DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bevins, Jr. et al. US 2016/0325424 A1 in view of Barezzani et al. WO 2016/005838 A1 and Tamm US 2016/0344170 A1.
Bevins discloses a tool comprising: a device head (240) comprising a cylindrical formation and a counter holder integrally formed in one piece, the counter holder having a receptacle configured to receive a first tool (248) and a toothing recess integrally formed on a side of the device head; a piston (not shown) mounted within the cylindrical formation and moveable relative thereto, the piston configured to receive a second tool (246), wherein movement of the piston moves the second tool toward or away from the first tool (¶0085); and a retaining rod removably received within the toothing recess and positionable in a variety of positions relative to the device head.
Bevins discloses the claimed tool powered by an electric motor but does not specify wherein the tool has a hydraulically actuated piston. However, such portable hydraulically actuated tools are well known in the art as evidence by Barezzani who teaches a hydraulically actuated portable tool (1) powered by a displaceable piston (12, 15) for actuating a jaw (14) to engage another jaw (13) for compressing a part (see Barezzani, Figs. 7-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to substitute the electric actuated motor of Bevins to a hydraulic motor as taught by Barezzani as an alternative power source for actuating the device.
Furthermore, Bevins discloses the retaining rod as depicted and annotated in Fig. 1 above. The use of a retaining rod for securing and positioning a tool at various orientations relative to a hot stick / extension pole is further commonly well known in the art as evidence by Tamm who teaches a tool being retained on a hot stick to be adjusted into various orientations relative to the hot stick via a retaining rod (see Figs. 2-4). Thus, Bevins discloses the claimed subject matter.
As for claim 2, the modified Bevins teaches wherein the toothing recess includes a plurality of depressions spaced apart from each other and extending concentrically and circumferentially around a central point (see Fig. 18, indentations shown as claimed), and the retaining rod including a plurality of projections spaced apart from each other and extending concentrically and circumferentially around a central point, the plurality of projections conform in shape to the plurality of depressions (not shown). As previously recited, the use of a retaining rod having a plurality of projections corresponding to the plurality of projections shown in Fig. 18 of Bevins for locking the tool in place at various positions is inherent and further is commonly well known in the art as evidence by Tamm (¶0070). Thus, the modified Bevins teaches the claimed subject matter.
As for claim 3, the modified Bevins teaches wherein the toothing recess is formed on the device head but does not specify wherein the toothing recess is formed on a single side of the counter holder. However, it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the position of the toothing recess to be formed on the counter holder through routine engineering as a matter of design as applicant has not specified that such a position provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art, would have expected the position of the toothing recess of Bevins and applicant' s invention, to perform equally well with either being positioned on the device head or the counter holder because both positions would perform the same function of allowing the tool to be connected to an extension handle and be positioned at various angles relative to the extension handle.
As for claim 4, the modified Bevins teaches, in Figs. 1 and 18, wherein the device head includes a central through opening at the center point and further comprising a fastener (see Fig. 1) extending through the central through opening and coupled to the retaining rod. Bevins shows a fastener for connecting the tool coupling (256) to the extension handle (112). Furthermore, Tamm discloses the use of a fastener (34) through an opening (32) for coupling the flange (30) of the tool attachment (24) to the flange (50) of the tool (14) for positioning the tool relative to the pole (12; Tamm, ¶0063).
As for claim 5, the modified Bevins teaches wherein the device head is C-shaped with the counter holder forming a first C-leg and the cylindrical formation forming a second C-leg, the first and second C-legs having a connection leg extending therebetween. Bevins does not specify wherein the toothing recess is within the connection leg and is laterally offset from the cylindrical formation. However, it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the position of the toothing recess to be formed on the connection leg through routine engineering as a matter of design as applicant has not specified that such a position provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art, would have expected the position of the toothing recess of Bevins and applicant' s invention, to perform equally well with either being positioned on the device head or the counter holder because both positions would perform the same function of allowing the tool to be connected to an extension handle and be positioned at various angles relative to the extension handle.
