DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to application number 18/918,296 filed on October 17th, 2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al. (US 20240172216 A1) further in view of Viger et al. (US 20240244481A1).
Regarding claims 1,8, Hirata et al. disclose a multi-link operation wireless communication method applicable to a wireless communication device having a first wireless communication control circuit and a second wireless communication control circuit (US 20240172216 A1 FIG.2), the multi-link operation wireless communication method comprising: receiving a first synchronization information from the first wireless communication control circuit to the second wireless communication control circuit, the first synchronization information including a (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraphs 0082-0086 discloses “In step S302, when an STA in the MLD obtains a transmission right and starts to transmit the PPDU, information associated with the length of the PPDU is exchanged between STAs in the MLD. Examples of information associated with the length of the PPDU exchanged between STAs in the MLD may include the following. [0083] (1) Number of OFDM symbols [0084] (2) OFDM symbol length (guard interval length) [0085] (3) Transmission start time (which may be scheduled transmission start time) [0086] (4) Length of padding.”. Additionally Paragraph 0106); generating a synchronization collision period by the second wireless communication control circuit based on the end time of the first transmission packet (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraph 0006 discloses “For this reason, in Non-Patent Document 1, when an AP MLD transmits a DL PPDU to a NSTR non-AP MLD over a plurality of links, in a case where the DL PPDU is a PPDU that requests an immediate response from the NSTR non-AP MLD after short Inter frame space (SIFS) from the end of transmission, it is determined to transmit the DL PPDU such that a difference between the transmission end times of the DL PPDUs in individual links is within a predetermined range in order to prevent, in the NSTR non-AP MLD, simultaneous occurrence of reception of the DL PPDU and transmission of the immediate response after the SIFS in which the DL PPDU reception is completed.”); and aggregating, by the second wireless communication control circuit, a plurality of data packets into a second transmission packet which is transmitted over a second link (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraph 0092 Number of MPDUs being aggregated) wherein the second wireless communication control circuit adjusts an end time of the second transmission packet as either before a start of the synchronization collision period or after an end of the synchronization collision period (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraph 0020 discloses “According to the present disclosure, it is possible to provide a communication device and a communication method that aligns the transmission end times of individual links by adjusting a length of a transmission frame in a specific link when performing wireless communication using a plurality of links.”).
Hirata et al. fail to explicitly disclose the first synchronization information including a first updated status of a first packet queue of the first wireless communication control circuit.
However, in an analogous art Viger et al. teaches receiving a first synchronization information from the first wireless communication control circuit to the second wireless communication control circuit, the first synchronization information including a first updated status of a first packet queue of the first wireless communication control circuit and an end time of a first transmission packet to be transmitted by the first wireless communication control circuit over a first link (US 20240244481 Paragraph 0049 discloses “receiving from the station MLD, a multi-link buffer status report, ML-BSR, comprising an indication relating to an amount of data to be transmitted, for determining scheduling resource for the station MLD to transmit data wherein the ML-BSR further comprises an indication relating to a link on which the station MLD expects to be scheduled for a transmission of the amount of data to be transmitted.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirata et al. and to incorporate the teachings of Viger, to receiving a first synchronization information from the first wireless communication control circuit to the second wireless communication control circuit, the first synchronization information including a first updated status of a first packet queue of the first wireless communication control circuit, in order to facilitate staggered non overlapping transmission.
