DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
PULL-PRINTING SYSTEM, METHOD FOR CONTROLLING MOBILE TERMINAL IN PULL-PRINTING SYSTEM AND STORAGE MEDIUM COMPRISING A PRINT SERVER THAT RECEIVES PRINT JOBS FOR STORAGE AND PUSHES NOTIFICATIONS TO THE MOBILE TERMINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraga (US Pub 20150205547) in view of Seo (US Pub 20200142656).
Re claim 1: Shiraga discloses a pull-printing system comprising a printing apparatus, a printing server, and a mobile terminal, the pull-printing system operable to execute printing of a print job, which has been submitted to the printing server, using the printing apparatus, based on an instruction of the mobile terminal (e.g. the system contains a mobile terminal, a server and a printer that are used to print a job submitted to a print server, which is taught in ¶ [29].),
[0029] The print intermediation server 100 is a server for performing intermediation of printing between an external device (for example, the portable terminal 70) and a printer (for example, the printer 10). That is, the print intermediation server 100 converts image data submitted from an external device, creates print data having a data format that the printer can interpret, and provides the print data to the printer. Thus, the external device can cause the printer to perform printing just by submitting image data to the print intermediation server 100 even when the external device does not have a printer driver for converting image data to print data.
the printing server (element 110) comprising:
one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to:
receive a print job submitted by a user; store the print job (e.g. a user on a portable terminal selects settings associated with image data to create a print job to be submitted to a server. The mobile terminal then submits the print job to the server for storage, which is taught in ¶ [67] and [68].);
[0067] When the print setting is selected by the user, the CPU 82 sends a submit request 230 including the received AT 221, the printer ID of the virtual printer in the memory 84, image data 232 designated by the user, print setting information 234 indicating the print setting designated by the user to the print intermediation server 100 via the wireless LAN I/F 78.
[0068] Upon receiving the submit request 230 from the portable terminal 70, the print intermediation server 100 executes authentication of the AT 221 included in the submit request 230. When it is determined that the AT 221 is stored (that is, the authentication of the AT 221 is successful), the print intermediation server 100 stores respective items of information included in the submit request 230 in association. As a result, in the print intermediation server 100, respective items of information (that is, the account information, the printer ID, the virtual print condition information, the RT, and the AT 221) stored when the AT 221 is created are associated with first job information 240 (that is, the image data 232 and the print setting information 234). Then, the print intermediation server 100 sends a submit success notification 236 to the portable terminal 70.
identify the user who submitted the received print job, and transmit information related to the print job in a push notification to a notification destination mobile terminal associated with the user (e.g. the server can authenticate the user based on the AT221 (e.g. authentication token) in order to identify that the user can send a request. Next, the system pushes a notification to the portable terminal associated with the user in order to list print jobs to the user. In addition, a push notification of submission success can be sent to the portable terminal as well. These functions are taught in [69] and [73]-[75].); and
[0069] The CPU 82 receives the submit success notification 236 from the print intermediation server 100 via the wireless LAN I/F 78. In accordance with this, a submit process for submitting one job information 240 ends. When the user wants to submit another image data to the print intermediation server 100, the user performs the same operation as above. By doing so, the CPU 82 can submit second job information 250 to the print intermediation server 100 by executing the same process as above. As a result, in the print intermediation server 100, two items of job information (that is, first and second items of job information 240 and 250) are stored in association with the account information, the printer ID, and the like.
[0073] As shown in FIG. 4, in Case A, after the submit process of FIG. 3 ends, the user of the portable terminal 70 performs a list display operation. Specifically, the user of the portable terminal 70 selects a button indicating "List Display" on a screen displayed in accordance with the printer application.
[0074] When the list display operation is performed, the CPU 82 sends a job list request 270 including the AT 221 to the print intermediation server 100 via the wireless LAN I/F 78.
[0075] Upon receiving the job list request 270 from the portable terminal 70, the print intermediation server 100 executes authentication of the AT 221 included in the job list request 270. When it is determined that the AT 221 has been registered (that is, the authentication is successful), the print intermediation server 100 sends a job list 272 including a first job ID and a second job ID for identifying the first job information 240 and the second job information 250, respectively, associated with the AT 221 to the portable terminal 70.
