DETAILED ACTION
Other References: Chow (US 8553482) – sense amplifier and sense amplifier latch having common control.
Non-Patent Literature – Kim, Tony Tae-Hyoung (attached)(ReRAM – Based Processing-in-Memory (PIM)) – relates to claimed memory device comprising array of memory cells configured to store operands and performs operations.
Terminal Disclaimer Approved 1/29/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,6,7,8,13,14,15,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 20110093662 A1) and in view of Bloomfield (US 20010036322 A1) and further in view of Adams (US 6163862)
Claim 1. Walker662 discloses A memory device (eg., Fig. 2 0027 – memory device 34), comprising:
an array of memory cells and (eg., 0035 Fig. 2 - memory cells, such as banks 54a-54d of the memory array 36; compute engine 38 may be embedded on the memory device 34),
the array of memory cells configured to store operands (eg., 0006 - Data (e.g., the operands on which the instructions will be executed) may be stored in a memory device (e.g., a memory array)), and
wherein the compute component is configured to execute instructions by causing a logical operation to be performed on the operands (eg., 0030 - The compute engine 38 may be one example of an internal processor, and may include one or more arithmetic logic units (ALUs).).
Walker662 discloses does not disclose, but Bloomfield discloses
wherein performing the logical operation comprises performing one or more operational phases without transferring the operands to a host (eg., 0051 - PIM 44 also holds intermediate results as they are developed for use in subsequent processing and final results of processing.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with internal processor as disclosed by Walker662, with Bloomfield, providing the benefit of Individual specialized processing elements are explicitly embedded at the correct location in the data flow, and no system resources are required to distribute the data. Thus data pipelines, once set up, are virtually maintenance free, continuing to process image data without any further contact with the host PROCESSOR. (see Bloomfield, 0011).
Walker662 in view of Bloomfield discloses does not disclose, but Adams discloses
a compute component in direct communication with the array of memory cells (eg., col 3:66 - on-chip signal 26; col 4:51-54 - a test circuit 30 is provided on-chip for evaluating a signal characteristic of an on-chip signal 26, such as, for example, the analog signal transferred from the memory cells in the array 12; col 3:9-13 - Each cell in a column of cells, in this example, is connected to a pair of bit lines 14, 16. Each bit line is connected through appropriate circuitry to a corresponding input of a differential sense amplifier 18 for data READ operations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with internal processor as disclosed by Walker662, with Bloomfield, with Adams, providing the benefit of techniques for evaluating on-chip signals without the need to load the chip using an external test device (see Adams, col 2:55-60).
Claim 6. Walker662 discloses wherein the logical operation an addition function or a multiply function (eg., 0005 - ALU circuitry may add, subtract, multiply, or divide one operand from another, ).
Claim 7. Walker662 discloses wherein the memory device is a processor in memory (PIM) device (eg., memory may be a processor-in-memory (PIM)).
Claim 8. Walker662 discloses A method for operating a memory device (eg., Fig. 2 0027 – memory device 34), comprising:
executing, , instructions by causing a logical operation to be performed on, wherein performing the logical operation comprises: performing one or more operational phases (eg., 0035 Fig. 2 - memory cells, such as banks 54a-54d of the memory array 36; compute engine 38 may be embedded on the memory device 34),
operands stored in the array of memory cells (eg., 0006 - Data (e.g., the operands on which the instructions will be executed) may be stored in a memory device (e.g., a memory array)), and
wherein the compute component is configured to execute instructions by causing a logical operation to be performed on the operands (eg., 0030 - The compute engine 38 may be one example of an internal processor, and may include one or more arithmetic logic units (ALUs).).
Walker662 discloses does not disclose, but Bloomfield discloses
without transferring the operands to a host (eg., 0051 - PIM 44 also holds intermediate results as they are developed for use in subsequent processing and final results of processing.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with internal processor as disclosed by Walker662, with Bloomfield, providing the benefit of Individual specialized processing elements are explicitly embedded at the correct location in the data flow, and no system resources are required to distribute the data. Thus data pipelines, once set up, are virtually maintenance free, continuing to process image data without any further contact with the host PROCESSOR. (see Bloomfield, 0011).
