DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The reference number associated with “the third coil” in paragraphs [0196-0199] should be “612” instead of “621”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 12, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR2018-0120894), and further in view of Bong et al. (WO2023/018213).
Regarding claim 1:
Lee discloses a reflective module comprising: a first optical axis (FIG. 2, “Z1 light”, Y-axis); a holder ((120), [0048, 0049]) on which a reflective member ((110), [0047]) is disposed to reflect light passing through ([0057]); a guide member ((130), [0055]) on which the holder is disposed ([0058]); a housing ((140), [0055]) accommodating the holder and the guide member (FIGS. 1, 2); and a first ball member (FIG. 4, (240-2), [0086]), disposed between the guide member and the housing (FIG. 4, [0086, 0087]), comprising a first ball group and a second ball group (FIG. 4, (240-2), [0086-0088]), spaced apart in a direction of a first rotation axis (FIG. 4, X-axis), wherein the holder is configured to rotate about the first rotation axis (by (130)/(140)/(240-2), [0086-0088]) and a second rotation axis (FIG. 3, Z-axis, by (120)/(130)(240-1), [0069, 0070, 0075, 0135]), perpendicular to each other and perpendicular to the first optical axis (FIG. 2), wherein the guide member is configured to rotate about the first rotation axis, together with the holder ((120) is mounted on (130), [0089]; thus, when (130) rotates about the X-axis, [0086-0088], (120) rotates about the X-axis as well), and wherein the first ball group includes a plurality of balls arranged in a direction of the second rotation axis (FIG. 4, the balls of (240-2) are arranged in the Z-axis direction).
Lee does not specifically disclose a first lens module having the first optical axis; and the first lens module and the holder are configured to rotate together.
Bong teaches a lens driving device (FIG. 5), comprising: a first lens module having a first optical axis ((2100), [0095-0100]); a holder ((2400), [0106-0108]) on which a reflective member ((2300), [0104-0107]) is disposed to reflect light passing through the first lens module ([0104]); wherein the first lens module and the holder are configured to rotate together ((2100) may be coupled to the opening formed on the upper surface of (2200), [0101]; (2400) can be seated on (2200), [0106]; as (2500) rotates, (2200)/(2400), thus (2100)/(2300), also rotate, [0111]; FIGS. 23, 24, (110)/(120) rotate with the same rotation angle, [0229]); wherein the guide member ((2500), [0110]) is configured to rotate together with the first lens module and the holder ((2100) may be coupled to the opening formed on the upper surface of (2200), [0101]; (2400) can be seated on (2200), [0106]; as (2500) rotates, (2200)/(2400), thus (2100)/(2300), also rotate, [0111]).
Since Lee already discloses the holder configured to rotate about the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis, perpendicular to each other and perpendicular to the first optical axis, wherein the guide member is configured to rotate about the first rotation axis together with the holder, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Bong’s with the reflective module taught by Lee to enable the first lens module and the holder to be configured to rotate together about the first rotation axis and a second rotation axis, perpendicular to each other and perpendicular to the first optical axis, wherein the guide member is configured to rotate about the first rotation axis, together with the first lens module and the holder, for the purpose of providing a camera actuator capable of implementing an OIS function that can secure sufficient light even if the camera device is miniaturized (Bong: [0008, 0009, 0028]).
Regarding claim 2:
Lee and Bong disclose and teach of the reflective module of claim 1, wherein Lee further discloses: a first guide groove and a second guide groove (FIG. 4, (170-2)/(160-2), [0082, 0084-0086]) are disposed on surfaces on which the guide member and the housing face each other in a direction of the first optical axis (FIGS. 2, 4, (130)/(140) face each other in Y-axis direction), wherein the first ball group is disposed in the first guide groove (FIG. 4, one set of (170-2)/(160-2)), and the second ball group is disposed in the second guide groove (the other set of (170-2)/(160-2)), and wherein each of the first guide groove and the second guide groove has a curved profile (FIG. 4, [0084]).
