DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 10/17/2024. These drawings are considered by examiner.
Terminal Disclaimer
4. Examiner suggests the Assignee must submit the Terminal Disclaimer accordingly, in order to process of the application promptly.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,657 as further detailed in the table below:
Instant Application
United States Patent No. 12,219,657
Claim 1. A baseband processor comprising a memory and configured to: transmit a request to activate a first user equipment (UE) with a cellular carrier; transmit to the cellular carrier, in response to receiving an authentication request for authenticating a user of the first UE,
information identifying a second UE and authentication information for authenticating the user;
obtain verification information transmitted to the second UE; transmit the verification information to the cellular carrier; and after transmitting the verification information to the cellular carrier,
receive an embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) subscription transferred from the second UE.
Claim 1. A method performed by a set of one or more servers, the method comprising: receiving, from a first user equipment (UE) to be activated with a cellular carrier for a user, and at the set of one or more servers,
information identifying a second UE of the user and authentication information for authenticating the user with the cellular carrier; authenticating the user using the authentication information;
transmitting a password to the second UE at least partly in response to authenticating the user;
receiving, from the first UE and at the set of one or more servers, the password; validating the password received from the first UE; and initiating a transfer of an embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) subscription, from the second UE to the first UE, at least partly in response to validating the password.
Claim 6
Claim 8
Claim 11. An application server processor comprising a memory and configured to:
receive, from a first user equipment (UE) to be activated with a cellular carrier for a user, information identifying a second UE of the user and authentication information for authenticating the user with the cellular carrier;
authenticate the user using the authentication information;
transmit a password to the second UE at least partly in response to authenticating the user;
receive the password from the first UE; validate the password received from the first UE; and
initiate a transfer of an embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) subscription, from the second UE to the first UE, at least partly in response to validating the password.
Claim 11. A network, comprising: a set of one or more servers, the set of one or more servers including a set of one or more processors configured to,
receive, from a first user equipment (UE) to be activated with a cellular carrier for a user, information identifying a second UE of the user and authentication information for authenticating the user with the cellular carrier;
authenticate the user using the authentication information;
transmit a password to the second UE at least partly in response to authenticating the user;
receive, from the first UE, the password; validate the password received from the first UE; and
initiate a transfer of an embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) subscription, from the second UE to the first UE, at least partly in response to validating the password.
Claim 12
Claims 2,12, 20
Claim 13
Claims 3, 13
Claim 14
Claims 4, 14
Claim 15
Claim 5
Claim 16
Claims 6, 15
Claim 17
Claims 7, 16
Claim 18
Claim 8
Claim 19
Claims 9, 17
Claim 20
Claim 18
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent claims include all the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, " a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claim preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guru et al (US 11,146,944), hereinafter “Guru“, in view of Uehling et al (US 11,146,948), hereinafter “Uehling“.
Regarding claim 1, Guru teaches a baseband processor comprising a memory (fig. 1) and configured to:
transmit a request to activate a first user equipment (UE) with a cellular carrier (col. 9, lines 16-67);
transmit to the cellular carrier (col. 7, line 52 to col. 8, line 56), in response to receiving an authentication request for authenticating a user of the first UE (col. 7, line 52 to col. 8, line 56), information identifying a second UE and authentication information for authenticating the user (col. 9, line 39 to col. 10, line 60);
Guru does not explicitly teach obtain verification information transmitted to the second UE; transmit the verification information to the cellular carrier; and
after transmitting the verification information to the cellular carrier, receive an embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) subscription transferred from the second UE.
Uehling, in the same field of endeavor, teaches obtain verification information transmitted to the second UE (col. 7, lines 16-51); transmit the verification information to the cellular carrier (col. 8, line 54 to col. 9, line 23); and
after transmitting the verification information to the cellular carrier (col. 8, line 54 to col. 9, line 23 teach the verification information, i.g., PIN, password), receive an embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) subscription transferred from the second UE (col. 1, line 41 to col. 2, line 28 teach sharing eSIM credentials between two mobile communication devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Guru to Uehling, in order to provide authentication information to cell sites when they attach to the radio access network to receive wireless communication services such as the authentication information allows the wireless service provider to identify the mobile communication device and determine if the device has privileges for accessing its network (as suggested by Uehling in col. 1, lines 21-37).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Guru and Uehling teach the baseband processor of claim 1, Guru does not clearly teach configured to: transmit, to the cellular carrier, a notification of a status of the eSIM subscription transfer.