[0076] The CPU 82 receives the job list request 270 from the print intermediation server 100 via the wireless LAN I/F 78. Upon receiving the job list request 270, the CPU 82 displays a job selection screen on the display unit 74 using the respective job IDs included in the job list 272. The job selection screen includes the first job ID and the second job ID.
transmit the stored print job to the printing apparatus associated with the identified user (e.g. the server can send the stored print job to the printer that is associated with the user, which is taught in ¶ [83]-[85].), and
[0083] Upon receiving the job list 292 from the print intermediation server 100 via the wireless LAN I/F 18, the CPU 32 makes determination on the job ID. Specifically, the CPU 32 determines whether the first job ID included in the print request 280 received from the portable terminal 70 is included in the job list 292 received from the print intermediation server 100. When it is determined that the first job ID included in the print request 280 received from the portable terminal 70 is included in the job list 292 received from the print intermediation server 100, the CPU 32 sends a print data request 294 via the wireless LAN I/F 18 using the URL 241 corresponding to the first job ID as a destination. The print data request 294 includes information indicating a data format that the printer 10 can interpret, the AT 221, the printer ID. The data format is a portable document format (PDF), for example.
[0084] Upon receiving the print data request 294 from the printer 10, the print intermediation server 100 executes authentication of the AT 221 and the printer ID included in the print data request 294 similarly to that described above. When it is determined that the AT 221 and the printer ID are stored (that is, authentication of the AT 221 and the printer ID is successful), the print intermediation server 100 performs a conversion process. That is, the print intermediation server 100 converts the image data 232 included in the first job information 240 in accordance with the print setting information 234 included in the first job information 240 and information indicating the data format included in the print data request 294 to create the print data 296. For example, when the print setting information 234 includes "XPS" as the data format, "A4" as the sheet size, "No" as the information on whether duplex printing is to be performed, and "Color" as the number of colors, the print intermediation server 100 creates the print data 296 for performing printing a color image on single side of an A4-size print sheet. Moreover, when the print data request 294 includes information indicating a PDF format, the print intermediation server 100 creates the print data 296 having the PDF format.
[0085] Subsequently, the print intermediation server 100 stores the created print data 296 at a location corresponding to the URL 241 included in the job list 292. The print intermediation server 100 sends the print data 296 stored in the location corresponding to the URL 241 which is a destination of the print data request 294 to the printer 10. The print intermediation server 100 deletes the first job information 240 among the two items of job information (that is, the first and second items of job information 240 and 250) stored in association with the AT 221 and the like from the memory.
the mobile terminal comprising: a display unit (element 14 in figure 1);
one or more second memory devices that store a set of instructions; and
one or more second processors that execute the set of instructions to:
receive the push notification from the printing server (e.g. push notifications are received from the server, which is taught in ¶ [68], [69] and [73]-[75] above.); and
in a case where the push notification is received, display a message on the display unit (e.g. the portable terminal receives a push notification of a display list of print jobs that are associated with the user, which is taught in ¶ [73]-[76] above.); and
transmit an instruction to execute the print job based on a user operation on the message (e.g. the user selects on of the jobs on the display list in order to perform a printing operation on the job, which is taught in ¶ [77].),
[0077] The user of the portable terminal 70 operates the operation unit 72 to select one or more job IDs. Further, the user performs a print operation in a state where one or more job IDs are selected. That is, the user selects a button indicating "Print" on a screen displayed in accordance with the printer application. In the following description, a case where the first job ID for identifying the first job information 240 is selected by the user and the print operation is performed will be described as an example.
wherein the printing server transmitting the print job stored in the printing apparatus is transmitting the print job to the printing apparatus upon receiving an instruction to execute the print job (e.g. the print server transmits a print job stored and selected for printing by the portable terminal to the printer. This is taught in ¶ [83]-[85] above.).
However, Shiraga fails to specifically teach the features of transmit an instruction to execute the print job to the printing server based on a user operation on the message.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Seo. Similar to the primary reference, Seo discloses pull printing (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Seo discloses transmit an instruction to execute the print job to the printing server based on a user operation on the message (e.g. the mobile device selects a job for output and sends this selection as a print execution instruction to the servers, which is taught in ¶ [75]-[78].).
[0075] In operation S470, the cloud server 500 may transmit the job list based on which the area corresponding to the identification information is updated to the user terminal 200, in response to the identification information received from the user terminal 200.
[0076] In operation S475, the user terminal 200 may display the received job list, and may transmit a job selected by a user to the cloud server 500.
[0077] In operation S480, the cloud server 500 may receive a request for the selected job in the job list from the user terminal 200, and may transmit the request for the selected job to the print server 400 corresponding to the device information of the image forming apparatus 100.
[0078] In operation S485, the print server 400 may transmit the selected job to the image forming apparatus 100 corresponding to the device information so that the selected job is performed by the image forming apparatus 100.
Therefore, in view of Seo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of transmit an instruction to execute the print job to the printing server based on a user operation on the message, incorporated in the device of Shiraga, as modified by Watanabe, in order to receive a job list in response to operating screen information, which can improve the use of an internal wireless network (as stated in Seo ¶ [01]).
