 300 may use the relative offset to calculate a time of the next UWB event for the initiator based on the time that the UWB-AP 300 was received. The data 304 may include a length of the next UWB event. For example, for a ranging round, the data 304 may include a ranging round length [0030]-[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matta and Hammer by specifically providing wherein the target channel utilized by the network device to execute the ranging round is different from a channel utilized by the neighboring device to execute one or more ranging rounds, as thought by Verma for the purpose of providing a secure and accurate proximity detection and low-latency (high speed) data communication [0011].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matta, in view of Hammer and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20220264398, hereinafter “Wang2”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), however the combination of Matta and Hammer does not disclose, wherein the channel status message is further configured to indicate a first identifier associated with the neighboring device and a second identifier associated with the source device.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang2 discloses, wherein the channel status message is further configured to indicate a first identifier associated with the neighboring device and a second identifier associated with the source device (message portion 801 includes a message identifier field 802, access point identifier field 803…. an access point identifier 806 [0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matta and Hammer by specifically providing wherein the channel status message is further configured to indicate a first identifier associated with the neighboring device and a second identifier associated with the source device, as taught by Matta for the purpose of determining that a wireless terminal should transition/roam away from an access point even when that access point's RSSI value at the wireless terminal is above a threshold that would cause traditional methods to inhibit roaming (abstract).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matta, in view of Hammer and further in view of Tyagi et al. (US 20200221466, hereinafter “Tyagi”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Matta and Hammer does not disclose, wherein to select the target channel, the channel selection logic is further configured to: determine, based on the one or more channel status messages, that one or more neighboring devices of the network device are utilizing a plurality of non-overlapping channels; and select, as the target channel, at least one intermediate channel between two adjacent non-overlapping channels of the plurality of non-overlapping channels.
In the same field of endeavor, Tyagi discloses, wherein to select the target channel (passive scanning of all the channels. Our DCS algorithm is designed as a continuous cycle of three primary actions: Spectrum Scan, Channel Selection, and Channel Switch Decision. Passive scanning of the spectrum is done by WiFi Radio-2 as discussed in section III. Beacon packets of neighboring APs in the 2.4 GHz band only need to be considered [0037]), the channel selection logic is further configured to: determine, based on the one or more channel status messages, that one or more neighboring devices of the network device are utilizing a plurality of non-overlapping channels; and select, as the target channel, at least one intermediate channel between two adjacent non-overlapping channels of the plurality of non-overlapping channels (When WiFi Radio-2 receives a beacon frame, its wireless driver determines the RSSI and provides this information to the application layer via netlink [0055]; A free channel is the channel where interfering APs do not exist or may be present at a distance such that they cause negligible deterioration of our AP's performance [0060]-[0065]; Several interfering APs are present in channel 1, 6 and 11. “CDOTGN0” and “CDOTGN2” are two APs introduced to create active sessions of 20 Mb data transfer in channel 1 and 11 respectively. “CDOTGN1” has one active session of 10 Mb in channel 6 [0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matta and Hammer by specifically providing wherein to select the target channel, the channel selection logic is further configured to: determine, based on the one or more channel status messages, that one or more neighboring devices of the network device are utilizing a plurality of non-overlapping channels; and select, as the target channel, at least one intermediate channel between two adjacent non-overlapping channels of the plurality of non-overlapping channels, as taught by Tyagi for the purpose of providing Dynamic Channel Selection in IEEE 802.11 networks to minimize co-channel interference and overlapping channel interference to obtain improved data throughput and maintain system stability ([0006]).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matta, in view of Hammer and further in view of Hammerschmidth et al. (US 20220140971, hereinafter “Hammer2”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), however the combination of Matta and Hammer does not disclose, wherein to execute the NBA-UWB ranging round, the channel selection logic is further configured to: execute, based on the selected target channel, a Narrowband (NB) signaling that transmits a data packet via an NB signal, wherein the data packet is configured to indicate a time period for reception of a plurality of fragments; and execute, based on an Ultra-Wideband (UWB), a UWB signaling that transmits at least one fragment of the plurality of fragments via a UWB signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Hammer2 discloses, wherein to execute the NBA-UWB ranging round, the channel selection logic is further configured to: execute, based on the selected target channel, a Narrowband (NB) signaling that transmits a data packet via an NB signal, wherein the data