DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-21, in the reply filed on 18 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 22 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 18 May 2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/518,009, filed on 03 November 2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11-12, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jungnickel (US 2019/0200742 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jungnickel discloses a method for manufacturing a handle for a personal care implement (title/abstract, ¶ 70; FIG. 1), the method comprising steps of:
molding the handle, equated with the claimed core-connector unit, from a fiber-reinforced material, the core-connector unit comprising a core structure and a unitary connector for attaching and detaching a head to and from the handle (¶¶ 36, 65) and
molding a polymeric material onto the core structure to form a second component, the second component at last partially covering the core structure (¶¶ 52, 65).
Regarding claim 2, Jungnickel discloses a further step of molding a third component onto at least one of the core structure and the second component, the third component at least partially covering the at least one of the core structure and the second component to form a gripping area of the handle (¶¶ 64-66).
Regarding claim 3, Jungnickel discloses the third component is made from at least one of a thermoplastic elastomer material (¶¶ 64+).
Regarding claim 11, Jungnickel discloses the fiber-reinforced material is a composite material comprising a polymer base material (¶¶ 40+).
Regarding claim 12, Jungnickel discloses the polymer base material is selected from the group consisting of polyamide, styrene acrylonitrile resin, polybutylene terephthalate, polyethylene terephthalate, recycled plastic materials, and any combination thereof (¶¶ 49-50).
Regarding claim 16-18, Jungnickel discloses that the core unit, the polymeric material, and the third component can be injection molded (¶ 65)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 9-10, 14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jungnickel (US 2019/0200742 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Jungnickel (US 2019/0248049 A1, hereinafter Jungnickel-2).
Regarding claim 4, Jungnickel does not appear to expressly disclose a cavity in the connector.
However, Jungnickel-2 discloses a similar process of forming a handle (title/abstract) in which a connector portion 14 is injection molded with a cavity 82 (FIG. 6-10, 13; ¶¶ 105+, 109+).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connector of Jungnickel to include the cavity of Jungnickel-2, in order to provide a recess for snap-fit elements which are known in the art and would provide a sufficiently strong connection and stability between the head and the handle (Jungnickel-2 ¶ 46).
Regarding claims 5-6, Jungnickel discloses that the connector includes a snap-fit element (¶ 36).
Jungnickel does not appear to expressly disclose how this snap-fit element is integrated.
However, Jungnickel-2 discloses a similar process of forming a handle (title/abstract) in which a connector portion 14 is injection molded with a cavity 82 into which a spring-loaded ball element 42 is inserted (FIG. 6-10, 13; ¶¶ 105+, 109+).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connector of Jungnickel to include the cavity and spring-loaded ball element of Jungnickel-2, because such snap-fit elements are known in the art and would provide a sufficiently strong connection and stability between the head and the handle (Jungnickel-2 ¶ 46).
Claim 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jungnickel (US 2019/0200742 A1) in view of Jungnickel (US 2019/0248049 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, further in view of Engel et al. (US 8,210,580 B2) and Northwestern (Steel and Stainless Steel Press Fit Ball Plunger with Stainless Ball)
Regarding claims 7-8, Jungnickel-2 discloses that the spring-loaded ball element may be fixed in the cavity by a press-fitting process, welding and/or gluing (¶¶ 49, 106, 109; FIG. 13).
Modified Jungnickel does not appear to expressly disclose a cap.
However, Engel discloses a spring-loaded ball detent assembly (title/abstract) in which a plate P is rigidly joined to the detent sub-assembly N or is integral with it (4:33-45; FIG. 2).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Jungnickel to include the metal capped ball detent of Engel, because such devices are known in the art and a separate cap allows adjustment of the protrusion of the ball (Engel 4:43-45).
Regarding claim 10, Jungnickel-2 discloses the spring is made of stainless steel (¶ 48).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jungnickel (US 2019/0200742 A1) in view of Jungnickel (US 2019/0248049 A1) and Engel et al. (US 8,210,580 B2), as applied to claim 7 above, further in view of Northwestern (Steel and Stainless Steel Press Fit Ball Plunger with Stainless Ball).
Jungnickel does not appear to expressly disclose the cap material.
However, Northwestern further demonstrates that press-fit ball detent are made with stainless steel balls and housings.
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Jungnickel to include the metal of Northwestern, because such devices are known and could be used with expected results.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jungnickel (US 2019/0200742 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Raman et al. (US 2015/0034858 A1).
Jungnickel discloses that the core is formed from a magnetic and/or ferromagnetic material comprising the claimed PA, SAN, PBT, PET or recycled polymers and 3-25 wt% aluminum oxide, boron nitride or aluminum silicate; and 45-67 wt% iron oxide and glass fibers at about 4.5 wt% (¶¶ 41-42, MPEP § 2144.05), and that the filler may be varied to control the handle’s center of gravity and mass/weight distribution, thermal conductivity, and flowability (¶¶ 40, 75+, 78, 82+).
Jungnickel does not appear to expressly disclose that the fibers are in an amount of 10-50 wt% or that the second component includes the magnetic/ferromagnetic materials.
However, Ramen discloses a thermally conductive polymer composition (title/abstract) which include metal oxides and glass and/or carbon fibers in amounts of 0.1-70 wt% (¶¶ 11-12; MPEP § 2144.05).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Jungnickel to include the fiber amounts of Ramen, in order to improve molding cycle time (¶¶ 6-7). In addition, Jungnickel’s suggestion to control the center of gravity and weight distribution (¶¶ 78, 82+) would motivate the skilled artisan to try/attempt to include the same or different magnetic and/or ferromagnetic compositions in the second component in order to provide greater control over said center of gravity or weight distribution.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper. Specifically the newly claimed limitation, that the core structure (18) extends along at least 50% (or 75% or 85%) of the overall length extension (28) of the handle (12), is novel. The prior art’s core structure clearly does not extend for at least half of the of the length as shown in FIG. 8 of Jungnickel-2, in contrast with the instant FIG. 1-3.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN A SCHIFFMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742