DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al (US 20190250406) in a view of Yoon et al (US 20210063619).
Regarding Claim 1, Nakamura teaches a projection substrate (abstract; figs. 1-5) for projecting an image light onto a second surface while transmitting at least a part of light that entered from a first surface to the second surface opposite to the first surface (fig. 2, 11, 12(21, 22, 23)), the projection substrate comprising:
an incident region into which a projection light for projecting the image light enters (fig. 2, 21, 11);
a splitting region that includes a first diffraction grating that guides the projection light that has entered from the incident region (fig. 2, 22); and
an emission region that includes a second diffraction grating that emits a part of the projection light that has entered from the second surface after guiding the part of the projection light entered from the splitting region (fig. 2, 23),
(¶[0028], line 1-11, Signal light outputted from light engine 11 couples with first hologram area 21 and is captured inside of the imageguide. Signal light in the imageguide propagate to second hologram area 22 using total internal reflection (TIR). The second hologram area 22 expands eye-box size along to vertical/horizontal direction. The second hologram area 22 changes light propagation direction using diffraction and diffracted signal light propagates to third hologram area 23 in image guide substrate using TIR; abstract, line 1-6, An imageguide comprising glass or plastic planer substrate, a first hologram area, a second hologram area, and a third hologram area which are formed on the substrate as surface relief grating),
wherein
the incident region guides the incident projection light to the splitting region (fig. 2, 21,22),
the splitting region diffracts the part of the projection light toward the emission region (fig. 2, 22, 23),
the first diffraction grating includes a plurality of first concave-convex portions, each composed of a first convex portion and a first concave portion, that are formed so as to repeat in a first direction in which the projection light is guided (abstract, line 1-6, An imageguide comprising glass or plastic planer substrate, a first hologram area, a second hologram area, and a third hologram area which are formed on the substrate as surface relief grating, period and direction of diffraction structure of the first, second, and third hologram areas have a relationship, …. depth of diffraction structure…);
the splitting region includes a plurality of first divided regions (fig. 4, 22 (221, 222, 223, 224, 225); ¶[0039], line 1-10, The imageguide 120 has the second and third hologram areas are divided multiple areas; the second hologram area 22 is divided to five multiple areas 221 to 225; the third hologram area 23 is divided to five multiple areas 231 to 235; The each divided areas have different diffraction efficiency characteristics).
But Nakamura does not specifically disclose that wherein a first fill factor which is a ratio of a width of the first convex portion in the first direction to a length corresponding to a first period, which is a period of the first concave-convex portion in one first divided region, is within a range that does not include a predetermined value, and a first fill factor of a first divided region which is closer to the incident region than the one first divided region is within a range that includes the predetermined value.
However, Yoon teaches a display unit (abstract; ¶[0034], line 1-11, A display unit implementing Augmented Reality (AR), or Virtual Reality (VR); figs. 3-4, 511, 512, 513, eye), wherein
a first fill factor which is a ratio of a width of the first convex portion in the first direction to a length corresponding to a first period, which is a period of the first concave-convex portion in one first divided region, is within a range that does not include a predetermined value, and a first fill factor of a first divided region which is closer to the incident region than the one first divided region is within a range that includes the predetermined value (fig. 6, 310, d1, d2; ¶[0100], line 1-10, the duty of the pattern structure may be a value (d2/dl) obtained by dividing a width d2 of the pattern structure by a pitch dl of the pattern structure; ¶[0104], line 1-5, Further, similar to the third area, the first area and/or the second area included in each of the first diffraction grating layer to the third diffraction grating layer may include the pattern structure, whose duty gradually increases from one side to the other side; figs. 3-4, 512; --- the fill factor values at both side of 512 are different, one may include the predetermined value, other one does not include the predetermined value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projection substrate of Nakamura by the display unit of Yoon for the purpose of display unit whose a thickness and weight decreases (¶[0011], line 1-4).
Regarding Claim 2, Nakamura - Yoon combination teaches that the projection substrate according to claim 1, wherein
the first period of the first concave-convex portion in each of the plurality of first divided regions is constant (fig. 1A-C, 310/320/330; figs. 5-6, 310, as disclosed in Yoon).
