DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell et al, US Pub. 2011/0284637, in view of Artsyukovitch et al, EP 1787606, both cited by the applicant.
Powell et al disclose graphical code readers that are configured for glare reduction comprising: capturing images 116 may also be provided to a glare detector; checking for external light interference within a barcode area of the
be configured to analyze the captured images 116 to determine whether glare is present; if the external light interference is not detected or not likely to be present within the barcode area, attempting to decode a barcode within the barcode area, or the decoder 118 may process the captured images 116 in order to attempt to decode the graphical code (par. 0030); if the external light interference is detected within the barcode area, generating a first advisory notice
Powell et al fail to disclose that the external light interference is not detected in a barcode area in a surgical cassette but in a barcode area in general and the advisory notice is not provided to a user but used automatically in the control system.
Artsyukovitch et al disclose a surgical cassette comprising: an identification system for surgical cassettes and states that cassette 10 that may be used with the present invention generally contains bar code 20 placed in a location corresponding to optical reader 120 when cassette 10 is placed within cassette receiving portion 110 of console 100; a surgical cassette with a barcode to be used in a console.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill to apply the method of Powell et al for detecting external light interference and scanning a barcode in conjunction with the teachings of Artsyukovitch et al since it also discloses a barcode. Thus provide that the external light interference is detected in a barcode area in a surgical cassettes. With respect to providing the advisory to a user, such limitation is general common knowledge to provide relevant information relating to problems during a scan process to a user, such limitation is trivial in view of Powell et al combined with the teachings of Artsyukovitch. With respect to the external light interference is caused by light outside the surgical cassette, such limitation is common where external lighting are caused of interference. For instance, Corrain (US2012/0286146) disclose a method and apparatus for generating and synchronizing signal in a scanning system where interference is caused by stray light, light from external light sources (par. 0015), which therefore, an obvious extension as taught by Powell et al as modified by Artsyukovitch et al. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claim 2, relating to the further procedure depending on if the barcode is successfully decoded. This is an obvious implementation of a procedure that uses a barcode of a medical cassette such as disclosed in Artsyukovitch.
Regarding claim 3, relating to rechecking for external light interference. This is disclosed in Powell et al, which discloses a repeated process.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, define the detection of light interference by comparing the average brightness to a threshold and it is additionally checked if all average brightness values of a plurality of images are above or below a threshold. These are trivial methods to check for external light interference and are thus obvious for a skilled person. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, relating to an initial attempt to decode the barcode and to repeatedly attempting to decode the barcode. This is disclosed in Powell et al, which discloses a repeated process that includes an initial attempt.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell et al in view of Artsyukovitch et al and Bandhauer et al.
Regarding claim 13, in addition to the subject-matter of claim 1, Powell et al disclose:
Powell et al as modified by Artsyukovitch et al fail to disclose a fluid level in the surgical console is calibrated and monitored in the surgical console.
Bandhauer et al disclose holding tank devices, systems, and methods for surgical fluids cassette comprising: fluid detection techniques described that may make use of the changes in propagation of light through a portion of the holding tank when the portion varies between empty and full" ( par. 0013).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the teachings of Powell et al as modified by Artsyukovitch to include calibration and monitoring of the fluid in order assure the fluid is set properly and the appropriate level is available for smooth operation of the device. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The applicant teaches a method for detecting external light interference within a surgical instrument which includes the specific details and algorithms on how external light interference is detected by analyzing the pixel brightness of images, such as if the calculated average pixel brightness for at least one of the plurality of images is equal to or higher than the predetermined threshold, determining if there is a pattern of the calculated average pixel brightness value for the plurality of images repeatedly crossing the predetermined threshold, if there is a pattern of the calculated average pixel brightness value for the plurality of images repeatedly crossing the predetermined threshold, detecting the external light interference within the barcode area, or if there is no pattern of the calculated average pixel brightness value for the plurality of images repeatedly crossing the predetermined threshold: recording a number of images in consecutive frames within the plurality of images having average pixel brightness values equal to or higher than the predetermined threshold; comparing the number of images in consecutive frames within the plurality of images having average pixel brightness values equal to or higher than the predetermined threshold to a predetermined number limit; and if the number of images in consecutive frames having average pixel brightness values equal to or higher than the predetermined threshold is equal to or higher than the predetermined number limit, detecting the external light interference within the barcode area, or if the number of images in consecutive frames having average pixel brightness values equal to or higher than the predetermined threshold is lower than the predetermined number limit, detecting no external light interference or that the external light interference is not likely to be present within the barcode area, etc. These limitations in conjunction with other limitations in the claims were not shown by the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/05/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See remarks.
Remarks:
In response to the applicant argument the external light interference is caused by light outside the surgical cassette, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Such limitation is common where external lightings are the main causes of light interference. For instance, Corrain (US2012/0286146) disclose a method and apparatus for generating and synchronizing signal in a scanning system where interference is caused by stray light, light from external light sources. With respect to establishing threshold values in order to compare standard and nonstandard values, lighting conditiones, such limitation is general common knowledge to provide relevant information relating to problems during a scan process to a user, such limitation is trivial in view of Powell et al combined with the teachings of Artsyukovitch. Therefore, it would have obvious to Powell et al as modified by Artsyukovitch et al. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Refer to the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DANIEL ST CYR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DANIEL ST CYR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876