DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12165061 B2 and claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11429180 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims perform the same steps/functions as the claims in the instant application..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify and/or to omit the additional elements of claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12165061 B2 and claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11429180 B2 to arrive at the claims 1-20 of the instant application because the ordinary skilled person would have realized that the remaining elements would performs the same function as before. Omission and/or additional of elements and its functions in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements performs the same functions as before.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a sensing data generation unit configured to …”, and “a control unit configured to…” in claims 1 and 9, and “a power source unit configured to: supply…” in claims 2, 10, and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 10 and 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “a power source unit configured to: supply…” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform claimed functions. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which power supplying structure(s) perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed functions. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed functions because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganong, III et al. (hereinafter Ganong) (US 20140274203 A1) in view of Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee) (US 20200118544 A1).
As to claim 1, Ganong teaches an electronic device comprising:
a sensing data generation unit [microphones] configured to generate at least one sensing data [0080: “for example, audio signals receiving from one or more microphones in response to acoustic activity in the environment…”];
a dedicated artificial intelligence (AI) acceleration processor [0072: secondary processor] configured to generate a wake-up data to switch from a first mode to a second mode by processing the at least one sensing data by a trained artificial neural network model [0081] [0091] [00165: “explicit voice detection 820 determines that the user spoke a permissible explicit voice trigger. In response, voice response system 850 may transition the mobile device from the low power mode to an active mode…”]; and
a control unit [0072: primary processor] configured to generate a control command based on the wake-up data [0165: “…activate the primary processor and/or otherwise ready the mobile device to perform any of its available functions.”];
wherein no power is supplied to the control unit during the first mode while a power is supplied to the control unit during the second mode [0072: “In this manner, the secondary processor may be able to dispense with some appreciable percentage of the received acoustic input without having to engage the primary processor, thus conserving power resources and allocating them on as-needed basis. This may be particularly useful when the mobile device is operating in a low power mode wherein the processor is powered down…”],
wherein the trained artificial neural network model is an artificial intelligence recognition model configured to output a determination data of performing specific function in response to the at least one sensing data [0081] [0091].
Ganong does not teach wherein the at least one sensing data include one of an image data, a position data, a fingerprint recognition data, an infrared sensor sensing data.
Lee teaches that sensing data includes one of an image data, a position data, a fingerprint recognition data, an infrared sensor sensing data in an intelligent recognition system [FIG. 8: one of sensors is camera] [0240: “Individualized information that can be acquired through the service manager may include at least one data (a calendar, an application, a messaging service, use of a music application, etc.) that the client device 50 uses through a cloud environment, at least one sensing data (a camera,…”].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of utilizing camera as sensor as suggested in Lee into Ganong to implement intelligent processing. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to improve flexibility and user experience by adding input means.
As to claim 2, Ganong teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising:
a power source unit configured to:
supply power to the sensing data generation unit and the dedicated AI acceleration processor while supplying no power to the control unit during the first mode [0072: “In this manner, the secondary processor may be able to dispense with some appreciable percentage of the received acoustic input without having to engage the primary processor, thus conserving power resources and allocating them on as-needed basis. This may be particularly useful when the mobile device is operating in a low power mode wherein the processor is powered down…”] [0076: “When operating in a low power mode,…while at least one microphone remains at least partially on so as to continue to monitor the acoustic environment to receive acoustic input when the mobile device is operating in a low power mode.”]; and
supply power to the sensing data generation unit, the dedicated Al acceleration processor, and the control unit during the second mode [“0165: “the voice response system may wake-up the mobile device to the same extent the mobile device is activated when a user performs the manual actions required to wake-up the device (e.g., the voice response system may turn on the display, activate the primary processor and/or otherwise ready the mobile device to perform any of its available functions.)”].
As to claim 3, Lee further teaches wherein the trained artificial neural network model is embedded in the dedicated Al acceleration processor [0148: “The AI processor 21 may learn a neural network using a program stored in the memory 25.”][FIG. 5] [0160: “the data learning unit 22 may further include a learning data preprocessor…for generating a recognition model.”].
As to claim 4, Lee further teaches wherein the trained artificial neural network is trained by machine learning technique [0147: “The AI device 20 is a computing device capable of learning neural networks…”] [0150].
As to claim 5, Ganong teaches Ganong teaches wherein the electronic device is one of a smart phone, a computer, a server, a display device, a refrigerator, an air conditioner, a home appliance, a vehicle, an illumination device, and a communication device [0041: “mobile device 100 is illustrated as having a number of components characteristic of a ‘smart phone.’…”].
As to claim 6, Ganong teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a first function unit that is an always-on module turned-on even when the electronic device is turned-off [0073: “the above described examples of multi-state processing may facilitate the implementation of an ‘always-on’ voice response system that can monitor and respond to voice commands while…”].
As to claim 7, Ganong teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a first function unit [voice response system] and a second function unit [second stage processing], wherein the first function unit is turned-on, and wherein the second function unit is turned-off to reduce power consumption and then is turned-on when the control command is received from the control unit [0074: “As such, the voice response system may incrementally or progressively transition the mobile device from a low power mode to an active mode by activating resources only as needed. For example, the voice response system may activate a secondary processor to perform one or more processing stages while leaving the primary processor in a low power mode until and/or unless the primary processor is needed.”] [0076: “When the voice response system determines that the acoustic input likely includes speech and/or a voice command, the voice response system may turn on one or more additional microphones.”].
As to claim 8, Ganong teaches wherein the control unit is one of a CPU or an application processor (AP) configured to control an overall operation of the electronic device [0037: “…the mobile device’s primary processor (e.g., main central processing unit (CPU)) may be engaged to perform one or more subsequent processing stages.”].
As to claims 9-16, they relate to system claims comprising the similar subject matters claimed in claims 1-8. Therefore, they are rejected under the same reasons applied to claims 1-8.
As to claim 17-20, , they relate to apparatus claims comprising the similar subject matters claimed in claims 1-3 and 8. Therefore, they are rejected under the same reasons applied to claims 1-3 and 8.
Conclusion
/XUXING CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176