Regarding claims 2,9, Hirata et al. disclose the multi-link operation wireless communication method according to claim 1, wherein after the second wireless communication control circuit obtains the end time of the first transmission packet, the second wireless communication control circuit estimates a synchronization time that the second wireless communication control circuit takes to complete synchronization based on capabilities of the second wireless communication control circuit; and the synchronization collision period is determined based on hardware capabilities and the end time of the first transmission packet (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraph 0164 discloses “Next, the MAC lower sublayer #1 of STA 1 notifies a MAC lower sublayer #2 of STA 2 of information associated with the PPDU (PPDU 1) transmitted by STA 1 through the common entity. The information associated with the PPDU 1 is the number of OFDM symbols of the PPDU 1, a length of the OFDM symbol per symbol, a length of a packet extension (PE) field, a transmission start time, and information indicating whether or not the trigger frame with CS required=1 is included in the PPDU 1. Therefore, the MAC lower sublayer #2 of STA 2 can calculate the transmission end time (T.sub.1) of the PPDU 1.” Paragraph 0167 discloses.” The MAC lower sublayer #1 of STA 1 compares the transmission end time T.sub.1 of the PPDU 1 with the transmission end time T.sub.2 of the PPDU 2, and controls transmission of the PPDU 1 (PPDU length) on a basis of a comparison result.”).
Regarding claims 3,10, Hirata et al. disclose the multi-link operation wireless communication method according to claim 1, wherein in response to that the end time of the second transmission packet is either before the start of the synchronization collision period or after the end of the synchronization collision period, a second inter-chip synchronization time of the second wireless communication control circuit is staggered from a first inter-chip synchronization time of the first wireless communication control circuit (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraph 0006 discloses “According to the present disclosure, it is possible to provide a communication device and a communication method that aligns the transmission end times of individual links by adjusting a length of a transmission frame in a specific link when performing wireless communication using a plurality of links.”).
Regarding claims 4,11, Hirata et al. disclose the multi-link operation wireless communication method according to claim 1, wherein the end time of the second transmission packet is adjusted by changing data packet counts and/or adding extra padding (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraph 0061 discloses “For this reason, when the non-HE PPDU based on a format before IEEE 802.11ax is transmitted on one link and the HE/EHT PPDU based on a format after IEEE 802.11ax is simultaneously transmitted on the other link, and the transmission end time are aligned, a difference in the number of symbols may cause a deviation of 8 microseconds (or 4 microseconds) or more. For example, even when the number of MPDUs to be aggregated is adjusted or padding is performed in the non-HE PPDU based on a format before IEEE 802.11ax, it is assumed that the transmission end time becomes shorter by 8 microseconds (or 4 microseconds) or more than the transmission end time of the HE/EHT PPDU based on a format after IEEE 802.11ax.”).
Regarding claims 5,12, Hirata et al. disclose the multi-link operation wireless communication method according to claim 1, wherein in response that to aggregate a next data packet to the second transmission packet causes a byte length of aggregated data packets of the second transmission packet to be shorter than a length lower bound, the next data packet is added to a data packet list (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraph 0146 discloses “In the above, in a case where the length of padding is adjusted, the length of padding field, the length of the post-EOF A-MPDU padding, or the length of a packet extension field in the trigger frame is adjusted.”); and data packets in the data packet list are aggregated into the second transmission packet and the aggregated data packets in the data packet list are held, wherein after aggregation, the end time of the second transmission packet is before the start of the synchronization collision period (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraph 0061 discloses For example, even when the number of MPDUs to be aggregated is adjusted or padding is performed in the non-HE PPDU based on a format before IEEE 802.11ax, it is assumed that the transmission end time becomes shorter by 8 microseconds (or 4 microseconds) or more than the transmission end time of the HE/EHT PPDU based on a format after IEEE 802.11ax.).