Re claim 2: Shiraga discloses the pull-printing system according to claim 1, wherein the message is displayed in the mobile terminal using a notification function provided by an OS of the mobile terminal (e.g. the portable terminal contains an operating system that is used to allow for displaying messages to the user regarding jobs stored, which is taught in [21].).
[0021] The controller 30 comprises a CPU 32 and a memory 34. The CPU 32 is a processor that performs various processes in accordance with a program stored in the memory 34. The memory 34 is constructed by a RAM, a ROM, a hard disk, and the like. The memory 34 stores various items of data created or acquired in the course in which the printer 10 performs various processes as well as the program.
Re claim 4: The pull-printing system according to claim 1, wherein the message in the mobile terminal includes information for identifying the print job, and the one or more second processors execute instructions in the one or more second memory devices to:
cause the pull-printing application of the mobile terminal to display, on the display unit, an operation screen for performing an operation on the print job in the mobile terminal according to the user operation on the message (e.g. after a user selects a job on the job display list, the system displays an operation for printing in order to perform the printing operation on the selected job. This is taught in ¶ [77] above.).
Re claim 5: The pull-printing system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more second processors execute instructions in the one or more second memory devices to:
in response to the user operation on the message, make a request for obtaining a list of print jobs to the printing server (e.g. the portable terminal requests a list of print jobs from the print server, which is taught in ¶ [73]-[76] above.),
the one or more first processors execute instructions in the one or more first memory devices to:
receive the request and transmit a list of print jobs corresponding to the user to the mobile terminal (e.g. the server receives a request to send a print job list and transmits the list to the portable terminal, which is taught in ¶ [73]-[76] above.), and
the one or more second processors execute instructions in the one or more second memory devices to:
receive the list of print jobs and display the list of print jobs on the display unit (e.g. the portable terminal receives the list of print jobs stored on the print server and displays the jobs, which is taught in ¶ [73]-[76] above.); and
in response to selection of part or all of the list of print jobs by the user, instruct execution of a selected print job (e.g. a user selects a job and selects a print operation in order to have the portable terminal send the selected print job execution instruction, which is taught in ¶ [77] above and [78]-[81].).
[0078] When the first job ID is selected and the print operation is performed, the CPU 82 displays a message for urging the user to carry the portable terminal 70 close to the printer 10 on the display unit 74. The CPU 82 encrypts the AT 221, the printer ID, the selected first job ID using an encryption key registered in advance in the printer application to thereby create encrypted data. An encryption method is not particularly limited, and an advanced encryption standard (AES) algorithm, a data encryption standard (DES) algorithm, and the like may be used, for example.
[0079] The user of the portable terminal 70 carries the portable terminal 70 close to the printer 10. When the distance between the NFC I/F 76 of the portable terminal 70 and the NFC I/F 16 of the printer 10 is a predetermined distance (for example, 10 cm) or smaller, the CPU 82 sends via the NFC I/F 76 a print request 280 including the encrypted data (that is, the encrypted data of the AT 221, the printer ID, and the first job ID) to the printer 10. In this example, since NFC communication is performed, the CPU 82 can send a print instruction and encrypted data to the printer 10 without using an IP address of a destination, a URL of a destination, or the like. Moreover, since the AT 221, the printer ID, and the first job ID are encrypted, it is possible to suppress these items of information from being acquired by a third party unjustly.
[0080] Upon receiving the print request 280 from the portable terminal 70 via the NFC I/F 16, the CPU 32 decrypts the encrypted data using an encryption key (that is, an encryption key identical to the encryption key used by the portable terminal 70) stored in advance in the memory 34. As a result, the CPU 32 can acquire the AT 221, the printer ID, and the first job ID.
[0081] Subsequently, the CPU 32 sends a job list request 290 including the acquired AT 221 and printer ID to the print intermediation server 100 stored in advance in the memory 34 via the wireless LAN I/F 18 (that is, via the Internet) using the URL of the print intermediation server 100 as a destination.
However, Shiraga fails to specifically teach the features of in response to the user operation on the message, make a request for obtaining a list of print jobs to the printing server.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Seo. Similar to the primary reference, Seo discloses pull printing (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Seo discloses in response to the user operation on the message, make a request for obtaining a list of print jobs to the printing server (e.g. in response to the user entering in authentication information for login when a login screen is displayed after receiving a device information, the mobile device receives a job list after authenticating the user, which is taught in fig. 4 and explained in ¶ [63]-[67], [74] and [75].).
