DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The claims contain minor informalities.
In claim 16, the language “… and fluidly connecting an output conduit from the [[peristaltic]] pump to the lumen of the supply catheter…” should be changed for clarity, since the pump was not introduced as a peristaltic pump.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 18 calls for “… wherein the arterial vessel is a capillary and the supply catheter is sized to fit within and occlude the capillary.”
The specification describes a catheter sized to fit within and occlude a capillary (¶ [0152]). Capillaries are the smallest vessels in the human body and have an inner diameter on the order of 5 to 10 microns. The capillary’s size implies that the supply catheter must have dimensions smaller than the capillary’s inner diameter, and must supply a treatment solution.
The specification does not describe how the capillary-sized supply catheter can maintain its structural integrity or deliver enough agent to produce a therapeutic effect.
Parent claim 16 calls for “… wherein an isolated circuit is created from the organ or tumor through the collection catheter, from there through the pump, and then through the supply catheter back to the organ or tumor…” The specification does not describe a micron-scale pump required to interface with a micron-scale supply catheter.
Therefore, the specification does not provide enablement for this claim.
The following references describe catheters or instruments with small diameters.
Yao; Fei et al. (US 20160074621 A1) Compatibility of microspheres in function of catheters' internal diameters (¶ [0050], p. 6)
Blumenfeld; Walter et al. (US 20100241100 A1) The functional part of the device is the microtube 2, typically a section of stainless steel or titanium hypodermic tubing (typically 100 to 300-micron internal diameter (¶ [0022]); The microtube 2 terminates in a hollow tapered tip 29, which ends in a 1-micron aperture 30 (¶ [0029])
Weiss; Jeffrey N. (US 6936053 B1) (d) beveled tip end having an outer diameter range of between approximately 50 microns to approximately 100 microns and an inner diameter range of between approximately 40 microns to approximately 70 microns (col. 9, lines 50-55)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 12, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaye; David Martin (US 20130079697 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kaye discloses a method for perfusing a treatment solution to part of or all of an organ or tumor within the organ of a human body (¶ [0002], devices, systems and methods in the selective treatment of infectious, or otherwise morbid, limb tissue; ¶ [0012], a method of delivering a medicament to a limb of a patient body);
comprising: introducing at least one balloon collection catheter from outside the body into a patient's vasculature (¶ [0028], catheters …126; ¶ [0030], venous collection catheter 214); and
advancing a distal end of the collection catheter to a return location in a venous vessel leading from the organ or tumor, the return location being positioned so as to collect substantially all returned blood from the organ or area of the tumor (¶ [0030], Isolation of the circulatory system of the limb 202 … an occlusion member 216 … an occlusion member 216' … may be similarily utilized to isolate arterial flow to the region of tissue to be treated);
a distal tip of the collection catheter having apertures for receiving venous blood therethrough from the venous vessel into a lumen of the collection catheter (¶ [0045] In FIG. 6A, the catheter 600a includes a number of evenly-spaced, similarly-sized holes 604, through a delivery end 606a of the venous delivery catheter 600a that administers perfusate to provide sufficient perfusion to the selected region);
inflating a balloon on the distal end of the collection catheter within the venous vessel, the balloon being sized to occlude the venous vessel (¶ [0030], Isolation of the circulatory system of the limb 202 … an occlusion member 216 … an occlusion member 216' … may be similarily utilized to isolate arterial flow to the region of tissue to be treated);
