DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al (US20210368542A1, Priority Date: Apr 09, 2021) in view of Wang et al (US20240292462A1, Priority Date: Aug 27, 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Xue’542 discloses a transceiver of a 4th or 5th generation mobile communication system (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087),
wherein the transceiver is configured to operate in a sidelink mode (transceiver is configured with sidelink configuration to communicate with other UE, par 0086),
wherein the transceiver is configured, in the sidelink mode, to transmit or receive signals using radio resources (sidelink transmission opportunities can be equated to radio resources, par 0098) in an unlicensed band (transceiver is configured to communicate with other UE with sidelink configuration including sidelink transmission opportunities on an unlicensed carrier, par 0086, 0098),
wherein the unlicensed band is one out of the following unlicensed bands:
the 2.4 GHz band (2.4 GHz unlicensed bands, par 0064),
the 5 GHz band with the exception of the intelligent transport system, ITS, band,
the 6 GHz band (6 GHz unlicensed band, par 0064),
the 60 GHz band,
the 57 GHz to 71 GHz band,
unlicensed bands in FR2 range (note, the examiner picks options to reject).
Xue’542 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the transceiver is configured, when using the radio resources for transmitting a signal, to transmit a fifth control signal, the fifth control signal indicating when the radio resources will be free and/or a remaining time of the channel occupancy time, COT,
wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit the fifth control signal only to those transceivers of the wireless communication system that are located within a predefined distance to the transceiver or that comprise a reference signal received power, RSRP, above a predefined threshold.
However Wang’462 from the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1, a plurality of terminals communicate with network devices in wireless communication network or communicate with other terminals through sidelink communication, par 0036, 0040) discloses:
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 15, TX/RX can be equated to transceiver, par 0288) is configured, when using the radio resources (PSCCH resource including symbols and RBs for SCI can be equated to the radio resources, par 0046-0047) for transmitting a signal, to transmit a fifth control signal (Fig. 15, TX/RX configured to transmit configuration information in SCI through PSCCH resource including symbols and RBs, par 0046-0047, 0086), the fifth control signal (SCI comprising configuration information, par 0086) indicating when the radio resources will be free and/or a remaining time of the channel occupancy time, COT (FIG. 6E, configuration information for CO (channel occupancy) indicating duration of the CO as 3 slots and 34 symbols are used and also indicate remaining duration of the CO as 8 symbols (and thus indicating when the radio resources will be free and/or a remaining time of COT), par 0076),
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 15, TX/RX can be equated to transceiver, par 0288) is configured to transmit the fifth control signal (configuration information, par 0130) only to those transceivers of the wireless communication system (Fig. 1 and 15, TX/RX of terminals can be equated to transceivers of the wireless communication system, par 0288. Noted, CO is shared among 3 terminals, par 0077) that are located within a predefined distance to the transceiver or that comprise a reference signal received power, RSRP (RSRP, par 0139), above a predefined threshold (see, configuration information indicates sidelink terminal device of terminals which is allowed to use the resource in the CO including terminal receives signal strength RSRP of sidelink transmission of TX terminal exceeds pre-configured RSRP threshold (and thus SCI including configuration information only targeting at terminals measures above RSRP threshold), par 0086, 0130, 0141. Noted, sidelink groupcast transmission, par 0148. Noted further, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by Wang’462 into that of Xue’542. The motivation would have been to support COT sharing for sidelink communication (par 0034).
Regarding claim 2, Xue’542 discloses the transceiver according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087), wherein the transceiver (Fig. 5, transceiver of UE, par 0085) is configured to use the radio resources ( transmission opportunities (TXOPs) can be equated to radio resources, par 0062) for transmitting or receiving signals over the Uu interface (Uu interface, par 0078) and/or the PC5 interface (Fig. 5, UE configured to communicate signals using assigned TXOPs over UU interface or sidelink interface, par 0054, 0062, 0085-0086. Noted, resource pools are dedicated resources of sidelink communication, or shared by sidelink communication and cellular link, par 0044).
Regarding claim 3, Xue’542 discloses the transceiver according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087), wherein the radio resources are defined by a resource pool (UE configured with the resource pool, par 0076).