Walker662 in view of Bloomfield discloses does not disclose, but Adams discloses
by a compute component in direct communication with an array of memory cells (eg., col 3:66 - on-chip signal 26; col 4:51-54 - a test circuit 30 is provided on-chip for evaluating a signal characteristic of an on-chip signal 26, such as, for example, the analog signal transferred from the memory cells in the array 12; col 3:9-13 - Each cell in a column of cells, in this example, is connected to a pair of bit lines 14, 16. Each bit line is connected through appropriate circuitry to a corresponding input of a differential sense amplifier 18 for data READ operations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with internal processor as disclosed by Walker662, with Bloomfield, with Adams, providing the benefit of techniques for evaluating on-chip signals without the need to load the chip using an external test device (see Adams, col 2:55-60).
Claim 13 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 6 above.
Claim 14 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 7 above.
Claim 15. Walker662 discloses A memory device (eg., Fig. 2 0027 – memory device 34), comprising:
an array of memory cells; and, wherein the compute component is configured to:
(eg., 0035 Fig. 2 - memory cells, such as banks 54a-54d of the memory array 36; compute engine 38 may be embedded on the memory device 34),
the array of memory cells configured to store operands (eg., 0006 - Data (e.g., the operands on which the instructions will be executed) may be stored in a memory device (e.g., a memory array)), and
execute instructions by causing a logical operation to be performed on operands stored in the array of memory cells (eg., 0030 - The compute engine 38 may be one example of an internal processor, and may include one or more arithmetic logic units (ALUs).).
Walker662 discloses does not disclose, but Bloomfield discloses
wherein, to perform the logical operation,
the compute component is configured to: perform one or more operational phases without transferring the operands to a host.
(eg., 0051 - PIM 44 also holds intermediate results as they are developed for use in subsequent processing and final results of processing.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with internal processor as disclosed by Walker662, with Bloomfield, providing the benefit of Individual specialized processing elements are explicitly embedded at the correct location in the data flow, and no system resources are required to distribute the data. Thus data pipelines, once set up, are virtually maintenance free, continuing to process image data without any further contact with the host PROCESSOR. (see Bloomfield, 0011).
Walker662 in view of Bloomfield discloses does not disclose, but Adams discloses
a compute component in direct communication with the array of memory cells (eg., col 3:66 - on-chip signal 26; col 4:51-54 - a test circuit 30 is provided on-chip for evaluating a signal characteristic of an on-chip signal 26, such as, for example, the analog signal transferred from the memory cells in the array 12; col 3:9-13 - Each cell in a column of cells, in this example, is connected to a pair of bit lines 14, 16. Each bit line is connected through appropriate circuitry to a corresponding input of a differential sense amplifier 18 for data READ operations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with internal processor as disclosed by Walker662, with Bloomfield, with Adams, providing the benefit of techniques for evaluating on-chip signals without the need to load the chip using an external test device (see Adams, col 2:55-60).
Claim 20 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 6 above.
Claims 2-5, 9-12,16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 20110093662 A1) and in view of Bloomfield (US 20010036322 A1) and Adams (cited above) and further in view of Walker(US 20100312999)
Claim 2. Walker662 in view of Bloomfield and Adams discloses does not disclose, but Walker999 discloses
wherein, to perform a first operational phase of the one or more operational phases, the compute component is configured to: obtain the operands from the array of memory cells; and store the operands in a latch of the compute component (eg., [0038] The compute buffer 126 may include one or more CBbytes 130, which may refer to a storage unit for each byte of information in the compute buffer 126. For example, the CBbyte 130 may be referred to as a CBbyte block, which may include a row or a chain of flops or latches,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with internal processor as disclosed by Walker662, with Bloomfield, and Adams with Walker999, providing the benefit of steps of writing, reading, buffering, executing instructions, and storing results may occur substantially simultaneously on different instructions, or different parts of an instruction. This parallel processing, referred to as "pipelining," may improve processing performance in the electronic system (see Walker999, 0006).
