DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsutomu (Document Identification No. JP 2004188297 A).
Tsutomu discloses a light source with a catalyst comprising (Figures 1-4):
A catalyst film (4) that includes an activation surface (outer layer surface of numeral 4; paragraphs 33 & 34); and
a light source (2) that is disposed closer to a principal surface (inner layer surface of numeral 4; paragraphs 33 & 34) of the catalyst film (4) than to the activation surface (outer layer surface of numeral 4) in a thickness direction of the catalyst film (4), and emits ultraviolet light toward the catalyst film (paragraph 28), the principal surface (inner layer surface of numeral 4) being on an opposite side of the catalyst film with respect to the activation surface (outer layer surface of numeral 4); wherein
The catalyst film includes a surface layer including the activation surface (outer layer surface of numeral 4) and an absorption layer including the principal surface (inner layer surface of numeral 4); and
The absorption layer contains an ultraviolet-light absorbing particle that absorbs a portion of the ultraviolet light (paragraphs 16, 33, 34 & 37). Note that Tsutomu specifically discloses in paragraphs 33 and 34 that the catalyst film (4) is “configured by sequentially stacking a mixed layer of titanium oxide and silicon oxide, and a silicon oxide layer on titanium oxide”, and that “it is important to stack a mixed layer on the titanium oxide layer, and the mixed layer contains a titanium oxide and silicon oxide in a coexisting state”; thus providing a disclosure of two layers stacked upon one another in which each have the titanium oxide absorbing particle, wherein the outer layer is an activation layer by both light L1 & L2. Thus, Tsutomu meets the limitations of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutomu (Document Identification No. JP 2004188297 A) in view of Shatalov et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0368215).
Tsutomu discloses an apparatus that includes a light source with a catalyst comprising (Figures 1-4):
A catalyst film (4) that includes an activation surface in contact with a space (outer layer surface of numeral 4; paragraphs 33 & 34); and
a light source (2) that is disposed closer to a principal surface (inner layer surface of numeral 4; paragraphs 33 & 34) of the catalyst film (4) than to the activation surface (outer layer surface of numeral 4) in a thickness direction of the catalyst film (4), and emits ultraviolet light toward the catalyst film (paragraph 28), the principal surface (inner layer surface of numeral 4) being on an opposite side of the catalyst film with respect to the activation surface (outer layer surface of numeral 4); wherein
The catalyst film includes a surface layer including the activation surface (outer layer surface of numeral 4) and an absorption layer including the principal surface (inner layer surface of numeral 4); and
The absorption layer contains an ultraviolet-light absorbing particle that absorbs a portion of the ultraviolet light (paragraphs 16, 33, 34 & 37).
Tsutomu does not appear to disclose that the apparatus is part of a food processing apparatus that includes a container with a space for accommodating a food item however. However, providing an apparatus with an ultraviolet light source and a catalyst film as a part of a food processing apparatus that includes a container with a space for accommodating a food item is generally well known in the art. One such example is provided by Shatalov that discloses an apparatus with an ultraviolet light source (5012A & 5012B) and a catalyst film (paragraph 150) that is provided as a part of a food processing apparatus, which includes a container with a space for accommodating a food item (paragraphs 7, 8, 12, 72 & 74; Figures 16, 17 and 30-32). Because both Shatalov and Tsutomu discloses the use of ultraviolet light sources with catalyst films that are provided in order to deodorize and decompose offensive smells within an environment (See paragraphs 75, 80 & 150 of Shatalov; and paragraphs 9 & 37 of Tsutomu); then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the apparatus of Tsutomu in a food processing apparatus that includes a container with a space for accommodating a food item in order to effectively and predictably deodorize and decompose offensive smells within an environment of said food processing apparatus as exemplified by Shatalov; especially because Tsutomu discloses that the apparatus takes advantage of utilizing both the ultraviolet light source provided therein, and natural visible light from the environment to further in the aid in eliminating said offensive smells (paragraphs 13-15).
As such, claim 1 is not patentable over Tsutomu in view of Shatalov.
Concerning claims 3 & 4, Tsutomu continues to disclose that the absorption layer includes titanium dioxide (paragraphs 3, 33 & 34).
With respect to claims 5 & 6, Tsutomu also discloses that the surface layer includes titanium dioxide (paragraphs 3, 33 & 34).
Regarding claims 7 & 8, Tsutomu further discloses that the apparatus includes a support member (3 and/or 6) that is in contact with the catalyst film (4) at the principal surface (inner layer surface of numeral 4), and supports the catalyst film (4); wherein
Said support member (3 and/or 6) includes a hollow inside, and is in contact with the catalyst film (4) at an outside of the support member (3 and/or 6), and the light source (2) is disposed in the hollow (paragraphs 32 and 35-37; Figures 1-4).
Concerning claim 9, Tsutomu discloses that the support member includes glass (paragraphs 23 & 29).
Regarding claims 2 & 10, it is first noted that the absorptance of the UV light by the catalyst film is in direct correlation to the thickness of said catalyst film because a thicker catalyst film layer will absorb more UV light, while a thinner catalyst film layer will absorb less UV light. As such, while Tsutomu does not appear to disclose the thickness of the catalyst film is between 2.5-18.2 µm, the reference of Tsutomu does recognize that said thickness is a result effective variable (paragraphs 9, 30 & 37). In as much, the Courts have held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456,105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Thus, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the thickness of the catalyst film to be between 2.5-18.2 µm with an absorptance percentage of the UV light to be at least 50% in order to create the optimal amount of hydroxyl radicals (paragraph 37 of Tsutomu) to effectively rid the associated environment from the unpleasing smells for a given application; as such is considered a result effective variable that would be optimized during routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill. Only the expected results would be attained.
Therefore, claims 2 & 10 are not patentable over Tsutomu, and rejected over Tsutomu in view of Shatalov as well.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 12 and 14-19 of copending Application No. 18/311,033 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the instant claims are met by the claims of the reference application. More specifically, each disclose a food processing apparatus that comprises a container that includes a space for accommodating a food item, a catalyst film that includes an activation surface in contact with the space, and a light source that is disposed closer to a principal surface of the catalyst film than to the activation surface in a thickness direction of the catalyst film. Each further claim that the light source emits ultraviolet light toward the catalyst film, and that the principal surface is on an opposite side of the catalyst film with respect to the activation surface. Still further, each claim that the catalyst film includes a surface layer including the activation surface and an absorption layer including the principal surface, wherein the absorption layer contains an ultraviolet-light absorbing particle that absorbs a portion of the ultraviolet light (See claim 1 of the reference application). As such, the obviousness type double patenting rejection exists.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799