Regarding claims 6,13, Hirata et al. disclose the multi-link operation wireless communication method according to claim 1, wherein in response to a first determination that aggregating all data packets in a data packet list into the second transmission packet causes a byte length of aggregated data packets of the second transmission packet to be longer than a length upper bound, the data packets in the data packet list are aggregated into the second transmission packet and the aggregated data packets in the data packet list are held, wherein after aggregation, the end time of the second transmission packet is after the end of the synchronization collision period (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraphs 0087-0096 disclose “The length of padding is, for example, the following length. [0088] (4-1) Length of a padding field in the trigger frame [0089] (4-2) Length of a post-EOF A-MPDU (MAC protocol data unit) padding [0090] (4-3) Length of a packet extension field [0091] (5) MCS (Modulation and Coding Scheme) [0092] (6) Number of MPDUs being aggregated [0093] (7) Transmission bandwidth [0094] (8) Number of transmission streams [0095] (9) Coding method [0096] (10) PPDU format [0097] (11) Whether or not a frame requesting return of the PPDU to the transmission destination includes a frame requesting carrier sensing before transmission of the PPDU to the transmission destination”); and in response to a second determination that aggregating the data packets in the data packet list into the second transmission packet causes the byte length of the aggregated data packets of the second transmission packet to be shorter than the length upper bound, the data packets in the data packet list and extra paddings are aggregated into the second transmission packet and the aggregated data packets in the data packet list are held, wherein after aggregation, the end time of the second transmission packet is after the end of the synchronization collision period (Paragraph 0170 discloses ” In a case of T.sub.1<T.sub.2-8 microseconds (T.sub.1<T.sub.2-4 microseconds in a case where the PPDU 1 includes the trigger frame set as CS Required=1), that is, in a case where the transmission end time of the PPDU 1 is earlier than the transmission end time of the PPDU 2 by a predetermined time period or more, the MAC lower sublayer #1 of STA 1 performs padding on the PPDU 1 such that the transmission end time T.sub.1 of the PPDU 1 is T.sub.2-8 microseconds or more (T.sub.1 is T.sub.2-4 microseconds or more in a case where the PPDU 1 includes the trigger frame set as CS Required=1). At this time, in a case where the time required for adjustment is 16 microseconds or less (the difference between T.sub.2-8 microseconds and T.sub.1 is within 16 microseconds, that is, the difference between T.sub.2 and T.sub.1 is within 24 microseconds), the transmission end time of the PPDU 1 may be adjusted by extending the Packet Extension field. Furthermore, at this time, the new length of the PPDU 1 is notified in the PPDU 1.)”.
Regarding claims 7,14, Hirata et al. disclose the multi-link operation wireless communication method according to claim 1, wherein in response that to aggregate a next data packet to the second transmission packet causes a byte length of aggregated data packets of the second transmission packet to be shorter than a length lower bound, a counter is increased and the next data packet is added to a data packet list (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraph 0146 discloses “In the above, in a case where the length of padding is adjusted, the length of padding field, the length of the post-EOF A-MPDU padding, or the length of a packet extension field in the trigger frame is adjusted.”); in response that to aggregate the next data packet to the second transmission packet causes the byte length of the aggregated data packets of the second transmission packet to be longer than a length upper bound, data packets in the data packet list are aggregated into the second transmission packet and the aggregated data packets in the data packet list are held, wherein after aggregation, the end time of the second transmission packet is after the end of the synchronization collision period; a decision evaluation is performed to decide whether to add extra paddings (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraph 0061 discloses “For this reason, when the non-HE PPDU based on a format before IEEE 802.11ax is transmitted on one link and the HE/EHT PPDU based on a format after IEEE 802.11ax is simultaneously transmitted on the other link, and the transmission end time are aligned, a difference in the number of symbols may cause a deviation of 8 microseconds (or 4 microseconds) or more. For example, even when the number of MPDUs to be aggregated is adjusted or padding is performed in the non-HE PPDU based on a format before IEEE 802.11ax, it is assumed that the transmission end time becomes shorter by 8 microseconds (or 4 microseconds) or more than the transmission end time of the HE/EHT PPDU based on a format after IEEE 802.11ax.”); in response to deciding to add extra paddings, the data packets in the data packet list and extra paddings are aggregated into the second transmission packet and the aggregated data packets in the data packet list are held, wherein after aggregation, the end time of the second transmission packet is after the end of the synchronization collision period; and in response to deciding not to add extra paddings, based on the counter, the data packets in the data packet list are aggregated into the second transmission packet and the aggregated data packets in the data packet list are held, wherein after aggregation, the end time of the second transmission packet is before the start of the synchronization collision period. (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraph 0061 discloses For example, even when the number of MPDUs to be aggregated is adjusted or padding is performed in the non-HE PPDU based on a format before IEEE 802.11ax, it is assumed that the transmission end time becomes shorter by 8 microseconds (or 4 microseconds) or more than the transmission end time of the HE/EHT PPDU based on a format after IEEE 802.11ax.)
