Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claims 1, 8-9 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Claim 1 has been amended, therefore the USC 112 (f) rejections has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(1) as being anticipated by Yu(US Publication No. 20170295207 A1)
Regarding Claim 1:
Yu discloses:
An information processing system, comprising: an upper network device being a device constituting an overlay network(Yu, [0053], an awareness node may be any cloud server that is in a cloud data center and can identify an attack data packet, for example, various service processing virtual machines (VM), a hypervisor, a firewall, a load balancer, or a gateway);
and a lower network device being a device constituting an underlay network(Yu, [0054], The switch in the network architecture that is based on the SDN technology is only responsible for forwarding the data packet according to the forwarding policy and the forwarding path of the data packet.),
wherein the upper network device includes first processing circuitry configured to: detect unauthorized communication(Yu, [0032], after the awareness node identifies a data packet received by the awareness node as the attack data packet and sends the description information of the attack data packet and the attack type of the attack data packet to the management node, the management node can determine the processing policy on the attack data packet of the attack type according to the attack type and send the description);
specify detection information regarding the unauthorized communication, the detection information including a communication destination a communication source IP address and port, a detection information (Yu, [0060], the description information of the attack data packet may be information obtained by the awareness node from a packet header of the attack data packet, and may be a source IP address of the attack data packet… a destination IP address of the attack data packet, a source port number of the attack data packet, [0097], The awareness node determines description information of the attack data packet and an attack type of the attack data packet. [0099], the awareness node determines that the data packet received by the awareness node is the attack data packet);
and notify the lower network device of the detection information, (Yu, [0072], The management node sends the description information and the processing policy to a switch using an SDN controller, [0073], The management node may send the description information and the processing policy to the SDN controller, [0079], An SDN controller receives description information of an attack data packet and a processing policy on the attack data packet with the description information, where the description information and the processing policy, [0081], The SDN controller sends the description information and the processing policy to a first switch):
and the lower network device includes second processing circuitry configured to: receive the detection information from the upper network device; acquire terminal information related to communication of a terminal connected to the lower network device(Yu, [0081], The SDN controller sends the description information and the processing policy to a first switch, [0084], [0084], the first switch searches, according to the description information included in the controller-to-switch message, a flow table of the first switch, [0085], The packet header field may include a source IP address, a destination IP address, a source media access control (MAC) address, a destination MAC address, a protocol number, a source port number, a destination port number),
and block the unauthorized communication based on the information and the terminal information(Yu, [0085], In FIG. 4, the flow table of the first switch includes a packet header field, a counter and an action performed on a data packet. The packet header field may include a source IP address, a destination IP address, a source media access control (MAC) address, a destination MAC address, a protocol number, a source port number, a destination port number, and the like that are of the data flow received by the first switch, [0084], the first switch searches, according to the description information included in the controller-to-switch message, a flow table of the first switch… [0074], the switch immediately drops attack data with the description information according to the processing policy. [0084], the first switch searches, according to the description information included in the controller-to-switch message, a flow table of the first switch for an attack data flow matching the description information. [0086], the first switch performs the operation of dropping immediately on an attack data packet with the description information).
Regarding Claim 2:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second processing circuitry is further configured to block communication to a communication destination indicated in the detection information (Yu, [0032], determining a processing policy on the attack data packet of the attack type according to the attack type; and sending the description information and the processing policy to a switch using an SDN controller, so that the switch performs an operation indicated by the processing policy on the attack data packet with the description information, where the processing policy is used to instruct the switch to perform the operation indicated by the processing policy on the attack data packet with the description information.)
Regarding Claim 3:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second processing circuitry is further configured to block communication from a communication source indicated in the detection information (Yu, [0084], After the SDN controller converts the description information and the processing policy into the controller-to-switch message and sends the controller-to-switch message to the first switch, the first switch searches, according to the description information included in the controller-to-switch message, a flow table of the first switch for an attack data flow matching the description information, and then performs the operation indicated by the processing policy on an attack data packet in the attack data flow according to the processing policy included in the controller-to-switch message, that is, the SDN controller performs the operation indicated by the processing policy on the attack data packet with the description information according to the processing policy.).
Regarding Claim 4:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second processing circuitry is further configured to block communication from a network including a communication source indicated in the detection information (Yu, [0012], when the management node receives description information of multiple attack data packets and attack types of the multiple attack data packets, where the description information and the attack types are sent by multiple awareness nodes, the determining, by the management node, a processing policy on the attack data packet of the attack type according to the attack type includes determining, by the management node, at least two same attack types according to the attack types of the multiple attack data packets).