[0063] Referring back to FIG. 4, in operation S420, the user terminal 200 may access the image forming apparatus 100. As an example, the user terminal 200 may perform NFC tagging on the image forming apparatus 100, may scan a QR code on the image forming apparatus 100, and may access the image forming apparatus 100 through BLE.
[0064] In operation S425, the user terminal 200 may obtain the device information of the image forming apparatus 100. The device information may include a MAC address.
[0065] In operation S430, the user terminal 200 may transmit a login request including user information and the device information of the image forming apparatus 100 to the cloud server 500.
[0066] In operation S435, the cloud server 500 may generate identification information shared between the user terminal 200 and the print server 400 and an area corresponding to the identification in an identification information-based storage, in response to the received login request including the user information and the device information of the image forming apparatus 100.
[0067] In operation S440, it takes a predetermined time for the cloud server 500 receiving the login request of the user terminal 200 to transmit the login request to the print server 400, receive a result, and transmit a reply to the user terminal 200. Accordingly, in order for the user terminal 200 to know that the cloud server 500 has normally received the login request, the cloud server 500 may transmit the identification information shared between the user terminal 200 and the print server 400 to the user terminal 200. Also, the cloud server 500 may initialize the area corresponding to the identification information generated in the identification information-based storage.
[0074] Referring again to FIG. 4, the user terminal 200 may check whether the area corresponding to the identification information in the identification information-based storage is changed by using the identification information received from the cloud server 500 in operation S465. The user terminal 200 may periodically check whether the area corresponding to the identification information in the identification information-based storage is changed by using the identification information. The area corresponding to the identification information may be maintained at the initial value according to initialization until the cloud server 500 receives the job list from the print server 400, and the area corresponding to the identification information may be updated and the job list that allows pull printing may be checked after the cloud server 500 receives the job list.
[0075] In operation S470, the cloud server 500 may transmit the job list based on which the area corresponding to the identification information is updated to the user terminal 200, in response to the identification information received from the user terminal 200.
Therefore, in view of Seo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of in response to the user operation on the message, make a request for obtaining a list of print jobs to the printing server, incorporated in the device of Shiraga, in order to receive a job list in response to operating screen information, which can improve the use of an internal wireless network (as stated in Seo ¶ [01]).
Re claim 9: Shiraga discloses a method for controlling a mobile terminal in a pull-printing system including a printing apparatus, a printing server, and the mobile terminal, wherein the pull-printing system is configured to execute printing of a print job, which has been submitted to the printing server, using the printing apparatus based on an instruction of the mobile terminal,
the method comprising:
receiving, from the printing server, information related to the print job and information for identifying a pull-printing application of the mobile terminal through a push notification (e.g. the system discloses the print server sending a print job list to a portable terminal. In addition, the print server sends a token that identifies the application of the mobile terminal as a means of authentication to be used by the application of the mobile terminal when communicating with the print server. This is taught in ¶ [59] below and [75]-[80] above.);
[0059] Upon receiving the AT request 220 from the portable terminal 70, the print intermediation server 100 executes authentication of the RT included in the AT request 220. A method of authenticating the RT is the same as that described above. When the authentication of the RT is successful, the print intermediation server 100 creates an AT 221 which is a token different from the AT 218 associated with the RT that has been authenticated successfully. Subsequently, the print intermediation server 100 stores the successfully authenticated RT and the created AT 221 in association with each other. In this case, the print intermediation server 100 stores the created AT 221 instead of the AT 218 that has been stored in association with the RT. As a result, in the print intermediation server 100, the successfully authenticated RT, the account information, the printer ID, the virtual print condition information, and the created AT 221 are associated. The print intermediation server 100 sends a response 222 including the created AT 221 to the portable terminal 70. As described above, according to the present embodiment, the portable terminal 70 can receive the AT 221 from the print intermediation server 100 by activating the printer application.
in a case where the push notification is received, displaying a message on the display unit (e.g. the portable terminal receives a push notification of a display list of print jobs that are associated with the user, which is taught in ¶ [73]-[76] above.);;
causing the pull-printing application to display, on the display unit, an operation screen for performing an operation on the print job according to a user operation on the message (e.g. after a user selects a job on the job display list, the system displays an operation for printing in order to perform the printing operation on the selected job. This is taught in ¶ [77] above.).
However, Shiraga fails to specifically teach the features of and transmitting an instruction to execute the print job to the printing server based on a user operation in the operation screen.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Seo. Similar to the primary reference, Seo discloses pull printing (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Seo discloses and transmitting an instruction to execute the print job to the printing server based on a user operation in the operation screen (e.g. the mobile device selects a job for output and sends this selection as a print execution instruction to the servers, which is taught in ¶ [75]-[78].above.).