Regarding claim 15, Hirata et al. disclose the multi-link operation wireless communication device according to claim 8, wherein each of the first and the second wireless communication control circuits includes: an aggregation and transmission unit, a PPDU (Physical Layer Protocol Data Unit) length calculation unit, a queue management unit, and an communication unit, the aggregation and transmission unit being coupled to the transmission packet length calculation unit, the queue management unit and the communication unit, and a communication interface is between the first and the second wireless communication control circuits (US 20240172216 A1 FIG 2).
Regarding claim 16, Hirata et al. disclose the multi-link operation wireless communication device according to claim 15, wherein when there is a transmission opportunity, the aggregation and transmission unit perform MPDU (MAC (Media Access Control) Protocol Data Unit) aggregation to generate a PPDU, and transmission of the PPDU is performed by the aggregation and transmission unit within a specified time; the PPDU length calculation unit calculates a length of aggregated MPDUs of the PPDU or a duration of the PPDU, and the PPDU length calculation unit converts between the length of the aggregated MPDUs of the PPDU and the duration of the PPDU (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraphs 0112-0121 disclose “The length of padding is, for example, the following length. [0112] (4-1) Length of a padding field in the trigger frame [0113] (4-2) Length of a Post-EOF A-MPGUpadding [0114] (4-3) Length of a packet extension field [0115] (5) MCS (Modulation and Coding Scheme) [0116] (6) Number of MPDU being aggregated [0117] (7) Transmission bandwidth [0118] (8) Number of transmission streams [0119] (9) Coding method [0120] (10) PPDU format [0121] (11) Whether or not a frame requesting return of the PPDU to the transmission destination includes a frame requesting carrier sensing before transmission of the PPDU to the transmission destination”);
Hirata et al. fail to explicitly disclose the queue management unit manages and synchronizes a MPDU queue; and the communication unit sends synchronization information to the other wireless communication control circuit, sends an updated queue status to the queue management unit, and sends the PPDU end time from the aggregation and transmission unit to the other wireless communication control circuit (US 20240244481 Paragraph 0049 discloses “receiving from the station MLD, a multi-link buffer status report, ML-BSR, comprising an indication relating to an amount of data to be transmitted, for determining scheduling resource for the station MLD to transmit data wherein the ML-BSR further comprises an indication relating to a link on which the station MLD expects to be scheduled for a transmission of the amount of data to be transmitted.”).
However, in an analogous art Viger et al. teaches the queue management unit manages and synchronizes a MPDU queue; and the communication unit sends synchronization information to the other wireless communication control circuit, sends an updated queue status to the queue management unit, and sends the PPDU end time from the aggregation and transmission unit to the other wireless communication control circuit (US 20240244481 Paragraph 0049 discloses “receiving from the station MLD, a multi-link buffer status report, ML-BSR, comprising an indication relating to an amount of data to be transmitted, for determining scheduling resource for the station MLD to transmit data wherein the ML-BSR further comprises an indication relating to a link on which the station MLD expects to be scheduled for a transmission of the amount of data to be transmitted.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirata et al. and to incorporate the teachings of Viger, to implement the queue management unit manages and synchronizes a MPDU queue; and the communication unit sends synchronization information to the other wireless communication control circuit, sends an updated queue status to the queue management unit, and sends the PPDU end time from the aggregation and transmission unit to the other wireless communication control circuit, in order to facilitate staggered non overlapping transmission.