Regarding claim 4, Xue’542 discloses the transceiver according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087).
Xue’542 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the transceiver is configured to receive a first control signal, the first control signal indicating a start and/or an end of a period during which the radio resources can be used by the transceiver for transmitting and/or receiving signals,
wherein the transceiver is configured to use the radio resources for transmitting and/or receiving signals during the period indicated by the first control signal.
However Wang’462 from the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1, a plurality of terminals communicate with network devices in wireless communication network or communicate with other terminals through sidelink communication, par 0036, 0040) discloses:
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 15, TX/RX can be equated to transceiver, par 0288) is configured to receive a first control signal (Fig. 15, TX/RX configured to transmit configuration information in SCI through PSCCH resource including symbols and RBs, par 0046-0047, 0086), the first control signal (SCI comprising configuration information, par 0086) indicating a start and/or an end of a period (start point for transmission, transmission duration of first terminal device and duration of the CO (and thus start and/or end of period), par 0056, 0067. Noted, remain duration of the CO can be equated to the period, par 0056) during which the radio resources can be used by the transceiver for transmitting and/or receiving signals (terminal receives SCI comprises configuration information indicating start point for transmission, transmission duration of first terminal device and duration/remaining duration of the CO (and thus start and/or end of period), and terminal could communicating during remaining duration of the CO, par 0056, 0067, 0077),
wherein the transceiver is configured to use the radio resources for transmitting and/or receiving signals during the period indicated by the first control signal (second/third terminal could use remained resources in the CO to communicate with other terminal, par 0076-0077).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by Wang’462 into that of Xue’542. The motivation would have been to support COT sharing for sidelink communication (par 0034).
Regarding claim 5, Xue’542 discloses the transceiver according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087),
wherein the radio resources (resource pool, par 0036) are available/active during one or more preconfigured periods (preconfigured sidelink resource pool including resource with duration could be selected for communication (and thus available or active), par 0036),
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 5, transceiver of UE, par 0085) is configured to.
Xue’542 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
perform at a start of a respective period a clear channel assessment, CCA, procedure in order to determine whether the radio resources is free,
use the radio resources for transmitting and/or receiving signals only when the radio resources are free.
However Wang’462 from the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1, a plurality of terminals communicate with network devices in wireless communication network or communicate with other terminals through sidelink communication, par 0036, 0040) discloses:
perform at a start of a respective period (remaining duration, par 0076) a clear channel assessment, CCA, procedure in order to determine whether the radio resources is free (Fig. 6E, second/third terminal performs LBT procedure after transmission of first terminal (and thus starting of remaining duration) to occupy the remained resources, par 0076-0077),
use the radio resources for transmitting and/or receiving signals only when the radio resources are free (Fig. 6E, second/third terminal performs LBT procedure to occupy remained resources, accessing channel only when channel is idle according to CCA result, par 0076-0077, 0111).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by Wang’462 into that of Xue’542. The motivation would have been to support COT sharing for sidelink communication (par 0034).
Regarding claim 6, Xue’542 discloses the transceiver according to claim 5 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087), wherein the transceiver is configured to (Fig. 5, transceiver of UE is configured to, par 0085).
Xue’542 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
transmit, when the radio resources are free, a second control signal to one or more other transceivers of the wireless communication system, the second control signal indicating that the resource pool is used by the wireless communication system during the respective period.
However Wang’462 from the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1, a plurality of terminals communicate with network devices in wireless communication network or communicate with other terminals through sidelink communication, par 0036, 0040) discloses: transmit, when the radio resources are free (CCA/LBT indicates channel is idle, par 0077, 0111), a second control signal (sidelink control signal, par 0094) to one or more other transceivers (Fig. 1 and 15, TX/RX of terminals can be equated to transceivers of the wireless communication system, par 0288. Noted, CO is shared among 3 terminals, par 0077)of the wireless communication system (Fig. 8, first terminal device transmits SCIs to other three terminals when channel is idle (by determination of channel occupancy), par 0035, 0151), the second control signal indicating that the resource pool (resource pool, par 0045) is used by the wireless communication system during the respective period (each of SCIs indicates the resource grant of resource with duration (number of symbols used for the sidelink transmission) for a respective member terminal device, par 0045, 0067, 0151. Noted, resource including number of symbols can be equated to respective period, par 0067).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by Wang’462 into that of Xue’542. The motivation would have been to support COT sharing for sidelink communication (par 0034).