Uehling, in the same field of endeavor, teaches configured to: transmit, to the cellular carrier, a notification of a status of the eSIM subscription transfer (col. 1, line 40 to col. 2, line 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Guru to Uehling, in order to provide authentication information to cell sites when they attach to the radio access network to receive wireless communication services such as the authentication information allows the wireless service provider to identify the mobile communication device and determine if the device has privileges for accessing its network (as suggested by Uehling in col. 1, lines 21-37).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Guru and Uehling teach the baseband processor of claim 1, Guru further teaches configured to: encrypt, before transmitting to the cellular carrier, at least one of the authentication information for authenticating the user (col. 4, lines 5-42 teaches encrypted code and decrypts the code and the eSIM sharing application on the second device encrypts the input user code and sends the encrypted code to the eSIM sharing application on the first device), or the verification information.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Guru and Uehling teach the baseband processor of claim 4, Guru further teaches wherein the at least one of the authentication information or the verification information is encrypted based on a configuration file including one or more keys for encrypting the authentication information (col. 4, lines 5-42 teaches encrypted code and decrypts the code and the eSIM sharing application on the second device encrypts the input user code and sends the encrypted code to the eSIM sharing application on the first device) or the verification information.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Guru and Uehling teach the baseband processor of claim 5, Guru further teaches wherein the one or more keys for encrypting the authentication information (col. 4, lines 5-42 teaches encrypted code and decrypts the code and the eSIM sharing application on the second device encrypts the input user code and sends the encrypted code to the eSIM sharing application on the first device) or the password are valid for a limited time duration.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Guru and Uehling teach the baseband processor of claim 1, Guru further teaches wherein the verification information includes one or more of: a one-time password (OTP), a personal identification number (PIN) (col. 4, lines 5-42 teach to input a user code (e.g., a personal identification number-PIN), a password, a phrase, an image, or machine-readable code.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Guru and Uehling teach the baseband processor of claim 1, Guru further teaches configured to: prompt the user to provide, to an input system of the first UE, the verification information (col. 4, lines 5-42 teach to input a user code (e.g., a personal identification number-PIN).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Guru and Uehling teach the baseband processor of claim 1, Guru does not clearly teach wherein receipt of the embedded eSIM subscription indicates the verification information is validated by the cellular carrier.
Uehling, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein receipt of the embedded eSIM subscription indicates the verification information is validated by the cellular carrier (col. 8, line 54 to col. 9, line 23 teach the verification information, i.g., PIN, password).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Guru to Uehling, in order to provide authentication information to cell sites when they attach to the radio access network to receive wireless communication services such as the authentication information allows the wireless service provider to identify the mobile communication device and determine if the device has privileges for accessing its network (as suggested by Uehling in col. 1, lines 21-37).
9. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guru et al (US 11,146,944), hereinafter “Guru“, in view of Uehling et al (US 11,146,948), hereinafter “Uehling“, further in view of Seenivasagam et al (US 2019/0392659), hereinafter “Seenivasagam”..
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Guru and Uehling teach the baseband processor of claim 1, Guru and Uehling do not clearly teach wherein the verification information is obtained from a photo taken by the first UE.
Seenivasagam, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the verification information is obtained from a photo taken by the first UE (pars [0086-0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Guru, Uehling to Seenivasagam, in order to provide the identification, verification, and authentication of an individual by obtaining a biometric feature (e.g., facial recognition) of an individual using a mobile device (e.g., a mobile device camera) (as suggested by Seenivasagam in paragraph [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
As to claim 3, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein: at least one of the request to activate the first UE, the information identifying the second UE, the authentication information, or the verification information is transmitted to an endpoint configured in a memory of the first UE, the endpoint configured to provide activation service to the first UE, and obtaining the verification information comprises prompting the user, using a display of the first UE, to provide the verification information via an input system of the first UE as specified in the claim.
11. Claims 11-20 are allowed if the Terminal Disclaimer is filed.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641