DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6, and 15-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,152,701. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application are merely broader than the claims to US Patent No. 12,152,701 and are thus encompassed by said claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,555,558. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application are merely broader than the claims to US Patent No. 11,555,558 and are thus encompassed by said claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barra et al. (2009/0266552).
With regard to claim 1, Barra discloses a pipeline removal system for removing pipeline from a seafloor (abstract; para 0002), comprising:
a barge (para 0037), a subsea trenching device (10/90), and a trenching device controller (para 0037),wherein said trenching device controller is on said barge (para 0037); wherein said subsea trenching device is operatively connected to said trenching device controller and said trenching device controller is configured to control said subsea trenching device (para 0037); wherein said subsea trenching device comprises at least one spray pipe (94/100) and each said at least one spray pipe further comprises at least one nozzle (96), further wherein said subsea trenching device is configured to receive pressurized water and to spray said pressurized water out of each said at least one nozzle (para 0022) , thereby excavating a trench around a length of said pipeline buried below said seafloor and exposing an uncovered portion of said pipeline (figs. 1-2; para 0022); wherein said subsea trenching device is removably attachable to said pipeline;and wherein, when said subsea trenching device is removably attached to said pipeline (via 212; fig. 3; para 0027) and said pipeline is below said seafloor (figs. 1-2), each said at least one nozzle is located between a bottom of said pipeline and at or below a surface of said seafloor (figs. 1-2; wherein nozzles are below bottom of cut pipe 42).
With regard to claim 6, Barra discloses a pipeline removal system for removing pipeline from a seafloor (abstract; para 0002), comprising:
a barge (para 0037), a subsea trenching device (10/90), a trenching device controller (para 0037), a subsea shear (240), and a shear controller (paras 0030-0031; 0037),wherein said trenching device controller and said shear controller are on said barge (para 0037); wherein said subsea shear is operatively connected to said shear controller and said shear controller is configured to control position and shear-action of said subsea shear (paras 0030-0031; 0037); wherein said subsea trenching device is operatively connected to said trenching device controller and said trenching device controller is configured to control said subsea trenching device (para 0022); wherein said subsea trenching device comprises at least one spray pipe (94/100) and each said at least one spray pipe comprises at least one nozzle (96), further wherein said subsea trenching device is configured to receive pressurized water and to spray said pressurized water out of each said at least one nozzle (para 0022); and wherein said subsea shear is capable of cutting said pipeline (para 0029-0032).
With regard to claim 15, Barra discloses a method of performing subsea pipeline disassembly (abstract; para 0002) comprising: providing a barge (para 0037), a subsea trenching device (10/90), a trenching device controller (para 0037), a subsea shear (240), and a shear controller to an offshore location (paras 0030-0031; 0037); lowering said subsea trenching device into seawater and onto a pipe (40; figs. 1-2); moving said subsea trenching device along a length of said pipe (figs. 1-2); displacing a displaced portion of seafloor using said subsea trenching device to unearth an uncovered portion of said pipe (figs. 1-2); and shearing said uncovered portion of said pipe with said subsea shear (fig. 2; paras 0029-0031); wherein said trenching device controller and said shear controller are on said barge (para 0037);wherein said subsea shear is operatively connected to said shear controller and said shear controller is configured to control position and shear-action of said subsea shear (paras 0029-0031; 0037); and wherein said subsea trenching device is operatively connected to said trenching device controller and said subsea trenching device is configured to be controlled by said trenching device controller (para 0037).
With regard to claim 16, Barra further discloses said subsea trenching device further comprises at least one spray pipe (94/100; fig. 5) and each said at least one spray pipe further comprises at least one nozzle (96), and wherein said displacing step further comprises the step of spraying pressurized water out of each of said at least one nozzle (figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 7-14, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barra et al. (2009/0266552) in view of Norman (4,389,139).