introducing at least one balloon supply catheter from outside the body into the patient's vasculature and advancing a distal end of the supply catheter to a supply location in an arterial vessel leading to the organ or tumor (¶ [0028], catheters 124; ¶ [0030], arterial perfusion/infusion catheter system 212);
the supply location being positioned so as to supply substantially all delivered blood to the organ or area of the tumor (¶ [0030], Isolation of the circulatory system of the limb 202 … may be similarily utilized to isolate arterial flow to the region of tissue to be treated);
a distal tip of the supply catheter having an aperture for perfusing fluid from a lumen of the supply catheter therethrough into the arterial vessel (¶ [0045] In FIG. 6A, the catheter 600a includes a number of evenly-spaced, similarly-sized holes 604, through a delivery end 606a of the venous delivery catheter 600a that administers perfusate to provide sufficient perfusion to the selected region);
inflating a balloon on the distal end of the supply catheter within the arterial vessel, the balloon being sized to occlude the arterial vessel (¶ [0030], Isolation of the circulatory system of the limb 202 … an occlusion member 216 … an occlusion member 216' … may be similarily utilized to isolate arterial flow to the region of tissue to be treated);
fluidly connecting a proximal end of the collection catheter to a pump (¶ [0028], extracorporeal circuit 114 that includes a pump 116; ¶ [0033], The delivery pump 222 draws the perfusate … Tubing 226 connects the output of the collection pump 218);
fluidly connecting a source of treatment solution to the pump (¶ [0034] perfusate could be added to the tubing 210 through needle injection or intravenous drip or the like from a reservoir 220' into a port 230; ¶ [0044], venous introduction of blood and therapeutic agents (e.g., a drug, cell, gene therapy, protein, antibiotic, etc.)); and
fluidly connecting an output conduit from the pump to the lumen of the supply catheter, wherein an isolated circuit is created from the organ or tumor through the collection catheter, from there through the pump, and then through the supply catheter back to the organ or tumor, (¶ [0030], Isolation of the circulatory system of the limb 202 … an occlusion member 216 … an occlusion member 216' … may be similarily utilized to isolate arterial flow to the region of tissue to be treated).
Kaye does not explicitly disclose that blood can be removed from just the organ or tumor and returned just to the organ or tumor perfused with the treatment solution. However, Kaye discloses that the method perfuses a patient’s limb (¶ [0027], percutaneous isolating limb perfusion (PILP); ¶ [0028] FIG. 1 depicts a system 100 for treating a diabetic limb 102). Kaye further suggests to perfuse a patient’s limb where a tumor is located (¶ [0007] Isolating and chemically perfusing a limb has also been reported in the treatment of limb malignant melanomas … A less invasive procedure, with no general anesthesia, would provide an enormous benefit); or an infected limb (¶ [0048] One promising, exemplary therapeutic agent … includes the antibiotic Timentin; ¶ [0049] In use, Timentin can be administered via a PILP system). When Kaye’s method is practiced on a tumorous or diseased limb, then the tumor’s entire blood supply will circulate through the pair of catheters.
This rejection modifies Kaye’s method by practicing it on a tumorous or diseased limb in order to isolate the tumor and expose it to various therapeutic agents. A skilled artisan would have been able to modify Kaye’s method by practicing it on a tumorous limb since Kaye suggests this application (¶ [0007]). In this way, Kaye’s system will remove blood from just the organ or tumor and return the blood just to the organ or tumor, perfused with the treatment solution.
Regarding claim 16, Kaye discloses substantially all limitations as discussed for claim 1 above. Claim 16 omits the phrase “… inflating a balloon on the distal end of the supply catheter within the arterial vessel, the balloon being sized to occlude the arterial vessel…” Therefore, Kaye addresses or renders obvious all the limitations of claim 16.
