DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Electro-optic device with a reflective conductive layer and electronic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the prior art cannot be used to satisfy the limitations of: the contact hole overlaps the protruding portion in plan view, in addition to the additionally claimed features of claims 1 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 2022/0128872 A1, hereafter Ito) in view of Ito (US 2021/0397052 A1-IDS prior art, hereafter Ito 052), and Mikawa et al (US 2002/0030243 A1, hereafter Mikawa).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses in FIG. 5 an electro-optical device (100) comprising:
a transistor (30; [0046]);
a pixel electrode (15; [0028]) provided corresponding to the transistor (30);
a first conductive layer (second capacitance electrode, 16b; [0053]) including a first film (16b) provided between the transistor (30) and the pixel electrode (15), the first conductive layer (16b) being electrically connected ([0054]) to the pixel electrode (15) through a contact hole (CNT1c; [0054]) extending to first conductive layer (16b); and
a connecting member (unlabeled electrical connection between 15 and 16b; [0054]) provided in the contact hole (CNT1c).
Ito fails to disclose the first conductive layer (16b) including a second film provided between the first film and the pixel electrode and having a light reflectance higher than that of the first film, the first conductive layer (16b) being electrically connected to the pixel electrode (15) through the contact hole (CNT1c) extending to the first film (16b) through the second film.
However,
A. Ito 052 discloses in FIG. 5 an electro-optical device (FIG. 1, 100) comprising: a first conductive layer (244) including a first film (TiN portion of 244; [0056]) provided between a transistor (23 [0049]) and a pixel electrode (25), and a second film (Al portion of 244; [0056]) provided between the first film (TiN) and the pixel electrode (25) and having a light reflectance higher (80-87% for Al vs. 50-60% for TiN) than that of the first film (TiN), the first conductive layer (TiN) being electrically connected to the pixel electrode (25) through a contact hole (220; [0071]) extending to the first conductive layer (244).
Thus, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Ito by using the first conductive layer of Ito 052 as a substitutional equivalent (MPEP 2144.06) for the same of Ito for use as a capacitor electrode, such that the first conductive layer includes a second film provided between the first film and the pixel electrode and having a light reflectance higher than that of the first film, whereby including the aluminum film can reduce resistance compared to a case where the wiring is formed by only the titanium nitride film (Ito 052; [0056]).
Ito and Ito 052 fail to disclose the first conductive layer (16b) being electrically connected to the pixel electrode (15) through the contact hole (CNT1c) extending to the first film (16b) through the second film.
However,
B. Mikawa discloses in FIG. 1A an electro-optic component comprising: a connecting member (8B; [0042]) electrically connected to a first film (4; [0042]) through a contact hole (7B; [0042]) through a second film (5; [0041]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Ito and Ito 052 by first using the connecting member of Mikawa as a connecting member of Ito, which would have a lower contact resistance with the ITO pixel electrode of Ito. Secondly, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Ito and Ito 052 by configuring the first conductive layer of Ito/Ito 052 to include a contact hole extending to the first film through the second film, as disclosed by Mikawa, such that the first conductive layer is being electrically connected to the pixel electrode through the contact hole extending to the first film through the second film, in order to increase contact area with the first conductive layer and to prevent peeling of surrounding insulating layers (Mikawa; [0027]).