With regard to claims 2, 7 and 17, Barra discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a plurality of air lift columns, each air lift column comprising an opening, an outlet, an interior space, and an air inlet, wherein said air inlet is located below said outlet, further wherein said trenching device controller is capable of delivering pressurized air to said subsea trenching device by a pressurized air hose, and each of said air lift columns is configured to accept said pressurized air through each respective said air inlet, further wherein each of said plurality of air lift columns is capable of lifting water and particulate matter from said seafloor into each respective said opening, through each respective said interior space, and out of each respective said outlet as a result of said pressurized air flowing through each respective said interior space.
Norman discloses a subsea trenching device comprising a plurality of air lift columns (194), each air lift column comprising an opening (192), an outlet (fig. 2), an interior space (fig. 2), and an air inlet (via 206), wherein said air inlet is located below said outlet (fig. 2), further wherein said trenching device controller (col. 5, lines 1-11) is capable of delivering pressurized air to said subsea trenching device by a pressurized air hose (col. 9, lines 48-63), and each of said air lift columns is configured to accept said pressurized air through each respective said air inlet, further wherein each of said plurality of air lift columns is capable of lifting water and particulate matter from said seafloor into each respective said opening, through each respective said interior space, and out of each respective said outlet as a result of said pressurized air flowing through each respective said interior space (col. 9, lines 48-63).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barra and utilize air lift columns as taught in Norman, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide means to remove the cuttings.
With regard to claims 3 and 8, Barra, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a plurality of rollers, wherein said subsea trenching device is configured to position at least some of said plurality of rollers about a pipe to removably attach said subsea trenching device to said pipe.
Norman further discloses a plurality of rollers (26/28), wherein said subsea trenching device is configured to position at least some of said plurality of rollers about a pipe to removably attach said subsea trenching device to said pipe (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barra and utilize rollers as taught in Norman, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide means to guide the device along the pipe.
With regard to claims 4, 9, and 18, Barra, as modified, further discloses said subsea trenching device is capable of causing a rolling action of at least some of said plurality of rollers and said rolling action is configured to push said subsea trenching device along said pipe when at least some of said plurality of rollers are removably attached to said pipe (Norman; col. 10, lines 16-29).
With regard to claims 5, 10, and 19, Barra, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding at least one buoyancy tank capable of receiving air to increase buoyancy of said subsea trenching device and capable of expelling air to decrease buoyancy of said subsea trenching device.
Norman further discloses at least one buoyancy tank (12/14) capable of receiving air to increase buoyancy of said subsea trenching device and capable of expelling air to decrease buoyancy of said subsea trenching device (col. 10, lines 58-63).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barra and utilize ballast tanks as taught in Norman, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide means to adjust the position of the apparatus.
With regard to claim 11, Norman further discloses each said air inlet further comprises a valve (34) configured to adjust flow of said pressurized air through each said air inlet (col. 5, lines 28-38).
With regard to claims 12-13, Barra further discloses said subsea trenching device is removably attached to said pipe and said pipe is below said seafloor (fig. 1), each said at least one nozzle is located between a bottom of said pipe and at or below a surface of said seafloor (fig. 5).
With regard to claim 14, Barra, as modified, further discloses said pressurized water displaces a displaced portion of said seafloor and said air lift columns are configured to lift said displaced portion of said seafloor (Norman; col. 9, lines 29-63).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barra et al. (2009/0266552) in view of Norman (4,389,139) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Maloberti (5,421,674).
With regard to claim 20, Barra, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed, however is silent regarding at least one sonar device for imaging said seafloor and providing visual indicators and wherein said shearing step comprises the step of identifying said seafloor and said pipe with said at least one sonar device to direct said subsea shear to said pipe.
Maloberti discloses a barge with a sonar device (col. 7, lines 27-55) for indicating locationg of a pipe. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Barra and utilize sonar as taught by Maloberti, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to track and locate the pipeline.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
1/21/2026