Therefore, in view of Seo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of and transmitting an instruction to execute the print job to the printing server based on a user operation in the operation screen, incorporated in the device of Shiraga, as modified by Watanabe, in order to receive a job list in response to operating screen information, which can improve the use of an internal wireless network (as stated in Seo ¶ [01]).
Re claim 10: Shiraga discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute each step of a method for controlling a mobile terminal in a pull-printing system, wherein the pull-printing system includes a printing apparatus, a printing server, and the mobile terminal and is configured to execute printing of a print job, which has been submitted to the printing server, using the printing apparatus, based on an instruction of the mobile terminal
the method comprising:
receiving, from the printing server, information related to the print job and information for identifying a pull-printing application of the mobile terminal through a push notification (e.g. the system discloses the print server sending a print job list to a portable terminal. In addition, the print server sends a token that identifies the application of the mobile terminal as a means of authentication to be used by the application of the mobile terminal when communicating with the print server. This is taught in ¶ [59] below and [75]-[80] above.)
in a case where the push notification is received, displaying a message on the display unit (e.g. the portable terminal receives a push notification of a display list of print jobs that are associated with the user, which is taught in ¶ [73]-[76] above.);
causing the pull-printing application to display, on the display unit, an operation screen for performing an operation on the print job according to a user operation on the message (e.g. after a user selects a job on the job display list, the system displays an operation for printing in order to perform the printing operation on the selected job. This is taught in ¶ [77] above.).
However, Shiraga fails to specifically teach the features of and transmitting an instruction to execute the print job to the printing server based on a user operation in the operation screen.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Seo. Similar to the primary reference, Seo discloses pull printing (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Seo discloses and transmitting an instruction to execute the print job to the printing server based on a user operation in the operation screen (e.g. the mobile device selects a job for output and sends this selection as a print execution instruction to the servers, which is taught in ¶ [75]-[78] above.).
Therefore, in view of Seo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of and transmitting an instruction to execute the print job to the printing server based on a user operation in the operation screen, incorporated in the device of Shiraga, as modified by Watanabe, in order to receive a job list in response to operating screen information, which can improve the use of an internal wireless network (as stated in Seo ¶ [01]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraga, as modified by Seo, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Hirata (US Pub 20130003117).
Re claim 3: Shiraga discloses the pull-printing system according to claim 1, wherein
the one or more second processors execute instructions in the one or more second memory devices to:
in response to the user operation on the message in the mobile terminal, a pull-printing application of the mobile terminal displays, on the display unit, an operation screen for performing an operation on the print job (e.g. after a user selects a job on the job display list, the system displays an operation for printing in order to perform the printing operation on the selected job. This is taught in ¶ [77] above.).
However, Shiraga fails to specifically teach the features of in response to the user operation on the message in the mobile terminal, a pull-printing application of the mobile terminal displays, on the display unit, an operation screen for performing an operation on the print job.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Hirata. Similar to the primary reference, Hirata discloses pull printing (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Hirata discloses in response to the user operation on the message in the mobile terminal, a pull-printing application of the mobile terminal displays, on the display unit, an operation screen for performing an operation on the print job (e.g. in response to the selection of a document and an associated printer with the print button, the system sends a screen for settings to be selected for the print job associated with the earlier selected document. This is taught in [54]-[58].).
[0054] When the web browser 301 issues a request to the print server 104 and the request is successfully authenticated by the authentication service 308, the print server 104 generates a document list screen 600 based on the document information 500 and then transmits it to the web browser 301.
[0055] The document list screen 600 includes document selection check boxes 601, document names 602, statuses 603, and a PRINT button 604. The document selection check box 601 is used to select a document to be printed. Upon detection of the pressing of the PRINT button 604, the web browser 301 transmits to the print server 104 a list of documents selected by the document selection check boxes 601. Upon reception of the document list, the print server 104 generates a printer list screen 610 based on the printer information 520 and then transmits it to the web browser 301.
[0056] The printer list screen 610 includes printer selection radio buttons 611, printer names 612, and a PRINT button 613. Upon detection of the pressing of the PRINT button 613, the web browser 301 transmits to the print server 104 information about printers selected by the radio buttons 611. Upon reception of the printer information, the print server 104 generates a print setting screen 620 and then transmits it to the web browser 301. The print setting screen 620 is a setting screen for printing attributes 621.
[0057] Upon detection of the pressing of a PRINT button 622, the web browser 301 transmits to the print server 104 user-specified printing attributes 621 as a print request. In the print server 104, the specified print attributes 621 are added to the print data.