Regarding Claim 5:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein
the second processing circuitry is further configured to perform, based on the detection information and the terminal information, blocking of one or both of (Yu, [0084], After the SDN controller converts the description information and the processing policy into the controller-to-switch message and sends the controller-to-switch message to the first switch, the first switch searches, according to the description information included in the controller-to-switch message, a flow table of the first switch for an attack data flow matching the description information, and then performs the operation indicated by the processing policy on an attack data packet in the attack data flow according to the processing policy included in the controller-to-switch message, that is, the SDN controller performs the operation indicated by the processing policy on the attack data packet with the description information according to the processing policy.).,
communication to a communication destination of the unauthorized communication and blocking of communication from a communication source of the unauthorized communication or blocking of communication from a network including the communication source of the unauthorized communication(Yu, In FIG. 4, the flow table of the first switch comprises packet header fields, counters, and actions that are performed on data packets. Specifically, the packet header field includes a source IP address, a destination IP address, a source medium access control (MAC) address, a destination MAC address, a protocol number, and a source port number of the data flow received by the first switch.).
Regarding Claim 6:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 5, wherein the first processing circuitry is further configured to, in response to a request from a user of the system, instruct the lower network device to perform one or both of blocking of communication to a communication destination of the unauthorized communication, blocking of communication from a communication source of the unauthorized communication and blocking of communication from a network including the communication source of the unauthorized communication(Yu, [0017], the description information and the attack type to a management node, where the attack type is used by the management node to determine a processing policy on the attack data packet of the attack type, and the processing policy is used to instruct a switch that forwards a data packet to perform an operation indicated by the processing policy on the attack data packet with the description information.).
Regarding Claim 7:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 5, wherein the first processing circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the detection information, whether to instruct the lower network device to block communication from a communication source of the unauthorized communication or to block communication from a the network including the communication source of the unauthorized communication (Yu, [0017], the description information and the attack type to a management node, where the attack type is used by the management node to determine a processing policy on the attack data packet of the attack type, and the processing policy is used to instruct a switch that forwards a data packet to perform an operation indicated by the processing policy on the attack data packet with the description information.).
Regarding Claim 8:
Yu discloses:
An information processing method to be executed by an upper network device being a device constituting an overlay network(Yu, Pg. 5, line 35, the recognition node is in the cloud data center and may be any service node that can identify attack data packets, eg, VM, hypervisor, firewall, load balancer, or gateway.),
and a lower network device being a device constituting an underlay network(Yu, Pg. 5, lines 42-42, the switch of the network architecture based on the SDN technology is only responsible for transferring the data packet according to the transfer policy and transfer path of the data packet.),
the information processing method comprising: acquiring, by the lower network device, terminal information related to communication of a terminal connected to the lower network device(Yu, the first switch determines whether there is an attack data flow having the description information according to the description information and the processing policy transmitted by the SDN controller. Search the table and change the action performed on the attack data packet of the attack data flow to the operation indicated by the processing policy, so that for attack data packets that are not transmitted in the attack data packet of the attack data flow);
detecting, by the upper network device, unauthorized communication(Yu, a recognition node identifies a data packet received by a recognition node as an attack data packet, and a description of the attack data packet After transmitting the information and the attack type of the attack data packet to the management node);
specifying, by the upper network device, detection information regarding the unauthorized communication, the detection information including a communication source IP address and port a communication destination IP address and port, a detection type and a date and time of detection; (Yu, [0060], the description information of the attack data packet may be information obtained by the awareness node from a packet header of the attack data packet, and may be a source IP address of the attack data packet… a destination IP address of the attack data packet, a source port number of the attack data packet, [0097], The awareness node determines description information of the attack data packet and an attack type of the attack data packet. [0099], the awareness node determines that the data packet received by the awareness node is the attack data packet, [0061], The attack type of the attack data packet may include but is not limited to a DDoS attack, a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) based attack, an invalid TCP connection, an extra large data volume, a fraud message attack);
notifying, by the upper network device, the lower network device of the detection information(Yu, [0072], The management node sends the description information and the processing policy to a switch using an SDN controller, [0073], The management node may send the description information and the processing policy to the SDN controller, [0079], An SDN controller receives description information of an attack data packet and a processing policy on the attack data packet with the description information, where the description information and the processing policy, [0081], The SDN controller sends the description information and the processing policy to a first switch);
blocking, by the lower network device, the unauthorized communication based on the detection information rand the terminal information(Yu, [0085], In FIG. 4, the flow table of the first switch includes a packet header field, a counter and an action performed on a data packet. The packet header field may include a source IP address, a destination IP address, a source media access control (MAC) address, a destination MAC address, a protocol number, a source port number, a destination port number, and the like that are of the data flow received by the first switch, [0084], the first switch searches, according to the description information included in the controller-to-switch message, a flow table of the first switch… [0074], the switch immediately drops attack data with the description information according to the processing policy. [0084], the first switch searches, according to the description information included in the controller-to-switch message, a flow table of the first switch for an attack data flow matching the description information. [0086], the first switch performs the operation of dropping immediately on an attack data packet with the description information).
