DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ella et al. (US 2023/0093885).
In regard to Claim 1:
Ella discloses, in Figure 4-2, an alternating current signal transfer apparatus comprising:
a transmission line (Figure 2-2: 276);
a plurality of first phase shifters (454-1, 454-2 of 132-1) connected to the transmission line (¶ 0061) at a branching point (462);
a plurality of first resonators having same circuit topology (resonators of 134-1, 134-2 shown in Figure 3-2), each first resonator being connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of first phase shifters (Figure 3-2: 324-1, 324-2); and a plurality of second resonators (Figure 3-2: 326-1, 326-2); and
a plurality of second phase shifters (454-1, 454-2 of 132-2), each connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of second resonators (Figure 3-2: 326-1, 326-2), wherein the plurality of second phase shifters (454-1, 454-2 of 132-2) are connected at a connecting point (464),
wherein each of the plurality of first resonators is coupled with a corresponding one of the plurality of second resonators to form a resonator pair (324-1, 326-1 and 324-2, 326-2 are respectively coupled in pairs),
wherein coupling coefficients of the plurality of resonator pairs are equal to each other even when a coupling state changes (¶ 0084), and
wherein phase shift angles of the plurality of first phase shifters are set such that matching is established for at least two different coupling coefficients (¶ 0067).
In regard to Claim 5:
Ella discloses the alternating current signal transfer apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transmission line (Figure 2-2: 276) is connected to a zero-ohm power source (GND) via a reactance element or an impedance line (Figure 3-2: 322-2 as part of filter circuit 130 in Figure 2-2).
In regard to Claim 7:
Ella discloses, in Figure 4-2, an alternating current apparatus comprising:
a transmission line (Figure 2-2: 276);
a plurality of phase shifters (454-1, 454-2 of 132-1) connected to the transmission line at a branching point (462); and
a plurality of resonators of same circuit topology (resonators of 134-1, 134-2 shown in Figure 3-2), each connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of phase shifters (454-1, 454-2 of 132-1),
wherein the plurality of phase shifters are set to different phase shift angles (¶ 0087).
In regard to Claim 12:
Ella discloses the alternating current signal transfer apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of first resonators and the plurality of second resonators have a same resonance frequency (¶ 0108), and wherein the matching is established at the branching point (462) and at the connecting point (464) at the resonance frequency (¶ 0108).
In regard to Claim 13:
Ella discloses the alternating current apparatus according to claim 7, wherein each of the plurality of resonators is coupled with a resonator of another apparatus to form a resonator pair having a coupling coefficient equal to each other regardless of a coupling state (¶ 0108), and wherein the matching is established at the branching point (462) at a resonance frequency of the plurality of resonators (¶ 0108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ella et al. (US 2023/0093885), in view of Katabi et al. (US 10,992,159).
In regard to Claim 3:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claim 1 above, except for wherein resonators of each of the plurality of resonator pairs include a coil and a capacitor.
Katabi discloses, in Figure 1, wherein resonators of each of the plurality of resonator pairs include a coil (112) and a capacitor (Cs1, Cs2, CsZ respectively).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the coil and capacitors taught by Katabi with the resonators taught by Ella, in order to prevent interruption of optimal or near-optimal power transfer to the receivers, and can provide a measure of fairness among multiple receivers (Katabi Column 1: lines 53-56).
In regard to Claim 8:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claim 1 above, except for wherein the resonator includes a coil and a capacitor.
Katabi discloses, in Figure 1, wherein the resonator includes a coil (112) and a capacitor (Cs1, Cs2, CsZ respectively).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the coil and capacitors taught by Katabi with the resonators taught by Ella, in order to prevent interruption of optimal or near-optimal power transfer to the receivers, and can provide a measure of fairness among multiple receivers (Katabi Column 1: lines 53-56).
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ella et al. (US 2023/0093885), in view of Gerlach (US 4,185,252).
In regard to Claim 4:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claim 1 above, except for wherein resonators of each of the plurality of resonator pairs are open-ring resonators.
Gerlach discloses, in Figure 8, wherein resonators of each of the plurality of resonator pairs (22, 66) are open-ring resonators (Column 5: lines 14-21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the open ring resonators taught by Gerlach with the resonators taught by Ella, in order to have a tunable resonator that is driven by a TRAPATT diode and which provides a graceful degradation backup capability (Gerlach Column 2: lines 26-29).
In regard to Claim 9:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claim 1 above, except for wherein the resonator is an open-ring resonator.
Gerlach discloses wherein the resonator (22, 66) is an open-ring resonator (Column 5: lines 14-21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the open ring resonators taught by Gerlach with the resonators taught by Ella, in order to have a tunable resonator that is driven by a TRAPATT diode and which provides a graceful degradation backup capability (Gerlach Column 2: lines 26-29).
Conclusion
/JOHN W POOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843