As for claim 6, the modified Bevins teaches wherein the cylindrical formation defines an outer diameter, and the connection leg has a thickness. Bevins Figures are 2D depictions thus does not specify wherein said connection leg thickness is 0.3 times to 0.7 times the outer diameter of the cylindrical formation. However, Barezzani depicts in Figures 7-9 wherein the outer diameter of the cylindrical formation is thicker than the connection leg thickness. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the thickness of the leg connection of Bevins to be 0.3 times to 0.7 times the thickness of the outer diameter of the cylindrical formation as taught by Barezzani through routine engineering as applicant has not specified that the particular thickness provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art, would have expected the position of the toothing recess of Bevins and applicant' s invention, to perform equally well with either thickness because they both perform the same function of connecting the device head’s cylindrical formation and counter holder.
As for claim 7, the modified Bevins teaches wherein in a longitudinal cross section of the device head, the toothing recess is formed in a laterally offset manner, but in overlap to the cylindrical formation (see Fig. 18, Bevins shows toothing recess laterally offset and overlaps the cylindrical formation).
As for claim 8, see claim 3 rejection above.
As for claim 9, see claim 4 rejection above.
As for claim 10, see claim 5 rejection above.
As for claim 11, see claims 3 and 5 rejection above.
As for claim 12, see claims 4 and 5 rejection above.
As for claim 13, see claims 4-6 rejection above.
As for claim 14, see claims 5 and 6 rejection above.
As for claim 15, see claim 4 rejection above.
As for claim 17, the modified Bevins teaches the use of a battery pack (252) for powering the hydraulic motor of the device head but does not specify the use of a hydraulic hose for connection to the hydraulic motor. However, Barezzani teaches in Fig. 13, wherein the device head (13, 14) is connected to a hydraulic hose (28), which, for the free movability of the device head as compared to a hydraulic aggregate generating a hydraulic pressure, is connected to the hydraulic aggregate (11) on the other end. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to substitute the battery pack of Bevins with a portable pressurized hydraulic pump and hose as taught by Barezzani as an alternative portable power source for the device.
As for claim 18, the modified Bevins teaches wherein based on the initial position (opened jaw) of the hydraulic piston in continuation of a direction of movement of the hydraulic piston from the operating end position (compressed jaw engaging part to be processed) into the initial position (opened jaw disengaging part being processed) outside of the region surrounding the hydraulic piston, the cylindrical formation has a connector receptacle for the hydraulic hose (see Barezzani, Fig. 13 annotated above).
As for claim 19, the modified Bevins teaches wherein the device head is rigidly connected to a body casting tool part (see Bevins Fig. 18 above and Barezzani, Fig. 7-9).
As for claim 20, the modified Bevins teaches wherein the hydraulic aggregate (Barezzani, 16) is arranged in the body casting tool part (see Barezzani, Figs. 10-12).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bevins, Jr. et al. US 2016/0325424 A1 in view of Barezzani et al. WO 2016/005838 A1 and Tamm US 2016/0344170 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hoover US 5062290 A.
As for claim 16, the modified Bevins teaches all the limitations above but does not specify wherein the second tool can be moved between an initial position and an operating end position by the hydraulic piston, that the piston shaft has a receptacle, which, compared to the piston shaft, is enlarged transversely to a direction of movement of the hydraulic piston and which is assigned to the second tool, and that in the operating end position the receptacle is held transversely to the direction of movement in an undercut formed on the device head.
However, Hoover teaches a device head (10, see Figs. 1 and 4-6 below) having a second tool (18, 32) that can be moved between an initial position and an operating end position by a hydraulic piston (not labeled but shown connected to 30), that the piston shaft has a receptacle (space between 34, 36), which, compared to the piston shaft, is enlarged transversely to a direction of movement of the hydraulic piston and which is assigned to the second tool (18, 32), and that in the operating end position the receptacle is held transversely to the direction of movement in an undercut formed on the device head and receptacle and guided by a key (66, 78, 80; col. 3, lines 12-49 and col. 4, lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the device head and piston shaft of the modified Bevins to include a receptacle and device having a guided key track as taught by Hoover in order to provide a means for guiding and restricting/retaining the movement of the second tool towards the first tool for proper compression of a workpiece.
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723