DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2)as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (US 20200409016 A1, hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses an optical device (Abstract, figs. 2-21) comprising:
a first lens group (2110, fig. 2, ¶0108) having an optical axis (2100, 3100, 4100 and in figs. 2-4 and likes thereof in figs. 5-22 as applicable);
a held body being either a second lens group (lens group in 2200, fig. 2, …first lens component 2100 is equipped with one lens 2110, and the lens component 2200 is equipped with five lenses – ¶0108) or an image sensor;
a first housing holding the first lens group (2100, 3100, 4100 and in figs. 2-4 and likes thereof in figs. 5-22 as applicable) and having:
a first contact face (e.g., inner face holding lens 2110, figs. 3-6, and also 7-21 as applicable) that is perpendicular to the optical axis (evident from figures.); and a first depression-defining face (inclined face on the side of first housing that defines gaps 3410, 3120, 4125, 4122… etc. figs. 3-4, and others in figs. 5-21 as applicable) that is positioned adjacent to, and behind, the first contact face and that is positioned radially inward upon moving closer to the first contact face (evident from corresponding figures.);
a second housing holding the held body (2200, 3200, 4200 and in figs. 2-4 and likes thereof in figs. 5-22 as applicable) and having: a second contact face (e.g., inner face opposite to first contact face as defined above, figs. 3-6, and also 7-21 as applicable) that is in contact with the first contact face (evident from figures); and a second depression-defining face (inclined face on the side of second housing that defines gaps 3410, 3120, 4125, 4122… etc. figs. 3-4, and others in figs. 5-21 as applicable) that is positioned adjacent to, and behind, the second contact face (evident from figures) and that, in combination with the first depression-defining face, defines a depression (gaps 3410, 3420, 3500, 4410, 4420 … etc. in figs. 3-4, and also in other figures as applicable in figs. 5-21); and
an adhesive provided in the depression and attaching the second housing to the first housing (abstract, ¶0127).
Regarding claim 2, Jiang discloses, the optical device according to claim 1, wherein
the first contact face is oriented in a first direction (evident from figs. 2-21),
the second contact face is oriented in a second direction opposite to the first direction (evident from figs. 2-21),
the first depression-defining face is oriented in a first inclined direction that is inclined radially outward from the first direction (evident from figs. 2-21), and
the second depression-defining face is oriented in a second inclined direction that is inclined radially outward from the second direction (evident from figs. 2-21).
Regarding claim 3, Jiang discloses, the optical device according to claim 1, wherein
the depression is a first depression,
the second depression-defining face is oriented in an inclined direction that is inclined radially outward from a direction in which the second contact face is oriented (evident from figs. 2-21),
the second housing has a third depression-defining face that is positioned radially outward the second depression-defining face (the stepped and inclined depression in the gaps between the two housings has multiple depressions as moving outwardly from the lens. The third depression-defining face can reasonably be understood as the face that defines the subsequent depressions in the second housing 3200, 4200 etc.), that is positioned behind the second contact face (evident from above definition and figures 3-21), that is oriented in another inclined direction that is inclined radially inward from the second direction (evident from above definition and figures 3-21), and that defines the first depression in combination with the first depression-defining face and the second depression-defining face (evident from above definition and figures 3-21), and
the second depression-defining face and the third depression-defining face define a second depression that is formed in the second housing and that is a part of the first depression (evident from above definition and figures 3-21).
Regarding claim 4, Jiang discloses, the optical device according to claim 1, wherein the first contact face and the second contact face are shaped like a ring that makes a complete round in the circumferential direction (¶0058, ¶0061, in FIG. 6, the connecting protrusion part 6610 is formed on the first lens component 6100 of the adjacent first lens component 6100 and second lens component 6200, and the connecting recess part 6620 is formed on the second lens component 6200. – ¶0130, figs. 6, 8a-b, As shown in FIG. 8A, the connecting protrusion part 8610 may be formed to have a continuous shape in a cross section perpendicular to the optical axis, such as a closed ring. - ¶0133).
Regarding claim 5, Jiang discloses, the optical device according to claim 1, wherein
the first contact face has a first plurality of regions that are arranged in the circumferential direction and separated from each other (Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 8B, the connecting protrusion part 8710 may be formed to have a discrete shape in a cross section perpendicular to the optical axis. These discrete connecting protrusion parts 8710 may have unequal intervals between each other, but preferably, they may have equal intervals. For example, the connecting protrusion parts 8710 may be formed on a circle at equal intervals around the optical axis. – fig. 8b, ¶0133), and
the second contact face has a second plurality of regions that are arranged in the circumferential direction and separated from each other (¶0133, fig. 8b).
