DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed 10/17/2024 is being considered by the examiner
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 12, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites, "the managed area [line 3 and 4]". The examiner suggests, "the managed space".
Claim 12 recites, "the plurality of sensors [line 1]". The examiner suggests, "the plurality of sensor modules".
Claim 12 recites, "an indoor sensor module position in the managed space [line 2]". The examiner suggests, "an indoor sensor module positioned in the managed space".
Claim 13 recites, "the plurality of sensors [line 1]". The examiner suggests, "the plurality of sensor modules".
Claim 13 recites, "an outdoor sensor module position outside the managed space [line 2]". The examiner suggests, "an outdoor sensor module positioned outside the managed space".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites, "to receive a signal from at least one of the indoor sensor modules or outdoor sensor modules [line 1]." Because claim 1 recites "an indoor sensor module" and "an outdoor sensor module", it is unclear whether "at least one of the indoor sensor modules or outdoor sensor modules [claim 6]" refers to the singular indoor sensor module and outdoor sensor module of claim 1 or to a different plurality of indoor sensor modules and outdoor sensor modules.
Additionally, it is unclear whether "a signal from at least one of the indoor sensor modules or outdoor sensor modules [claim 6]" refers to "an indoor sensor module signal or an outdoor sensor signal [claim 1]" or to a different signal. Claims 7 and 8 inherit the same issues based on their recitation of "the signal", "indoor sensor modules", and "outdoor sensor modules". As such, claims 6-8 are indefinite.
Claim 16 recites, "a signal from at least one of the plurality of sensor modules [line 1]." Because claim 11 recites, "a sensor module signal from the plurality of sensor modules [line 6]," it is unclear whether "a signal from at least one of the plurality of sensor modules [claim 16]" refers to "a sensor module signal from the plurality of sensor modules [claim 11]" or to a different signal. Claims 17 and 18 inherit the same issues based on their recitation of "the signal". As such, claims 16-18 are indefinite.
Claim 18 recites, "the indoor sensor module or outdoor sensor module [line 2]." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okeya et al. [US Pub. 2021/0341168] ("Okeya").
With regard to claim 1, Okeya teaches a system [fig. 2 and fig. 12] comprising:
a blower configured to perform a fresh air exchange on a managed space ("a blower unit to exchange indoor air [par. 0011]" and "The supply blower 3 and the exhaust blower 5 constitute a blower unit 23 that performs indoor air ventilation [par. 0031]" and "the area above a ceiling 25 is the ceiling space 26, and the area below the ceiling 25 is the room 27 [par. 0029]");
an indoor sensor module positioned in the managed area ("the indoor CO2 sensor 14a is installed in the room 27 [par. 0136]");
an outdoor sensor module positioned outside the managed area ("the outdoor CO2 sensor 14b is installed outside an outer wall 28 of the building, or outdoors [par. 0136]");
a controller, having a memory, and a processor in communication with the memory ("the first control unit 31 is implemented by a processor 101 executing a program stored in a memory 102 [par. 0056]"), the processor configured to receive an indoor sensor module signal ("The indoor CO2 sensor 14a can communicate with the control device 13 via a communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the indoor air detected to a CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0039]") or an outdoor sensor signal ("The outdoor CO2 sensor 14b can communicate with the control device 13 via the communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the outdoor air detected to the CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0041]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 2, Okeya teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the indoor sensor module comprises at least one sensor configured to measure at least one air parameter ("The indoor CO2 sensor 14a can communicate with the control device 13 via a communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the indoor air detected to a CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0039]").
With regard to claim 3, Okeya teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the outdoor sensor module comprises at least one sensor configured to measure at least one air parameter ("The outdoor CO2 sensor 14b can communicate with the control device 13 via the communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the outdoor air detected to the CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0041]").
