DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison (U.S. 2006/0130962 A1) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 2018/0194538).
Regarding claim 1, Harrison teaches a thermally-insulating packaging assembly (see Abstract), comprising an enclosure (box; paragraph [0004], [0064]) having a plurality of walls defining an interior volume (cavity of box) therebetween for receiving a plurality of beverage containers (paragraph [0004]), each of the plurality of walls including a substrate 7 (paragraphs [0061 ]-[0062]), a first adhesive layer (paragraph [0074]), and a metallized layer 102 (102, 104; paragraph [0066]); figure 2) coupled to the substrate via the adhesive layer (paragraph [0074]).
Further regarding claim 1, Harrison discloses the claimed invention except for the second metallized layer. Kim et al. teaches that it is known to provide a container with a second metallized layer (see two metallized layers 140). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method Harrison with the box having a second metallized layer, as taught by Kim et al., in order to provide additional waterproofing material, as disclosed by Kim et al.
Regarding claim 2, a heat-resistant coating layer 103 coupled to the metallized layer (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 4, the second metallized layer (as modified by Kim et al.) is configured to reflect light away from the interior volume of the packaging assembly (metallized layers are reflective; see also paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 6, the first metallized layer 102 is configured to insulate the contents of the packaging assembly (aluminum 102 has insulative properties; paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 7, the first metallized layer 102 contains aluminum (paragraph [0080]) and the second metallized layer contains aluminum (paragraph [0010] of Kim et al.).
Regarding claim 8, the base layer 7 (understood to be the substrate) contains one or both of a paperboard material or a cardboard material (paragraphs [0061 ]-[0062]).
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison (U.S. 2006/0130962 A1) in view of Lindstedt et al. (WO 2017/220662A1) and Kim et al. (U.S. 2018/0194538).
Regarding claim 9, Harrison teaches a multi-layer packaging assembly (see Abstract), comprising a plurality of walls arranged to define an interior space (cavity of box), at least one of the plurality of walls including a base layer 7 (paragraphs [0061]-[0062]), an insulating adhesive layer (paragraph [0074]) disposed atop the base layer 7 (figure 2), a metallized layer 102, 104 (paragraph [0066]) coupled to the base layer 7 via the insulating adhesive layer (paragraph [0074]), and a heat-resistant coating layer disposed atop the metallized layer 103 (paragraph [0056]).
Further regarding claim 9, Harrison discloses the claimed invention except for the printable coating and second metallized layer. Lindstedt et al. teaches that it is known to provide a container with a printable coating (see “Advantage” paragraph). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method Harrison with the box having a printable coating, as taught by Lindstedt et al., in order to provide a durable surface to print images for advertising the contents.
Kim et al. teaches that it is known to provide a container with a second metallized layer (see two metallized layers 140). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method Harrison with the box having a second metallized layer, as taught by Kim et al., in order to provide additional waterproofing material, as disclosed by Kim et al.
Regarding claim 10, the first metallized layer 102 is located on an outward-facing side of the base layer (paragraphs [0061]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 11, the first metallized layer 102 is configured to reflect light away from the interior space (“reflective”; paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 12, the second metallized layer (as modified by Kim et al.) located on an inward-facing side of the base layer (140 of Kim et al.).
Regarding claim 13, the second metallized layer (as modified by Kim et al.) is configured to insulate the contents of the packaging assembly (aluminum has insulative properties; paragraph [0080]).
Claims 14, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison (U.S. 2006/0130962 A1) in view of Zacherle et al. (U.S. 2021/0221588), Lindstedt et al. (WO 2017/220662A1) and Kim et al. (U.S. 2018/0194538).
Regarding claim 14, Harrison teaches a method of forming a multi-layer packaging assembly (see Abstract), comprising providing a substrate 7 (paragraphs [0061 ]-[0062]), depositing an adhesive layer on the substrate (paragraph [0074]), depositing a metallized layer 102, 104 (paragraph [0066]) on the adhesive layer (paragraph [0074]; figure 2), the substrate 7, adhesive layer and the metallized layer 102, 104 forming a layered assembly (figure 2), and forming the layered assembly into an enclosure having an interior volume (box; paragraph [0004]).
Further regarding claim 14, Harrison discloses the claimed invention except for the plurality of beverage containers, the printable coating and the second metallized layer. Zacherle et al. teaches that it is known to store a plurality of beverage containers within a box (see paragraph [0002]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method Harrison with the box storing a plurality of beverage containers, as taught by Zacherle et al., in order to transport a plurality of beverage containers for sale together as a package.
Additionally, Lindstedt et al. teaches that it is known to provide a container with a printable coating (see “Advantage” paragraph). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method Harrison with the box having a printable coating, as taught by Lindstedt et al., in order to provide a durable surface to print images for advertising the contents.
Kim et al. teaches that it is known to provide a container with a second metallized layer (see two metallized layers 140). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method Harrison with the box having a second metallized layer, as taught by Kim et al., in order to provide additional waterproofing material, as disclosed by Kim et al.
Regarding claim 15, applying a heat- resistant coating layer 103 to the metallized layer (as modified by Kim et al.).
Regarding claim 17, the second metallized layer (as modified by Kim et al.) is configured to reflect light away from the interior volume of the packaging assembly (aluminum is a reflective material).
Regarding claim 18, positioning the first metallized layer 102 on an interior of the packaging assembly adjacent contents of the packaging assembly (paragraphs [0061]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 19, the first metallized layer 102 is configured to insulate the contents of the packaging assembly (aluminum has insulative properties; paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 20, the first metallized layer 102 is coupled with the base layer via transfer lamination (paragraphs [0061]-[0063]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Harrison does not teach two metallized layers on either side of the substrate. The secondary reference of Kim et al. (U.S. 2018/0194538) has been added to the rejections above for the teaching of providing two metallized layers on the interior facing and exterior facing surfaces of the substrate. Layers 140 of Kim et al. are provided on either side of the substrate for waterproofing the substrate.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE NON-FINAL.
/NIKI M ELOSHWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3736