Claim 3. Walker662 discloses
wherein the compute component is configured to: perform the logical operation on the operands based at least in part on performing the first operational phase (eg., 0032 - intermediate results may be stored in memory components such as the buffer 42 or memory registers coupled to the compute engine 38. In one or more embodiments, a compute engine 38 may access the buffer 42 for the intermediate results to perform subsequent operations).
Claim 4. Walker662 discloses
wherein, to perform a second operational phase of the one or more operational phases, the compute component is configured to: store a result of the logical operation in the (eg., 0033 - compute buffer, which may store data (e.g., operands) and instructions, and an instruction buffer, which may store instructions. The buffer 42 may also include additional buffers, such as a data buffer or a simple buffer, which may provide denser storage, and may store intermediate or final results of executed instructions).
Walker662 in view of Bloomfield and Adams discloses does not disclose, but Walker999 discloses
latch of the compute component (eg., [0038] The compute buffer 126 may include one or more CBbytes 130, which may refer to a storage unit for each byte of information in the compute buffer 126. For example, the CBbyte 130 may be referred to as a CBbyte block, which may include a row or a chain of flops or latches,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with internal processor as disclosed by Walker662, with Bloomfield, and Adams with Walker999, providing the benefit of steps of writing, reading, buffering, executing instructions, and storing results may occur substantially simultaneously on different instructions, or different parts of an instruction. This parallel processing, referred to as "pipelining," may improve processing performance in the electronic system (see Walker999, 0006).
Claim 5. Walker662 discloses
wherein the compute component is configured to: transfer the result from the latch of the compute component to the array of memory cells (eg., [0035] For example, in one embodiment as depicted in a portion of a memory device 52 in FIG. 3, multiple transfers between the memory array 36 and the buffer 42 may occur substantially simultaneously by coupling one or more buffers 42a-42d to one or more groups of memory cells, such as banks 54a-54d of the memory array 36).
Walker662 in view of Bloomfield and Adams discloses does not disclose, but Walker999 discloses
latch of the compute component (eg., [0038] The compute buffer 126 may include one or more CBbytes 130, which may refer to a storage unit for each byte of information in the compute buffer 126. For example, the CBbyte 130 may be referred to as a CBbyte block, which may include a row or a chain of flops or latches,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with internal processor as disclosed by Walker662, with Bloomfield, and Adams with Walker999, providing the benefit of steps of writing, reading, buffering, executing instructions, and storing results may occur substantially simultaneously on different instructions, or different parts of an instruction. This parallel processing, referred to as "pipelining," may improve processing performance in the electronic system (see Walker999, 0006).
Claim 9 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 2 above.
Claim 10 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 3 above.
Claim 11 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 4 above.
Claim 12 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 5 above.
Claim 16 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 2 above.
Claim 17 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 3 above.
Claim 18 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 4 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 5 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For claims 1, 8 and 15, Applicant argues that that the cited references do not disclose the amended limitations. The Office disagrees.
In the present OA, the updated combination of references render the amended limitations as obvious.
Specifically, Walker662 in view of Bloomfield discloses does not disclose, but Adams discloses
by a compute component in direct communication with an array of memory cells (eg., col 3:66 - on-chip signal 26; col 4:51-54 - a test circuit 30 is provided on-chip for evaluating a signal characteristic of an on-chip signal 26, such as, for example, the analog signal transferred from the memory cells in the array 12; col 3:9-13 - Each cell in a column of cells, in this example, is connected to a pair of bit lines 14, 16. Each bit line is connected through appropriate circuitry to a corresponding input of a differential sense amplifier 18 for data READ operations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with internal processor as disclosed by Walker662, with Bloomfield, with Adams, providing the benefit of techniques for evaluating on-chip signals without the need to load the chip using an external test device (see Adams, col 2:55-60).
Applicant’s arguments for dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, 16-20 are based on their respective base independent claims 1, 8, 15, which are addressed above.
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2135