[0058] When the user presses the PRINT button 622 on the print setting screen 620 and the print server 104 receives a print request, the print server 104 generates the print job information 510 based on the information selected in the document list screen 600, the printer list screen 610, and the print setting screen 620. Then, the print server 104 generates a print executing screen 640 and a print script 631 in a screen 630 and then transmits the screen 630 to the web browser 301 as a response to the print request. The print executing screen 640 displays an execution status of the print script 631.
Therefore, in view of Hirata, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of in response to the user operation on the message in the mobile terminal, a pull-printing application of the mobile terminal displays, on the display unit, an operation screen for performing an operation on the print job, incorporated in the device of Shiraga, in order to perform receiving an operation screen for performing an operation on the job in response to the selection in a received message, which can improve the management of printing and control of printing on the printers with the print server (as stated in Hirata ¶ [120]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraga, as modified by Seo, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Watanabe (US Pub 20180060004).
Re claim 6: The pull-printing system according to claim 1, wherein the message in the mobile terminal includes information for identifying the print job, and the one or more second processors execute instructions in the one or more second memory devices to:
display a setting button and a print button on the display unit;
when the setting button is operated by the user, display a setting screen for printing of the print job on the display unit (e.g. the portable terminal is used to display a setting information screen used to set settings for a print job, which is taught in ¶ [63]-[67].); and
[0063] When the submit operation is performed, the CPU 82 displays a print setting selection screen on the display unit 74. Specifically, the CPU 82 reads the virtual print condition information registered in advance in the printer application from the memory 84 and displays a print setting selection screen for allowing the user to select print setting for printing an image among the virtual print conditions indicated by the virtual print condition information on the display unit 74. In another embodiment, the CPU 82 may send a request for the virtual print condition information to the print intermediation server 100 and acquire the virtual print condition information from the print intermediation server 100.
[0064] As described above, the virtual print conditions include "A4" and "B5" as the sheet size, "No" as the information on whether duplex printing is to be performed, and "Monochrome" and "Color" as the number of colors. Thus, the print setting selection screen has such an aspect that "A4" or "B5" can be selected as the sheet size and "Monochrome" or "Color" can be selected as the number of colors.
[0065] The user, refereeing to the print setting selection screen, selects print setting by selecting the sheet size (for example, "A4") and the number of colors (for example, "Color") using the operation unit 72. Since there is no option for the information (that is, "No") on whether duplex printing is to be performed, duplex printing (that is, "No") is automatically included in the print setting.
[0066] In the print intermediation server 100, print data is created in accordance with the selected print setting and the print data is provided to the printer 10 (see FIG. 4), which will be described in detail later. As described above, the selected print setting is selected among the virtual print conditions and is not selected from the print conditions that the printer 10 can actually use. That is, it is not guaranteed that the printer 10 can perform printing in accordance with the selected print setting. However, in the present embodiment, the vendor of the printer 10 determines print conditions that a normal printer (for example, all printers sold by the vendor) can use in advance as the virtual print conditions and provides a printer application including virtual print condition information that indicates the virtual print conditions. Thus, in the present embodiment, the printer 10 can perform printing appropriately in accordance with the selected print setting.
[0067] When the print setting is selected by the user, the CPU 82 sends a submit request 230 including the received AT 221, the printer ID of the virtual printer in the memory 84, image data 232 designated by the user, print setting information 234 indicating the print setting designated by the user to the print intermediation server 100 via the wireless LAN I/F 78.
when the print button is operated by the user, not display the setting screen on the display unit (e.g. when the print button is selected when printing a job on the job list, the setting screen is not displayed, which is taught in ¶ [77]-[80] above.).
However, Shiraga fails to specifically teach the features of display a setting button and a print button on the display unit; when the setting button is operated by the user and transmit an instruction to execute the print job to the printing server.
However, an aspect of this is well known in the art as evidenced by Watanabe. Similar to the primary reference, Watanabe discloses pull printing (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Watanabe discloses display a setting button and a print button on the display unit; when the setting button is operated by the user (e.g. the system shows in figure 14 a settings button and a print button. The settings button causes settings to be entered for a job, which is taught in ¶ [81] and [82]. This feature incorporated in the mobile device option of the portable terminal would perform configuring the settings of the job before printing.),
[0081] In addition, on the display screen of FIG. 14, the number of selected jobs, a button for deleting (Delete), a button for setting (Settings), and a button for printing (Print) are displayed.
[0082] The number of selected jobs is a total number of print jobs that are selected by a current user. The button for deleting is for deleting any print job from the selected print jobs. The button for setting is for setting various parameters used in executing the selected print jobs (e.g., an order of executing the print jobs). The button for printing is for executing the selected print jobs.
