Detailed Action
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
3. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology in particular the term “said”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 and 13-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/918,309 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the present application is detailed in claims 1 and 4-6 of the ’309 application, claim 2 of the present application is detailed in claim 4 of the ‘309 application, claim 3 of the present application is detailed in claim 1 of the ‘309 application, claim 4 of the present application is detailed in claim 7 of the ‘309 application, claim 5 of the present application is detailed in claim 8 of the ‘309 application, claim 6 of the present application is detailed in claim 9 of the ‘309 application, claim 7 of the present application is detailed in claim 10 of the ‘309 application, claim 8 of the present application is detailed in claim 11 of the ‘309 application, claim 9 of the present application is detailed in claim 12 of the ‘309 application, claim 10 of the present application is detailed in claim 13 of the ‘309 application, claim 13 of the present application is detailed in claim 14 of the ‘309 application, claim 14 of the present application is detailed in claim 15 of the ‘309 application, claim 15 of the present application is detailed in claim 16 of the ‘309 application, claims 16 and 17 of the present application are detailed in claim 17 of the ‘309 application, claim 18 of the present application is detailed in claim, claim 19 of the present application is detailed in claim 19 of the ‘309 application and claim 20 of the present application is detailed in claim 20 of the ‘309 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 and 13-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/918,333 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the present application is detailed in claims 1 and 8-9 of the ‘333 application, claim 2 of the present application is detailed in claim 1 of the ‘333 application, claim 3 of the present application is detailed in claim 5 of the ’333 application, claim 4 of the present application is detailed in claim 10 of the ‘333 application, claim 5 of the present application is detailed in claim 11 of the ‘333 application, claim 6 of the present application is detailed in claim 12 of the ‘333 application, claim 7 of the present application is detailed in claim 13 of the ‘333 application, claim 13 of the present application is detailed in claim 14 of the ‘333 application, claim 14 of the present application is detailed in claim 15 of the ‘333 application, claim 15 of the present application is detailed in claim 16 of the ‘333 application, claim 16 of the present application is detailed in claim 17 of the ‘333 application, claim 17 of the present application is detailed in claim 18 of the ‘333 application, claim 18 of the present application is detailed in claim 19 of the ‘333 application and claim 19 of the present application is detailed in claim 20 of the ‘333 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed snap-fit element in that applicant claims specific structure related to the snap-fit element being the claimed base portion and resilient arm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the proximal end" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11-15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0142344 to Jungnickel.
Referring to claim 1, Jungnickel discloses a connector – at 16,18,38-52, for repeatedly attaching and detaching a head – at 14, to and from a handle – at 12, of a personal care implement – at 10, the connector – at 16,18, being unitarily formed as one piece – see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0082] and [0094], the connector – at 16,18, comprising a first substantially cylindrical section – at 16, a second substantially cylindrical section – at 18, and an intermediate section – at 38-52, connecting the first and the second cylindrical sections – at 16,18 – see figures 1-3, wherein the intermediate section – at 38-52, comprises a snap-fit element – at 38,52, having a base portion – at 52 and material of 16 surrounding 52, and a resilient arm – at 38, extending from the base portion – at 52 – see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0034] and [0083] where the connector can be made of materials that have elasticity/resilience.
Referring to claim 11, Jungnickel further discloses the first and the second substantially cylindrical sections – at 16 and 18, and the intermediate section – at 38-52, define a longitudinal length extension of the connector – see at 36,39,41, in figures 1-3, and the first substantially cylindrical section and the second substantially cylindrical section – at 16,18, are placed off-center with respect to the longitudinal length extension – see at 36,39,41, in figures 1-3.
Referring to claim 12, Jungnickel further discloses the first substantially cylindrical section has a cross-sectional area – at 30, being smaller than the cross-sectional area of the second substantially cylindrical section – at the connection of 18 to 38-41 – see figures 1-3.
Referring to claim 13, Jungnickel discloses a handle – at 12, for a personal care implement – at 10, the handle – at 12, comprising a connector – at 16,18,38-52, according to claim 1 – see rejection of claim 1 detailed earlier.
Referring to claim 14, Jungnickel further discloses the handle has a distal end and a proximal end – see figures 1-3, the proximal end being closest to a head – at 14, attachable to the handle – at 12 – see figures 1-3, the proximal end of the handle comprising a hollow portion into which a portion of the connector – at 38-41, is fixed – see figures 1-3.
Referring to claim 15, Jungnickel further discloses the proximal end of the handle comprises a chamfered surface – see at connection of 12 with 38-41 in figures 1-3.
Referring to claim 19, Jungnickel discloses a personal care implement – at 10, comprising a head – at 14, a handle – at 12 according to claim 13 – see rejection of claim 13 detailed earlier, the handle – at 12, comprising a connector – at 16,18-38-52, the head – at 14 being repeatedly attachable to and detachable from the handle – at 12, via the connector – at 16,18,38-52 – see figures 1-3.
Referring to claim 20, Jungnickel further discloses the head – at 14, comprises a hollow portion – receiving item 16, having an inner wall – see figures 1-3, and the inner wall comprising a recess for receiving at least a portion of the resilient arm – at the connection of 38 to 52 – see figures 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jungnickel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,724,181 to Schaefer et al.
Referring to claim 2, Jungnickel further discloses the connector is made from a plastic material – see paragraph [0083], but does not disclose the plastic material having an e-modulus from about 5 N/mm² to about 15 N/mm². Schaefer et al. does disclose the connector – at 150, made of a plastic material having an e-modulus from about 5 N/mm² to about 15 N/mm² - see column 3 lines 3-37 with an e-modulus of not more than 500 MPa. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Jungnickel and add the connector made of a plastic material having an e-modulus from about 5 N/mm² to about 15 N/mm² as disclosed by Schaefer et al., so as to yield the predictable result of making the connector both durable and flexible for repeated use.
