DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 23, 26, 27, 28 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 23 the phrase “the conveyor and the machine path formed between the two containment beds” appears to be missing a connecting word between “path” and “formed”, such as –is—or –being—. Amending the claim to include –is—,–being—, or a similar word or phrase between “path” and “formed” would overcome this objection.
Regarding claims 26 & 27 the phrase “the controller configured to” appears to be missing a connecting word between “controller” and “configured”, such as –is—or –being—. Amending the claim to include –is—,–being—, or a similar word or phrase between “controller” and “configured” would overcome this objection.
Regarding claim 28 the phrase “the cart movable adjacent” appears to be missing a connecting word between “cart” and “movable”, such as –is—or –being—. Amending the claim to include –is—,–being—, or a similar word or phrase between “cart” and “movable” would overcome this objection.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19 the phrase “the track disposed above the conveyor” is unclear. It appears as though there should be a word or phrase between “track” and “disposed” to add clarity, such as –is–, –is not–, or similar. Amending the claim to positively recite how the track is disposed relative to the conveyor would overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, 11, & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Delmonico et al. (US 8468948 B2, herein after referred to as Delmonico).
Regarding claim 1 Delmonico teaches a tie plate distribution system, comprising: a vehicle (FIG. 1A & 1B: 12) comprising a motion mechanism (FIG. 1B: depicted) and a floor (FIG. 1A: depicted); a movable arm positioned on the vehicle (FIG. 1A: 120), wherein the movable arm has a plurality of degrees of freedom (FIG. 1A: depicted with plurality of joints each offering at least one degree of freedom) and has a retaining mechanism at an end of the movable arm (FIG. 1A: 102); a vision sensor positioned on the vehicle or the movable arm (column 8, lines 9-27, “In at least one embodiment, the one or more sensors may comprise a vision sensor adapted to receive visual data on the tie plates 14 and transmit such data to a processor (not shown). For example, in at least one embodiment, the vision sensor receives and transmits a visual display of the spatial orientation of the tie plate 14 relative to a cross-tie 16 or other targeted surface such that the processor can appropriately control the robotic lifting arm 120 and automatically remove or place the tie plate 14 on the cross-tie 16.”); wherein: the vehicle is configured to move along a path comprising multiple ties (FIG. 1A & 1B: 16); the vision sensor is configured to detect a target tie plate along the path and an empty tie of the multiple ties, the empty tie missing at least one tie plate thereon; and the movable arm is configured to: lift the target tie plate; and place the target tie plate in association with the empty tie (column 8, lines 9-27).
Regarding claim 2 Delmonico teaches that the retaining mechanism comprises one of a magnet, an electromagnet, a permanent magnet, or a combination thereof (FIG. 3: 108, column 9, line 41)).
Regarding claim 3 Delmonico teaches that the retaining mechanism is an impactive end effector, an ingressive end effector, an astrictive end effector, or a contigutive end effector (electromagnet 108 is astrictive).
Regarding claim 4 Delmonico teaches that the movable arm further comprises a base (FIG. 1A: below 132), a shoulder joint (FIG. 1A: 133), an elbow (FIG. 1A: 122), and a wrist joint (FIG. 1A: 124), wherein: the base is mechanically coupled to the floor of the vehicle at a bottom part of the base and is pivotally coupled to a first end of the elbow with the shoulder joint at a top part of the base, and a second end of the elbow is pivotally coupled to the retaining mechanism with the wrist joint (FIG. 1A: depicted).
Regarding claim 5 Delmonico teaches that the motion mechanism comprising a selection of rubber wheels, rail wheels, continuous tracks, or a combination thereof, wherein the vehicle is operable to move along the path adjacent to a rail or move on the rail along the path (FIG. 1B: depicted with rubber wheels and operable as claimed).
Regarding claim 6 Delmonico teaches that the vision sensor is one or more of a proximity sensor, a camera, a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor, a thermal image sensor, an infrared sensor, or an ultrasonic sensor (column 3, lines 17-35; the sensor is a camera).
Regarding claim 10 Delmonico teaches that the vehicle further comprises a flipping station, wherein the movable arm is capable of placing the target tie plate in the flipping station to adjust an orientation of the target tie plate to align with a designated installation position of the target tie plate on the empty tie (FIG. 1A: flat open area on top of 12 is suitable for this purpose).
