Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12147114. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 is obvious over Claim 1 of US 12147114.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 20060039152) in view of Seo et al (US 20050225707)
Regarding Claim 1,
Ito et al discloses (Fig. 7 and Fig. 9) A display device, comprising: a display unit emitting an output light having an output spectrum corresponding to a highest gray level [0014] of the display device, wherein an intensity integral of the output spectrum from 494 nm to 575 nm (Around 479 according to graph Fig. 9) is defined as a first intensity integral, an intensity integral of the output spectrum from 380 nm to 493 nm is defined as a second intensity integral (wavelength 493 cyan) , and the first intensity integral is greater than double of the second intensity integral.It would have been obvious to adjust the intensity integral wavelength for a desired color balance)
Seo et al discloses wherein the first intensity peak (second wavelength of greater than 480nm) corresponds to a first wavelength of the output spectrum, the second intensity peak (first wavelength form 380-480nm, for this scenario we will pick wavelength 380nm) corresponds to a second wavelength of the output spectrum, and the first wavelength (greater than 48nm) is greater than the second wavelength (from 380-480nm in this scenario picking wavelength 380 nm [0040].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Ito to disclose the secondary intensity to be 493nm and below motivated by the desire to improve the color purity of display lights [0076] to further include Seo et al’s first intensity to a first wavelength of the output spectrum, the second intensity to a second wavelength of the output spectrum, and the first wavelength is greater than the second wavelength motivated by the desire to provide layers with different capabilities to absorb different lights.
Regarding Claim 2,
In addition to Ito et al and seo et al, Ito et al discloses (Fig. 9) wherein an intensity integral of the output spectrum from 576 nm to 780 nm is defined as a third intensity integral, and a ratio of the third intensity integral to the first intensity integral is greater than 0.0% and less than 37.0% (see figure 9).
Regarding Claim 3,
In addition to Ito et al and seo et al, Ito et al discloses (Fig. 9) wherein a maximum peak between 494 nm and 575 nm of the output spectrum is defined as a first intensity peak, a maximum intensity between 576 nm and 780 nm of the output spectrum is defined as a second intensity peak, and the first intensity peak is greater than the second intensity peak (see fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 4,
In addition to Ito et al and seo et al, Ito et al discloses (Fig. 1 and Fig. 9) further comprising: a substrate; a circuit (115) disposed on the substrate; and a plurality of light sources (122) disposed on the substrate and electrically connected to the circuit, wherein the display unit comprises a portion of the substrate, a portion of the circuit, and one of the plurality of light sources.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871