Regarding Claim 9:
Yu discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing computer readable instructions which cause a computer functioning as an upper network device being a device constituting an overlay network(Yu, [0053], an awareness node may be any cloud server that is in a cloud data center and can identify an attack data packet, for example, various service processing virtual machines (VM), a hypervisor, a firewall, a load balancer, or a gateway);
and a computer functioning as a lower network device being a device constituting an underlay network(Yu, [0054], The switch in the network architecture that is based on the SDN technology is only responsible for forwarding the data packet according to the forwarding policy and the forwarding path of the data packet.), acquiring, by the lower network device, terminal information related to communication of a terminal connected to the lower network device(Yu, [0081], The SDN controller sends the description information and the processing policy to a first switch, [0084], [0084], the first switch searches, according to the description information included in the controller-to-switch message, a flow table of the first switch, [0085], The packet header field may include a source IP address, a destination IP address, a source media access control (MAC) address, a destination MAC address, a protocol number, a source port number, a destination port number);
detecting, by the upper network device, unauthorized communication(Yu, [0090], An awareness node identifies a data packet received by the awareness node as an attack data packet.)
specifying, by the upper network device, detection information regarding the unauthorized communication, the detection information including a communication source IP address and port, a communication destination IP address and port, a detection type and a date and time of detection(Yu, [0060], the description information of the attack data packet may be information obtained by the awareness node from a packet header of the attack data packet, and may be a source IP address of the attack data packet… a destination IP address of the attack data packet, a source port number of the attack data packet, [0097], The awareness node determines description information of the attack data packet and an attack type of the attack data packet. [0099], the awareness node determines that the data packet received by the awareness node is the attack data packet);
notifying, by the upper network device, the lower network device of the detection information(Yu, [0072], The management node sends the description information and the processing policy to a switch using an SDN controller, [0073], The management node may send the description information and the processing policy to the SDN controller, [0079], An SDN controller receives description information of an attack data packet and a processing policy on the attack data packet with the description information, where the description information and the processing policy, [0081], The SDN controller sends the description information and the processing policy to a first switch);
and blocking, by the lower network device, the unauthorized communication based on the detection information and the terminal information(Yu, [0085], In FIG. 4, the flow table of the first switch includes a packet header field, a counter and an action performed on a data packet. The packet header field may include a source IP address, a destination IP address, a source media access control (MAC) address, a destination MAC address, a protocol number, a source port number, a destination port number, and the like that are of the data flow received by the first switch, [0084], the first switch searches, according to the description information included in the controller-to-switch message, a flow table of the first switch… [0074], the switch immediately drops attack data with the description information according to the processing policy. [0084], the first switch searches, according to the description information included in the controller-to-switch message, a flow table of the first switch for an attack data flow matching the description information. [0086], the first switch performs the operation of dropping immediately on an attack data packet with the description information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu(US Publication No. 20170295207 A1) in view of Lucas (US Publication No. 20160211988 A1)
Regarding Claim 10:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 1, and the lower network device comprises Deep Packet Inspection (DPI) equipment(Yu, [0094], the awareness node determines that the SIP session process of the data packet is different from the SIP session process in the known standard… [0096], an awareness node can not only identify an attack data packet… identify an attack data packet by identifying service layer signaling. [0130], the hypervisor 2 can identify an attack data packet by identifying service layer signaling),
Yu does not disclose:
wherein the upper network device comprises at least one of a cloud proxy server and Unified Threat Management (UTM) equipment
Lucas discloses:
wherein the upper network device comprises at least one of a cloud proxy server and Unified Threat Management (UTM) equipment (Lucas, [0027], devices 152-154 may be part of a cloud environment that includes any number of different computing devices, a network management server (NMS), a dynamic host configuration protocol (DHCP) server… As would be appreciated, communication system 100 may also include any number of local networks, data centers, cloud environments, devices/nodes, servers, etc).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yu's unauthorized communication detection and mitigation system by enhancing Yu's system for integrating multiple security functions into a unified threat management platform to ensure comprehensive detection of network threats using coordinated security services as taught by Lucas in order to enhance the accuracy and effectiveness of unauthorized communication detection and blocking.
