DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is vague and indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations “the first dicarboxylic acid” and “the second dicarboxylic acid” in the claim.
Claim 1 is vague and indefinite because the phrase “4:1 to 7” is confusing and unclear. Does the “7” apply to the first number or the second number in the ratio “4:1”?
Claims 2-4 is vague and indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations “the sugar” in the claim.
Claim 11 is vague and indefinite because the phrases “the polyester comprises” and “or a combination thereof” is inconsistent with the limitation “the polyester consists of” of components (a) and (b) and (c) and (d) in the parent claim 1.
Claims 5-10, 12-15 are dependent on one or more of the above claims and therefore incorporate the above-described indefinite subject matter.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
• claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12,146,080 (LOCKLIN ET AL).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 12,146,080 claims a home compostable adhesive comprising (or consisting of) the recited polyester, wherein the recited polyester consists of repeat units derived from recited components (a) and (b) and (c) and (d), wherein:
• the recited polyester satisfies the molar ratios of: (1) components (b) to component (c); (2) components (b)+(c) to component (a); and (3) 1,4-butanediol to 1,3-propanediol; (present application claim 1);
• the recited polyester constitutes at least 80 wt% of the adhesive (present application claim 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (AIA )
Claims 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
ROBERTS (US 2010/0330315),
in view of WHITE ET AL (US 5,589,566),
and in view of MAYFIELD ET AL (US 2023/0167225),
and in view of SCHUMACHER ET AL (US 2023/0092087),
and in view of CN 117801718 (SHI-CN ‘718),
and in view of LAPRAY ET AL (US 202/0339781).
ROBERTS ‘315 discloses biodegradable hot-melt adhesive compositions, wherein the adhesive compositions comprise:
•30-90 wt% of a biodegradable aliphatic polyester derived from:
(1) a dicarboxylic acid component comprising at least one aliphatic dicarboxylic acid (e.g., succinic acid, glutaric acid, adipic acid, etc.) (corresponding to recited polyester components “(b)” and “(c)”);
(2) an aliphatic glycol component comprising at least one linear aliphatic diol of formula R2[OH]2, wherein R2 represents a C2-C22 hydrocarbon (corresponding to recited polyester component “a”);
• an adhesion-promoting and/or tackifying agent;
• a stiffening agent (e.g., wax, etc.);
• optional additives (e.g., stabilizers, antioxidants, antiblocking agents, pigments, colorants, fillers, etc.).
The biodegradable polyester-based hot-melt adhesives are generally non-pressure sensitive, but are not prohibited from being pressure sensitive, and are useful for a variety of applications (e.g., labelling, food packaging, packaging trays, etc.) (entire document, paragraph 0004, 0007, 0016-0017, 0023-0024, 0041-0043, 0048-0050, 0056-0057, 0062, 0067-0071, 0079-0083, 0086-0095, 0098-0099, etc.) However, the reference does not specifically discuss a copolyester containing a mixture of repeating units derived from: (a) 1,3-propanediol and 1,4-butanediol; (b) succinic acid; (c) glutaric acid; and repeating units derived from (d) a sugar.
WHITE ET AL ‘566 discloses that it is well known in the art to produce biodegradable and compostable copolyesters comprising:
(1) a dicarboxylic acid component comprising:
(i) 65-95 mol% of a first monomer which is succinic acid (corresponding to recited polyester component “(b)”);
(ii) 5-35 mol% of a third monomer which is at least one other aliphatic dicarboxylic acid (e.g., glutaric acid) (corresponding to recited polyester component “(c)”) (or alternatively up to 5 mol%, if the third monomer is at least one other aliphatic diol and the at least one other aliphatic dicarboxylic acid constitutes a fourth monomer);
(2) an aliphatic glycol component comprising:
(i) 65-95 mol% 1,4-butanediol (alternatively or additionally corresponding to recited polyester components “(a)”);
(ii) 5-35 mol% of a third monomer which is at least one other aliphatic diol (e.g., 1,3-propanediol) (alternatively or additionally corresponding to recited polyester components “(a)”);
(3) 0.1-2.0 wt% of a branching agent (e.g., but not limited to, glycerol, etc.) (corresponding to recited polyester component “(d)”);
in order to produce butylene-succinate copolyesters with improved or readily optimized performance properties (e.g., flexibility, elongation, impact strength, biodegradation rates, melt strength, etc.). The references further discloses that the disclosed butylene-succinate-based copolyesters typically have Tg values of less than 0 °C. (line 65, col. 1 to line 29, col. 2; line 65, col. 2 to line 10, col. 4; line 24-67, col. 4; line 8-65, col. 9; Examples 1-19; etc.)
