DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
Claim 1 and 11 are currently amended; claims 2-10 and 12-20 are original.
Claims 1-20 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, no information disclosure statement has been filed on behalf of this case.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that “…Wernberg fails to teach or suggests the multi-position ladder include a pair of inner rails slidable to a pair of outer rails…”, the Examiner asserts that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the bucket use prong selectively mateable to a bucket use prong receiver on a top cap of a multi-position ladder having a pair of inner rails slidable with a pair of outer rails which is not a required structure of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The recitation of claim 1 wherein “…a pair of inner rails…” recited in line 10 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how many inner rails are being claimed. In other words, it is unclear whether the pair of inner rails include “an inner rail” recited in line 6 or the pair of inner rails are required in addition to the inner rail recited in line 6.
Dependent claims 2-10 are rejected based on their respective dependencies.
Appropriate correction/explanation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wernberg (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20210246725 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Wernberg teaches a top cap bucket (200) comprising:
a bucket interior volume (interior volume defined by 220, 230 and 240) defined by a front wall, a rear wall, a right side wall, a left side wall, and a bottom;
a bucket use prong (250) selectively mateable to a bucket use prong receiver (155) on a top cap of a multi-position ladder having a pair of inner rails slidable with a pair of outer rails [capable depending on the structure of the multi-position ladder and rails];
a bucket storage clip [0050; lines 17-18] selectively mateable to a bucket storage clip receiver on one of the pair of inner rails of the multi-position ladder [capable/intended use];
a bucket rear support (W1 see annotated figure below) configured to be parallel to and contact a top cap front wall; and a bucket width and a bucket depth (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 15 for configuration).
Regarding claim 12, Wernberg teaches a bucket storage clip tab (tab defined by 260) configured to contact a bucket storage clip receiver rear surface on an inner rail of the multi-position ladder [capable/intended use].
Regarding claim 13, Wernberg teaches a bucket side handle orifice (260) in each of the right side wall and left side wall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wernberg (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20210246725 A1).
Regarding claims 14-15, Wernberg teaches each of the right side wall and left side wall further comprises a lip (outer periphery of 200). Wernberg suggests ribs [0049; lines 8-11]. However, does not explicitly disclose the orifice ribs located between the handle orifice and lip.
The Examiner notes that as recited in [0049; lines 8-11]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Wernberg having orifice ribs and lip ribs as claimed in claims 14 and 15. The motivation would have been to provide appropriate strength to the structural elements of the bucket.
Regarding claim 16, Wernberg teaches the top cap bucket. However, Wernberg is silent to disclose the material of the top cap bucket. The Examiner takes the official notice that providing the bucket comprised of injection molded polypropylene is old and well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the top cap bucket of Wernberg comprise of injection molded polypropylene. The motivation would have been to make the product cost effective and as well as to make the product durable.
Regarding claim 17, Wernberg teaches a bucket front handle (handle defined by W2 and 220).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
Claims 1-10 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631