Regarding claim 11 Delmonico teaches a method for tie plate distribution, comprising: detecting, using a vision sensor (column 8, lines 9-27, “In at least one embodiment, the one or more sensors may comprise a vision sensor adapted to receive visual data on the tie plates 14 and transmit such data to a processor (not shown). For example, in at least one embodiment, the vision sensor receives and transmits a visual display of the spatial orientation of the tie plate 14 relative to a cross-tie 16 or other targeted surface such that the processor can appropriately control the robotic lifting arm 120 and automatically remove or place the tie plate 14 on the cross-tie 16.”) associated with a vehicle or a movable arm (FIG. 1A: vehicle 12, arm 120), a target tie plate (FIG. 1A: 14), wherein the vehicle or the movable arm is operable to move along a path comprising multiple ties and one or more rails (FIG. 1A: path 10, ties 16, rail unlabeled but depicted); lifting, using the movable arm, the target tie plate; detecting, using the vision sensor, an empty tie of the multiple ties, missing at least one the target tie plate; and placing, using the movable arm, the target tie plate onto or in proximity to the empty tie (column 8, lines 9-27).
Regarding claim 16 Delmonico teaches that the target tie plate is disposed between a tie of the multiple ties (FIG. 1A: depicted with multiple ties on either side) and a replacement rail (FIG. 1A: rail depicted, rail may have been replaced and thus be a replacement rail under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9, 12-14, 17-27, 29, & 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delmonico et al. (US 8468948 B2, herein after referred to as Delmonico) in view of Coots et al. (US 20240367951 A1, herein after referred to as Coots).
Regarding claim 7 Delmonico does not explicitly teach that the vehicle further comprises a container configured to store one or more tie plates. However, Coots does teach a tie plate storage container (FIG. 11: 350 stores tie plates 16). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively included the tie plate storage area of Coots with the vehicle of Delmonico for storing and supplying either or both of replacement and replaced tie plates, thereby increasing work speed.
Regarding claim 8 Delmonico as modified above teaches that the movable arm is configured to place a stored tie plate from the container on the empty tie or deposit the target tie plate into the container (result of the combination; the arm of Delmonico is long and well articulated and the storage container of Coots is easy to access).
Regarding claim 9 Delmonico as modified above teaches that the movable arm is configured to transfer the one or more tie plates from a stationary position along the path to the container (result of the above combination).
Regarding claim 12 Delmonico teaches that the target tie plate is disposed along the path (FIG. 1A: depicted) but does not teach that the method further comprises: after lifting the target tie plate and before placing the target tie plate onto or in proximity to the empty tie, placing, using the movable arm, the target tie plate in a container of the vehicle, wherein placing the target tie plate further comprises placing the target tie plate from the container onto or in proximity to the empty tie.
However, Coots does teach the use of a vehicle container for tie plates (FIG. 11: 350). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively included the container for tie plates of Coots with the method of Delmonico in order to store new and used tie plates and increase working speed and efficiency. The remaining limitations of the claim are taught as a result of this combination.
Regarding claim 13 Delmonico does not teach that the target tie plate is disposed in a container of the vehicle.
However, Coots does teach the use of a vehicle container for tie plates (FIG. 11: 350). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively included the container for tie plates of Coots with the method of Delmonico in order to store new and used tie plates and increase working speed and efficiency.
Regarding claim 14 Delmonico teaches that the target tie plate is disposed in a stationary position (on the track), the stationary position comprising one or more tie plates (many tie plates on the track), and the method further comprises: determining, using the vision sensor, that the stationary position is within reach of the movable arm (column 8); and in response to determining that the stationary position is within the reach of the movable arm (column 8), but does not teach transferring, using the movable arm, the one or more tie plates from the stationary position to a container of the vehicle.
However, Coots does teach the use of a vehicle container for tie plates (FIG. 11: 350). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively included the container for tie plates of Coots with the method of Delmonico in order to store new and used tie plates and increase working speed and efficiency.
