Detailed Action
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NAGAMI (US 20220236544 A1).
Regarding claim 1, NAGAMI (Figs. 1, 8, and 12) discloses an optical system comprising, in order from an object side to an image side (e.g., Fig. 1): a first lens having negative refractive power (negative lens L11); a second lens having negative refractive power (negative lens L12); a third lens having negative refractive power (negative lens L13); a fourth lens having positive refractive power (positive lens L14); an aperture stop (aperture stop St); a fifth lens having positive refractive power (positive lens L21); a sixth lens having negative refractive power (negative lens L22); and a seventh lens (cemented lens L23/L24), wherein a sign of a temperature coefficient of a refractive index for d-line of at least one of the fourth lens and the fifth lens at 20°C to 40°C is negative (e.g., [0138] and Table 1; at the d line and in the range of 20° C. to 40° C., positive lens L21 has a negative dNd/dT), and wherein a sign of a temperature coefficient of a refractive index for the d-line of at least one of the third lens and the sixth lens at 20°C to 40°C is positive (e.g., [0138] and Table 1; at the d line and in the range of 20° C. to 40° C., negative lens L22 has a positive dNd/dT).
Regarding claim 2, NAGAMI (Figs. 1, 8, and 12) discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 1.1 < dndt6-dndt5 < 11.4 where dndt5 [10-6/°C] is a temperature coefficient of a refractive index of the fifth lens for the d-line at 20°C to 40°C, and dndt6 [10-6/°C] is a temperature coefficient of a refractive index of the sixth lens for the d-line at 20°C to 40°C (e.g., Table 1, at the d line and in the range of 20° C. to 40° C., dNd6/dT-dNd5/dT=11.4, Table 2, dNd6/dT-dNd5/dT=9.9).
Regarding claim 3, NAGAMI (Figs. 1, 8, and 12) discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -3.3 < dndt3-dndt4 < 8.0 where dndt3 is a temperature coefficient of a refractive index for the d-line of the third lens at 20°C to 40°C, and dndt4 is a temperature coefficient of a refractive index for the d-line of the fourth lens at 20 °C to 40 °C (e.g., Table 2, at the d line and in the range of 20° C. to 40° C., dNd3/dT-dNd4/dT=-
2.9
).
Regarding claim 4, NAGAMI (Figs. 1, 8, and 12) discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -1.5 < f5/f6 < -0.9 where f5 is a focal length of the fifth lens, and f6 is a focal length of the sixth lens (Table 1 and Table 2,
1
f
5
=
(
n
5
-
1
)
(
1
R
9
-
1
R
10
), (
1
f
6
=
(
n
6
-
1
)
(
1
R
11
-
1
R
12
), f5=26, f6=-29, f5/f6=-0.9).
Regarding claim 6, NAGAMI (Figs. 1, 8, and 12) discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.4 < f4/f < 2.0 where f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens, and f is a focal length of the optical system (Table 1 and Table 2,
1
f
4
=
(
n
4
-
1
)
(
1
R
6
-
1
R
7
), f4=29.2, f4/f=0.8).
Regarding claim 7, NAGAMI (Figs. 1, 8, and 12) discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 < f5/f < 1.9 where f5 is a focal length of the fifth lens, and f is a focal length of the optical system (Table 1 and Table 2,
1
f
5
=
(
n
5
-
1
)
(
1
R
9
-
1
R
10
), f5=26, f5/f=0.7).
Regarding claim 8, NAGAMI (Figs. 1, 8, and 12) discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the second lens is an aspheric lens, and wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -4.0 < f2/f < -1.0 where f2 is a focal length of the second lens, and f is a focal length of the optical system (Table 1 and Table 2,
1
f
2
=
(
n
2
-
1
)
(
1
R
3
-
1
R
4
), f2=-68, f2/f=-1.9).
Regarding claim 10, NAGAMI (Figs. 1, 8, and 12) discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the second lens is an aspheric lens (aspheric lens L12).
Regarding claim 15, NAGAMI (Figs. 1, 8, and 12) discloses an image pickup apparatus (e.g., Figs. 27-28) comprising: the optical system according to claim 1; and an image sensor configured to capture an object via the optical system (e.g., Figs. 27-28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over NAGAMI (US 20220236544 A1) in view of KOMIYAMA (US 20200081231 A1).
Regarding claim 5, NAGAMI (e.g., Figs. 1-3) discloses the optical system according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -1.1 < f4/f3 < -0.6. However, KOMIYAMA (e.g., Figs. 1 and 9) discloses an optical system similar to that disclosed by NAGAMI, wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -1.1 < f4/f3 < -0.6 where f3 is a focal length of the third lens, and f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens (Table 1, f4/f3=-0.67; Table 4, f4/f3=-0.65). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the image pickup apparatus as taught from KOMIYAMA to the optical system of NAGAMI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a wide angle lens for optical imaging system.