Regarding claim 17, Hirata et al. discloses the multi-link operation wireless communication device according to claim 16, wherein an aggregation request is sent to the aggregation and transmission unit; in response to that the MPDUs for aggregation are selected, a total length of the MPDUs is calculated by the aggregation and transmission unit; the aggregation and transmission unit sends a “PPDU duration request” to the PPDU length calculation unit; in response to the “PPDU duration request”, based on a current communication mode, the PPDU length calculation unit determines PPDU duration information and reports back to the aggregation and transmission unit; based on the PPDU duration information, the aggregation and transmission unit obtains the PPDU end time; the aggregation and transmission unit informs the communication unit about completion of aggregation along with the PPDU end time (US 20240172216 A1 Paragraph 0134 discloses “Then, basically, the transmission end time of the transmitted PPDU is calculated based on the information associated with the transmitted PPDU, and the scheduled transmission end time of the PPDU scheduled to be transmitted is calculated on the basis of the information associated with the PPDU scheduled to be transmitted; furthermore, a difference between the two end time is calculated, and in a case where the difference is more than or equal to a predetermined time difference, it is determined that a length control of the PPDU is performed. In a case where a frame requesting return of the PPDU to the transmission destination includes a frame requesting carrier sensing before transmission of the PPDU to the transmission destination, the predetermined time difference is set to 4 microseconds, and in other cases, the predetermined time difference is set to 8 microseconds.”);
Hirata et al. fail to explicitly disclose in response that there is no PPDU end time received from the second wireless communication control circuit, the aggregation and transmission unit sends a “next MPDU information request” to the queue management unit; in response to the “next MPDU information request”, the queue management unit provides “next MPDU information” about the next MPDU to the aggregation and transmission unit; based on internal logic of the aggregation and transmission unit, the aggregation and transmission unit decides whether to aggregate the next MPDU into the PPDU; in response to the next MPDU is aggregated, the aggregation and transmission unit sends a “Hold MPDU” command to the queue management unit to hold relevant MPDUs in the MPDU queue ;and the communication unit queries the queue management unit for an updated queue status and sends the synchronization information including the PPDU end time and the MPDU queue status to the other wireless communication control circuit.
However, in an analogous art Viger et al. teaches in response that there is no PPDU end time received from the second wireless communication control circuit, the aggregation and transmission unit sends a “next MPDU information request” to the queue management unit; in response to the “next MPDU information request”, the queue management unit provides “next MPDU information” about the next MPDU to the aggregation and transmission unit; based on internal logic of the aggregation and transmission unit, the aggregation and transmission unit decides whether to aggregate the next MPDU into the PPDU; in response to the next MPDU is aggregated, the aggregation and transmission unit sends a “Hold MPDU” command to the queue management unit to hold relevant MPDUs in the MPDU queue (US 20240244481 Paragraph 0323 discloses “The delay bound is a current “live” information which helps the AP MLD for scheduling next communication slots. It shall be noted that neither the former EDCA nor the recent MU UL OFDMA can guarantee any throughput or delay bounds, but only performance differentiation among the categories.”) ;and the communication unit queries the queue management unit for an updated queue status and sends the synchronization information including the PPDU end time and the MPDU queue status to the other wireless communication control circuit (US 20240244481 Paragraph 0049 discloses “receiving from the station MLD, a multi-link buffer status report, ML-BSR, comprising an indication relating to an amount of data to be transmitted, for determining scheduling resource for the station MLD to transmit data wherein the ML-BSR further comprises an indication relating to a link on which the station MLD expects to be scheduled for a transmission of the amount of data to be transmitted.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirata et al. and to incorporate the teachings of Viger, ;and the communication unit queries the queue management unit for an updated queue status and sends the synchronization information including the PPDU end time and the MPDU queue status to the other wireless communication control circuit, in order to facilitate staggered non overlapping transmission.