Regarding claims 2, 5, 12 and 13, Kaye discloses a method wherein the treatment solution is a cancer treatment (¶ [0006] Isolating a limb for the delivery of regional chemotherapy has been reported; ¶ [0007], limb malignant melanomas … Chemotherapy agents are then introduced to and removed from the tumor/target site);
wherein the organ is selected from the group consisting of the liver, a kidney, the pancreas, the spleen, the brain, the eyes, the breasts, the brain, the colon, the stomach, the esophagus and the thyroid gland (¶ [0041], the systems and therapies described could be advantageously applied to morbid tissues of the kidneys, liver, spleen, gastrointestinal system, etc.); and
the treatment includes connecting an extracorporeal oxygenator between the proximal end of the collection catheter and the pump and oxygenating the blood prior to returning the blood and treatment solution through the supply catheter back to the organ or tumor (¶ [0028], extracorporeal circuit 114 that includes … an oxygenator 120; ¶ [0033], The oxygenator 228 can be any commercially available unit for exchanging oxygen for carbon dioxide contained within blood);
wherein the step of introducing at least one balloon collection catheter includes access via a femoral vein (¶ [0036] FIG. 3 … Additionally, a venous return or collection catheter 308 may be placed retrograde in a femoral vein 310 (catheter 308 travels from the groin to the foot));
wherein the step of introducing at least one balloon supply catheter includes access via a femoral artery (¶ [0036] FIG. 3 … placement of an arterial perfusion or infusion catheter 304 into a femoral artery 306).
Claims 3, 6, 7, 10, 11, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaye; David Martin (US 20130079697 A1) in view of Agah; Ramtin et al. (US 20210268107 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 6, 7, 10, 11, 18 and 19, Kaye discloses a treatment including connecting an extracorporeal oxygenator between the proximal end of the collection catheter and the pump and oxygenating the blood prior to returning the blood and treatment solution through the supply catheter back to the organ or tumor (¶ [0028], extracorporeal circuit 114 that includes … an oxygenator 120; ¶ [0033], The oxygenator 228 can be any commercially available unit for exchanging oxygen for carbon dioxide contained within blood).
Kaye does not target a lung, brain tumor or the other claimed sites, and does not disclose the claimed treatment solutions. Agah discloses systems and methods for treating solid cancerous tumors (¶ [0021], [0066], [0071] FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a method 200 for performing a TAMP procedure; ¶ [0073] FIGS. 4A and 4B schematically depict an example of an apparatus, configured as a catheter device 300);
comprising: introducing a catheter including collection and supply lumens into a patient's vasculature towards an organ or tumor (¶ [0025] In some embodiments, the method includes … inserting a catheter device into a vessel, the catheter device including a first occluder and a second occluder … and delivering a dose of an agent to the segment via the catheter device; ¶ [0031], An apparatus including two or more occluders … These apparatuses may generally be referred to as catheter devices; ¶ [0071] FIG. 2 … The method includes introducing a catheter (e.g., the catheter device 100) into a mammalian body into a bodily lumen (e.g., artery), at 202);
wherein the organ is a lung (¶ [0076], A similar combination therapy administered by methods described herein … Such tumors include, but are not limited to, pancreatic tumors, lung tumors, brain tumors, liver tumors, uterine tumors, and colon tumors; ¶ [0079], The targeted solid tumor can be, for example, a pancreatic tumor, a lung tumor, a brain tumor, a liver tumor, a uterine tumor, a colon tumor, or many other types of tumors); and
the treatment solution is selected from the group consisting of an alkylating agent, a taxane, an albumin-bound paclitaxel, an antimetabolite, a vinca alkaloid, and a topoisomerase II inhibitor (¶ [0012] mechlorethamine hydrochloride, methotrexate, vinorelbine tartrate; ¶ [0077], [0078], oxaliplatin, paclitaxel, paclitaxel albumin-stabilized nanoparticle formulation; ¶ [0079], Other chemotherapeutic agents may include one or more (including combinations) of: alkylating agents, Nitrosoureas, Antimetabolites, Anti-tumor antibiotics, Topoisomerase Inhibitors, Mitotic Inhibitors);
wherein the organ is selected from the group consisting of the female uterus, the female bladder, the female ovaries, the male bladder, the male prostate, and the male testicles (¶ [0031], [0106] In general, the TAMP methods described herein may be used in any target tissue in order to treat a tumor …pulmonary artery, uterine artery, arteries of the bladder (e.g., superior vesical branch of the internal iliac artery, inferior vesical artery, vaginal artery, obturator and inferior gluteal arteries)); and
