DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Moglich, US 10953529.
Applicants’ arguments, regarding the 112B rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moglich, US 10953529.
Regarding claim 1, Moglich discloses: A rotary tool (Figs. 1-6, portable milling device 100) comprising:
a housing (Figs. 1-6, housing 10) including a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and a longitudinal axis (Figs. 1-6, “AR”) extending between the first end and the second end;
a drive shaft (Figs. 1-6, spindle 20 and undisclosed shaft that transfers rotational energy from the motor to the spindle) positioned within the housing;
a bit holder (Figs. 1-6, clamping nut 40) positioned adjacent the second end of the housing and driven by the drive shaft;
a wrench assembly (Figs. 1-6, spanner 50) coaxially movable along the longitudinal axis between a first position (Fig. 3, “disengaged position”) and a second position (Fig. “engaged position”), the wrench assembly secured to the housing when in a first position, the wrench assembly engageable with the bit holder when in the second position;
a groove (Figs. 1-6, contact portion 19) positioned on one of the housing and the wrench assembly; and
a protrusion (Figs. 1-6, upper sleeve 70) positioned on the other of the housing and the wrench assembly, wherein
when the wrench assembly is in the first position (Col. 4, line 53 - Col. 6, line 14 describes the interaction of these feature sin order to meet the claim limitation), the protrusion engages the groove and retains the wrench assembly against axial movement, and
when the wrench assembly is in the second position, the protrusion is disengaged from the groove to release the wrench assembly (Col. 4, line 53 - Col. 6, line 14 describes the interaction of these features in order to meet the claim limitation), and
the wrench assembly is configured to move from the first position to the second position, without rotating, by an exerted force that overcomes the frictional engagement between the protrusion and the groove and slides the wrench assembly in an axial direction along the longitudinal axis (See Figs. 3-6, furthermore Col. 4, line 53 - Col. 6, line 14 describes the interaction of these features in order to meet the claim limitation ),.
Regarding claim 4, Moglich further discloses: while the wrench assembly is in the first position, the wrench assembly is disengaged from the bit holder (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Moglich further discloses: a locking structure (Fig. 3, lock openings 180) positioned on the drive shaft, and a lock assembly (Fig. 3, shaft lock assembly 184) engaging the locking structure to prevent rotation of the drive shaft.
Regarding claim 6, Moglich further discloses: the locking structure is movable between a first position (Fig. 3), where the lock assembly engages the locking structure to prevent rotation of the drive shaft, and a second position (Fig. 2), where the lock assembly disengages the locking structure.
Regarding claim 7, Moglich further discloses: the bit holder (Fig. 3, fastening member 172 and collet 168) includes a connection member (Fig. 3, connection member 164) connected to the drive shaft and defining a bore , a collet (Fig. 3, collet 168) positioned within the bore, and a spindle (Fig. 3, fastening member 172) threadably coupled to the connection member
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Moglich, US 10953529 in view of Puzio, (US 20220009064).
Regarding claim 2, Moglich discloses the device of claim 2.
Moglich does not explicitly disclose: a light source supported on the housing.
Puzio teaches: a light source supported on the housing (Fig. 1, [0133] - “A light ring 34 can be located on a front portion of the power tool 10 just behind the end effector 20 in a recess 36 in the clutch collar 30”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the design of Moglich with the inclusion of the light source from Puzio, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable and desirable result. The benefit of this inclusion allows for the device to light the work area, thereby increasing the productivity and safety of the operator.
Regarding claim 3, Moglich discloses the device of claim 1.
Moglich does not explicitly disclose: a light source positioned within the housing.
Puzio teaches: a light source positioned within the housing (Fig. 1, [0133] - “A light ring 34 can be located on a front portion of the power tool 10 just behind the end effector 20 in a recess 36 in the clutch collar 30”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the design of Bernardi with the inclusion of the light source from Puzio, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable and desirable result. The benefit of this inclusion allows for the device to light the work area, thereby increasing the productivity and safety of the operator.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL JEREMY LEEDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731