DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12165061 B2 and claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11429180 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims perform the same steps/functions as the claims in the instant application..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify and/or to omit the additional elements of claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12165061 B2 and claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11429180 B2 to arrive at the claims 1-20 of the instant application because the ordinary skilled person would have realized that the remaining elements would performs the same function as before. Omission and/or additional of elements and its functions in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements performs the same functions as before.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a sensor configured to …”, and “a controller configured to…” in claims 1 and 9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganong, III et al. (hereinafter Ganong) (US 20140274203 A1) in view of Nishio (US 5541590).
As to claim 1, Ganong teaches an electronic device comprising:
a sensor [microphones] configured to generate at least one sensing data [0080: “for example, audio signals receiving from one or more microphones in response to acoustic activity in the environment…”];
a dedicated artificial intelligence (AI) acceleration processor [0072: secondary processor] configured to generate a wake-up data to switch from a first mode to a second mode by processing the at least one sensing data by a trained artificial neural network model [0081] [0091] [00165: “explicit voice detection 820 determines that the user spoke a permissible explicit voice trigger. In response, voice response system 850 may transition the mobile device from the low power mode to an active mode…”]; and
a controller [0072: primary processor] configured to generate a control command based on the wake-up data [0165: “…activate the primary processor and/or otherwise ready the mobile device to perform any of its available functions.”];
wherein no power is supplied to the control unit during the first mode while a power is supplied to the control unit during the second mode [0072: “In this manner, the secondary processor may be able to dispense with some appreciable percentage of the received acoustic input without having to engage the primary processor, thus conserving power resources and allocating them on as-needed basis. This may be particularly useful when the mobile device is operating in a low power mode wherein the processor is powered down…”],
wherein the trained artificial neural network model is an artificial intelligence recognition model configured to output a determination data of performing specific function in response to the at least one sensing data [0081] [0091].
Ganong does not teach wherein the at least one sensing data includes one of an image data, a position data, a fingerprint recognition data, an infrared sensor sensing data.
Nishio teaches that sensing data includes one of an image data, a position data, a fingerprint recognition data, an infrared sensor sensing data in an intelligent recognition system [FIG. 4: image pick-up device] [abstract].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of utilizing camera as sensor as suggested in Nishio into Ganong to implement intelligent processing. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to improve flexibility and user experience by adding input means.
As to claim 2, Ganong teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising:
a power source, wherein power is supplied from the power source to the sensor and the dedicated AI acceleration processor while no power is supplied from the power source to the controller during the first mode [0072: “In this manner, the secondary processor may be able to dispense with some appreciable percentage of the received acoustic input without having to engage the primary processor, thus conserving power resources and allocating them on as-needed basis. This may be particularly useful when the mobile device is operating in a low power mode wherein the processor is powered down…”] [0076: “When operating in a low power mode,…while at least one microphone remains at least partially on so as to continue to monitor the acoustic environment to receive acoustic input when the mobile device is operating in a low power mode.”]; and
wherein power is supplied from the power source to the sensor, the dedicated Al acceleration processor, and the controller during the second mode [“0165: “the voice response system may wake-up the mobile device to the same extent the mobile device is activated when a user performs the manual actions required to wake-up the device (e.g., the voice response system may turn on the display, activate the primary processor and/or otherwise ready the mobile device to perform any of its available functions.)”].
As to claim 3, Nishio further teaches wherein the trained artificial neural network model is embedded in the dedicated Al acceleration processor [col. 10, lines 38-44: “In the above mentioned second embodiment, the neural network already trained can be coded by using a programming language such as C-language. The network may be used as an imperative application system or packaged as a control microprocessor. In this event, the network can be memorized in a read only memory for every one type of commercial vehicles.].
As to claim 4, Nishio further teaches wherein the trained artificial neural network is trained by machine learning technique [col. 2, lines 61-67: “The neural network comprises at least an input layer and an output layer, and the training data are supplied to the input layer while the output layer is supplied with, as teacher data, flags representing expected and unexpected crash, respectively, of the vehicle. In addition, the neural network may comprise a two-dimensional self-organizing competitive learning layer as an intermediate layer.”]
As to claim 5, Ganong teaches Ganong teaches wherein the electronic device is one of a smart phone, a computer, a server, a display device, a refrigerator, an air conditioner, a home appliance, a vehicle, an illumination device, and a communication device [0041: “mobile device 100 is illustrated as having a number of components characteristic of a ‘smart phone.’…”].
As to claim 6, Ganong teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a first function circuit that is an always-on circuit turned-on even when the electronic device is turned-off [0073: “the above described examples of multi-state processing may facilitate the implementation of an ‘always-on’ voice response system that can monitor and respond to voice commands while…”].
As to claim 7, Ganong teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a first function circuit [voice response system] and a second function circuit [second stage processing], wherein the first function circuit is turned-on, and wherein the second function circuit is turned-off to reduce power consumption and then is turned-on when the control command is received from the control unit [0074: “As such, the voice response system may incrementally or progressively transition the mobile device from a low power mode to an active mode by activating resources only as needed. For example, the voice response system may activate a secondary processor to perform one or more processing stages while leaving the primary processor in a low power mode until and/or unless the primary processor is needed.”] [0076: “When the voice response system determines that the acoustic input likely includes speech and/or a voice command, the voice response system may turn on one or more additional microphones.”].
As to claim 8, Ganong teaches wherein the controller is one of a CPU or an application processor (AP) configured to control an overall operation of the electronic device [0037: “…the mobile device’s primary processor (e.g., main central processing unit (CPU)) may be engaged to perform one or more subsequent processing stages.”].
As to claims 9-16, they relate to system claims comprising the similar subject matters claimed in claims 1-8. Therefore, they are rejected under the same reasons applied to claims 1-8.
As to claim 17-20, , they relate to apparatus claims comprising the similar subject matters claimed in claims 1-3 and 8. Therefore, they are rejected under the same reasons applied to claims 1-3 and 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/09/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nishio (US 5541590).
Conclusion
/XUXING CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176