wherein the organ is selected from the group consisting of the liver, a kidney, the pancreas, the spleen, the colon, the stomach, and the esophagus (¶ [0075], Examples of cancers that can be treated using methods described herein can be, but are not limited to, pancreatic cancer, lung cancer, liver cancer, uterine cancer, colon cancer, or brain cancer; ¶ [0076] For example, apparatuses and methods described herein can be used to isolate a targeted region in a patient's pancreas; ¶ [0077], The targeted solid tumor can be, for example, a pancreatic tumor, a lung tumor); and
the step of introducing at least one collection catheter and/or the step of introducing at least one supply catheter involves minimally-invasive surgery to install one or more balloon catheters in the Hepatic Portal Vein (¶ [0066] Described herein are methods for treating or ameliorating solid tumors (including cancerous tumors), by first reducing, inhibiting or suppressing the microvasculature around one or more tumors or between a lumen of a body (e.g., artery, vein, or any other both lumen) and the tumor(s),; ¶ [0106] In general, the TAMP methods described herein may be used in any target tissue in order to treat a tumor … pulmonary artery, proper hepatic or left or right hepatic artery; ¶ [0114], eligible patients underwent selective catheterization introduced via the femoral artery into the celiac axis into the splenic, hepatic and/or superior mesenteric artery(ies) using the TAMP technique);
wherein the organ is a lung, and the return location and supply location are selected so as to isolate one or more lobes or segments of one lung (¶ [0076], Such tumors include, but are not limited to, pancreatic tumors, lung tumors, brain tumors; ¶ [0078], the targeted solid tumor may be, for example, a pancreatic tumor, a lung tumor; ¶ [0079], The targeted solid tumor can be, for example, a pancreatic tumor, a lung tumor);
wherein the step of introducing at least one balloon supply catheter includes access via a femoral artery (¶ [0112] FIGS. 11 and 12 relate to an experiment … using the TAMP technique … Both femoral arteries were accessed for the placement of sterile gold fiducial markers; ¶ [0114], eligible patients underwent selective catheterization introduced via the femoral artery into the celiac axis into the splenic, hepatic and/or superior mesenteric artery(ies) using the TAMP technique; ¶ [0014] Malignant gliomas, including glioblastoma multiforme, have been treated … Typically, a catheter is inserted in the femoral artery and ends in the carotid artery, while a separate microcatheter is also inserted into the femoral artery and used to explore the specific vessels);
wherein the organ is the brain and the organ or tumor within the organ is a brain tumor (¶ [0075], Examples of cancers that can be treated … uterine cancer, colon cancer, or brain cancer; ¶ [0076], When treating the brain, the method may include performing TAMP in an internal carotid artery and/or anterior and/or middle cerebral arteries; ¶ [0077], The targeted solid tumor can be, for example, a pancreatic tumor, a lung tumor, a brain tumor);
wherein the arterial vessel is a capillary (¶ [0069], The interstitial concentration achieved is dependent on both … and the efflux of the drug out of the interstitium via capillaries in the tissue area and the venous system);
wherein the treatment includes a controlled supply of oncology drug through at low pressure and flow at the site of the tumor (¶ [0074], Combining the steps of radiation of the cancerous tissue prior to the treatment … followed by use of the TAMP technique to deliver chemotherapy in the isolated segment of the bodily lumen; ¶ [0077], and third administering a therapeutically effective dose of a chemotherapeutic agent to an isolated section of a bodily lumen near the solid tumor; ¶ [0078], and fourth administering a localized therapeutically effective dose of a chemotherapeutic agent).
Agah does not explicitly disclose that the supply catheter is sized to fit within and occlude the capillary. However, this feature is rejected under 112(a) for lack of enablement as discussed above.
Agah treats tumors at multiple sites with known chemotherapy agents. One would be motivated to modify Kaye with Agah’s various treatment sites and treatment agents or solutions to treat common cancers with known chemotherapy agents. A skilled artisan would have been able to modify Kaye with Agah’s treatment sites and agents by advancing Kaye’s catheter to additional sites, and infusing additional agents through the supply catheter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Kaye with Agah’s additional treatment sites and treatment solutions in order to expand the scope of treatment and address tumors at other body sites.