Referring to claim 3, Jungnickel does not disclose the resilient arm has a first section and a second section, the first section having the form of a semi-sphere, and the second section being a bridge connecting the first section with the base portion, and the bridge applying a force onto the first section in a direction towards an outer lateral surface of the connector. Schaefer et al. does disclose the resilient arm – at 150, has a first section and a second section – see figures 3 and 4b, the first section having the form of a semi-sphere – see at 152, and the second section being a bridge – at 150,151, connecting the first section with the base portion – at 160 – see figures 3 and 4b, and the bridge applying a force onto the first section – on sides of 152, in a direction towards an outer lateral surface of the connector – see figures 3 and 4b. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Jungnickel and add the resilient arm with first and second sections as disclosed by Schaefer et al., so as to yield the predictable result of allowing the device to be moved into different positions as desired.
Referring to claim 4, Jungnickel as modified by Schaefer et al. does not disclose the bridge has a thickness from about 0.3 mm to about 1.5 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Jungnickel as modified by Schaefer et al. and have the bridge thickness at any suitable value including the claimed values, so as to yield the predictable result of making the bridge both durable and flexible for repeated use.
Referring to claim 5, Jungnickel as modified by Schaefer et al. does not disclose the bridge has a thickness from about 0.6 mm to about 1.2 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Jungnickel as modified by Schaefer et al. and have the bridge thickness at any suitable value including the claimed values, so as to yield the predictable result of making the bridge both durable and flexible for repeated use.
Referring to claim 6, Jungnickel as modified by Schaefer et al. does not disclose the bridge extends from the base portion by an angle ß of from about 10° to about 30°. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Jungnickel as modified by Schaefer et al. and have the bridge extend from the base portion at any suitable angle including the claimed angles, so as to yield the predictable result of securing the bridge to the base so that the connector can be moved into different positions as desired.
Referring to claim 7, Jungnickel as modified by Schaefer et al. does not disclose the bridge extends from the base portion by an angle ß of from about 20° to about 25°. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Jungnickel as modified by Schaefer et al. and have the bridge extend from the base portion at any suitable angle including the claimed angles, so as to yield the predictable result of securing the bridge to the base so that the connector can be moved into different positions as desired.
Referring to claim 8, Jungnickel as modified by Schaefer et al. further discloses the bridge is curved – see where the bridge – at 151 receives item 110 in figures 3 and 4b of Schaefer et al. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Jungnickel and add the resilient arm with curved bridge as disclosed by Schaefer et al., so as to yield the predictable result of allowing the device to be attached to the device into different orientations as desired.
Referring to claim 9, Jungnickel as modified by Schaefer et al. does not disclose the semi-sphere has a diameter of from about 1 mm to about 5 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Jungnickel as modified by Schaefer et al. and have the semi-sphere at any desired diameter including the claimed diameters, so as to yield the predictable result of making the device both durable and flexible for repeated use.
Referring to claim 10, Jungnickel as modified by Schaefer et al. does not disclose the semi-sphere has a diameter of from about 2 mm to about 4 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Jungnickel as modified by Schaefer et al. and have the semi-sphere at any desired diameter including the claimed diameters, so as to yield the predictable result of making the device both durable and flexible for repeated use.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jungnickel as applied to claim 15 above.
Referring to claim 16, Jungnickel further discloses the handle – at 12, has a longitudinal length extension – at 22, and a cross-sectional area extending substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal length extension – at 22 – see 22 proximate 38 in figures 1-3, and the chamfered surface – proximate 38-41, and the cross-sectional area define and angle – see figures 1-3, but does not disclose an angle α from about 15° to about 30°. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Jungnickel and have the chamfered surface and cross-sectional area at any suitable angle including the angles claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of securing the handle to the connector while allowing the user to easily grip the device during use.
Referring to claim 17, Jungnickel does not disclose the chamfered surface and the cross- sectional area define an angle α from about 18° to about 28°. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Jungnickel and have the chamfered surface and cross-sectional area at any suitable angle including the angles claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of securing the handle to the connector while allowing the user to easily grip the device during use.
Referring to claim 18, Jungnickel further discloses the handle – at 12, has a longitudinal length extension – at 22, and a cross-sectional area extending substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal length extension – at 22 – see 22 proximate 38 in figures 1-3, and the chamfered surface – proximate 38-41, and the cross-sectional area define and angle – see figures 1-3, but does not disclose an angle α of about 25°. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Jungnickel and have the chamfered surface and cross-sectional area at any suitable angle including the angle claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of securing the handle to the connector while allowing the user to easily grip the device during use.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to toothbrushes with detachable heads in general:
U.S. Pat. No. 4,811,445 to Lagieski et al. – shows toothbrush with detachable head
U.S. Pat. No. 5,875,510 to Lamond et al. – shows toothbrush with detachable head
U.S. Pat. No. 6,546,585 to Blaustein et al. – shows toothbrush with detachable head
U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0047729 to Iwahori et al. – shows toothbrush with detachable head
U.S. Pat. No. 8,800,093 to Moskovich et al. – shows toothbrush with detachable head
U.S. Pat. No. 9,486,066 to Bresselschmidet et al. – shows toothbrush and detachable head
U.S. Pat. No. 11,375,802 to Jungnickel – shows toothbrush with detachable head
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643