With regard to claim 4, Okeya teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the air parameter is one of PM2.5, PM1, PM10, NO2, NOx, CO, CO2, VOC, RH, temperature, or static pressure ("The indoor CO2 sensor 14a can communicate with the control device 13 via a communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the indoor air detected to a CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0039]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 5, Okeya teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the air parameter is one of PM2.5, PM1, PM10, NO2, NOx, CO, CO2, VOC, RH, temperature, or static pressure ("The outdoor CO2 sensor 14b can communicate with the control device 13 via the communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the outdoor air detected to the CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0041]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 6, Okeya teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to receive a signal from at least one of the indoor sensor modules ("The indoor CO2 sensor 14a can communicate with the control device 13 via a communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the indoor air detected to a CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0039]") or outdoor sensor modules ("The outdoor CO2 sensor 14b can communicate with the control device 13 via the communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the outdoor air detected to the CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0041]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 7, Okeya teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the signal from at least one of the indoor sensor modules or outdoor sensor modules corresponds with an air parameter measured by the indoor sensor module ("The indoor CO2 sensor 14a can communicate with the control device 13 via a communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the indoor air detected to a CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0039]") or outdoor sensor module ("The outdoor CO2 sensor 14b can communicate with the control device 13 via the communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the outdoor air detected to the CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0041]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 8, Okeya teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to, in response to the signal from at least one of the indoor sensor module or outdoor sensor module, transmit a control signal to the blower configured to modify an operating state of the blower ("The first control unit 31 then controls the operation of the ventilator 100 by changing the ventilation air volume on the basis of the CO2 concentration values indicated by the information on the CO2 concentration in the indoor air and the information on the CO2 concentration in the outdoor air that have been received. That is, the first control unit 31 performs control to switch the operation of the ventilator 100 to an operation mode having a different ventilation air volume on the basis of the CO2 concentrations in the indoor air and the outdoor air [par. 0044]" and "a blower unit to exchange indoor air [par. 0011]").
With regard to claim 10, Okeya teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the system is one of an air quality management system or a thermal comfort management system ("The main body 1 is a heat exchange ventilator that is a ventilator for air conditioning with a heat exchange element 6 included in a housing 1a of a rectangular parallelepiped shape made of sheet metal [par. 0029]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 11, Okeya teaches a system [fig. 2 and fig. 12] comprising:
a blower configured to perform a fresh air exchange on a managed space ("a blower unit to exchange indoor air [par. 0011]" and "The supply blower 3 and the exhaust blower 5 constitute a blower unit 23 that performs indoor air ventilation [par. 0031]" and "the area above a ceiling 25 is the ceiling space 26, and the area below the ceiling 25 is the room 27 [par. 0029]"), wherein the blower comprises a filtration unit ("a supply air filter 15 is detachably installed in the pre-heat exchange outdoor air duct 11a of the supply air duct 11 … an exhaust air filter 16 is detachably installed in the pre-heat exchange indoor air duct 12a of the exhaust air duct 12 [par. 0037]");
a plurality of sensor modules ("the indoor CO2 sensor 14a is installed in the room 27, and the outdoor CO2 sensor 14b is installed outside an outer wall 28 of the building, or outdoors [par. 0136]");
a controller, having a memory, and a processor in communication with the memory ("the first control unit 31 is implemented by a processor 101 executing a program stored in a memory 102 [par. 0056]"), the processor configured to receive a sensor module signal from the plurality of sensor modules ("The indoor CO2 sensor 14a can communicate with the control device 13 via a communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the indoor air detected to a CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0039]" and "The outdoor CO2 sensor 14b can communicate with the control device 13 via the communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the outdoor air detected to the CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0041]").
With regard to claim 12, Okeya teaches the system of claim 11, wherein at least one of the plurality of sensors is an indoor sensor module position in the managed space ("the indoor CO2 sensor 14a is installed in the room 27 [par. 0136]"), and wherein the indoor sensor module comprises at least one sensor configured to measure at least one air parameter ("The indoor CO2 sensor 14a can communicate with the control device 13 via a communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the indoor air detected to a CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0039]").
With regard to claim 13, Okeya teaches the system of claim 11, wherein at least one of the plurality of sensors is an outdoor sensor module position outside the managed space ("the outdoor CO2 sensor 14b is installed outside an outer wall 28 of the building, or outdoors [par. 0136]"), and wherein the outdoor sensor module comprises at least one sensor configured to measure at least one air parameter ("The outdoor CO2 sensor 14b can communicate with the control device 13 via the communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the outdoor air detected to the CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0041]").