Regarding claim 17 Delmonico teaches a tie plate distribution system, comprising: a vehicle (FIG. 1A: 12) having rail wheels (FIG. 1B: wheels depicted, wheels are suitable to go over rails and thus are rail wheels under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitation); a machine path extending longitudinally on the vehicle (FIG. 1A: depicted going down the track); a movable arm disposed on the machine path (FIG. 1A: depicted), the movable arm movable along the machine path (movable using the wheels); said movable arm having a plurality of degrees of freedom (FIG. 1A: plurality of joints allow a plurality of degrees of freedom) and having a retaining mechanism at an end of the movable arm (FIG. 1A: 102); and wherein the movable arm is capable of moving along the machine path and obtaining a tie plate (moves with the rest of the vehicle, capable of obtaining tie plate with 102), and wherein the movable arm is configured to retain the tie plate and deposit the tie plate (allowed for by the structure of the arm, length, articulation, engaging unit, etc.), but does not teach one or more containment beds capable of containing a plurality of tie plates, and the machine path adjacent to the one or more containment beds, a conveyor extending along the vehicle and within a reach of the movable arm, or that it deposits the tie plate on the conveyor.
However, Coots does teach one or more containment beds capable of containing a plurality of tie plates (FIG. 11: 350), and the machine path adjacent to the one or more containment beds (FIG. 11: depicted), a conveyor extending along the vehicle (FIG. 11: 370). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively included the containment bed and conveyor of Coots with the system of Delmonico in order to provide a constant supply of tie plates and place to put tie plates to increase working speed. As a result of the combination, the conveyor would be within a reach of the movable arm, and the arm would be configured to deposit the tie plate(s) on the conveyor.
Alternatively, should it be reasoned that the wheels of Delmonico are not rail wheels, official notice is taken that wheels designed specifically and exclusively for use on rails are commonly known in the art. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively used rail specific wheels with the vehicle of Delmonico in order to reduce rolling resistance while working on rail systems and tie plates, thus increasing efficiency and reducing operating costs.
Regarding claim 18 Delmonico as modified above teaches that the machine path defined by a track (Delmonico, FIG. 1A: track depicted).
Regarding claim 19 Delmonico as modified above teaches that the track disposed above the conveyor (there is a conveyor and a track, it is unclear what the relationship between them being claimed is).
Regarding claim 20 Delmonico as modified above teaches a cart that is capable of moving along the machine path, the movable arm disposed in the cart (Delmonico, FIG. 1A: 12).
Regarding claim 21 Delmonico as modified above teaches the conveyor comprising one or more belt conveyors, one or more roller conveyors, or a combination thereof (Coots, paragraph 63).
Regarding claim 22 Delmonico as modified above teaches the one or more containment beds being two containment beds (Coots, FIG. 11: left and right side beds).
Regarding claim 23 Delmonico as modified above teaches that the conveyor and the machine path are formed between the two containment beds (Coots, FIG. 11: depicted).
Regarding claim 24 Delmonico as modified above teaches a vision system (Delmonico, column 8, lines 9-27).
Regarding claim 25 Delmonico as modified above teaches a controller configured to receive input from the vision system (Delmonico, FIG. 1A: 140).
Regarding claim 26 Delmonico as modified above teaches that the controller is configured to provide an output to trigger movement of the movable arm to obtain the tie plate (Delmonico, column 7, lines 22-35).
Regarding claim 27 Delmonico as modified above teaches that the controller configured to cause a cart associated with the movable arm to move along the machine path (Delmonico, column 8, lines 28-46).
Regarding claim 29 Delmonico as modified above teaches that the vehicle being a railcar or a rail-truck (it is a truck that goes on a rail track).
Regarding claim 30 Delmonico as modified above teaches that the conveyor having a first part and a second part, the movable arm being configured to obtain the tie plate from the first part and place the tie plate on the second part (first part being any part, the second part being any other part, the arm is configured to allow for this).
Alternatively, should it be reasoned that Delmonico as modified above does not teach the conveyor having two parts and the movable arm being configured as claimed, Coots does also teach the use of a first part to obtain tie plates from and a second part to deposit tie plates on (paragraph 51). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the two part configuration of Coots with the system of Delmonico as modified above in order to efficiently organize the tie plates and thus increase working speed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 15 & 28 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15 no prior art made of record teaches a method comprising placing, using the movable arm, the target tie plate in a flipping station of the vehicle after determining that an orientation of the target tie plate misaligns with a designated installation position of the target tie plate on the empty tie; and adjusting, using the movable arm, the orientation of the target tie plate to align with the designated installation position of the target tie plate on the empty tie in the flipping station.
Regarding claim 28 no prior art made of record teaches a system comprising the cart being movable adjacent to the one or more containment beds.
A combination of these limitations and the other recited features was not reasonably found in the prior art.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not replied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references noted on the attached PTO 892 teach tie plate machines of interest.
/MAXWELL L MESHAKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615