Regarding Claim 3, Nakamura - Yoon combination teaches that the projection substrate according to claim 1, wherein
the splitting region includes a plurality of divided regions (fig. 4, 22 (221, 222, 223, 224, 225, as disclosed in Nakamura) and a reflection region that is provided at a position farthest from the incident region in the splitting region and reflects at least a part of light that has passed through the plurality of divided regions to the plurality of divided regions again (fig. 6, 2251, 2252; ¶[0053], line 1-13, the deeper grating depth provides higher diffraction efficiency; area 2251 or 2252 which is farthest area to the first hologram area; grating depth gradually deepens from one area of the divided third hologram area 2311 or 2312 which is closest area to the second hologram area 2201 or 2202 to one area of the divided third hologram area which is farthest area to the second hologram area 2351 or 2352 to increase luminance and uniformity; as disclosed in Nakamura)
Regarding Claim 5, Nakamura - Yoon combination teaches that the projection substrate according to claim 1, wherein
the predetermined value is 0.5, the first fill factor of the one first divided region farthest from the incident region among the plurality of first divided regions is within a range of 0.35 or less or 0.65 or more, and the first fill factor of a first divided region that is closer to the incident region than the one first divided region is within a range of 0.3 or more and 0.7 or less (fig. 7A, Duty values between 0.1 to 0.6; ¶[0104], line 1-5, Further, similar to the third area, the first area and/or the second area included in each of the first diffraction grating layer to the third diffraction grating layer may include the pattern structure, whose duty gradually increases from one side to the other side, as disclosed in Yoon, ---- further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Regarding Claim 6, Nakamura - Yoon combination teaches that the projection substrate according to claim 1, wherein
the second diffraction grating includes a plurality of second concave-convex portions, each composed of a second convex portion and a second concave portion, that are formed so as to repeat in a second direction in which the projection light is guided (fig. 2, 23; abstract, line 1-6, An imageguide comprising glass or plastic planer substrate, a first hologram area, a second hologram area, and a third hologram area which are formed on the substrate as surface relief grating, period and direction of diffraction structure of the first, second, and third hologram areas have a relationship, …. depth of diffraction structure…, as disclosed in Nakamura);
the emission region includes a plurality of second divided regions (fig. 4, 23 (231-235) as disclosed in Nakamura), and
a second fill factor which is a ratio of a width of the second convex portion in the second direction to a length corresponding to a second period, which is a period of the second concave-convex portion in one second divided region which is closer to the splitting region than the one second divided region among the plurality of second divided regions, is within a range that includes the predetermined value (¶[0039], line 1-10, The imageguide 120 has the second and third hologram areas are divided multiple areas; the second hologram area 22 is divided to five multiple areas 221 to 225; the third hologram area 23 is divided to five multiple areas 231 to 235; The each divided areas have different diffraction efficiency characteristics, as disclosed in Nakamura; fig. 6, 310, d1, d2; ¶[0100], line 1-10, the duty of the pattern structure may be a value (d2/dl) obtained by dividing a width d2 of the pattern structure by a pitch dl of the pattern structure; fig. 7A, Duty values between 0.1 to 0.6, as disclosed in Yoon; ---- further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Regarding Claim 7, Nakamura - Yoon combination teaches that the projection substrate according to claim 6, wherein
the second period of the second concave-convex portion in each of the plurality of second divided regions is constant (fig. 1A-C, 310/320/330, as disclosed in Yoon).
Regarding Claim 9, Nakamura - Yoon combination teaches that the projection substrate according to claim 6, wherein
the predetermined value is 0.5 (fig. 7A, Duty values between 0.1 to 0.6, as disclosed in Yoon),
the second fill factor of the one second divided region is within a range that does not include the predetermined value, and a second fill factor of a second divided region that is closer to the splitting region than the one second divided region is within a range that includes the predetermined value (¶[0100], line 1-10, the duty of the pattern structure may be a value (d2/dl) obtained by dividing a width d2 of the pattern structure by a pitch dl of the pattern structure; ¶[0101], line 1-7, the third area includes the pattern structure, whose duty gradually increases from one side to the other side; figs. 3-4, 513, as disclosed in Yoon; --- the fill factor values at both side of 513 are different, one may include the predetermined value, other one does not include the predetermined value).
Regarding Claim 11, Nakamura - Yoon combination teaches that the smart glasses that are worn by a user (figs. 1-2, head mounted display, as disclosed in Nakamura; ¶[0034], line 1-11, A display unit implementing Augmented Reality (AR), Mixed Reality (MR), or Virtual Reality (VR)..., as disclosed in Yoon),
the smart glasses comprising:
the projection substrate according to claim 1 (fig. 2, 11, 12(21, 22, 23), as disclosed in Nakamura), which is provided as at least one of a lens for the right eye or a lens for the left eye of the user, and projects the image light onto the second surface, while transmitting at least a part of light entering from the first surface to the eyes of the user (figs. 1-2, head mounted display,12 (21, 22, 23), as disclosed in Nakamura);
a frame that fixes the projection substrate (figs. 1-2, head mounted display, as disclosed in Nakamura); and
a projection part that is provided in the frame and radiates the projection light, for projecting the image light to the emission region onto the incident region of the projection substrate (fig. 2, 11, 12, 21, as disclosed in Nakamura).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the allowable subject matter: The prior art taken singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper.
In regard to claim 4, the prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest a projection substrate further comprising wherein the greater an absolute value of a difference between the depth of the first concave-convex portion of the one first divided region and the depth of the first concave-convex portion of the first divided region that is closer to the incident region than the one first divided region, the smaller an absolute value of a difference between the first fill factor of the one first divided region and the first fill factor of the first divided region which is closer to the incident region than the one first divided region.
In regard to claim 8, the prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest a projection substrate further comprising wherein the greater an absolute value of a difference between the depth of the second concave-convex portion of the one second divided region and the depth of the second concave-convex portion of the second divided region that is closer to the splitting region than the one second divided region, the smaller an absolute value of a difference between (i) a second fill factor which is a ratio of a width of the second convex portion in the second direction to a second period of the second concave-convex portion in the one second divided region and (ii) the second fill factor of the second divided region that is closer to the splitting region than the one second divided region.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon claim 8.
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872