Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Notices to Applicant
This communication is a non-final rejection. Claims 1-6, as filed 08/19/2026, are currently pending and have been considered below.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon and the rationale supporting the rejection would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, the claim recites “the storage” but this term lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright (US20170235880A1) in view of Singer (US20150234984A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wright discloses: An information management server comprising a hardware processor and a storage, wherein the hardware processor (“A cloud server may include an HTTP/HTTPS server sending and receiving HTTP/HTTPS messages in order to provide web browsing user interfaces to client web browsers,” [0049]; “An exemplary storage medium can be coupled to the processor such that the processor can read information from, and write information to, the storage medium,” [0209) is configured to
--obtain first medical information in a DICOM format of a first medical facility and second medical information in the DICOM format of a second medical facility directly from the first medical facility and the second medical facility (“King hospital sends package DCS990 to another MDR… sent by Johns Hopkins to a different MDR,” [0152]; “Upload of the images/reports may be performed by the workstation, or directly from a PACS or other data store in an MDR,” [0164]; “Such an upload may occur by sending one or more DICOM transfers to an IP address associated with the cloud servers,” [0118]),
--the first medical information and the second medical information pertaining to a registered patient using a user terminal (“Despite the differences between patient name and patient ID, the cloud system can recognize that the images concerned the same patient because of use of the same email address gathered through the HIPAA process,” [0152]; “A patient logs in to the patient portal using the logon process described above once they have a registered account based on email address (for example) 1201,” [0182]);
--store the first medical information and the second medical information in the storage (“The cloud server parses the virtual package for metadata, and stores the metadata, virtual package identifiers, recipient(s), studies, and related information into the cloud database (5),” [0061]),
--generate display information for a display of the user terminal of the registered patient (“The user may then be presented with packages stored in the cloud that are associated with that patient's email address 1202,” [0183]).
--output the generated display information to the user terminal of the registered patient, thereby allowing the registered patient access (“patients may have control and access over their own data. To interface with the cloud service, patients may be allowed to login as a normal or special recipient that can view, send, and remove images, and may approve access to their images,” [0170]; “A cloud server may include an HTTP/HTTPS server sending and receiving HTTP/HTTPS messages in order to provide web browsing user interfaces to client web browsers,” [0049]).
Wright’s MDR (Medical Data Repository) is a medical facility (“the medical information held or controlled by a doctor, clinic, hospital, a third-party imaging center, or cloud-based medical data repository (collectively referred to as ‘MDRs’),” [0007]).
Wright does not expressly disclose but Singer teaches:
--to display the obtained first medical information and second medical information (“the Patient-Centric Portal may act as an agent for the patient and provide in a centralized format the information derived from a plurality of Satellite Portals,” [0041]); and
--[access] to the first medical information from the first medical facility and the second medical information from the second medical facility (“Patient data will be accumulated and made available by automated and/or manual acquisition from multiple sources (hospitals, clinics, pharmacies, physician offices, insurance entities, and other points of healthcare services). The patient and authorized representatives will be able to view, download, and securely transmit data residing in the portal,” [0019]; “The patient will have the ability to differentiate the specific source of each item of the imported data,” [0020]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand Wright’s patient portal to include the centralized presentation of aggregated patient data of Singer because this would be more convenient for the user and “reduc[e] the need for patients proactively to reach out and seek records from multiple providers” (Singer [0010]).
Additionally, it can be seen that each element is taught by either Wright or Singer. The centralized presentation of Singer does not affect the normal functioning of the elements that are taught by Wright. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Singer with the teachings of Wright since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Wright discloses: wherein the hardware processor obtains the first medical information from a first medical image management apparatus of the first medical facility and obtains the second medical information from a second medical image management apparatus of the second medical facility (“Upload of the images/reports may be performed by the workstation, or directly from a PACS or other data store in an MDR,” [0164]). Wright’s PACS is a medical image management apparatus in line with the instant specification [0041].
Regarding claim 3, Wright discloses: An information sharing system comprising: the information management server according to claim 1; and the user terminal of the registered patient including: the display; and a hardware processor that causes the display to display (“the processor and the storage medium can reside as discrete components in a user terminal or mobile device,” [0209]; “These images may be transferred to a web browser or to a custom application installed on a workstation or mobile device affiliated with the user or organization that has access to the images within the cloud service,” [0188]).
Wright does not expressly disclose but Singer further teaches: the first medical information and the second medical information satisfying a predetermined condition (“the Patient-Centric Portal may act as an agent for the patient and provide in a centralized format the information derived from a plurality of Satellite Portals 103,” [0041]; “FIG. 6 depicts a screen reached by having selected alerts, to reveal key health information including prescriptions due, diagnoses and allergies,” [0053).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, the claim is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected with the same reasoning. The Examiner further notes that Wright discloses: a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program causing a computer of an information management server to perform (“A software module can reside in RAM memory, flash memory, ROM memory, EPROM memory, EEPROM memory, registers, hard disk, a removable disk, a CD-ROM, or any other form of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium,” [0209]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright in view of Singer and Harrington (US20070203754A1).
Regarding claim 4, Wright does not expressly disclose but Harrington teaches: The information sharing system according to claim 3, wherein the hardware processor of the user terminal of the registered patient receives, as a setting of the predetermined condition, at least one of a selection of a medical facility, a selection of unread medical information, and a selection of favorite-set medical information (“The member 160 is able to specify the nodes that will provide information that is included and released from the NHR Index 168 using any available client device 110 as a means of communication,” [0046]; “Provider nodes 164 may include healthcare delivery systems such as hospitals, clinics, emergency rooms,” [0041).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the patient portal of Wright and Singer to include the node specification of Harrington because letting the patient choose which facilities’ records are included would help the patient better “manage his or her health records” (Harrington [0013]).
Additionally, it can be seen that each element is taught by either Wright, Singer, or Harrington. Harrington’s node specification does not affect the normal functioning of the patient portal of Wright and Singer. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Harrington with the teachings of Wright and Singer since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright in view of Singer and Crawford (US20180052958A1).
Regarding claim 6, Wright does not expressly disclose but Crawford teaches:
--wherein the hardware processor obtains vital information from the user terminal of the registered patient, the vital information being obtained from an input from the registered patient or from a vital measurement apparatus (“if the patient is using a fitness tracking application to keep track of the number of steps, heart-rate during workouts, or daily calories, the PDHP system and method application can send queries to the database to store the data as records,” [0033]; “a patient smartphone or tablet application that can allow the patient to enter and retrieve records,” [0022]), and
--stores the vital information in the storage associated with the registered patient on the user terminal (“the database of the PDHP system and method can store one or more personal digital health records in a secure cloud-based storage space, accessible only with appropriate clearance... the database of the PDHP system and method can be configured to be controlled by the patient,” [0023]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the patient portal of Wright and Singer to include the patient-entered vitals such as heart rate of Crawford because this would improve patient wellness by letting patients “rapidly access and control communication of their entire medical history” (Crawford [0004]).
Additionally, it can be seen that each element is taught by either Wright, Singer, or Crawford. Crawford’s patient vitals data do not affect the normal functioning of the patient portal of Wright and Singer. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Crawford with the teachings of Wright and Singer since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Response to arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hagiwara (US20230290469A1) discloses a similar workflow to the instant claim 6 ([0176]-[0179]).
/JOSHUA B BLANCHETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684