DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes: currently, NO limitation invokes interpretation under § 112(f).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 42, 52, 62 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 8535241. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 42, 52, 62 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 4 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11660030. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 42, 52, 62 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 3, 9, 16 of U.S. Patent No. 9060725. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 42, 52, 62 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 2, 3, 10, 18 of U.S. Patent No. 10265007. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 42, 52, 62 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 10, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12471815. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 42, 52, 62 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 8 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 9022951. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 42, 52, 62 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 2, 9, 17, 25 of U.S. Patent No. 12551150. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 42, 52, 62 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 9, 16, 23 of U.S. Patent No. 10251590. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 42, 52, 62 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 20 of U.S. Patent No. 9060724. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 42, 52, 62 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 2, 7, 13, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12193816. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 42, 52, 62 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 9, 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10433779. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 42, 52, 62 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12478301. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 42, 52, 62 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12290363. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims may be addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 42-71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cinqualbre (US 3848581 A).
For claim(s) 42, 51, 52, Cinqualbre teaches
An apparatus, [entire disclosure – see esp. Fig(s). 6-8] comprising:
a housing [1] including an inlet configured to be placed in fluid communication with a patient,
an outlet [20] configured to be placed in fluid communication with at least one sample reservoir, [5]
and a pre-sample reservoir configured to contain blood from the patient; [first of test tubes 5 can serve as a pre-sample reservoir]
a seal member [5] defining a portion of the pre-sample reservoir;
and a movable member [24a] disposed in an inner volume of the housing,
the seal member and the movable member in a first configuration configured to facilitate formation of a first negative pressure differential across a first portion of the inner volume of the housing between the inlet and the outlet to draw a pre-sample volume of blood from the inlet into the pre-sample reservoir, [via plunger 25 (plungers use a negative pressure to draw liquid) as in col. 4 l. 30 – col. 5 l. 40]
the seal member and the movable member configured to transition to a second configuration to facilitate formation of a second negative pressure differential across a second portion of the inner volume of the housing between the inlet and the outlet to draw a sample volume of blood from the inlet, past the pre-sample reservoir, and into the at least one sample reservoir. [via plunger 25 (plungers use a negative pressure to draw liquid) as in col. 4 l. 30 – col. 5 l. 40]
For claim(s) 43, 53, 63, Cinqualbre teaches
wherein the pre-sample volume of blood flows from the inlet toward the seal member. [Fig(s). 6 in col. 5]
For claim(s) 44, 54, 64, Cinqualbre teaches
wherein the movable member prevents blood from flowing from the inlet to the outlet until the pre-sample volume of blood is contained in the pre-sample reservoir. [Fig(s). 6 in col. 5]
For claim(s) 45, 55, 65, Cinqualbre teaches
wherein the pre-sample volume of blood in the pre-sample reservoir includes dermally-residing contaminants and the sample volume of blood transferred to the at least one sample reservoir is mostly free from dermally-residing contaminants. [first of test tubes 5 which are filled in sequence as in cols. 4-5 would then achieve the claimed contaminant separation for the subsequent test tubes]
For claim(s) 46, Cinqualbre teaches
wherein the movable member is configured to form a portion of a fluid flow path separate from the pre-sample reservoir such that the sample volume of blood bypasses the pre-sample reservoir containing the pre-sample volume of blood therein. [second of test tubes 5 in sequence can then serve as a pre-sample reservoir in an intended use]
For claim(s) 56, 66, Cinqualbre teaches
wherein the pre-sample reservoir is defined at least in part by the seal member and inner walls of the housing. [Fig(s). 6-8]
For claim(s) 57, 67, Cinqualbre teaches
wherein the pre-sample volume of blood is a predetermined volume, [test tubes 5 are fixed volume]
the pre-sample reservoir is configured to have an inner volume corresponding to the predetermined volume. [Fig(s). 1 Fig(s). 6]
For claim(s) 47, 58, 68, Cinqualbre teaches
wherein the pre-sample volume of blood flows on a first side of the seal member, the sample volume of blood flows on a second side of the seal member. [once sealing ribs on plunger in Fig(s). 8 are moved from their initial positions, the blood flows on both sides of initial positions of sealing ribs]
For claim(s) 59, 69, Cinqualbre teaches
wherein the movable member moves substantially perpendicular to the inlet and the outlet. [there is at least some material span of the plunger of Fig(s). 8 which can be said, under BRI, to move perpendicular to at least some dimension of the inlet and outlets of the device]
For claim(s) 49, 60, 70, Cinqualbre teaches
wherein the pre-sample reservoir is defined between the seal member and a portion of the movable member. [test tubes 5 have longitudinal axes that are between select of ribs and a portion of the plunger shaft]
For claim(s) 50, 61, 71, Cinqualbre teaches
wherein the seal member contacts an inner wall of the housing and prevents blood from flowing from the inlet to the outlet before the seal member is in the second configuration. [per cols. 4-5]
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791