DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “diffusion means” in claims and 11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim refers to “a protective helmet made in a single body piece,” which is indefinite. Applicant’s disclosure refers to protective helmet 4 as being made from a single body piece (Specification, Page 3, Lines 11-12), but at a minimum, the Figures show a football helmet that clearly has a facemask part attached with fasteners to a main portion of the helmet, a chin strap, and depicts arts of the inner padding, which are well known to be part of a football helmet. Referring to helmet #4 as being made from a “single body piece” is confusing as it is depicted as being formed from multiple piece, and is generally known in the art to include more than a single piece. For the rejection, the Examiner will interpret the claimed “a single body piece” as including any “protective helmet” that is monolithic, or formed from multiple pieces securely attached together so as to create “a single body piece”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "said front wall" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note that claim 14 depends from claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9, 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saati (9,621,983).
With respect to claim 1, Saati teaches a system for sound diffusion (device of Figures 2-6 and 16-19), comprising at least one supporting structure (106/104/110), sound diffusion means (defined by housing components and #104/110 any/all components within #104/110 including speakers #112/116 and sound port #128) associated with said supporting structure (106) and adapted to diffuse sound waves and connection means (broadly defined by Bluetooth circuitry #144, crossover network #142 and any other inherent, but not shown electrical connections to/between speakers #112/116) associated with said diffusion means (104/110/112/116) and adapted to be connected with a sound source unit (#103 - defined by “cellular phones and handheld media devices and more” – Col. 7, Lines 9-29), characterized by the fact that said supporting structure (106) comprises a protective helmet (clearly seen, see #106) made in a single body piece (note pieces #106 are connected together to form a single connected part – see 112b interpretation above) and defining an open cavity (defined by interior space, closed off by base region #110), wherein said diffusion means (104/110) comprise at least one self-supporting closure body (110), inserted within said protective helmet (106) so as to close said open cavity defining a substantially enclosed volume (volume within 104/110), wherein said diffusion means (104/110) comprise at least one loudspeaker device (112/116) associated with said closure body (110) and arranged within said enclosed volume; and wherein said diffusion means (104/110) comprise a diffusion duct (128) housed within said enclosed volume and communicating with the outside through an outlet opening (136) defined on said supporting structure (106/104/110). Note that Applicant’s supporting structure #2 appears to include both the protective helmet #4 and the diffusion means structure #3.
With respect to claim 2, Saati teaches wherein said outlet opening (136) is defined on said closure body (110).
With respect to claim 3, Saati teaches wherein said closure body (110) comprises at least one substantially horizontal lower wall and intended to face a resting surface (105) of said system and wherein said diffusion duct (128) runs along a substantially vertical direction, said outlet opening (136) being defined on said lower wall. Although duct #128 is curved, it is considered to “run along a substantially vertical direction”, as the vertical extension is greater than a horizontal extension. Further the term “substantially vertical direction” is vague and open to interpretation. The Examiner interprets #128 as “running along a substantially vertical direction”.
With respect to claim 4, Saati teaches wherein the system comprises lifting means (defined by unlabeled four feet members on bottom of #110) associated with said supporting structure (106/104/110) and adapted to keep said lower wall raised above said resting surface (105).
With respect to claim 9, Saati teaches wherein said loudspeaker device (112/116) comprises at least one main loudspeaker (112) and at least one secondary loudspeaker (116) different from said main loudspeaker (112).
With respect to claim 11, Saati teaches wherein said diffusion means ((defined by housing components and #104/110 any/all components within #104/110 including speakers #112/116 and sound port #128)) comprise two of said secondary loudspeakers (116) and wherein said secondary loudspeakers (116) are associated with said protective helmet (106) where the side openings with which said protective helmet (106) is provided are located.
With respect to claim 13, Saati teaches wherein said closure body (104/110) comprises at least two side walls (defined by side portions accommodating speaker #116) arranged substantially orthogonal to said front wall (defined by a front facing wall portion of connected ones of #104) and to said lower wall (110) and wherein said secondary loudspeakers (116) are supported by said side walls (clearly seen).
With respect to claim 14, Saati teaches wherein said side walls (defined by side portions accommodating speaker #116) extend from said front wall (defined by a front facing wall portion of connected ones of #104) and are spaced apart from said lower wall (note lower wall #110 and mounted to base portions of #104, said base portions of #104 defining the “spaced apart”” configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saati (9,621,983).
With respect to claim 5, Saati teaches the system for diffusion of claim 1. Saati further teaches wherein said protective helmet (106) has a front portion (front facing portion in which facemask part is attached), intended to face a user, and a rear portion (portion opposite facemask) opposite the front portion, by the fact that said closure body (104/110) comprises a 45-degree front wall (when speaker #112/aperture 114 is arranged at a 45-degree angle relative the elevated base #110 - Col. 10, Lines 20-42) and arranged where said front portion is located, wherein said loudspeaker device comprises at least one main loudspeaker (112) associated with said 45-degree front wall, and wherein said outlet opening (136) is arranged where said front portion of said protective helmet is located.