Regarding claim 7, Xue’542 discloses the transceiver according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087),
wherein the radio resources (resource pool, par 0036) are available/active during one or more preconfigured periods (preconfigured sidelink resource pool including resource with duration could be selected for communication (and thus available or active), par 0036),
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 5, transceiver of UE, par 0085) is configured to.
Xue’542 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receive a third control signal from another transceiver of the wireless communication system, the third control signal indicating whether the radio resources are used by the wireless communication system during a respective period,
use the radio resources for transmitting and/or receiving signals only when the third control signals indicates that the radio resources is used by the wireless communication system during a respective period.
However Wang’462 from the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1, a plurality of terminals communicate with network devices in wireless communication network or communicate with other terminals through sidelink communication, par 0036, 0040) discloses:
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 15, TX/RX can be equated to transceiver, par 0288) is configured to receive a third control signal (SCI comprising configuration information, par 0086) from another transceiver of the wireless communication system (FIG. 6E, second terminal receives SCI comprising configuration information from first terminal, par 0076, 0086), the third control signal (SCI comprising configuration information, par 0086) indicating whether the radio resources are used by the wireless communication system (Fig. 1, wireless communication network including terminals, par 0036, 0040) during a respective period (Fig. 1 and 6E, configuration information in SCI indicates the duration of the CO as 3 slots and remaining duration is 8 symbols, par 0076, 0086. Noted, Fig. 1 and 6E, duration of CO including remaining duration are shared by terminals within wireless communication network, par 0036, 0076),
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 15, TX/RX can be equated to transceiver, par 0288) is configured to use the radio resources (remaining duration of 8 symbols, par 0076) for transmitting and/or receiving signals only when the third control signals (SCI comprising configuration information, par 0086) indicates that the radio resources is used by the wireless communication system during a respective period (Fig. 6E, second/third terminal may occupy remained resources (remaining duration of 8 symbols) in the CO for sidelink transmission and/or receiving, par 0077-0079. Noted, CO is shared in a TDM mode among first terminal, second terminal and third terminal, and thus transmitter and receiver are from these 3 terminals, par 0077).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by Wang’462 into that of Xue’542. The motivation would have been to support COT sharing for sidelink communication (par 0034).
Regarding claim 10, Xue’542 discloses the transceiver according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087), wherein the transceiver (Fig. 5, transceiver of UE, par 0085) is configured to.
Xue’542 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the transceiver is configured to receive a fourth control signal from another transceiver of the wireless communication system that is currently using the radio resources, the fourth control signal indicating when the radio resources are free and/or a remaining time of the channel occupancy time, COT.
However Wang’462 from the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1, a plurality of terminals communicate with network devices in wireless communication network or communicate with other terminals through sidelink communication, par 0036, 0040) discloses: wherein the transceiver (Fig. 15, TX/RX can be equated to transceiver, par 0288) is configured to receive a fourth control signal (SCI comprising configuration information, par 0086) from another transceiver of the wireless communication system that is currently using the radio resources (Fig. 6E, second terminal receives from first terminal (COT initiator) the configuration information in SCI through PSCCH resource including symbols and RBs, first terminal uses more than one slot for sidelink transmission and indicates remaining duration in COT, par 0046-0047, 0076, 0086), the fourth control signal (SCI comprising configuration information, par 0086) indicating when the radio resources are free and/or a remaining time of the channel occupancy time, COT (FIG. 6E, configuration information for CO (channel occupancy) indicating duration of the CO as 3 slots and 34 symbols are used and also indicate remaining duration of the CO as 8 symbols (and thus indicating when the radio resources will be free and/or a remaining time of COT), par 0076).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by Wang’462 into that of Xue’542. The motivation would have been to support COT sharing for sidelink communication (par 0034).
