DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Amendments to claims 1, 2, 20 of 7/15/2026 acknowledged and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 6, para. 2, filed 7/15/2026, with respect to claim 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of 4/16/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komukai (WO 2021106831 A1) in view of JP602 (JP H02139602 U).
Regarding claim 1, Komukai teaches An endoscope comprising:
an observation window (fig. 2, element 34, p. 3, para. 7, observation window 34); and
a nozzle (fig. 2, element 40, p. 3, para. 3, nozzle 40) at a distal end of an insertion portion, wherein the nozzle configures a flow path having an opening, the opening ejects fluid toward the observation window, the flow path includes:
a first flow path (fig. 4, element 42, p. 3, para. 11, water supply channel 42) parallel to a longitudinal direction of the insertion portion; and
a second flow path (fig. 4, element 41b, p. 4, para. 1, conduit 41b) communicating with the first flow path and having a curved surface for directing the fluid from the first flow path towards the opening, and the curved surface including:
a first surface (fig. 4, element 41b, conduit 41b is bounded on either side by two surfaces);
a second surface (fig. 4, element 41b, conduit 41b is bounded on either side by two surfaces); and
a ridge sandwiched by respective edges of the first surface and the second surface (fig. 4, element 52, p. 4, para. 1, injection port 52 is formed by a ridge shaped gap between the two edges), and the respective edges being along a direction of extension of the second flow path.
Komukai does not explicitly teach the ridge protrudes radially outward relative to a center line of the flow path and relative to the respective edges of the first and second surfaces.
However, JP602 teaches the ridge (fig. 16, element 47a, p. 2, para. 2, crevice 47a along the direction of an axis of nozzle 24 protrudes radially outward from the edges of the walls of the nozzle) protrudes radially outward relative to a center line of the flow path and relative to the respective edges of the first and second surfaces.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nozzle of Komukai to include a crevice as taught in JP602 in order to secure the nozzle and ensure proper orientation (Komukai p. 2, para. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 1,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein the center line of the ridge is located on a virtual plane including a center line of the flow path, a center point of the opening, and a center point of the observation window (fig. 3, element 22, p. 4, para. 6, tip portion 22 comprises the flat distal face of the endoscope and features all elements).
Regarding claim 3, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 2,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein an opening width of the opening is greater than 10% and less than 70% of an outer diameter of the observation window (fig. 3, the nozzle extends more than 5% on either side of the center line but does not exceed 35%).
Regarding claim 4, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 2,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein a minimum value of a crossing angle between the first surface and the second surface is greater than 60 degrees and less than 150 degrees (fig. 4, the bend angle of the bending portion of the nozzle is approximately 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 5, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 4,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein the crossing angle increases in the second flow path between the first flow path and the opening (fig. 4, the path is angled from 0 degrees in the first flow path and 90 degrees in the opening and increases along the second flow path).
Regarding claim 6, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 5,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein a flow path width of the second flow path increases between the first flow path and the opening (fig. 4, element 41a, p. 3, para. 11, conduit 41a at the base end portion 40a is wider than the first conduit 42).
Regarding claim 7, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 1,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein the ridge having a curved surface, and a ridge width of the ridge is smaller than an outer diameter of the observation window (fig. 3, the nozzle extends more than 5% on either side of the center line but does not exceed 35%).
Regarding claim 8, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 7,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein the ridge width is less than 30% of a flow path width of the second flow path (fig. 4, element 41b, the flow path narrows toward the tip).
Regarding claim 9, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 1,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein the ridge is an apex of the first surface and the second surface (fig. 4, element 52, the ridge, being the nozzle tip, is at the distal end of the surfaces).
Regarding claim 10, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 6,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein the first surface and the second surface are each planar (fig. 4, element 41b shows curved planar walls).
Regarding claim 11, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 6,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein the first surface and the second surface are curved surfaces having a same shape (fig. 4, element 41b, the adjacent walls of the conduit are complementary to form the shape of the conduit), and a curvature of the curved surfaces of the first surface and the second surface decreases continuously between the first flow path and the opening (fig. 4, the curving joint between 41a and 41b decreases until the straight conduit 41b).
Regarding claim 12, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 6,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein the flow path width of the flow path increases continuously in the second flow path fig. 4, element 41a, p. 3, para. 11, conduit 41a at the base end portion 40a is wider than the first conduit 42).
Regarding claim 13, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 6,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein the opening has an elongated oval shape having a pair of planar opposing sides (fig. 1, element 52, opening 52 features curved and planar sides in an oval shape).
Regarding claim 14, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 6,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein an inside inner surface of the flow path in a curvature direction is a plane from the position where the crossing angle is minimum toward the opening (fig. 4, the curving joint between 41a and 41b decreases until the straight conduit 41b).
Regarding claim 15, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 6, further comprising:
Further, Komukai teaches a third flow path that is in communication with the second flow path, wherein the third flow path includes the opening, a cross section of the third flow path orthogonal to a center line has an elongated oval shape having a pair of planar opposing sides, and the flow path width of the third flow path is constant (fig. 1, element 52, opening 52 features curved and planar sides in an oval shape, the straight section of distal conduit 41b being interpreted to be a third section of the flow path).
Regarding claim 16, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 1,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein the first surface and the second surface are each concave relative to a center line of the flow path (p. 3, para. 10, circular flow path formed by concave walls).
Regarding claim 17, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 1,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein the first surface and the second surface are each convex relative to a center line of the flow path (fig. 4, element 41a, flow path narrows as it approaches the bend and changes shape. The shape changing section is formed by convex surfaces).
Regarding claim 18, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 1,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein the first surface having a first edge, the second surface having a second edge (fig. 4, element 52, the opposing edges of the distal portions of either wall of the distal portion of the conduit can be considered edges),
a transition between each of the first and second edges and opposing sides of the ridge being non-continuous (fig. 2, element 52, the nozzle is rectangular, hence there are side walls separating the opposing sides of the ridge).
Regarding claim 19, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 1,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein the ridge is convex relative to a center line of the flow path (fig. 4, element 41a, flow path narrows as it approaches the bend and changes shape. The shape changing section is formed by convex surfaces).
Regarding claim 20, Komukai in view of JP602 teaches The endoscope according to claim 1,
Further, Komukai teaches wherein the first surface and the second surface are each convex relative to a center line of the flow path (fig. 4, element 41a, flow path narrows as it approaches the bend and changes shape. The shape changing section is formed by convex surfaces);
the ridge is convex relative to a center line of the flow path (fig. 4, element 40b, the profile of the outer section of the nozzle is convex); and
a radius of curvature of the ridge is greater than a radius of curvature of each of the first and second surfaces (fig. 4, element 41a/b, the bending section for the flow path makes a tighter curve than the straighter opening end of the nozzle).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY TUAN LUU/ Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795