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaye; David Martin (US 20130079697 A1) in view of Shantha; Totada R. (US 20120323214 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Kaye discloses a treatment including connecting an extracorporeal oxygenator between the proximal end of the collection catheter and the pump and oxygenating the blood prior to returning the blood and treatment solution through the supply catheter back to the organ or tumor (¶ [0028], extracorporeal circuit 114 that includes … an oxygenator 120; ¶ [0033], The oxygenator 228 can be any commercially available unit for exchanging oxygen for carbon dioxide contained within blood).
Kaye does not treat the patient’s brain or deliver a cholinesterase inhibitor for treating Alzheimer's symptoms. Shantha discloses treatments for Alzheimer's disease (¶ [0059], [0068], [0080], [0165]);
wherein the organ is the brain, and the treatment solution is a cholinesterase inhibitor for treating Alzheimer's symptoms (¶ [0134] II. AChEIs=Acetyl-cholinesterase inhibitors; ¶ [0185] FIG. 11 … It is showing the route taken by the insulin and various compounded therapeutic agents … to treat Alzheimer's disease. The diagram shows; how the insulin, bexarotene, ketamine, monoclonal antibodies, IGF-1, and cholinesterase inhibitor therapeutic agents used in this invention get attached to the mucous film 32; ¶ [0186] FIG. 12 … show the route taken by the insulin, bexarotene, ketamine, monoclonal antibodies, IGF-1, and cholinesterase inhibitor therapeutic agents and their path of transfer to the through the olfactory nerve 58 (.+-.20 nerve fasciculi) to olfactory bulb SAS, and CSF of the CNS to treat Alzheimer's disease; ¶ [0189], Hence, the Virchow-Robine space 347 delivers the insulin, bexarotene, ketamine, monoclonal antibodies, IGF-1, and cholinesterase inhibitor therapeutic agents to these regions rapidly … for the therapeutic effect to cure and/or curtail Alzheimer's disease).
Shantha targets another disease with a known agent. A skilled artisan would have been able to modify Kaye with Shantha’s brain treatment and cholinesterase inhibitor by redirecting Kaye’s catheter towards the brain and filling the reservoir 220' with Shantha’s cholinesterase inhibitor.
One would be motivated to modify Kaye with Shantha’s brain treatment and cholinesterase inhibitor since Kaye suggests to administer other agents to other tissues (¶ [0041], By way of example, the systems and therapies described could be advantageously applied to morbid tissues of the kidneys, liver, spleen, gastrointestinal system, etc.; ¶ [0044], therapeutic agents (e.g., a drug, cell, gene therapy, protein, antibiotic, etc.)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Kaye with Shantha’s brain treatment and cholinesterase inhibitor in order to administer a known drug to its treatment site as a therapy for a known disease.
Claims 8, 9, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaye; David Martin (US 20130079697 A1) in view of Sterman; Wesley D. et al. (US 6699231 B1).
Regarding claims 8, 9, 14 and 20, Kaye does not explicitly disclose multiple collection or supply catheters, and does not explicitly access via the IVC and through a heart chamber. Sterman discloses a method wherein there are multiple balloon collection catheters deployed in different vessels; and wherein there are multiple balloon supply catheters deployed in different vessels (col. 21, lines 45-50, Referring now to FIG. 7, isolation and perfusion of the brain preferably utilizes a four-catheter set; col. 22, lines 1-10, Both anterior and posterior segments of the brain may be isolated and perfused using a six catheter set as shown in FIG. 7A);
wherein a step of introducing at least one balloon supply catheter includes access via the Inferior Vena Cava and through at least one chamber of the heart (col. 8, lines 1-5, The third catheter may be introduced into the liver either endovascularly from the inferior vena cava and a hepatic vein; col. 17, lines 10-20, In the isolated lung, a first balloon catheter 40 is endovascularly introduced, typically through the internal jugular vein and superior vena cava, or from the femoral vein and inferior vena cava, and advanced so that occlusion balloon 42 at its distal end lies within a pulmonary artery which extends from the right ventricle of the heart; col. 20, lines 40-45, In an alternative method of portal vein catheterization, shown in FIG. 6C, catheter 64 is introduced from a peripheral vein such as the jugular vein (as shown) or femoral vein (not shown), and through inferior vena cava (IVC) to the hepatic veins HV; col. 23, lines 30-35, Alternatively, a catheter may be positioned in or around the hepatic veins via the IVC as described above in connection with FIGS. 6B and 6D).
