DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/21/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
The substitute specification filed 7/21/2026 has been entered.
The previous objection of claims 284-285, 288 and 295-296 due to minor informalities has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments made 7/21/2026.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Madej et al. (US 2021/0153891) does not meet at least “the polymeric balloon does not comprise stiffening members or reinforcement members attached to or embedded in the polymeric balloon,” as recited in claim 281 as amended because Madej discloses balloon fibers 24 may include continuous reinforcement members. However, Madej discloses a specific embodiment (Fig. 7), which is similar to the previous embodiment (Fig. 5), except that “the cutting balloon 210 may not include fibers attached to the balloon 216” ([0075]). Accordingly, Madej explicitly discloses wherein the polymeric balloon may comprise stiffening members or reinforcement members (fibers 124) attached to or embedded in the polymeric balloon (Fig. 5; [0068]) or alternatively, wherein the polymeric balloon does not comprise stiffening members or reinforcement members attached to or embedded in the polymeric balloon (Fig. 7; [0075]).
Claim Objections
Claims 281 and 298 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 281 and 298 recite “the polymeric balloon” which should read either “the inflatable polymeric balloon” or “the polymeric balloon wall” for consistency purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 281-283 and 293-299 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Madej et al. (US 2021/0153891 A1).
Regarding claim 281, Madej discloses an apparatus (cutting balloon 210; Fig. 7; it is noted reference is made to cutting balloon 10 of Figs. 1 and/or 5 for like parts similar in form and function; [0075]) for treating calcifications on a wall in a patient's body lumen (as the cutting members 20/120 are used to cut or score a lesion in a vasculature; [0042]), the apparatus comprising: a catheter (catheter shaft 18; Fig. 1) comprising a catheter body (outer tubular member 26; Fig. 1) having a proximal end and a distal end (Fig. 1); an inflatable polymeric balloon (balloon 216; Fig. 7) attached to the distal end of the catheter body (see for example, Fig. 1), the inflatable polymeric balloon (216) comprising a polymeric balloon wall (wall of 216) consisting of a single polymeric layer having a wall thickness (as balloon 216 may be made of polymers such as PET, polyester, polyamide, etc; [0045], wherein balloon 16 has the same properties as balloon 216), wherein the polymeric balloon (216) does not comprise stiffening members or reinforcement members attached to or embedded in the polymeric balloon (as the cutting balloon 210 does not include fibers attached to the balloon 216; [0075]); a plurality of rigid stress-applying features (including cutting members 220 and mounting pads 240) distributed over at least a portion of an outer surface of the polymeric balloon wall (Fig. 7); and a polymeric cover layer (covering 246 which may be a thermoplastic polyurethane similar to covering 146; [0069]) formed over the plurality of rigid stress-applying features and at least part of the outer surface of the polymeric balloon wall (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 282, Madej discloses wherein the polymeric cover layer (246) has a thickness no greater than 50% of the wall thickness of the inflatable polymeric balloon (216; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 283, Madej discloses wherein the polymeric cover layer (246) covers the entire outer surface of the inflatable polymeric balloon (as covering 246 extends around substantially the entire balloon 210 similar to covering 146; [0069]).
Regarding claim 293, Madej discloses wherein the polymeric balloon wall, the polymeric cover layer, or both comprise at least one of a polymethacrylate, a polyurethane- methacrylate, a polyisobornyl acrylate, an acrylic urethane methacrylate, a methacrylate ester acrylic, a modified methacrylate ester, a polyester, an epoxy adhesive, a phenolic adhesive, a polyvinyl acetate, a polyethylene-vinyl acetate, a polyethylene-methyl acrylate, a polyethylene, an acrylic, a cyanoacrylate, a hybrid cyanoacrylate/epoxy adhesive, a urea-formaldehyde, a polyimide, a natural or synthetic rubber modified with a tackifying resin, a styrene-butadiene rubber latex, a silicone rubber, an anaerobic glue, a mussel adhesive protein, a polydopamine- clay-polyacrylamide, a caulobacter crescentus, Delo Monopox, or combinations thereof (balloon 216 may be made of polymers such as PET, polyester, polyamide, etc; [0045], wherein balloon 16 is equivalent to balloon 216).
