Response to Arguments
Applicant’s election of Species I claims 1-23 is hereby acknowledged. Since the election did not point out any alleged deficiencies in Examiner’s requirement for restriction/election, the response is treated as without traverse. Claims 24-40 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kohen US 11,460,184 (“Kohen”).
Kohen teaches:
Re 1: A light assembly (abstract; Fig. 47 and 51-52) comprising:
a base 23 (Figs. 1-7) comprising a first electrical connector 22 configured to be connected to a first electrical wire (col. 6 ll 47-67);
a light module removably attachable to the base and comprising a source of light (Fig. 6: showing LED fixture 54 that is attachable to the device; Fig. 4: showing 50 which may be, inter alia, emergency lighting; col. 7 ll 22-27);
a first electrical terminal 226 positioned on the base or the light module and formed in a circle (Fig. 1, 9; col. 6 ll 62-67); and
a second electrical terminal 37 positioned on the other of the base or the light module to contact the first electrical terminal when the light module is removably attached to the base (Fig. 4; col. 7 ll 36-42).
Re 2: wherein the first electrical terminal is positioned on the base and the second electrical terminal is positioned on the light module (Figs. 1-7: they are at least either directly or indirectly placed on these components when assembled).
Re 3: wherein the first electrical terminal is positioned on the light module and the second electrical terminal is positioned on the base (Figs. 1-7: they are at least either directly or indirectly placed on these components when assembled).
Re 4: further comprising a plurality of first electrical terminals 226 and a plurality of second electrical terminals, wherein the plurality of first electrical terminals are formed in concentric circles (Fig. 1: shown as concentric circles with different radii), each of the first electrical terminals having a different radius from others of the first electrical terminals, and wherein each of the second electrical terminals 37 is positioned to contact a corresponding one of the first electrical terminals when the light module is removably attached to the base (Figs. 4 and 9; col. 6-7: when at least all components are connected they form a circuit).
Re 5: wherein the plurality of first electrical terminals comprises two, three, or four first electrical terminals and the plurality of second electrical terminals comprises two, three, or four second electrical terminals, respectively (Figs. 1, 4, 9: shown having the same number of concentric circles/terminals).
Re 6: wherein each of the plurality of first electrical terminals has a contact surface that is coplanar with the contact surface of others of the plurality of first electrical terminals (Figs. 1: clearly shown on the same plane).
Re 10: wherein the first electrical connector is positioned on the base such that the first electrical wire extends from the base in a radial direction when connected to the first electrical connector (Figs. 1-4; col. 6 ll 47-67: radial isn’t given a reference frame in the claim thus it is read on).
Re 11: wherein the base comprises a second electrical connector configured to be connected to a second electrical wire. (col. 7 ll 36-42: “are configured to matingly receive male connector rings on the plug (not shown) attached to an electrical fixture to establish electrical connections to the fixture.”
Re 13: wherein the second electrical connector is positioned on the base such that the second electrical wire extends from the base in a radial direction when connected to the second electrical connector.
Re 14: wherein the source of light 54 is one or more light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (note: it’s called LED light) (Figs. 4 and 9; col. 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohen in view of US Carnevali 11165458 (“Carnevali”).
Kohen does not explicitly teach, while Carnevali teaches (col. 8 ll 40-47): wherein the second electrical terminal comprises a pogo pin that is biased to maintain contact with the first electrical terminal when the light module is removably attached to the base.
Using a pogo pin gives a pressure-based engagement which gives tactile feedback to the user, confirming a connection has been made.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine Kohen with Carnevali's teachings in order to provide a connection that gives feedback when a connection is made.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohen in view of Osawa US 9,599,290 (“Osawa”).
Kohen does not explicitly teach, while Osawa teaches (abstract): wherein the light module is freely rotatable relative to the base when the light module is removably connected to the base.
Allowing a freely rotatable relative set up to the base when the light module is removably connected to the base, permits post-installation angular adjustment of the light module, thereby improving directional adjustability and user convenience.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine Kohen with Osawa’s teachings in order to improve directional adjustability and user convenience.
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohen in view of Raghavan et al. US 20230108737 (“Raghavan”).
Re 9: Kohen does not teach, while Raghavan teaches (¶24: teaching USB-C): wherein the first electrical connector is a wire splicing connector configured to be electrically connected to the first electrical wire by push-in termination or lever actuation or the first electrical connector is a USB-C connector 14/22.