Regarding claim 3:
Lee and Bong disclose and teach of the reflective module of claim 2, wherein Lee further discloses: each of the first guide groove and the second guide groove has a rolling channel for the first ball group or the second ball group (FIG. 4, [0082, 0084-0086]), and a radius of curvature of the rolling channel is equal to a distance in the direction of the first optical axis between the first rotation axis and the rolling channel (the radius of the curvature, which makes up a portion of a full circle, would inherently equal to the distance from its rotation center, which is the center of the circle, to the rolling channel, which is a portion of the circumference of the full circle).
Regarding claim 8:
Lee and Bong disclose and teach of the reflective module of claim 1, wherein Lee further discloses: a first pulling magnet (FIG. 4, (210), [0083, 0088, 0089]) is disposed on one of the guide member (FIG. 4) or the housing, and a first pulling yoke (FIG. 4, (190) disposed on (140), [0088]) is disposed on another thereof, wherein the first pulling magnet and the first pulling yoke face each other in the direction of the first optical axis (FIGS. 2, 4, face each other in Y-axis direction), and wherein the first pulling magnet is disposed between the first ball group and the second ball group (FIG. 4, (210) disposed between (240-2)).
Regarding claim 12:
Lee and Bong disclose and teach of the reflective module of claim 1, wherein Lee further discloses: a second ball member (FIG. 3, (240-1), [0069, 0070]) disposed between the holder and the guide member ([0075]), wherein the second ball member comprises a plurality of balls spaced apart in the direction of the second rotation axis (FIG. 3, spaced apart in the direction of the Z-axis).
Regarding claim 15:
Lee and Bong disclose and teach of a camera module comprising the reflective module of claim 1 (FIG. 1, [0032-0037]).
Regarding claim 16:
Lee discloses a camera module comprising: a guide member (FIG. 2, (130), [0055]) disposed in a housing (FIG. 4, (140), [0055]) to rotate about a first rotation axis ((130) rotates about the X-axis, [0086-0088]); a holder (FIG. 2, (120), [0048, 0049]) disposed on the guide member to rotate relative to the guide member, based on a second rotation axis (FIG. 3, Z-axis, by (120)/(130)(240-1), [0069, 0070, 0075, 0135]), perpendicular to the first rotation axis (perpendicular to X-axis), and having a reflective member (FIG. 2, (110), [0047]); a first ball member (FIG. 4, (240-2), [0086]), disposed between the guide member and the housing (FIG. 4, [0086, 0087]), comprising a plurality of balls arranged to roll in a direction of the second rotation axis (FIG. 4, roll in the Z-axis direction); the holder having a first optical axis (FIG. 2, “Z1 light”, Y-axis), perpendicular to both the first and second rotation axes (perpendicular to both the X-axis and the Z-axis); and a second lens module into which light reflected from the reflective member is incident (FIG. 1, (11)/(12), [0032-0037]).
Lee does not specifically disclose a first lens module mounted on the holder and having a first optical axis.
Bong teaches a lens driving device (FIG. 5), comprising: a first lens module ((2100), [0095-0100]) mounted on the holder ((2400), [0106-0108]; (2100) may be coupled to the opening formed on the upper surface of (2200), [0101]; (2400) can be seated on (2200), [0106]) and having a first optical axis (FIG. 5, Z-axis).
Since Lee already discloses the holder having the first optical axis, perpendicular to both the first and second rotation axes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Bong’s with the camera module taught by Lee to enable a first lens module to be mounted on the holder and having the first optical axis, perpendicular to both the first and second rotation axes for the purpose of providing a camera actuator capable of implementing an OIS function that can secure sufficient light even if the camera device is miniaturized (Bong: [0008, 0009, 0028]).
Regarding claim 17:
Lee and Bong disclose and teach of the camera module of claim 16, wherein Lee further discloses: a guide groove (FIG. 4, (170-2)/(160-2), [0082, 0084-0086]) is disposed on surfaces on which the guide member and the housing face each other in a direction of the first optical axis (FIGS. 2, 4, (130)/(140) face each other in Y-axis direction), and wherein the guide groove has a curved profile around the first rotation axis (FIG. 4, [0084]; curves around the X-axis).