Regarding claim 294, Madej discloses an adhesive (see adhesive 142) over the outer surface of the polymeric balloon wall (216) and under at least some of the plurality of rigid stress-applying features (Fig. 6; [0072]).
Regarding claims 295-296, Madej discloses wherein a bottom-most surface of each of the plurality of rigid stress-applying features (220, 240) is directly bonded to the polymeric balloon (216) through an adhesive layer (142), a base layer, or both ([0072]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 297, Madej discloses a spot of adhesive (142) under the plurality of rigid stress-applying features (220, 240; see for example, Fig. 6).
Regarding claims 298-299, Madej discloses wherein the polymeric balloon (216) comprises uniform compliance or flexibility over at least a circumferential center of the inflatable polymeric balloon, and wherein the inflatable polymeric balloon (216) comprises uniform compliance or flexibility over an entire surface of the inflatable polymeric balloon (as the balloon 216 of Fig. 7 is free from stiffening members 24, 124 or other components that would affect the compliance or other property of the balloon to differ in one segment of the balloon when compared to other segments of the balloon, similar to applicant’s balloon (see applicant’s [0081]); thus, the balloon 216 will have uniform compliance and flexibility).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 284-285 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madej et al. (US 2021/0153891 A1) in view of Schneider et al. (US 2017/0333686 A1).
Regarding claims 284-285, Madej fails to disclose wherein the polymeric cover layer comprises axial strips or circumferential strips over the outer surface of the balloon wall.
However, Schneider teaches an apparatus (catheter balloon 10; Figs. 4-6) comprising a catheter (catheter shaft 40), an inflatable balloon (balloon 30), a plurality of rigid stress-applying features (raised wedges 22); and a polymeric cover layer (polymer matrix 70) that may cover the rigid stress-applying features (wedges; [0039]) and at least a portion of the balloon (Fig. 6; [0039]). The polymeric cover layer is an additive material that may be added to the outside of the balloon in strips ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polymeric cover layer of Madej to be selectively applied over the rigid stress-applying features and at least part of the outer surface of the polymeric balloon wall in axial or circumferential strips in light of the teachings of Schneider. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique of adding a polymeric layer in strips over a balloon was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art and would yield the predictable result of covering at least a portion of the balloon. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to apply the strips axially or circumferentially, since applicant has not disclosed that axial or circumferential strips solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with axial or circumferential strips.
Claim(s) 286-287 and 291-292 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madej et al. (US 2021/0153891 A1) in view of Mertens (US 2022/0176084 A1).
Regarding claims 286-287 and 291, Madej fails to explicitly disclose wherein the polymeric cover layer has a hardness less than that of the inflatable polymeric balloon, wherein the polymeric cover layer has a hardness greater than that of the inflatable polymeric balloon, and wherein the polymeric balloon wall has a Shore D hardness in a range from 60D to 80D and the polymeric cover layer has a Shore D hardness in a range from 50D to 65D.
However, Mertens discloses an apparatus (balloon catheter 10) comprising a catheter (elongate member 14) a balloon (balloon 12) and a polymeric cover layer (layer 40; Fig. 3C), wherein the balloon (12) is made of nylon ([0020]) and the polymeric cover layer (40) is made of acrylic polymers ([0055]). Applicant states that nylons have a Shore D hardness in a range from 60D to 80D and acrylics have a Shore D hardness in a range from 50D to 65D ([0037]). Thus, the nylon polymeric balloon and acrylic polymeric cover layer of Mertens have shore hardnesses in the claimed ranges which allow for the polymeric cover layer to have a hardness of either less than or greater than that of the inflatable polymeric balloon.
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the balloon of Madej to be made of nylon and the polymeric cover layer of Madej to be made of an acrylic as taught by Mertens, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. As disclosed by applicant and discussed above, the nylon polymeric balloon and acrylic polymeric cover layer of modified Madej have shore hardnesses in the claimed ranges which allow for the polymeric cover layer to have a hardness of either less than or greater than that of the inflatable polymeric balloon.