Regarding claim 6, Jiang discloses, the optical device according to claim 1, wherein the first contact face and the second contact face have such a sliding property that one of the first contact face and the second contact face is slid relative to another one of the first contact face and the second contact face (The translation along the optical axis direction, the translation perpendicular to the optical axis direction, and the change of the first structural gap 2410 and the second structural gap 2420 during the active alignment process may be regarded as a fine adjustment amount. – ¶0113).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang discloses, the optical device according to claim 1, wherein the first depression-defining face and the second depression-defining face are shaped like a ring that makes a complete round in the circumferential direction (¶0058, ¶0061, in FIG. 6, the connecting protrusion part 6610 is formed on the first lens component 6100 of the adjacent first lens component 6100 and second lens component 6200, and the connecting recess part 6620 is formed on the second lens component 6200. – ¶0130, figs. 6, 8a-b, As shown in FIG. 8A, the connecting protrusion part 8610 may be formed to have a continuous shape in a cross section perpendicular to the optical axis, such as a closed ring. - ¶0133).
Regarding claim 8, Jiang discloses, the optical device according to claim 1, wherein
the first depression-defining face has first two or more regions that are arranged in the circumferential direction and separated from each other, and
the second depression-defining face has second two or more regions that are arranged in the circumferential direction and separated from each other (Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 8B, the connecting protrusion part 8710 may be formed to have a discrete shape in a cross section perpendicular to the optical axis. These discrete connecting protrusion parts 8710 may have unequal intervals between each other, but preferably, they may have equal intervals. For example, the connecting protrusion parts 8710 may be formed on a circle at equal intervals around the optical axis. – fig. 8b, ¶0133), and
the second contact face has a second plurality of regions that are arranged in the circumferential direction and separated from each other (¶0133, fig. 8b).
Regarding claim 9, Jiang discloses, the optical device according to claim 1, wherein the first depression-defining face and the second depression-defining face have projections and depressions (evident from figs. 3-21).
Regarding claim 12, Jiang discloses, the optical device according to claim 1, wherein the adhesive has a symmetric cross-sectional shape with respect to the optical axis when viewed in a cross-sectional view taken along a plane containing the optical axis (figs. 8a, 8b, ¶0133. Also see figs. 13b, 17b, 18b-c … etc.).
Regarding claim 13, Jiang discloses, the optical device according to claim 1, wherein
the held body is the second lens group (the lens component 2200 is equipped with five lenses, ¶0108), and
the optical device is a lens unit (title abstract, figs. 2-21).
Regarding claim 14, Jiang discloses, the optical device according to claim 1, wherein
the held body is the image sensor (within the scope of this claim, the held body can be defined to include 2300 as well along with 2200 as shown in fig. 2. Image sensor 2320 is included therein, fig. 2), and
the optical device is a camera module (¶0105).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang.
Regarding claim 11, Jiang discloses, the optical device according to claim 1, except, wherein the adhesive has a cross-section having a square cross-sectional shape when viewed in a cross-sectional view taken along a plane containing the optical axis.
However, adhesive in hole 3420 is substantially square shaped, fig. 3a. Adhesive filled in 8620 in fig. 8b also appears cross shaped.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to define the filling of the adhesive in the gap having a square shaped per figures 3a and 8b, to obtain, wherein the adhesive has a cross-section having a square cross-sectional shape when viewed in a cross-sectional view taken along a plane containing the optical axis, because, the limitation is considered an obvious design choice that does not raise any issues of criticality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fails to reasonably disclose or suggest,
Regarding claim 10, wherein the first housing has a first surface,
a first hole is formed in the first housing, the first hole having: a first portion; and a second portion that is on the first surface, that has a first opening having an opening shape larger than a hole shape of the first portion, and that is spatially continuous with the first portion,
the second housing has a second surface,
a second hole is formed in the second housing, the second hole having: a third portion; and a fourth portion that is on the second surface, that has a second opening having an opening shape larger than a hole shape of the third portion, and that is spatially continuous with the third portion,
the first contact face is provided along an outer circumference of the first opening, and
the second contact face is provided along an outer circumference of the second opening.
Conclusion
The prior and/or pertinent art(s) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, are – Lee et al. (US 20250130389 A1), Jung (US 20230108414 A1), Park (US 20210274658 A1), Okamoto et al. (US 20090047011 A1) – who disclose different lens module of interest.
/SHAHBAZ NAZRUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638