Therefore, in view of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of display a setting button and a print button on the display unit; when the setting button is operated by the user, incorporated in the device of Shiraga, in order to have a settings button to perform the change of print settings before print execution is also changed, which can improve the pull printing and push printing job execution (as stated in Watanabe ¶ [03]-[05]).
However, the combination above fails to specifically teach the feature of and transmit an instruction to execute the print job to the printing server.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Seo. Similar to the primary reference, Seo discloses pull printing (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Seo discloses and transmit an instruction to execute the print job to the printing server (e.g. the mobile device selects a job for output and sends this selection as a print execution instruction to the servers, which is taught in ¶ [75]-[78].).
[0075] In operation S470, the cloud server 500 may transmit the job list based on which the area corresponding to the identification information is updated to the user terminal 200, in response to the identification information received from the user terminal 200.
[0076] In operation S475, the user terminal 200 may display the received job list, and may transmit a job selected by a user to the cloud server 500.
[0077] In operation S480, the cloud server 500 may receive a request for the selected job in the job list from the user terminal 200, and may transmit the request for the selected job to the print server 400 corresponding to the device information of the image forming apparatus 100.
[0078] In operation S485, the print server 400 may transmit the selected job to the image forming apparatus 100 corresponding to the device information so that the selected job is performed by the image forming apparatus 100.
Therefore, in view of Seo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of and transmit an instruction to execute the print job to the printing server, incorporated in the device of Shiraga, as modified by Watanabe, in order to receive a job list in response to operating screen information, which can improve the use of an internal wireless network (as stated in Seo ¶ [01]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraga, as modified by Seo, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Aritomi (US Pub 2016/0077778).
Re claim 7: The pull-printing system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more second processors execute instructions in the one or more second memory devices to:
in a case where the mobile terminal is near the printing apparatus, in response to the user operation on the message in the mobile terminal, cause the pull-printing application of the mobile terminal to display, on the display unit, a screen for performing an operation on the print job (e.g. the user is able to select a list display operation, the server sends a job list to the portable terminal. After portable terminal receives a list and is close to the printer using NFC, the user is shown a list of jobs to select. The user can then select a job while close to the printer, which is taught in ¶[ [76]-[80].),
[0076] The CPU 82 receives the job list request 270 from the print intermediation server 100 via the wireless LAN I/F 78. Upon receiving the job list request 270, the CPU 82 displays a job selection screen on the display unit 74 using the respective job IDs included in the job list 272. The job selection screen includes the first job ID and the second job ID.
[0077] The user of the portable terminal 70 operates the operation unit 72 to select one or more job IDs. Further, the user performs a print operation in a state where one or more job IDs are selected. That is, the user selects a button indicating "Print" on a screen displayed in accordance with the printer application. In the following description, a case where the first job ID for identifying the first job information 240 is selected by the user and the print operation is performed will be described as an example.
[0078] When the first job ID is selected and the print operation is performed, the CPU 82 displays a message for urging the user to carry the portable terminal 70 close to the printer 10 on the display unit 74. The CPU 82 encrypts the AT 221, the printer ID, the selected first job ID using an encryption key registered in advance in the printer application to thereby create encrypted data. An encryption method is not particularly limited, and an advanced encryption standard (AES) algorithm, a data encryption standard (DES) algorithm, and the like may be used, for example.
[0079] The user of the portable terminal 70 carries the portable terminal 70 close to the printer 10. When the distance between the NFC I/F 76 of the portable terminal 70 and the NFC I/F 16 of the printer 10 is a predetermined distance (for example, 10 cm) or smaller, the CPU 82 sends via the NFC I/F 76 a print request 280 including the encrypted data (that is, the encrypted data of the AT 221, the printer ID, and the first job ID) to the printer 10. In this example, since NFC communication is performed, the CPU 82 can send a print instruction and encrypted data to the printer 10 without using an IP address of a destination, a URL of a destination, or the like. Moreover, since the AT 221, the printer ID, and the first job ID are encrypted, it is possible to suppress these items of information from being acquired by a third party unjustly.
[0080] Upon receiving the print request 280 from the portable terminal 70 via the NFC I/F 16, the CPU 32 decrypts the encrypted data using an encryption key (that is, an encryption key identical to the encryption key used by the portable terminal 70) stored in advance in the memory 34. As a result, the CPU 32 can acquire the AT 221, the printer ID, and the first job ID.
in a case where the mobile terminal is not near the printing apparatus, in response to the user operation on the message in the mobile terminal (e.g., the user can select a job from the job selection screen but be far away from the printing device, which is taught in ¶ [76]-[80] above.).