Sterman demonstrates how to treat more than one site with perfusion isolation catheters, and also accesses these sites with alternative routes. A skilled artisan would have been able to modify Kaye with Sterman’s multiple catheters or IVC-heart chamber path by deploying several of Kaye’s catheters through Sterman’s various paths. One would be motivated to modify Kaye with Sterman’s multiple catheters or path through the IVC and heart chamber since Kaye suggests to deploy multiple catheters (¶ [0028], A plurality of catheters 124, 126 connect the extracorporeal circuit 114 to the limb circulatory system 104; ¶ [0041], the access for the treatment could be performed through other vessels, including by way of example: superficial … tibial, and fibular veins … the systems and therapies described could be advantageously applied to morbid tissues of the kidneys, liver, spleen, gastrointestinal system, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Kaye with Sterman’s multiple catheters or IVC-heart chamber path in order to treat a tumor at more than one site, and to access the sites with known physiological routes.
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaye; David Martin (US 20130079697 A1) in view of Hochareon; Pramote (US 20140207060 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Kaye does not explicitly disclose that the balloon collection catheter comprises a fluid line for inflating the balloon, and a second fluid line for withdrawing fluid. Hochareon discloses a balloon collection catheter comprising a fluid line connected to an inner lumen of a catheter tube for inflating a balloon (¶ [0064], a second lumen may be utilized for balloon inflation and deflation; ¶ [0102] Occlusion device 230, which may be an inflatable balloon, may be selectively inflated and deflated); and
a second fluid line connected to a different inner lumen of the catheter tube for withdrawing fluid from a distal tip through multiple flow apertures (¶ [0064], A first lumen of arterial catheter 30 is drainage line 2).
Hochareon describes necessary details for an inflatable balloon catheter. One would be motivated to modify Kaye with Hochareon’s inner inflation lumen since Kaye calls for a balloon catheter (¶ [0030], an occlusion member 216 … an occlusion member 216'). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Kaye with Hochareon’s inflation lumen in order to control the inflatable balloons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Surkov; Kirill et al. US 20230201439 A1
Arepally; Aravind et al. US 11400263 B1
Baltes; Nicholas J. US 20200061211 A1
Melder; Robert J. US 20190223935 A1
Agah; Ramtin et al. US 20180333563 A1
Agah; Ramtin et al. US 20170157370 A1
Agah; Ramtin et al. US 20170056629 A1
Yao; Fei et al. US 20160074621 A1
Fierens; Joop et al. US 20150018597 A1
Hochareon; Pramote US 20120302995 A1
Blumenfeld; Walter et al. US 20100241100 A1
Allers; Mats et al. US 20090221949 A1
Muni; Ketan P. et al. US 20090198216 A1
Murata; Satoru US 20090088676 A1
Weiss; Jeffrey N. US 6936053 B1
Mann; Michael J. US 6722370 B1
Kay, Mark A. et al. US 20040009151 A1
Barbut, Denise R. et al. US 20010038807 A1
Tel 571-272-2590
Fax 571-273-2590
Email Adam.Marcetich@uspto.gov
The Examiner can be reached 8am-4pm Mon-Fri.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Adam Marcetich/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781