MAYFIELD ET AL ‘225 discloses that it is well known in the art to incorporate a crosslinking and/or chain extending compounds (e.g., glycerol, sorbitol, etc.) in biodegradable polymers usable as adhesives (e.g., polyesters derived from bio-sourced dicarboxylic acids (such as succinic acid, glutaric acid, etc.) and bio-sourced diols (such as 1,3-propanediol; 1,4-butanediol; etc.)) in order to control the rate of biodegradation. (paragraph 0091-0096, 0152, 0154-0155, etc.)
SCHUMACHER ET AL ‘087 discloses that it is well known in the art to incorporate monomers with polyfunctional alcohols with functionalities of two or more (e.g., sugars, etc.) in home compostable biodegradable polymers (e.g., comprising polyester compounds derived from dicarboxylic acids and diols, etc.) to provide crosslinking and/or chain extension. (paragraph 0067, etc.)
SHI-CN ‘718 disclose that it is well known in the art to incorporate polyfunctional chain extending agents (e.g., sorbitol, etc.) in polyester compounds in adhesive compositions in order to regulate molecular weight. (paragraph 0006, 0009, 0012, 0022, 0024, etc.)
LAPRAY ET AL ‘781 discloses that it’s well known in the art to incorporate biodegradation-enhancing additives into biodegradable compositions in order to provide said biodegradable compositions in order to further increase the rate and/or degree of biodegradation -- for example, making compositions which are biodegradable under limited conditions (e.g., industrial composting) more readily compostable in less aggressive conditions (e.g., home composting). (paragraph 0050-0051, etc.)
Regarding claims 16-20 it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize known biodegradable and compostable copolyesters derived from succinic acid, glutaric acid, 1,4-butanediol, and optionally 1,3-propanediol, and optionally branching agents as disclosed in WHITE ET AL ‘566 as the aliphatic polyester component in the adhesives of ROBERTS ‘315 in order to produce hot-melt adhesives with excellent and/or readily tailored performance properties (e.g., flexibility, elongation, impact strength, biodegradation rates, melt strength, etc.).
Further regarding claims 16-17, one of ordinary skill in the art would have utilized effective amounts of known hydroxyl-containing monomers with functionalities greater than 2 (e.g., sugars, sorbitol, etc. as an alternative to other known branching agents, chain extending, and/or crosslinking agents such as glycerol, etc., as suggested in MAYFIELD ET AL ‘225 and/or SCHUMACHER ET AL ‘087 and/or SHI-CN ‘718) as a bio-based branching agent in the biodegradable copolyesters of WHITE ET AL ‘566 used as the aliphatic copolyester component of the biodegradable adhesives of ROBERTS ‘315 in order to regulate molecular weight and/or provide controlled crosslinking, and thereby tailor the use-life and biodegradation (e.g., composting) characteristics of the adhesive for specific usage and disposal conditions, and/or improve the cohesive strength and/or melt strength of the adhesive material (as suggested in WHITE ET AL ‘566 and/or MAYFIELD ET AL ‘225 and/or SCHUMACHER ET AL ‘087 and/or SHI-CN ‘718)
Further regarding claims 16-17, one of ordinary skill in the art would have incorporated effective amounts of known biodegradability-improving and/or compostability-improving additives as disclosed in LAPRAY ET AL ‘781 in the biodegradable adhesive compositions of ROBERTS ‘315 in order to make said polyester adhesive more easily and/or more quickly composted under relatively milder home compositing conditions.
Further regarding claim 16, one of ordinary skill in the art would have selected the amount of known bio-sourced diols (e.g., 1,3-propanediol) used as a third monomer in the biodegradable copolyesters of WHITE ET AL ‘566 in order to obtain specific biodegradation characteristics and/or mechanical properties for specific applications.
Regarding claim 17, since: (i) WHITE ET AL ‘566 suggests the use of branching agents (corresponding to recited polyester component “(d)”) in amounts of 0.1-2.0 wt%; and (ii) MAYFIELD ET AL ‘225 and/or SCHUMACHER ET AL ‘087 and/or SHI-CN ‘718) suggest the use of hydroxyl-containing monomers with functionalities greater than 2 (e.g., sugars, sorbitol, etc.) as branching agents; the Examiner has reason to believe that the adhesive compositions in accordance with ROBERTS ‘315 which utilize the biodegradable butylene-succinate-based copolyesters of WHITE ET AL ‘566 containing known sugar-based branching agents would contain said sugar-based branching agents in molar hydroxyl contents which at least partially read on the recited molar hydroxyl contents recited in claim 6; therefore the Examiner has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594.
Regarding claims 18-20, one of ordinary skill in the art would have utilized the biodegradable adhesives of ROBERTS ‘315 in conventional hot-melt adhesive applications, such as labels for packaging (e.g., for food products, etc.).
Conclusion
The General Information telephone number for Technology Center 1700 is (571) 272-1700.
June 13, 2026
/Vivian Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787