DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-20 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 11/24/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rinaldi (U.S. Pat. No. 2964280).
Regarding claim 1, Rinaldi teaches an apparatus for mounting a curtain rod, the apparatus comprising:
a rod holder (Rinaldi; 11) including a receptacle (Rinaldi; receptacle defined by 22) for receiving a rod;
a base portion (Rinaldi; 25) of the rod holder for being positioned against a surface [capable], the base portion configured to extend in a first direction along the surface;
an arm portion (Rinaldi; 21) of the rod holder extending away from the base portion in a second direction transverse to the first direction, the arm portion having an upper surface and a lower surface;
a mount (Rinaldi; 13) configured to be connected to the rod holder, the mount including at least one opening (Rinaldi; 14) configured to receive at least one fastener for securing the mount and rod holder connected thereto to the surface; and
a support (Rinaldi; 12) of the mount configured to contact the lower surface of the arm portion of the rod holder spaced from the base portion and resist downward deflection of the arm portion with the rod received in the receptacle (Rinaldi; see Figs. 1-4 for configuration).
Regarding claim 2, Rinaldi teaches at least one opening (Rinaldi; opening receiving 15) of the mount is level with or above the upper surface of the arm portion of the rod holder.
Regarding claim 3, Rinaldi teaches the arm portion (Rinaldi; 21) includes lateral side surfaces (Rinaldi; side surfaces of 21) extending intermediate the upper and lower surfaces thereof; and
wherein the at least one opening (Rinaldi; 14) of the mount includes at least two openings laterally outward from the lateral side surfaces of the arm portion of the rod holder.
Regarding claim 4, Rinaldi teaches the mount includes at least two tabs (Rinaldi; tabs having 14) extending away from the mount [e.g. in opposing direction] and each of the at least two tabs defining at least one of the at least two openings (Rinaldi; 14).
Regarding claim 5, Rinaldi teaches the rod holder (Rinaldi; 11) and the mount (Rinaldi; 13) are separate components.
Regarding claim 7, Rinaldi teaches a bracket comprising: a base (Rinaldi; 10) defining at least two mounting holes (Rinaldi; 14) that receive fasteners for mounting the bracket to a structure;
an arm (Rinaldi; 21) extending from the base and having a top, a bottom and a maximum width at the interconnection with the base;
the at least two mounting holes being spaced from another by a distance greater than the maximum width of the arm so that one of the at least two mounting holes is outside the arm on one side of the arm and one of the at least two mounting holes is outside the arm on the other side of the arm; and
at least a portion of the at least two mounting holes being located above the top of the arm.
Regarding claim 8, Rinaldi teaches the base (Rinaldi; 10) includes at least two tabs (Rinaldi; tab portion having 14) extending away from the base and each of the at least two tabs defining at least one of the at least two mounting holes.
Regarding claim 9, Rinaldi teaches the predetermined width of the arm (Rinaldi; 21) extends in a horizontal direction and the base includes an extension that engages the bottom of the arm.
Regarding claim 10, Rinaldi teaches the predetermined width of the arm extends in a vertical direction (Rinaldi; width at 22).
Regarding claim 11, Rinaldi teaches the arm includes an angled portion (Rinaldi; 25) extending from the base (Rinaldi; 10).
Regarding claim 12, Rinaldi teaches the base (Rinaldi; 10) and arm (Rinaldi; 21) are separate components.
Regarding claim 13, Rinaldi teaches a first cradle (Rinaldi; cradle defined by 22) for supporting a rod (Rinaldi; 27) at an end of arm distal from the base.
Regarding claim 17, Rinaldi teaches the base (Rinaldi; 10) includes a T-shaped portion spacing the at least two mounting holes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinaldi (U.S. Pat. No. 2964280).
Regarding claim 15, Rinaldi teaches the arm includes a distal portion and a proximal portion. However, Rinaldi is silent to disclose the distal portion and a proximal portion of the term being adjustable. The Examiner notes that providing the arm the distal portion and the proximal portion that are adjustable relative to one another to adjust a length of the arm is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art see e.g. MPEP 2144.04. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Rinaldi having the adjustable distal and proximal portions of the arm. The motivation would have been to increase the adjustability of the rod holder.
Regarding claim 16, Rinaldi teaches the base.
However, Rinaldi does not explicitly teach the base includes a Y-shaped portion spacing the at least two mounting holes.
The Examiner notes that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the base having the Y-shaped portion spacing the at least two mounting holes. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. The motivation would have been to make the invention of Rinaldi cost effective while providing the appropriate strength. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Rinaldi as specified in claim 16.
Claims 6, 14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinaldi (U.S. Pat. No. 2964280) in view of Reubel (U.S. Pat. No. 388151).
Regarding claim 6, Rinaldi teaches the receptacle. However, Rinaldi is silent to disclose the receptacle includes a fitting. Reubel teaches the receptacle includes a fitting (Reubel; R1 see annotated figure below) for supporting a rod, the fitting includes ends spaced apart less than a diameter of a rod for maintaining a rod in the receptacle.
Rinaldi and Reubel are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Rinaldi having the a fitting that includes ends spaced apparat less than a diameter of a rod for maintaining a rod in the receptacle. The motivation would have been to provide appropriate grip during the retention.
Regarding claim 14, Rinaldi as modified teaches the first cradle includes a fitting (Rinaldi; R1) for supporting a rod and the fitting includes ends spaced apart less than a diameter of a rod for maintaining a rod in the first cradle.
Regarding claim 18, Rinaldi teaches an apparatus for mounting a curtain rod, the apparatus comprising:
a base (Rinaldi; 10) for being positioned against a surface;
a receptacle (Rinaldi; 21) for receiving a curtain rod (Rinaldi; 27);
an arm (Rinaldi; 21) connecting the base and the receptacle;
a mounting portion (Rinaldi; 13) of the base having at least one opening (Rinaldi; 14) level with or above the arm, the at least one opening configured to receive at least one fastener (15) extending through the at least one opening normal to the surface to mount the base to the surface;
a lower portion (Rinaldi; lower portion of 13) of the base configured to press against the surface with the curtain rod in the receptacle.
However, Rinaldi is silent to disclose a spacer portion.
Reubel teaches a spacer portion (Reubel; A) of the base vertically separating the mounting portion and the lower portion to create a moment arm for the reaction force from the at least one fastener to counteract the moment created by the curtain rod in the receptacle.
Rinaldi and Reubel are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Rinaldi having the spacer portion. The motivation would have been to provide appropriate grip during the retention.
Regarding claim 19, Rinaldi teaches the arm (Rinaldi; 21) includes an upper surface, a lower surface, and lateral side surfaces extending between the upper and lower surfaces; and
wherein the at least one opening (Rinaldi; 14) of the mounting portion includes a pair of openings laterally outward from the lateral side surfaces of the arm.
Regarding claim 20, Rinaldi teaches the lower portion (lower portion of 13 near annotation 18) of the base extends below the arm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631