However, Shiraga fails to specifically teach the features of in a case where the mobile terminal is not near the printing apparatus, in response to the user operation on the message in the mobile terminal (e.g., cause the pull-printing application to display an error on the display unit.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Aritomi. Similar to the primary reference, Aritomi discloses detecting a mobile device far or near for printing (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Aritomi discloses in a case where the mobile terminal is not near the printing apparatus, in response to the user operation on the message in the mobile terminal, cause the pull-printing application to display an error on the display unit (e.g. if the user is detected far away from the printer device, congestion status can be shown on the user device. The congestion status can contain an error message of the printer being out of paper as an error state, which is taught in ¶ [60].).
[0059] [Software Arrangement (Data)]
[0060] An example of the structure of data held by the print system 9 will be described with reference to FIG. 3B. Data of the mobile terminal 1 and those of the printer 2 will be explained in the order named. Data examples of the mobile terminal 1 will be explained. A type identification universal unique ID (UUID) 32 is an identifier used by the application 10 to specify a target printer. In this example, for example, the UUID of an apparatus such as a printer is given to include information indicating the type of the apparatus (for example, a printer), and it is possible to determine the type of the apparatus having the UUID by referring to the type information. The type identification UUID (to be also referred to as an identification UUID hereinafter) 32 is type identification information included in the UUID. A list 33 of printers whose types can be identified by collating UUIDs with the identification UUID is a list of printers detected from the mobile terminal 1, and a list of UUIDs which have been determined as the UUIDs of printers among received UUIDs. Target printer information 34 stores information of a printer which has been selected to be a print target, for example, notification information (to be described later) of the target printer, printer apparatus information, a model name, service information, and the like. Distance measurement information 35 stores distance measurement information of the mobile terminal 1 and printer 2. Printout information 36 stores information about a print job. Congestion status information 37 stores information about a printer use status such as a congestion status. In this embodiment, the congestion status information 37 stores one of a congestion state (busy state) and a non-congestion state (ready state). However, for example, a state in which another user is already using the printer to be used, a state indicating paper out, and the like may be included. The congestion status can be acquired from the printer 2 or specified by the mobile terminal 1. A function setting 38 and an authentication setting 39 store settings about the function and authentication of the print system 9 and those of the application 10.
Therefore, in view of Aritomi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of in a case where the mobile terminal is not near the printing apparatus, in response to the user operation on the message in the mobile terminal, cause the pull-printing application to display an error on the display unit, incorporated in the device of Shiraga, in order to display an error message if a user is away from the printer outside a predetermined distance, which can limit the standby time the user waits for printing based on the displayed status (as stated in Aritomi ¶ [06]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraga, as modified by Seo, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Common Knowledge of secure printing (Official Notice).
Re claim 8: However, Shiraga fails to specifically teach the features of the pull-printing system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more first processors execute instructions in the one or more first memory devices to:
upon receiving the print job, issue a print code, wherein the storing the print job is storing the print job and the print code in association with each other, the push notification includes the information related to the print job and the print code, and the transmitting the print job is transmitting the print job having identified the print job based on the print code.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Common Knowledge of secure printing (Official Notice). Similar to the primary reference, Common Knowledge of secure printing discloses printing a job using a code in a secure manner (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Common Knowledge of secure printing discloses wherein the one or more first processors execute instructions in the one or more first memory devices to:
upon receiving the print job, issue a print code, wherein the storing the print job is storing the print job and the print code in association with each other, the push notification includes the information related to the print job and the print code, and the transmitting the print job is transmitting the print job having identified the print job based on the print code (e.g. it is well known to send a print job to a sever for storage and the server issues a pin code that is associated with the job and the user name in order to output the job. When a user approaches a printer or uses a mobile application to approach the printer, a screen is usually used for the user to enter in their username and their pin associated therewith in order to access the print jobs associated with the user. Once accessed, the user can select the print job for output if the information entered is correct. The server or digital front end of the printer receives the username and pin through directly from a user or through a mobile device sending the information, and the print server sends the job associated with the entered information to the printer.).
Therefore, in view of Common Knowledge of secure printing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the one or more first processors execute instructions in the one or more first memory devices to:
upon receiving the print job, issue a print code, wherein the storing the print job is storing the print job and the print code in association with each other, the push notification includes the information related to the print job and the print code, and the transmitting the print job is transmitting the print job having identified the print job based on the print code, incorporated in the device of Shiraga, in order to issue a pin associated with a print job stored on a server, which increases the security of the print job and ensures only the user associated with the job and pin is able to print the data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mihira discloses detecting a nearby portable terminal.
/CHAD DICKERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683