Regarding claim 16, Xue’542 discloses the transceiver according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087), wherein the transceiver (Fig. 5, transceiver of UE, par 0085) is configured to start a transmission of a signal as soon as a clear channel assessment, CCA, procedure indicates that a channel is free (UE transmits TBs in sidelink transmission opportunities upon a successful type-2 LBT procedure (CAT2 LBT without a random backoff period), par 0063, 0106), wherein the transceiver is configured to start the transmission of the signal applying a cyclic prefix extended by a time between the time the channel became free and a slot boundary (Fig. 4, CP extension to book a sidelink resource for COT located after LBT and before a slot boundary of multiple transmission slots (slot boundary as shown in Fig. 4) in unlicensed CC (therefore LBT required to access the channel), par 0043, 0078, 0106. Noted, sidelink transmission opportunities after LBT, par 0106. Noted further, first sidelink transmission opportunity is associated with a cyclic prefix (CP) extension configuration, par 0144), or
wherein the transceiver is configured to receive a sixth control signal from a base station of the wireless communication system, the sixth control signal comprising a semi static channel access information indicating that a channel of the radio resources is to be accessed based on a semi static period basis, wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a signal on the radio resources in dependence on the semi static channel access information.
Regarding claim 17, Claim 17 recites a method for operating a transceiver of a 4th or 5th generation mobile communication system performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20 recites a non-transitory digital storage medium having stored there on a computer program for performing a method for operating a transceiver of a 4th or 5th generation mobile communication system performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue’542 in view of Wang’462 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al (US20220159725A1, Priority Date: Nov 13, 2020).
Regarding claim 8, Xue’542 discloses the transceiver according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087),
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 5, transceiver of UE, par 0085) is configured to.
Xue’542 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the transceiver is configured to perform a single-shot-sensing on or more resources of the radio resources prior to transmitting a signal to another transceiver of the wireless communication system, in order to obtain a sensing information,
wherein the transceiver is configured to determine, for transmitting the signal, a set of candidate resources out of the radio resources based on the sensing information,
wherein the transceiver is configured to select, for transmitting the signal, resources out of the set of candidate resources and to transmit the signal using the selected resources.
However Wang’462 from the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1, a plurality of terminals communicate with network devices in wireless communication network or communicate with other terminals through sidelink communication, par 0036, 0040) discloses:
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 15, TX/RX can be equated to transceiver, par 0288) is configured to perform a sensing on or more resources of the radio resources prior to transmitting a signal to another transceiver of the wireless communication system, in order to obtain a sensing information (Fig. 6D, second terminal performs type 2 CCA to find idle interlaces in the CO before its transmission, par 0075),
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 15, TX/RX can be equated to transceiver, par 0288) is configured to determine, for transmitting the signal, a set of candidate resources out of the radio resources (Fig. 6D, interlaces in frequency domain, par 0074) based on the sensing information (Fig. 6D, second terminal performs type 2 CCA to find idle interlaces in the CO for its transmission, par 0075),
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 15, TX/RX can be equated to transceiver, par 0288) is configured to select, for transmitting the signal, resources (Fig. 6D, idle interlaces in frequency domain, par 0074) out of the set of candidate resources (Fig. 6D, all interlaces in frequency domain, par 0074) and to transmit the signal using the selected resources (Fig. 6D, second terminal performs type 2 CCA to find idle interlaces from all interlaces in the CO and transmits on idle interlaces, par 0075).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by Wang’462 into that of Xue’542. The motivation would have been to support COT sharing for sidelink communication (par 0034).
The combination of Xue’542 and Wang’462 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: perform a single-shot-sensing.
However Liu’725 from the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1, a wireless communications system supporting COT aware sensing and resource selection, par 0038) discloses:
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 2, demodulators in UE, par 0083) is configured to perform a single-shot-sensing (single-shot LBT (also known as CAT 2 LBT, abbreviated LBT), par 0058) on or more resources of the radio resources (resources for transmission within the shared COT) prior to transmitting a signal to another transceiver of the wireless communication system, in order to obtain a sensing information (Fig. 4, UEs sharing COT select available resources for transmission within the shared COT region after an abbreviated LBT procedure to detect energy above a predetermined threshold or detect a message or preamble occupying the shared channel, par 0058, 0097. Noted, energy above a predetermined threshold or a message or preamble occupying the shared channel being detected by LBT can be equated to sensing information).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by Liu’725 into that of Xue’542 modified by Wang’462. The motivation would have been to support COT aware sensing and resource selection for NR-U sidelink communications (par 0026).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue’542 in view of Wang’462, and further in view of Liu’725 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Xue et al (US20220312379A1, Priority Date: Mar 24, 2021).