With regard to claim 14, Okeya teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the air parameter is one of PM2.5, PM1, PM10, NO2, NOx, CO, CO2, VOC, RH, temperature, or static pressure ("The indoor CO2 sensor 14a can communicate with the control device 13 via a communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the indoor air detected to a CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0039]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 15, Okeya teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the air parameter is one of PM2.5, PM1, PM10, NO2, NOx, CO, CO2, VOC, RH, temperature, or static pressure ("The outdoor CO2 sensor 14b can communicate with the control device 13 via the communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the outdoor air detected to the CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0041]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 16, Okeya teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to receive a signal from at least one of the plurality of sensor modules ("The indoor CO2 sensor 14a can communicate with the control device 13 via a communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the indoor air detected to a CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0039]").
With regard to claim 17, Okeya teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the signal from at least one of the plurality of sensor modules corresponds with an air parameter measured by the at least one of the plurality of sensor modules ("The indoor CO2 sensor 14a can communicate with the control device 13 via a communication line 51, and transmits information on the CO2 concentration in the indoor air detected to a CO2 concentration acquisition unit 311 of the control device 13 [par. 0039]").
With regard to claim 18, Okeya teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to, in response to the signal from at least one of the indoor sensor module or outdoor sensor module, transmit a control signal to the blower configured to modify an operating state of the blower ("The first control unit 31 then controls the operation of the ventilator 100 by changing the ventilation air volume on the basis of the CO2 concentration values indicated by the information on the CO2 concentration in the indoor air and the information on the CO2 concentration in the outdoor air that have been received. That is, the first control unit 31 performs control to switch the operation of the ventilator 100 to an operation mode having a different ventilation air volume on the basis of the CO2 concentrations in the indoor air and the outdoor air [par. 0044]" and "a blower unit to exchange indoor air [par. 0011]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 20, Okeya teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the system is one of an air quality management system or a thermal comfort management system ("The main body 1 is a heat exchange ventilator that is a ventilator for air conditioning with a heat exchange element 6 included in a housing 1a of a rectangular parallelepiped shape made of sheet metal [par. 0029]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 21, Okeya teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the system is a standalone system for air quality management or thermal comfort management ("The main body 1 is a heat exchange ventilator that is a ventilator for air conditioning with a heat exchange element 6 included in a housing 1a of a rectangular parallelepiped shape made of sheet metal [par. 0029]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 22, Okeya teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the system is an integrated part of an air quality management system or a thermal comfort management system ("The main body 1 is a heat exchange ventilator that is a ventilator for air conditioning with a heat exchange element 6 included in a housing 1a of a rectangular parallelepiped shape made of sheet metal [par. 0029]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okeya as established in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above in view of Morgan et al. [US Pub. 2021/0041118] ("Morgan").
With regard to claim 9, Okeya teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the control signal causes the blower to ("That is, the first control unit 31 performs control to switch the operation of the ventilator 100 to an operation mode having a different ventilation air volume on the basis of the CO2 concentrations in the indoor air and the outdoor air [par. 0044]" and "a blower unit to exchange indoor air [par. 0011]").
Although Okeya teaches modifying the blower to different modes [par. 0044] and also teaches where the blower can be stopped while the system is able to continue monitoring air quality concentrations [par. 0136], Okeya does not explicitly teach causing the blower to power on.
In an analogous art (ventilation system), Morgan teaches causing a blower to power on ("selectively turning on a blower of an air handler unit of the building based on a comparison of the amount of particulate with an ON threshold [par. 0035]").
Okeya further teaches, "Therefore, the ventilator 200 does not need to perform the continuous or intermittent ventilation operation for the sensing operation in which the ventilator 100 accurately detects the CO2 concentration in the indoor air and the CO2 concentration in the outdoor air. As a result, the ventilator 200 can further reduce the time of the ventilation operation and can increase the energy saving effect of the ventilator 200 [par. 0139]."
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified Okeya's teachings, to include Morgan's teachings of causing a blower to power on or off depending on air quality, for the benefit of increasing energy savings while still being able to react to an increase in CO2 concentration.
With regard to claim 19, the combination above teaches claim 9. Claim 19 recites limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 9; therefore, claim 19 is rejected along the same grounds as claim 9.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Emmons et al. [US Pub. 2017/0176030] teaches an HVAC controller and/or server may be programmed to determine if ventilation of a building is desired based, at least in part, on the one or more user-specified air quality thresholds stored in a memory, and one or more of a measure of indoor air quality and a measure of outdoor air quality.
Conclusion
/VINCENT WEN-LIANG CHANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119