Regarding claim 9, NAGAMI (e.g., Figs. 1-3) discloses the optical system according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -13.7 < f1/f < -6.8. However, KOMIYAMA (e.g., Figs. 1 and 9) discloses an optical system similar to that disclosed by NAGAMI, wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -13.7 < f1/f < -6.8 where f1 is a focal length of the first lens, and f is a focal length of the optical system (Table 1, f1/f=-7.5; Table 4, f1/f=-6.9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KOMIYAMA to the optical system of NAGAMI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a wide angle lens for optical imaging system.
7. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over NAGAMI (US 20220236544 A1) in view of FENG (US 20170059807 A1).
Regarding claim 11, NAGAMI (e.g., Figs. 1-3) discloses the optical system according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 1.00 < αop/αco < 1.40, where αop [10-6/°C] is a linear expansion coefficient of a lens barrel, and αco [10-6/°C] is a linear expansion coefficient of a cover material connecting the lens barrel and an image sensor. However, FENG (e.g., Figs. 1 and 9) discloses an optical system, wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 1.00 < αop/αco < 1.40, where αop [10-6/°C] is a linear expansion coefficient of a lens barrel, and αco [10-6/°C] is a linear expansion coefficient of a cover material connecting the lens barrel and an image sensor ([0012], [0017], and [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from FENG to the optical system of NAGAMI to maintain proper focus when temperature is changed.
8. Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over NAGAMI (US 20220236544 A1) in view of WEI (US 20200257079 A1).
Regarding claim 16, NAGAMI (e.g., Figs. 1-3) discloses the image pickup apparatus according to claim 15 (e.g., Figs. 27-28); and a display apparatus configured to display an image acquired based on an output from the image pickup apparatus (e.g., Figs. 27-28). NAGAMI does not disclose an on-board system comprising the image pickup apparatus. However, WEI discloses an on-board system comprising the image pickup apparatus (e.g., Fig. 27; image pickup apparatus mounted in a vehicle 900). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the image pickup apparatus as taught from NAGAMI to the vehicle of WEI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a vehicle imaging camera mounted on a vehicle.
Regarding claim 17, NAGAMI (e.g., Figs. 1-3) discloses the image pickup apparatus according to claim 15, but does not disclose a movable apparatus comprising: the image pickup apparatus, wherein the movable apparatus is configured to hold and move the image pickup apparatus. However, WEI discloses a movable apparatus comprising: the image pickup apparatus, wherein the movable apparatus is configured to hold and move the image pickup apparatus (e.g., Fig. 27; image pickup apparatus mounted in a vehicle 900). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the image pickup apparatus as taught from NAGAMI to the vehicle of WEI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a vehicle imaging camera mounted on a vehicle.
9. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over NAGAMI (US 20220236544 A1) in view of FENG (US 20170059807 A1) and further in view of WEI (US 20200257079 A1).
Regarding claim 12, NAGAMI in view of FENG discloses the image pickup apparatus according to claim 11, but does not disclose an adhesive portion as claimed. However, WEI discloses wherein a distance from an adhesive portion between the cover material and the lens barrel to an imaging surface of the image sensor is smaller than a distance from the first lens to the imaging surface (Figs. 1-2 and [0058]; adhesive 111 or 121, lens barrel 91, imaging sensor 85, and first lens 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from FENG and WEI to the optical system of NAGAMI to maintain proper focus when temperature is changed.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention is directed to an optical imaging system. The closet prior arts, NAGAMI (US 20220236544 A1), KOMIYAMA (US 20200081231 A1), and LEE (US 20180348491 A1), individually or in combination, discloses an optical system comprising, in order from an object side to an image side: a first lens having negative refractive power; a second lens having negative refractive power; a third lens having negative refractive power; a fourth lens having positive refractive power; an aperture stop; a fifth lens having positive refractive power; a sixth lens having negative refractive power; and a seventh lens, wherein a sign of a temperature coefficient of a refractive index for d-line of at least one of the fourth lens and the fifth lens at 20°C to 40°C is negative, and wherein a sign of a temperature coefficient of a refractive index for the d-line of at least one of the third lens and the sixth lens at 20°C to 40°C is positive, but fails to teach wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 1.0 < f×sin(θmax)/y(θmax) ≤ 1.9 where θ [deg.] is a half angle of view of the optical system, y(θ) is a projection characteristic expressing a relationship between the half angle of view θ and an image height y, and θmax is a maximum half angle of view of the optical system, and wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.65 < y(θmax/2)/y(θmax) < 0.85 wherein θ [deg.] is a half angle of view of the optical system, y(θ) is a projection characteristic expressing a relationship between the half angle of view θ and an image height y, and θmax is a maximum half angle of view of the optical system.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623