Regarding claim 9, Xue’542 modified by Wang’462 and Liu’725 discloses the transceiver according to claim 8 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087).
The combination of Xue’542, Wang’462 and Liu’725 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the radio resources are accessed in the time domain on a slot basis,
wherein the transceiver is configured to select the resources out of the set of candidate resources for transmitting the signal and to be ready to transmit the signal until an end of a last occurring slot of a sensing window used for said single-shot-sensing.
However Xue’379 from the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1, BSs communicates with UEs in wireless communication system, par 0052) discloses:
wherein the radio resources are accessed in the time domain on a slot basis (SL UE performing LBT at synchronized slot boundary to reserve slots for shared COT, and available set of resources for sidelink communications is identified at slot n, par 0067, 0070),
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 2, demodulators, par 0061) is configured to select the resources out of the set of candidate resources for transmitting the signal and to be ready to transmit the signal until an end of a last occurring slot of a sensing window (sensing window, par 0092) used for said single-shot-sensing (SL UE performs Type 1 LBT within sensing window and share this COT with other SL UEs to transmit after successfully performing one-shot CCA by identifying available set of resources for sidelink communications in slot n, par 0067, 0070, 0092).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by Xue’379 into that of Xue’542 modified by Wang’462 and Liu’725. The motivation would have been to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications, and to meet the growing demand for mobile broadband access (par 0005).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue’542 in view of Wang’462 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ZHAO (US 20250063600 A1, Priority Date: Jan 06, 2022).
Regarding claim 11, Xue’542 modified by Wang’462 discloses the transceiver according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087).
The combination of Xue’542 and Wang’462 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the remaining channel occupancy time is signaled by means of an entry to a list or a number of slots or symbols, or
wherein the remaining channel occupancy time, COT, is signaled by means of a 2nd stage sidelink control information.
However ZHAO’600 from the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1, two terminal devices communicate with each other through the Sidelink in communication system, par 0034) discloses:
wherein the remaining channel occupancy time is signaled by means of an entry to a list or a number of slots or symbols, or
wherein the remaining channel occupancy time, COT, is signaled by means of a 2nd stage sidelink control information (second stage SCI including remaining length of the COT, par 0065. Noted, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by ZHAO’600 into that of Xue’542 modified by Wang’462. The motivation would have been to determine shared COT based on a condition for sharing COT between terminal devices (par 0004).
Regarding claim 12, Xue’542 modified by Wang’462 discloses the transceiver according to claim 11 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087).
The combination of Xue’542 and Wang’462 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the 2nd stage sidelink control information comprises one or more out of the following information:
a priority,
a time resource,
a periodicity of transmission,
a frequency,
a communication range,
a zone or geographical area,
a countdown value.
However ZHAO’600 from the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1, two terminal devices communicate with each other through the Sidelink in communication system, par 0034) discloses:
wherein the 2nd stage sidelink control information (second stage SCI information, par 0065) comprises one or more out of the following information:
a priority,
a time resource,
a periodicity of transmission,
a frequency,
a communication range,
a zone or geographical area (second stage SCI information indicates identifier of the zone where the second terminal device is located, par 0065),
a countdown value (Note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by ZHAO’600 into that of Xue’542 modified by Wang’462. The motivation would have been to determine shared COT based on a condition for sharing COT between terminal devices (par 0004).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue’542 in view of Wang’462 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lu et al (US20220256620A1, PCT Cont. Priority Date: Nov. 7 , 2019).
Regarding claim 13, Xue’542 modified by Wang’462 discloses the transceiver according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087).