The motivation is to ensure comprehensive network threat detection and mitigation through consolidated security management functionality.
Regarding Claim 11:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the first processing circuitry is configured to detect the unauthorized communication using a Unified Threat Management (UTM) security function(Yu, [0094], the awareness node determines that the SIP session process of the data packet is different from the SIP session process in the known standard… [0096], an awareness node can not only identify an attack data packet… identify an attack data packet by identifying service layer signaling. [0130], the hypervisor 2 can identify an attack data packet by identifying service layer signaling, [0147], the awareness node provided… may be any cloud server that is in a cloud data center and can identify an attack data packet, for example, various service processing VMs, a hypervisor, a firewall, a load balancer, or a gateway.).
Regarding Claim 12:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second processing circuitry is configured to block the unauthorized communication by performing deep packet inspection(Yu, [0094], the awareness node determines that the SIP session process of the data packet is different from the SIP session process in the known standard… [0096], an awareness node can not only identify an attack data packet… identify an attack data packet by identifying service layer signaling. [0130], the hypervisor 2 can identify an attack data packet by identifying service layer signaling, [0074], the switch immediately drops attack data with the description information according to the processing policy. [0086], the first switch performs the operation of dropping immediately on an attack data packet)
Regarding Claim 13:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the terminal information includes a connection destination IP address and port and a connection source IP address and port of the terminal connected to the lower network device(Yu, [0060], the description information of the attack data packet may be information obtained by the awareness node from a packet header of the attack data packet, and may be a source IP address of the attack data packet, a destination IP address of the attack data packet, a source port number of the attack data packet, a destination port number of the attack data packet, [0073], “[10.11.100.100,10.22.200.200,6,1234,4321]”, where 10.11.100.100 indicates a source IP address of the attack data packet, 10.22.200.200 indicates a destination IP address of the attack data packet, 1234 indicates a source port number of the attack data packet, 4321 indicates a destination port number… [0086], source IP address is 10.11.100.100, destination IP address is 10.22.200.200, source port number is 1234, destination port number is 4321,).
Regarding Claim 14:
Lucas discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the terminal connected to the lower network device comprises at least one of office automation (OA) equipment and Internet of Things (IoT) equipment(Lucas, [0027], data center 150 may include devices 152-154 that provide remote services to devices 104-106 and/or CE-1 located at site 102. In some embodiments, devices 152-154 may be part of a cloud environment that includes any number of different computing devices. Devices 152-154 may include, in various embodiments, a network management server (NMS)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Yu's unauthorized communication detection and mitigation system by enhancing Yu's system for monitoring communications associated with network-connected endpoint devices to ensure detection and protection of diverse device types connected to the network infrastructure as taught by Lucas in order to enhance security management and threat mitigation for communications involving office automation and Internet of Things devices.
The motivation is to ensure effective detection and mitigation of unauthorized communications originating from or directed to office automation and Internet of Things devices connected to the network.
Regarding Claim 15:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the first processing circuitry is configured to: determine whether a number of detected unauthorized communications having connection source IP addresses within a same network meets or exceeds a predetermined threshold(Yu, [0120], he management node receives the description information of the multiple attack data packets and the attack types of the multiple attack data packets, where the description information and the attack types are sent by multiple awareness nodes);
when the number is less than the predetermined threshold, notify the lower network device to block communication from individual terminals performing the unauthorized communication(Yu, [0060], source IP address of the attack data packet, a destination IP address of the attack data packet, a source port number of the attack data packet, a destination port number of the attack data packet, and a protocol number of the attack data packet. The source port number of the attack data packet may be a user datagram protocol (UDP) source port number, and the destination port number of the attack data packet may be a UDP destination port number; );
and when the number meets or exceeds the predetermined threshold, notify the lower network device to block communication from the network including a communication source of the unauthorized communication(Yu, [0120], the description information of the multiple attack data packets and the attack types of the multiple attack data packets, where the description information and the attack types are sent by multiple awareness nodes, the management node determines, according to the attack types of the multiple attack data packets, whether at least two same attack types exist in the attack types of the multiple attack data packets. ).
