DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim needs to end with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-19 and 21-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The “reveal” is unclear as it appears to be the same as the recess in both the figures and the specification.
Claims 17-19 and 21-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The “reveal” is unclear as it appears to be the same as the recess in both the figures and the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-19, 21-31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shetler et al. (US 6,752,299).
Regarding claim 17, Shetler discloses a carrying device for a tool, comprising: a base part (32); a receiving device (22) with a receiving space for receiving the tool; a retaining device (Fig. 10, central portion) that rotatably mounts and fastens the receiving device to the base part, wherein the retaining device includes a first retaining element (58) associated with the receiving device, and a second retaining element (at 72) associated with the base part; and, a latch device (Figs. 5 and 10) including a first latch (60 or 81) associated with the receiving device, and a second latch (70 or 83) associated with the base part so as to lock the receiving device in different positions relative to the base part, wherein one of the first retaining element and the second retaining element is a circular recess (Figs. 5 and 10), and the other of the first retaining element and the second retaining element is at least two hook protrusions (81, 83) that engage through the recess and engage behind an edge surface of the recess, wherein the at least two hook protrusions each have a bearing surface, wherein an entirety of the bearing surfaces of the hook protrusions cooperate with a reveal (inner portions of 72) of the recess to form an axis of rotation for rotatably mounting the receiving device on the base part. See Figs. 1-10.
Regarding claim 18, the first retaining element and the second retaining element are configured as a clip device that is engageable in a releasable manner. See Figs. 1-10.
Regarding claim 19, the two hook protrusions (81, 83) are movable radially inwards out of engagement counter to an elastic restoring force so that the receiving device is detachable from the base part. See Fig. 10.
Regarding claim 21, the base part is plate-shaped. See Figs. 1-5.
Regarding claim 22, each of the hook protrusions is mounted on at least one spring arm. The insertion and snap engagement nature of the protrusions are made possible via an arm that springs the protrusions.
Regarding claim 23, the latch device is a snap-in device. See col. 8, ll. 36-41.
Regarding claim 24, the first latch or the second latch is formed by interacting toothings. See Figs. 1-10.
Regarding claim 25, the first latch or the second latch is formed on an elastic arm. See Fig. 10.
Regarding claim 26, the retaining device includes a closing part (30 or 50) that is at least partially detachably fastened to the base part. See Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 27, the closing part is a hinge part that forms a joint with the base part. See Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 28, a closing device (44) that fastens the closing part to the base part. See Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 29, the closing device is formed on an end region of the closing part opposite the joint. See Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 30, the closing device includes a closing protrusion and a closing recess, wherein the closing protrusion is associated with one of the closing part and the base part and the closing recess is associated with the other of the closing part and the base part. See Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 31, the receiving device has a wall area that forms a guide surface on which the tool is guided into the receiving space. See Figs. 1-3.
Regarding claim 33, Shetler discloses a carrying device for a tool, comprising: a base part (32); a receiving device (22) with a receiving space for receiving the tool; a retaining device (Fig. 10, central portion) that rotatably mounts and fastens the receiving device to the base part, wherein the retaining device includes a first retaining element (58) associated with the receiving device, and a second retaining element (at 72) associated with the base part; and, a latch device (Figs. 5 and 10) including a first latch (60 and 81) associated with the receiving device, and a second latch (70 or 83) associated with the base part so as to lock the receiving device in different positions relative to the base part, wherein one of the first retaining element and the second retaining element is a circular recess, and the other of the first retaining element and the second retaining element is at least two hook protrusions (81 and 83) that engage through the recess and engage behind an edge surface of the recess, wherein the at least two hook protrusions each have a bearing surface, wherein an entirety of the bearing surfaces of the hook protrusions cooperate with a reveal (inner portions of 72) of the recess to form an axis of rotation for rotatably mounting the receiving device on the base part, wherein each hook protrusion is mounted on at least one spring arm (base of 81 and 83). See Figs. 1-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shetler as applied above in further view of Schuda (US 12,416,471).
Regarding claim 32, Shetler does not disclose a knife. Schuda, which is drawn to carrying device, discloses a tool that is a knife or comprises a knife. See col. 4, ll. 15-16. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have the tool of Shetler be knife, as disclosed Schuda, in order to house and transport a knife.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Shetler does not disclose the latest amendments. The Office respectfully disagrees. Particularly, it is the Office’s position that Shetler discloses the “two hook protrusions” as claimed. See above rejection. The Office agrees that the hook protrusions of Shetler are part of element (58); however, there is nothing in the claims that prohibits a “separate connector pin” as argued by applicant. The claims simply state that the first retaining element (with the hook protrusions) be associated with the receiving device. See cl. 17 and 33. As such, Shetler discloses the first retaining element (58) associated with the receiving device (22); and two hook protrusions (81, 83) of the first retaining element engage behind an edge surface of the recess. Applicant is advised to further clarify the invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734