The combination of Xue’542 and Wang’462 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the radio resources are first radio resources, wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit transport block using the first radio resources in case that a size of the transport block is higher than a threshold, and to transmit the transport block using second radio resources in case that the size of the transport block is equal to or smaller than the threshold, or
wherein the transceiver is configured to perform blind retransmissions on different frequencies on the radio resources in order to fulfill a minimum occupied channel bandwidth, OCB, of the unlicensed band, or
wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a signal using a sub-channel of the radio resources, or
wherein the transceiver is configured to select resources out of the radio resources for transmitting a signal such that a time gap between a last occupied resource of the radio resources and a first resource used for transmission is smaller than a predefined value, or
wherein the transceiver is configured to perform a clear channel assessment, CCA, procedure in order to determine whether the radio resources are free in case that a time gap between a last occupied resource of the radio resources and a first resource scheduled to be used by the transceiver for transmitting a signal is greater than a predefined value, wherein the transceiver is configured to use the radio resources for transmitting and/or receiving signals only when the resource pool is free.
However Lu’620 from the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1(a) and 1(b), four-step contention-based random access (CBRA) procedure or two-step contention-based random access (CBRA) procedure between terminal and network device, par 0004-0005) discloses:
wherein the radio resources (preambles in random access preamble group, par 0147) are first radio resources (UE configured by network device with dedicated two-step random access preamble group A or group B, par 0147), wherein the transceiver (Fig. 18, communication module (transmitter/receiver), par 0297) is configured to transmit transport block using the first radio resources (random access preambles of group A, par 0107) in case that a size of the transport block (TB size of MsgA, par 0108) is higher than a threshold (UE transmits two-step random access preamble using preamble group A if TB size of MsgA is greater than the TB size threshold, par 0108), and to transmit the transport block using second radio resources (random access preambles of group B, par 0107) in case that the size of the transport block is equal to or smaller than the threshold (UE transmits two-step random access preamble using preamble group B if TB size of MsgA is equal or less than the TB size threshold, par 0108), or
wherein the transceiver is configured to perform blind retransmissions on different frequencies on the radio resources in order to fulfill a minimum occupied channel bandwidth, OCB, of the unlicensed band, or
wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a signal using a sub-channel of the radio resources, or
wherein the transceiver is configured to select resources out of the radio resources for transmitting a signal such that a time gap between a last occupied resource of the radio resources and a first resource used for transmission is smaller than a predefined value, or
wherein the transceiver is configured to perform a clear channel assessment, CCA, procedure in order to determine whether the radio resources are free in case that a time gap between a last occupied resource of the radio resources and a first resource scheduled to be used by the transceiver for transmitting a signal is greater than a predefined value, wherein the transceiver is configured to use the radio resources for transmitting and/or receiving signals only when the resource pool is free (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by Lu’620 into that of Xue’542 modified by Wang’462. The motivation would have been to select appropriate types of random access and then determine appropriate random access resources (par 0007).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue’542 in view of Wang’462 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al (US20230171774A1, Priority Date: Nov 30, 2021).
Regarding claim 14, Xue’542 modified by Wang’462 discloses the transceiver according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087).
The combination of Xue’542 and Wang’462 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein resources for transmitting a signal are allocated to the transceiver autonomously or by a base station of the wireless communication system on a sub-slot or mini slot basis.
However Liu’774 from the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1, wireless network including BSs, UEs and/or other network entities, par 0033) discloses: wherein resources for transmitting a signal are allocated to the transceiver autonomously or by a base station of the wireless communication system on a sub-slot or mini slot basis (UE performs resource selection and resource scheduling without BS granting from mini-slot or slot-based resource pool to transmitting SCI or SLFI, par 0042, 0073. Noted, SLFI resource mapping defined in mini-slots, par 0073).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by Liu’774 into that of Xue’542 modified by Wang’462. The motivation would have been to better support mobile broadband internet access by improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards (par 0004).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue’542 in view of Wang’462, and further in view of Liu’774 as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Salem et al (US20200275430A1).
Regarding claim 15, Xue’542 modified by Wang’462 and Liu’774 discloses the transceiver according to claim 14 (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087).
The combination of Xue’542, Wang’462 and Liu’774 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the transceiver is configured to use, for transmitting a signal, a cyclic prefix extension in order to start transmission of a signal before OFDM symbol boundaries.
