DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. The objected to language is “said at least one light source”.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “an standalone wireless communication device” in line 1 is grammatically incorrect. Changing “an” to “a” is recommended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “thin” in claims 1, 3, 7, 9 and 14 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear how thick or thin a layer needs to be in order to be considered “thin”. Therefore, for purpose of examination this term will not be considered.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujisawa, US 2023/0195051.
Regarding claim 1, Fujisawa discloses a dial for a watch comprising an standalone wireless communication device (abstract), such a dial comprises visible and hidden faces (Fig 2, 3), said dial being formed by a stack of thin layers of material extending between these two faces (Fig 2, 3), each of said layers comprising one or more of the functional elements comprised in said device
- a radio wave transceiver module (antenna 50, 800, 900 also see Fig 7); - at least one light source (LED 60); - a standalone electric power supply unit (battery 24, solar panel 25); and - a control unit (400) for managing the operation of said at least one light source and of the transceiver module.
Regarding claim 2, Fujisawa discloses the transceiver module operates according to a Bluetooth, Wi-Fi and/or NFC technology (paragraph [0145]).
Regarding claim 3, Fujisawa discloses the stack of thin layers of material comprises a first layer provided with the visible face of the dial and the first layer comprising said at least one transceiver module and said at least one light source (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 4, Fujisawa discloses said at least one transceiver module is arranged in a cavity formed in the hidden face of this dial (Fig 2, 50 is hidden in a cavity).
Regarding claim 5, Fujisawa discloses said first layer is configured to be crossed in whole or in part by light radiation (in order to reach solar panel 25).
Regarding claim 6, Fujisawa discloses said first layer is wholly or partly transparent or translucent (in order to permit light to reach solar panel 25).
Regarding claim 7, Fujisawa discloses the stack of thin layers of material includes a second layer comprising a photovoltaic module making up the standalone electric power supply unit (Fig 2, second layer 25 is a photovoltaic module).
Regarding claim 8, Fujisawa discloses the second layer comprises a substrate on which the photovoltaic module is printed (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 9, Fujisawa discloses the stack of thin layers of material includes a second layer comprising a photovoltaic module making up the standalone electric power supply unit (solar panel 25), the said photovoltaic module being arranged on an active area of said second layer, said area being configured to receive light radiations originating from the first layer of the stack of thin layers of material (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 10, Fujisawa discloses the stack includes a third layer comprising an electrical energy accumulator (battery 24) making up the standalone electric power supply unit.
Regarding claim 11, Fujisawa discloses the stack includes a third layer comprising an electrical energy accumulator (24) making up the standalone electric power supply unit, the third layer comprising a substrate on which the electrical energy accumulator is printed.
Regarding claim 12, Fujisawa discloses the stack includes a fourth layer forming a hidden face of the dial comprising the control unit (control unit 400, Fig 11).
Regarding claim 13, Fujisawa discloses the stack includes a third layer comprising a hidden face of the dial including the control unit (400) and an electrical energy accumulator (battery 24) making up the standalone electric power supply unit (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 14, Fujisawa discloses the first layer is rigid compared to the other layers comprised in the stack of thin layers of material which are soft ([0025]).
Regarding claim 15, Fujisawa discloses the visible and hidden faces are flat (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 16, Fujisawa discloses a watch comprising a dial according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Fujisawa discloses a mechanical, electronic or electromechanical horological movement (movement 20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JASON M COLLINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/EDWIN A. LEON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831