Regarding claim18, Hirata et al. disclose the multi-link operation wireless communication device according to claim 17, wherein the communication unit forwards the updated queue status information of the synchronization information received from the other wireless communication control circuit to the queue management unit and forwards the PPDU end time of the synchronization information to the aggregation and transmission unit; in response that the aggregation and transmission unit has transmission opportunity, the aggregation and transmission unit receives an aggregation request; the aggregation and transmission unit determines the synchronization collision period based on the received PPDU end time, and determines the PPDU duration which does not end in the synchronization collision period; the aggregation and transmission unit sends the PPDU duration to the PPDU length calculation unit; based on a current communication mode, the PPDU length calculation unit calculates a length lower bound and a length upper bound and forwards the length lower bound and the length upper bound to the aggregation and transmission unit (US 20240172216 A1 “Then, basically, the transmission end time of the transmitted PPDU is calculated based on the information associated with the transmitted PPDU, and the scheduled transmission end time of the PPDU scheduled to be transmitted is calculated on the basis of the information associated with the PPDU scheduled to be transmitted; furthermore, a difference between the two end time is calculated, and in a case where the difference is more than or equal to a predetermined time difference, it is determined that a length control of the PPDU is performed. In a case where a frame requesting return of the PPDU to the transmission destination includes a frame requesting carrier sensing before transmission of the PPDU to the transmission destination, the predetermined time difference is set to 4 microseconds, and in other cases, the predetermined time difference is set to 8 microseconds.”); the aggregation and transmission unit queries the queue management unit about the next MPDU information, deciding which MPDUs to aggregate and notifying the queue management unit to hold the selected MPDUs; based on the length lower bound and the length upper bound, the aggregation and transmission unit aggregates the selected MPDU(s) and adjusts the PPDU end time to be before the start of the synchronization collision period or after the end of the synchronization collision period; the aggregation and transmission unit sends a “PPDU duration request” to the PPDU length calculation unit; in response to the “PPDU duration request”, based on a current communication mode, the PPDU length calculation unit determines PPDU duration information and reports back to the aggregation and transmission unit; based on the PPDU duration information, the aggregation and transmission unit obtains the PPDU end time; the aggregation and transmission unit informs the communication unit about completion of aggregation along with the PPDU end time(US 20240172216 A1 FIG 2 “The length of padding is, for example, the following length. [0112] (4-1) Length of a padding field in the trigger frame [0113] (4-2) Length of a Post-EOF A-MPGUpadding [0114] (4-3) Length of a packet extension field [0115] (5) MCS (Modulation and Coding Scheme) [0116] (6) Number of MPDU being aggregated [0117] (7) Transmission bandwidth [0118] (8) Number of transmission streams [0119] (9) Coding method [0120] (10) PPDU format [0121] (11) Whether or not a frame requesting return of the PPDU to the transmission destination includes a frame requesting carrier sensing before transmission of the PPDU to the transmission destination”);
Hirata et al. fail to explicitly disclose the communication unit queries the queue management unit for queue status update and send the synchronization information including the PPDU end time and the queue status to the other wireless communication control circuit (US 20240244481 Paragraph 0049 discloses “receiving from the station MLD, a multi-link buffer status report, ML-BSR, comprising an indication relating to an amount of data to be transmitted, for determining scheduling resource for the station MLD to transmit data wherein the ML-BSR further comprises an indication relating to a link on which the station MLD expects to be scheduled for a transmission of the amount of data to be transmitted.”)
However, in an analogous art Viger et al. teaches the communication unit queries the queue management unit for queue status update and send the synchronization information including the PPDU end time and the queue status to the other wireless communication control circuit (US 20240244481 Paragraph 0049 discloses “receiving from the station MLD, a multi-link buffer status report, ML-BSR, comprising an indication relating to an amount of data to be transmitted, for determining scheduling resource for the station MLD to transmit data wherein the ML-BSR further comprises an indication relating to a link on which the station MLD expects to be scheduled for a transmission of the amount of data to be transmitted.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirata et al. and to incorporate the teachings of Viger et al.; and the communication unit queries the queue management unit for an updated queue status and sends the synchronization information including the PPDU end time and the MPDU queue status to the other wireless communication control circuit, in order to facilitate staggered non overlapping transmission.
Conclusion
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Samuel Dilan Rutnam/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471