However Salem’430 from the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1, multiple wireless or wired elements to communicate data and other content in communication system, par 0024) discloses: wherein the transceiver (Fig. 2, transceiver in ED, par 0034) is configured to use, for transmitting a signal, a cyclic prefix extension (CP extension, par 0188) in order to start transmission of a signal before OFDM symbol boundaries (UE applies CP extension immediately before transmitting first OFDM symbol of the uplink transmission to allow for starting the transmission between the OFDM symbol boundaries, par 0119, 0188).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by Salem’430 into that of Xue’542 modified by Wang’462 and Liu’774. The motivation would have been to support transmission of UCI over multiple carriers in unlicensed spectrum (par 0007).
Claims 18-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al (US20210368542A1, Priority Date: Apr 09, 2021) in view of Helfenstein et al (US20080310543A1).
Regarding claim 18, Xue’542 discloses a transceiver of a 4th or 5th generation mobile communication system (Fig. 1 and 5, transceiver of UE in LTE or NR communication system, par 0046, 0077, 0087),
wherein the transceiver is configured to operate in a sidelink mode (transceiver is configured with sidelink configuration to communicate with other UE, par 0086),
wherein the transceiver is configured, in the sidelink mode, to transmit or receive signals using radio resources (sidelink transmission opportunities can be equated to radio resources, par 0098) in an unlicensed band (transceiver is configured to communicate with other UE with sidelink configuration including sidelink transmission opportunities on an unlicensed carrier, par 0086, 0098),
wherein the unlicensed band is one out of the following unlicensed bands:
the 2.4 GHz band (2.4 GHz unlicensed bands, par 0064),
the 5 GHz band with the exception of the intelligent transport system, ITS, band,
the 6 GHz band (6 GHz unlicensed band, par 0064),
the 60 GHz band,
the 57 GHz to 71 GHz band,
unlicensed bands in FR2 range (note, the examiner picks options to reject).
Xue’542 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the transceiver is configured, when transmitting a signal on the radio resources that extends over two or more slots, to transmit a dummy symbol on a guard symbol of a respective slot in order to block the radio resources.
However Helfenstein’543 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, joint 8PSK/GMSK modulator as part of the transmission section of a mobile phone, par 0033-0034) discloses: wherein the transceiver (RF power amplifier and a transmission antenna of mobile phone, par 0033) is configured, when transmitting a signal on the radio resources that extends over two or more slots (wireless communication equipment transmits burst of digital I/Q signals using consecutive time slots, abstract. Noted, slot comprises symbols can be taken as radio resources, par 0077), to transmit a dummy symbol (dummy sequence of valid symbols and each of such symbol can be taken as dummy symbol, par 0077) on a guard symbol (symbol(s) of guard period, par 0077) of a respective slot ( dummy sequence of valid symbols during guard period between two time slots) in order to block the radio resources (see, UE loads dummy sequence of valid symbols during guard period between two time slots to separat one slot from the others by a guard interval filled with guard bits, par 0010, 0077. Noted, separating one slot from the others by a guard interval can be equated to block the radio resources, par 0010. Noted further, loading dummy sequence of valid symbols before transmission of the active part of the transmit burst (pre-load mode), and/or with digital I/Q signals set to zero just after the active part of a transmit burst (reset mode), and thus number of valid symbols with dummy sequence depends on active part of the transmit burst and thus could be symbol or symbols, par 0077).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the transceiver as taught by Helfenstein’543 into that of Xue’542. The motivation would have been to adapt modulators when switching from one modulation scheme to another between two data bursts associated to consecutive time slots (par 0001).
Regarding claim 19, Claim 19 recites a method for operating a transceiver of a 4th or 5th generation mobile communication system performing the steps recited in claim 18 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 18.
Regarding claim 21, Claim 21 recites a non-transitory digital storage medium having stored there on a computer program for performing a method for operating a transceiver of a 4th or 5th generation mobile communication system performing the steps recited in claim 18 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tiirola et al (US 20220078841 A1) discloses Short PUCCH (if present) or PUSCH transmission starts from the first OFDM symbol after a 25 μs gap, and PUSCH follows short PUCCH (when present) without any gaps, and CP extension may be used in one place, just before short PUCCH/PUSCH (par 0219). This applies to claim 15.
/XUAN LU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473