packet is configured to indicate a time period for reception of a plurality of fragments (the first device may transmit the packet via the narrowband signal to the second device at the start time. In some embodiments, the packet may comprise data indicating to the second device, for example, a time period for reception of a plurality of fragments [0124]-[0127]); and execute, based on an Ultra-Wideband (UWB), a UWB signaling that transmits at least one fragment of the plurality of fragments via a UWB signal (the first device may transmit the plurality of fragments to the second device via the ultra-wideband signal. In some embodiments, at least one fragment of the plurality of fragments may be time-spaced from at least one other fragment of the plurality of fragments by at least a predetermined time interval [0127]-[0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matta and Hammer by specifically providing wherein to execute the NBA-UWB ranging round, the channel selection logic is further configured to: execute, based on the selected target channel, a Narrowband (NB) signaling that transmits a data packet via an NB signal, wherein the data packet is configured to indicate a time period for reception of a plurality of fragments; and execute, based on an Ultra-Wideband (UWB), a UWB signaling that transmits at least one fragment of the plurality of fragments via a UWB signal, as taught by Hammer2 for the purpose of providing techniques for utilizing a hybrid of ultra-wideband (UWB) and narrowband (NB) signaling to provide improved operating range and/or operating efficiency when performing wireless communication between devices [0043].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Matta, Hammer and Hammer2 discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), in addition Hammer2 discloses, a first communication interface configured to operate on one or more channels of the set of available channels; and a second communication interface configured to operate on the UWB (FIG. 14 is another simplified block diagram 1400 illustrating two devices that are respectively configured to communicate with each other utilizing a hybrid of UWB signaling and NB signaling, [0087]-[0088]).
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matta, in view of Hammer and further in view of Russell et al. (US 20130301441, hereinafter “Russell”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Matta and Hammer discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), however the combination of Matta and Hammer does not disclose, wherein to select the target channel, the channel selection logic is further configured to control, based on the plurality of channel status messages, an access point of the plurality of access points to transmit a null data frame for a specific time duration on a specific channel among the set of available channels, and wherein the specific channel is selected as the target channel for the specific time duration.
In the same field of endeavor, Russel discloses, wherein to select the target channel, the channel selection logic is further configured to control, based on the plurality of channel status messages, an access point of the plurality of access points to transmit a null data frame for a specific time duration on a specific channel among the set of available channels, and wherein the specific channel is selected as the target channel for the specific time duration (The NULL-packet tool, which may be selectively turned on/off (i.e., enabled/disabled), may be used to enable performance of random traffic tests (e.g., 0.1-1000 ms, preferably 1-500 ms, more preferably 50-250 ms, and most preferably 100 ms) at given intervals (e.g., 1-100 s, preferably 1-50 s, more preferably 10-40 s, and most preferably 20 s) using, for example, Quality of Service (QoS) NULL-packets (e.g., 1-3000 bytes, preferably 500-2500 bytes, more preferably 1000-2000 bytes, and most preferably 1500 bytes) [0038]-[0039]; [0047]-[0049] and [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Matta and Hammer by specifically providing wherein to select the target channel, the channel selection logic is further configured to control, based on the plurality of channel status messages, an access point of the plurality of access points to transmit a null data frame for a specific time duration on a specific channel among the set of available channels, and wherein the specific channel is selected as the target channel for the specific time duration, as taught by Russel for the purpose of establishing reasonable confidence in the ability to achieve service level targets as defined for specific applications, which may be accomplished using NULL-data packets [0006].
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20250358775: Aspects presented herein may enable wireless devices to use Wi-Fi® as out-of-band (OOB) for ultra wideband (UWB) ranging. In one aspect, a second wireless device transmits a first message via a Wi-Fi channel, where the first message includes a set of UWB ranging capabilities associated with the second wireless device.
US 20250300791: A method of scheduling a UWB (Ultra-Wideband) ranging session includes: obtaining a first signal transmission schedule of first available signal transmission times of first wireless signals; and transmitting, from a first UWB device to a second UWB device, a ranging control message indicating a second signal transmission schedule.
US 20250216499: ] Access Point (AP) location techniques using Ultra-Wideband (UWB) and, specifically, optimizing UWB location techniques to reduce collisions may be provided. AP location techniques using UWB can include determining a plurality of Access Point (AP) pairs. A schedule is determined for the plurality of AP pairs to perform AP-to-AP ranging, preamble codes are determined for each AP pair to manage cross-correlation between AP pairs of the plurality of AP pairs scheduled to perform AP-to-AP ranging simultaneously.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641