Regarding claim 2, Ito and Ito 052 and Mikawa disclose the electro-optic device of claim 1, wherein the first film (Ito 052: TiN portion of 244; [0056]) contains titanium nitride (Ito 052: [0056]), and the second film (Ito 052: Al portion of 244; [0056]) contains aluminum (Ito 052: [0056]), as would be part of the conductive layer discussed for claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Ito and Ito 052 and Mikawa disclose the electro-optic device of claim 1, wherein the connecting member (Ito 052: electrode contact 275) contains tungsten (Ito 052: main body portion of 275 [0074]), as would be part of the connecting member discussed for claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Ito and Ito 052 disclose the electro-optic device of claim 3, further comprising a barrier member (Ito 052: barrier layer portion of 275 [0074]) between the connecting member (Ito 052: main body portion of 275) and a side surface (Ito 052: inner wall surface of 220) of the contact hole (Ito 052: 220), as would be part of the connecting member discussed for claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Ito and Ito 052 and Mikawa disclose the electro-optic device of claim 4, wherein the barrier member (Ito 052: barrier layer portion of 275 [0074]) contains tungsten nitride or titanium nitride (Ito 052: [0074]), as would be part of the connecting member discussed for claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Ito discloses in FIG. 12 an electronic device (projection-type display device 1000) comprising the electro-optic device of claim 1 (see above).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito and Ito 052 and Mikawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshitomi (US 6075266 A, hereafter Yoshitomi).
Regarding claim 7, Ito and Ito 052 and Mikawa disclose the electro-optic device of claim 1, further comprising:
a second conductive layer (Ito: 16a; [0053]) provided to face the first conductive layer (Ito: 16b; [0053]) through a capacitance insulating layer (Ito: 16c; [0053]) between the first conductive layer (Ito: 16b; [0053]) and the transistor (Ito: 30; [0053]);
the capacitance insulating member (Ito: 16c) provided to cover an end portion (Ito: 16a; left and/or right side wall and adjacent top portions) of the second conductive layer (Ito: 16a; [0053]) between the first conductive layer (Ito: 16b; [0053]) and the second conductive layer (Ito: 16a; [0053]), wherein the contact hole (Ito: CNT1C; [0054]) overlaps the first conductive layer (Ito: 16b; [0053]) and the second conductive layer (Ito: 16a; [0053]).
Ito and Ito 052 and Mikawa fail to disclose an insulating member provided to cover an end portion (Ito: 16a; left and/or right side wall and adjacent top portions) of the second conductive layer (Ito: 16a) between the first conductive layer (Ito: 16b) and the second conductive layer (Ito: 16a), wherein the contact hole does not overlap the insulating member in plan view.
However,
Yoshitomi discloses in FIG. 8 (with references to FIG. 1-7) a capacitor (Cap; col. 5, lines 21-27) comprising a first conductive layer (UE; col. 7, lines 3-8), a capacitor dielectric film (35; col. 5, lines 5-14), a second conductive layer (LE; col. 5, lines 45-48), and an insulating member (24; col. 5, lines 64-67) provided to cover an end portion of the second conductive layer (LE; col. 5, lines 45-48) between the first conductive layer (UE; col. 7, lines 3-8) and the second conductive layer (LE; col. 5, lines 45-48).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Ito and Ito 052 and Mikawa by adding the insulating member of Yoshitomi and using the shapes of the lower and upper electrodes and the capacitor dielectric film of the capacitor of Yoshitomi, as capacitor design choices (MPEP § 2144.04), such that the insulating member covers an end portion of the second conductive layer between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer, wherein the contact hole does not overlap the insulating member in plan view, to increase the area of the lower and upper electrodes and the capacitor dielectric film, thereby increasing capacitance.
For the record, with respect to the limitation “in plan view”, the orthogonal projection of the contact hole (Ito: CNT1c) of Ito would not be overlapping with the insulating member (24) of Yoshitomi in the capacitor structure of Ito modified by Yoshitomi.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2006/0145293 A1 and US 2002/0179951 A1 disclose MIM capacitors with contact holes extending through a first film to a second film.
US 5933719 discloses method of manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising a capacitor with insulating members which extend around the side wall of a lower conductive layer and between the upper conductive layer and lower conductive layer.
US 2013/0021542 A1 discloses a liquid crystal display device comprising a capacitor with insulating members provided to cover an end portion of the second conductive layer between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer without the additional limitation of claim 1 that a contact hole extends through a first film to a second film, electrically connecting the first conductive layer to a pixel electrode.
/NATALIE C HEINRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892