Regarding Claim 16:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the first processing circuitry is configured to convert a connection source IP address of the unauthorized communication into a network address by applying a subnet mask, and notify the lower network device of the network address(Yu,[0060], a source IP address of the attack data packet, a destination IP address of the attack data packet, a source port number of the attack data packet, a destination port number of the attack data packet, and a protocol number of the attack data packet. [0073], [10.11.100.100,10.22.200.200,6,1234,4321]”, where 10.11.100.100 indicates a source IP address of the attack data packet, 10.22.200.200 indicates a destination IP address. [0086], the first switch for an attack data flow whose source IP address is 10.11.100.100,).
Regarding Claim 17:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the second processing circuitry is configured to block communication to the communication destination by performing deep packet inspection using the detection information(Yu, [0060], the description information of the attack data packet may be information obtained by the awareness node from a packet header of the attack data packet, and may be a source IP address of the attack data packet, a destination IP address of the attack data packet, a source port number of the attack data packet, a destination port number of the attack data packet, and a protocol number of the attack data packet. [0099], the awareness node obtains the description information of the attack data packet from the attack data packet, [0074], the switch immediately drops attack data with the description information. [0086], the first switch performs the operation of dropping immediately on an attack data packet with the description information. [0081], The SDN controller sends the description information and the processing policy to a first switch).
Regarding Claim 18:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 3, wherein the second processing circuitry is configured to block communication from the communication source by performing deep packet inspection using the detection information and the terminal information(Yu, [0060], the description information of the attack data packet may be information obtained by the awareness node from a packet header of the attack data packet, and may be a source IP address of the attack data packet, a destination IP address of the attack data packet, a source port number of the attack data packet, a destination port number of the attack data packet, and a protocol number of the attack data packet. [0097], The awareness node determines description information of the attack data packet and an attack type of the attack data packet. [0099], the awareness node obtains the description information of the attack data packet from the attack data packet. [0086], the first switch performs the operation of dropping immediately on an attack data packet with the description information).
Regarding Claim 19:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 4, wherein the second processing circuitry is configured to block communication from the network including the communication source by performing deep packet inspection(Yu, [0060], the description information of the attack data packet may be information obtained by the awareness node from a packet header of the attack data packet, and may be a source IP address of the attack data packet, a destination IP address of the attack data packet, a source port number of the attack data packet, a destination port number of the attack data packet, and a protocol number of the attack data packet. [0097], The awareness node determines description information of the attack data packet and an attack type of the attack data packet. [0099], the awareness node obtains the description information of the attack data packet from the attack data packet. [0086], the first switch performs the operation of dropping immediately on an attack data packet with the description information).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu(US Publication No. 20170295207 A1) in view of Pappu(US Publication No. 20150312273 A1)
Regarding Claim 20:
Yu discloses:
The information processing system according to claim 1…
Yu does not disclose:
wherein the first processing circuitry is configured to detect communication with a Command and Control (C2) server as the unauthorized communication
Pappu discloses:
wherein the first processing circuitry is configured to detect communication with a Command and Control (C2) server as the unauthorized communication(Pappu, [0065], an algorithm is selected for which a traffic deviation, and thus a probability of attack are to be computed. [0066], The Pattack parameter represents the probability with which one can state that the traffic anomaly deviation, indicated by td, is an attack. For example, if Pattack is 0.7, it implies that there is a 70% probability that the anomalous traffic deviation seen is an attack, [0066], Based on the computed td factor, the individual probability of attack for the selected algorithm can be derived. [0066], Pattacklow value may be the lowest attack probability at which a mitigation action will be initiated.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Yu's unauthorized communication detection and mitigation system by enhancing Yu's system for identifying malicious network communications associated with attack activity to ensure detection of communications indicative of coordinated cyberattacks and compromised devices as taught by Pappu in order to enhance the ability to identify and mitigate communications between compromised devices and command-and-control infrastructure.
The motivation is to ensure effective detection and mitigation of unauthorized communications associated with command-and-control server activity and network attacks.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAYASA A. SHAAWAT/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433