Claim(s) 4, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR2018-0120894) and Bong et al. (WO2023/018213) as applied to claims 1-3, 8, 12, and 15-17 above, and further in view of Bachar et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2019/0049687).
Regarding claim 4:
Lee and Bong disclose and teach of the reflective module of claim 1.
Lee and Bong do not specifically disclose that wherein, among a plurality of balls in the first ball group, two balls disposed outermost in the direction of the second rotation axis have a larger diameter than a ball disposed therebetween.
Bachar teaches a rotational ball-guided voice coil motor, wherein, among a plurality of balls in the first ball group, two balls disposed outermost in the direction of the second rotation axis have a larger diameter than a ball disposed therebetween (FIGS. 1B, 1D, 1H, 1K, [0062, 0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Bachar’s with the reflective module taught by Lee and Bong for the purpose of providing smoother motion (Bachar: [0064]).
Regarding claim 5:
Lee, Bong, and Bachar disclose and teach of the reflective module of claim 4, wherein Lee further discloses that the two balls are in two-point contact with the guide member, and are in two-point contact with the housing (FIG. 4, (240-2) contacts (160-2)/(170-2) on each side of the V-shaped grooves).
Regarding claim 7:
Lee and Bong disclose and teach of the reflective module of claim 1.
Lee and Bong do not specifically disclose that a diameter of an intermediate ball of the first ball group is smaller than diameters of other balls of the first ball group.
Bachar teaches a rotational ball-guided voice coil motor, wherein, a diameter of an intermediate ball of the first ball group is smaller than diameters of other balls of the first ball group (FIGS. 1B, 1D, 1H, 1K, [0062, 0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Bachar’s with the reflective module taught by Lee and Bong for the purpose of providing smoother motion (Bachar: [0064]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR2018-0120894), Bong et al. (WO2023/018213), and Bachar et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2019/0049687) as applied to claims 4, 5, and 7 above, and further in view of Kim (U.S. Publication No.: 2024/0103339), hereinafter Kim’339.
Regarding claim 6:
Lee, Bong, and Bachar disclose and teach of the reflective module of claim 4.
Lee, Bong, and Bachar do not specifically disclose that the second ball group comprises a fewer number of balls than the plurality of balls included in the first ball group.
Kim’339 teaches a camera module, wherein the second ball group comprises a fewer number of balls than the plurality of balls included in the first ball group (FIG. 7, (B1), [0073, 0077, 0112, 0113, 0117, 0119]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Kim’339’s with the reflective module taught by Lee, Bong, and Bachar to enable the second ball group to be comprised of a fewer number of balls than the plurality of balls included in the first ball group, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR2018-0120894) and Bong et al. (WO2023/018213) as applied to claims 1-3, 8, 12, and 15-17 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2021/0294184), hereinafter Kim’184.
Regarding claim 14:
Lee and Bong disclose and teach of the reflective module of claim 12, wherein Lee further discloses: a second driving unit comprising a second magnet (FIGS. 2, 3, (200), [0047, 0053, 0054, 0056]) disposed in the holder ([0047]) and a second coil (FIG. 2, (150-1)/(150-3), [0052]) disposed to face the second magnet (FIG. 2, [0053]), and wherein the second driving unit is disposed to be spaced apart from the second ball member in a direction of the first rotation axis (FIGS. 2, 3, wherein (200)/(150-1)/(150-3) do not overlap (240-1) in the X-axis direction).
Lee and Bong do not specifically disclose that one surface of the second magnet facing the second coil has an N-pole, a neutral region, and an S-pole along the first optical axis.
Kim’184 teaches a reflection module, wherein one surface of the second magnet facing the second coil has an N-pole, a neutral region, and an S-pole along the first optical axis ([0142, 0152]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Kim’184’s with the reflective module taught by Lee and Bong for the purpose of enabling pivoting by relatively small driving force (Kim’184: [0146]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11, 13, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/FANG-CHI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852