USB-C is a ubiquitous connection type that not only allows for quick electrical charging (e.g., up to 100W), but for data-transfers. Thus, it expands the inputs into the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine Kohen with Raghavan’s teachings in order to use a universal connector to expand the inputs into the device.
Re 12: Kohen does not teach, while Raghavan teaches (¶24: teaching USB-C): wherein the second electrical connector is a wire splicing connector configured to be electrically connected to the second electrical wire by push-in termination or lever actuation or the second electrical connector is a USB-C connector 14/22.
USB-C is a ubiquitous connection type that not only allows for quick electrical charging (e.g., up to 100W), but for data-transfers. Thus, it expands the inputs into the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine Kohen with Raghavan’s teachings in order to use a universal connector to expand the inputs into the device.
Claims 15 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohen in view of Wang US 8425082 (“Wang”).
Re 15 and 23: Kohen does not explicitly teach, while Wang teaches (Fig. 3; abstract; claim 1; col. 2 ll 53-64):
Claim 15: wherein the base comprises a first magnet and the light module comprises a second magnet positioned and oriented on the light module to be magnetically attracted to the first magnet to removably attach the light module to the base.
Claim 23: wherein one of the base and the light module includes a magnet and the other of the base and the light module includes a ferromagnetic material that is positioned and oriented to be attracted to the magnet to removably attach the light module to the base (col. 2 ll 26-30: teaching lamp disc can have iron and there are magnetic units 13 to mate with).
Using magnets allows for quick release attachment, thereby simplifying assembly and installation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine Kohen with Wang in order to simplify assembly and attachment.
Re 22: Kohen does not explicitly teach, Wang teaches (Fig. 2: lamp holder 12 with accommodating groove 112, annular recess 1232, and central connecting portion 124 / seat body 70 disposed in a receiving groove): wherein the base comprises a recessed portion, the first electrical connector being positioned in the recessed portion.
By recessing the electrical connector it protects it from exposure and being damaged by external mechanical stress.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine Kohen with Wang in order to protect the electrical connector from being damaged.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohen in view of Chang et al. US 8454204 (“Chang”).
Re 16-19: Kohen does not explicitly teach, while Chang teaches (Fig. 2: showing a trim with lens assembly and ramp structure; Fig. 5: showing lip with thread; col. 3 ll 49-67):
Claim 16: further comprising a trim assembly removably attachable to the light module, the trim assembly comprising a lens configured to be positioned over the source of light when the trim assembly is removably attached to the light module, and the trim assembly comprising a trim piece positioned around the lens (Fig. 2; col. 3 ll 49-67).
Claim 17: wherein the trim piece comprises first threads and the light module comprises second threads, the first threads and the second threads being configured to be engaged to removably attach the light module to the trim piece (Fig. 5).
Claim 18: wherein one of the trim piece and the light module comprises one or more ramped portions and the other of the trim piece and the light module comprises one or more protruding portions corresponding to each of the ramped portions and configured to be engaged to corresponding ones of the ramped portions to removably attach the light module to the trim piece (Fig. 2; col. 3 ll 49-67).
Claim 19: wherein the trim piece comprises a lip that extends radially outward around the trim piece (Fig. 5).
A threaded trim piece and lens allows for a modular optical set up thereby permitting quick exchange of optical components, permitting quick changing of optical components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine Kohen with Chang to allow for modular exchange of optical components.
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohen in view of Moore US 6438921 (“Moore”).
Re 20-21: Kohen does not explicitly teach, while Moore teaches (Figs. 4-5C; col. 2 ll 35-67):
Claim 20: wherein the base comprises one or more base holes, each of the base holes being configured to receive a fastener.
Claim 21: further comprising a clip having one or more clip holes that correspond to each of the base holes, the clip being configured to be secured to the base with the fastener at each pair of the base hole and the corresponding clip hole, the clip having one or more tangs.
Using a clip with a through hole and a tang permits for a modular yet sturdy method of attaching components, allowing for a secure and quick installation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine Kohen with Moore’s teachings in order to allow for a secure and quick installation.
Conclusion
Relevant prior art considered: US 20190368668 teaching a LED retro fit light with an extendible suspension device.
GERALD J. SUFLETA II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/GERALD J SUFLETA II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875