Saati fails to explicitly teach wherein said closure body comprises a substantially vertical front wall and arranged where said front portion is located, wherein said loudspeaker device comprises at least one main loudspeaker associated with said front wall, and wherein said outlet opening is arranged where said rear portion of said protective helmet is located.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein said closure body comprises a substantially vertical front wall and arranged where said front portion is located, wherein said loudspeaker device comprises at least one main loudspeaker associated with said front wall, and wherein said outlet opening is arranged where said rear portion of said protective helmet is located, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. In this case, altering the wall forming aperture #114 which accommodates speaker #112 to a vertical wall as opposed to 45-degrees, and moving opening #136 to a rear location would merely alter a radiation direction of the speakers, which would have been well known and obvious to one of ordinary skill so as to direct sound in a particular direction, and involves routine skill.
With respect to claim 6, Saati teaches wherein said main loudspeaker (116) is a woofer.
With respect to claim 7, Saati teaches the system for diffusion of claim 1. Saati further teaches wherein said protective helmet (106) has a front portion (front facing portion in which facemask part is attached), intended to face a user, and a rear portion (portion opposite facemask) opposite the front portion, wherein said closure body (110) comprises a 45-degree front wall (when speaker #112/aperture 114 is arranged at a 45-degree angle relative the elevated base #110 - Col. 10, Lines 20-42) and arranged where said front portion is located, wherein said loudspeaker device comprises at least one main loudspeaker (112) associated with said 45-degree front wall, wherein said closure body (110) comprises at least one substantially horizontal lower wall and contiguous to said 45-degree front wall, and intended to face a resting surface (105) of said system, wherein said diffusion duct (128) runs along a substantially vertical direction, said outlet opening (136) being defined on said lower wall (110) and being arranged where said front portion of said protective helmet is located. Although duct #128 is curved, it is considered to “run along a substantially vertical direction”, as the vertical extension is greater than a horizontal extension. Further the term “substantially vertical direction” is vague and open to interpretation. The Examiner interprets #128 as “running along a substantially vertical direction”.
Saati fails to explicitly teach wherein said closure body comprises a substantially vertical front wall and arranged where said front portion is located, wherein said loudspeaker device comprises at least one main loudspeaker associated with said front wall, and wherein said outlet opening is arranged where said rear portion of said protective helmet is located.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein said closure body comprises a substantially vertical front wall and arranged where said front portion is located, wherein said loudspeaker device comprises at least one main loudspeaker associated with said front wall, and wherein said outlet opening is arranged where said rear portion of said protective helmet is located, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. In this case, altering the wall forming aperture #114 which accommodates speaker #112 to a vertical wall as opposed to 45-degrees, and moving opening #136 to a rear location would merely alter a radiation direction of the speakers, which would have been well known and obvious to one of ordinary skill so as to direct sound in a particular direction, and involves routine skill.
With respect to claim 8, Saati teaches wherein said main loudspeaker is a woofer.
With respect to claim 10, Saati teaches the system for diffusion of claim 1. Saati further teaches wherein said secondary loudspeaker (112) is a full-range speaker.
Saati fails to explicitly teach wherein said secondary loudspeaker is a tweeter.
It is noted that a tweeter speaker is a high frequcy speaker that reproduces high frequencies, while a full range speaker generally covers the full range of human hearing (20Hz-20kHz), and as Saati teaches, the full range speaker #116 covers this range (Col. 8, Lines13-15). Because changing between a full range speaker and a tweeter is effectively just changing the operating range of a speaker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein said secondary loudspeaker is a tweeter, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, altering the operating range of the speaker would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to as to acoustically tune the speaker device.
With respect to claim 12, Saati teaches the system for diffusion of claim 1. Saati further teaches wherein said main loudspeaker (112) and said secondary loudspeakers (116) are arranged at an obvious, but unspecified heigh relative to one another when speaker #112 is arranged at a 45-degree angle relative the reflecting surface #105 (Col. 10, Lines 20-42).
Saati fails to explicitly teach Saati teaches wherein said main loudspeaker and said secondary loudspeakers are arranged at the same height.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein said main loudspeaker and said secondary loudspeakers are arranged at the same height., since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. In this case, altering the height of either the speakers 116 or 112 such that they are arranged at the same height would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill so as to acoustically tune the speaker system and/or for aesthetic purposes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pertinent arts of record relating to Applicant’s disclosure are disclosed in the PTO-892.
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837