Regarding claim 292, modified Madej discloses wherein the polymeric cover layer (40 of Mertens) is made of an acrylic (acrylic polymers; [0055] of Mertens).
Claim(s) 288-290 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madej et al. (US 2021/0153891 A1) in view of Goeken et al. (US 2007/0060863 A1).
Regarding claims 288-289, Madej fails to disclose a polymeric base layer formed over the outer surface of inflatable the polymeric balloon wall and under at least some of the plurality of rigid stress-applying features, wherein the polymeric base layer has a thickness no greater than 50% of the wall thickness of the inflatable polymeric balloon, wherein the polymeric base layer comprises at least one of a polymethacrylate, a polyurethane-methacrylate, a polyisobornyl acrylate, an acrylic urethane methacrylate, a methacrylate ester acrylic, a modified methacrylate ester, a polyester, an epoxy adhesive, a phenolic adhesive, a polyvinyl acetate, a polyethylene- vinyl acetate, a polyethylene-methyl acrylate, a polyethylene, an acrylic, a cyanoacrylate, a hybrid cyanoacrylate/epoxy adhesive, a urea-formaldehyde, a polyimide, a natural or synthetic rubber modified with a tackifying resin, a styrene-butadiene rubber latex, a silicone rubber, an anaerobic glue, a mussel adhesive protein, a polydopamine-clay-polyacrylamide, a caulobacter crescentus, Delo Monopox, or combinations thereof.
However, Goeken teaches an apparatus (balloon catheter) for treating calcifications on a wall in a patient’s body lumen (via cutting elements 105), the apparatus comprising: a catheter (catheter body 104); an inflatable polymeric balloon consisting of a single polymeric layer (layer 108 which is a polymer; Fig. 2; [0047]) having a wall thickness (Fig. 2), wherein the polymeric balloon (108) does not comprise stiffening members or reinforcement members attached to or embedded in the polymeric balloon; and a plurality of rigid stress-applying features (cutting elements 105) distributed over at least a portion of the balloon (Figs. 1-2), and a polymeric base layer (layer 106) formed over the outer surface of inflatable the polymeric balloon wall outer surface of 108) and under at least some of the plurality of rigid stress-applying features (105; Fig. 2), wherein the polymeric base layer (106) has a thickness no greater than 50% of the wall thickness of the inflatable polymeric balloon (as 106 makes up from about one percent to about 50% of the total thickness of 106 and 108; [0053]), wherein the polymeric base layer (106) comprises at least one of a polymethacrylate, a polyurethane-methacrylate, a polyisobornyl acrylate, an acrylic urethane methacrylate, a methacrylate ester acrylic, a modified methacrylate ester, a polyester, an epoxy adhesive, a phenolic adhesive, a polyvinyl acetate, a polyethylene- vinyl acetate, a polyethylene-methyl acrylate, a polyethylene, an acrylic, a cyanoacrylate, a hybrid cyanoacrylate/epoxy adhesive, a urea-formaldehyde, a polyimide, a natural or synthetic rubber modified with a tackifying resin, a styrene-butadiene rubber latex, a silicone rubber, an anaerobic glue, a mussel adhesive protein, a polydopamine-clay-polyacrylamide, a caulobacter crescentus, Delo Monopox, or combinations thereof (a polyester; [0047]). The base layer (106) on the balloon wall (108) helps to distribute stresses and divert defects, such as cracks or punctures, so that they are less likely to propagate through the balloon wall to the point of causing failure ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Madej to further include a polyester base layer formed over the outer surface of the polymeric balloon wall and under at least some of the plurality of rigid stress-applying features, wherein the polyester base layer has a thickness no greater than 50% of the wall thickness of the inflatable polymeric balloon as taught by Goeken in order to help distribute stresses and divert defects, such as cracks or punctures, so that they are less likely to propagate through the balloon wall to the point of causing failure.
Regarding claim 290, Madej modified discloses one or more layers of adhesive (see adhesive 142 of Madej) over the polymeric base layer (as the adhesive layer is directly below mounting pad 240 of Madej, which is above the modified base layer), wherein the one or more layers of adhesive may comprise the same or different materials (the adhesive 142 may comprise TPU; [0072] of Madej).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH A LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771