CTNF 18/918,280 CTNF 76857 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-22-01 The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “an operation panel 18” as described in the specification (paragraph 0052). Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. 08-35 Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/806,477 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. Current Application Application Number 18/806,477 Corresponding Pub. No. 2025/0306117 1. A characteristic measuring jig configured to measure a characteristic of a battery cell for a rechargeable battery, the characteristic measuring jig comprising: a support configured to support the battery cell, the battery cell comprising a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal; an impedance measuring part comprising: first and second positive electrode contact parts configured to contact the positive electrode terminal, first and second negative electrode contact parts configured to contact the negative electrode terminal, the first and second negative electrode contact parts being opposite to the first and second positive electrode contact parts, a first terminal for current connected to the first positive electrode contact part and configured to apply current to the battery cell, a first terminal for voltage connected to the second positive electrode contact part and configured to measure the voltage of the battery cell, a second terminal for current connected to the first negative electrode contact part and configured to apply current to the battery cell, and a second terminal for voltage connected to the second negative electrode contact part and configured to measure voltage of the battery cell, and that is detachable to the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal of the battery cell; and an elevating part fixed to the support, connected to the first and second positive electrode contact parts or the first and second negative electrode contact parts, and configured to elevate the first and second positive electrode contact parts or the first and second negative electrode contact parts with respect to the battery cell, wherein the first terminal for current is substantially opposite to the first terminal for voltage, and wherein the second terminal for current is substantially opposite to the second terminal for voltage. 2. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 1, wherein the impedance measuring part comprises: a first body to which the first and second positive electrode contact parts, the first terminal for current, and the first terminal for voltage are coupled; and a second body to which the first and second negative electrode contact parts, the second terminal for current, and the second terminal for voltage are coupled. 3. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 2, wherein the first terminal for current and the first terminal for voltage are non-overlapping on a same line in the first body. 4. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 2, wherein the second terminal for current and the second terminal for voltage are non-overlapping on a same line in the second body. 5. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 2, wherein an area of the first positive electrode contact part is equal to or greater than an area of the second positive electrode contact part. 6. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 2, wherein an area of the first negative electrode contact part is equal to or greater than an area of the second negative electrode contact part. 7. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 2, wherein the second body is fixedly coupled on the support, and wherein the first body is coupled to the elevating part. 8. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 7, wherein the support comprises a bottom plate and a vertical plate extending from one side of the bottom plate, and wherein the second body is on the bottom plate. 9. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 1, wherein the battery cell is cylindrical. 10. A measuring apparatus configured to measure a characteristic of a battery cell for a rechargeable battery, the measuring apparatus comprising: a housing accommodating the characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 1, the housing comprising a chamber, a current wire configured to apply current to the first and second terminals for current, and a voltage wire configured to sense voltage of the battery cell from the first and second terminals for voltage. 1. A characteristic measuring jig configured to measure one or more characteristics of a battery cell for a rechargeable battery, the characteristic measuring jig comprising: a support configured to support the battery cell, the battery cell comprising a terminal side comprising a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal; an impedance measuring part comprising: first and second positive electrode contact parts configured to contact the positive electrode terminal; first and second negative electrode contact parts configured to contact the negative electrode terminal; a first terminal for current connected to the first positive electrode contact part and configured to apply current to the battery cell; a first terminal for voltage connected to the second positive electrode contact part and configured to measure the voltage of the battery cell; a second terminal for current connected to the first negative electrode contact part and configured to apply current to the battery cell; and a second terminal for voltage connected to the second negative electrode contact part and configured to measure voltage of the battery cell, the second terminal for voltage being detachable from the terminal side of the battery cell; and an elevating part fixed to the support, connected to the impedance measuring part, and configured to elevate the impedance measuring part with respect to the terminal side of the battery cell, wherein at least one of the first terminal for current or the second terminal for current is substantially opposite to at least one of the first terminal for voltage or the second terminal for voltage. 2. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 1, wherein the impedance measuring part comprises: a first body to which the first and second positive electrode contact parts, the first terminal for current, and the first terminal for voltage are coupled, and a second body to which the first and second negative electrode contact parts, the second terminal for current, and the second terminal for voltage are coupled, spaced apart from the first body and adjacent to the first body. 3. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 2, wherein the first terminal for current and the first terminal for voltage are non-overlapping on a same line in the first body. 4. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 2, wherein the second terminal for current and the second terminal for voltage are non-overlapping on a same line in the second body. 5. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 2, wherein an area of the first positive electrode contact part is equal to or greater than an area of the second positive electrode contact part. 6. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 2, wherein an area of the first negative electrode contact part is equal to or greater than an area of the second negative electrode contact part. (See Claim 1) 12. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 11, wherein the support comprises a bottom plate and a vertical plate extending from one side of the bottom plate, the fixing frame being on the bottom plate. 16. The characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 14, wherein the battery cell has a cylindrical shape. 17. A characteristic measuring apparatus configured to measure a characteristic of a battery cell for a rechargeable battery, the characteristic measuring apparatus comprising: a housing accommodating the characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 1, the housing comprising a chamber, a current wire configured to apply current to the first terminal for current and the second terminal for current, and a voltage wire configured to sense voltage of the battery cell from the first terminal for voltage and the second terminal for voltage. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (US 2020/0112070) . Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses “a support (Fig. 1, ref.# 21) configured to support the battery cell, the battery cell comprising a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal; an impedance measuring part (Fig. 1, ref.# 14, 17) comprising: first and second positive electrode contact parts (Fig. 1, ref.# 12, 14) configured to contact the positive electrode terminal, first and second negative electrode contact parts (Fig. 1, ref.# 13, 15) configured to contact the negative electrode terminal, the first and second negative electrode contact parts being opposite to the first and second positive electrode contact parts (See Fig. 1), a first terminal (Fig. 1, ref.# 12) for current connected to the first positive electrode contact part and configured to apply current to the battery cell, a first terminal (Fig. 1, ref.# 14) for voltage connected to the second positive electrode contact part and configured to measure the voltage of the battery cell, a second terminal (Fig. 1, ref.# 13) for current connected to the first negative electrode contact part and configured to apply current to the battery cell, and a second terminal (Fig. 1, ref.# 15) for voltage connected to the second negative electrode contact part and configured to measure voltage of the battery cell, and that is detachable to the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal of the battery cell (paragraph 0050); and an elevating part (paragraph 0050) fixed to the support, connected to the first and second positive electrode contact parts or the first and second negative electrode contact parts, and configured to elevate the first and second positive electrode contact parts or the first and second negative electrode contact parts with respect to the battery cell, wherein the first terminal for current is substantially opposite to the first terminal for voltage (Fig. 1, ref.# 12, 14), and wherein the second terminal for current is substantially opposite to the second terminal for voltage (Fig. 1, ref.# 13, 15).” Regarding claim 2, Sato discloses “wherein the impedance measuring part comprises: a first body to which the first and second positive electrode contact parts, the first terminal for current, and the first terminal for voltage are coupled; and a second body to which the first and second negative electrode contact parts, the second terminal for current, and the second terminal for voltage are coupled.” (Fig. 1, ref.# 20, 21) Regarding claim 3, Sato discloses “wherein the first terminal for current and the first terminal for voltage are non-overlapping on a same line in the first body.” (See Fig. 1) Regarding claim 4, Sato discloses “wherein the second terminal for current and the second terminal for voltage are non-overlapping on a same line in the second body.” (See Fig. 1) Regarding claim 7, Sato discloses “wherein the second body is fixedly coupled on the support, and wherein the first body is coupled to the elevating part.” (See Fig. 1) Regarding claim 9, Sato discloses “wherein the battery cell is cylindrical.” (Fig. 1, re.# 11) Regarding claim 10, Sato discloses “a housing accommodating the characteristic measuring jig as claimed in claim 1, the housing comprising a chamber, a current wire configured to apply current to the first and second terminals for current, and a voltage wire configured to sense voltage of the battery cell from the first and second terminals for voltage.” (See Fig. 3) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2020/0112070) . Regarding claims 5, 6 and 8, Sato discloses all the structure set forth in the claims except (Claim 5) “wherein an area of the first positive electrode contact part is equal to or greater than an area of the second positive electrode contact part”, (Claim 6) “wherein an area of the first negative electrode contact part is equal to or greater than an area of the second negative electrode contact part” and (claim 8) “wherein an area of the first positive electrode contact part is equal to or greater than an area of the second positive electrode contact part.” However, selecting the relative size of the first positive electrode contact to the second positive electrode part and/or selecting the relative size of the first negative electrode part to the second negative electrode part” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention , since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (i.e., area of electrode contact parts) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Song (US 2026/0098908), Kitagawa, et al. (US 12,571,849), Shin, et al. (US 2025/0306117), Hwang, et al. (US 2024/0283039) and Kitagawa, et al. (US 2024/0133966) teach a battery measurement system. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RODNEY FULLER whose telephone number is (571)272-2118. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 am - 4:30 pm, Monday - Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Stephanie Bloss can be reached at 571-272-3555. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RODNEY E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 May 13, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 2 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 3 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 4 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 5 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 6 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 7 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 8 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 9 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 10 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 11 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 12 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 13 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 14 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 15 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/918,280 Page 16 Art Unit: 2852