DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed August 5, 2026.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed August 5, 2026, the rejections of claim 21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b), previously presented in the Office Action sent May 19, 2026 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed August 5, 2026, the rejections of claims 1-6 and 19-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103, previously presented in the Office Action sent May 19, 2026 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
Claims 1-6 and 19-23 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 recites, “wherein a deposition process of forming the second dielectric layer is performed at a temperature of about 550°C in a nitrogen atmosphere”.
The specification, as originally filed, does not evidence Applicant had in possession an invention including a deposition process of forming the second dielectric layer is performed at a temperature of about 550°C in a nitrogen atmosphere.
The specification teaches a temperature of 550°C (see claim 3) but does not discuss or describe a temperature over the range of “about 550°C”.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites, “a temperature of about 550°C”.
It is unclear as to the scope of temperatures encompassed by the phrase “about 550°C” and what temperatures are specifically excluded by the phrase “about 550°C” because it is unclear as to what limitations the term “about” definitely imparts on the claimed temperature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20160010198 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed September 25, 2024) in view of Sun et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0165855 A1) and Lee et al. (KR 20140110230 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed October 17, 2024).
With regard to claims 1 and 23, Kim et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a solar cell, comprising:
forming a first conductivity-type region composed of a polycrystalline silicon layer having an n-type conductivity on a first side of a semiconductor substrate (first conductivity-type region 32 depicted in Fig. 5 as formed on a first bottom/rear side of a semiconductor substrate 20/110; see [0026] teaching polycrystalline silicon; see [0027] teaching cited first conductivity type region can be “n-type”) and
forming a second conductivity-type region at or on the second side of the semiconductor substrate (forming a second conductivity-type region, such as the top half of 110 which constitutes a doped region apart of the semiconductor substrate, as depicted in Fig. 5 as at the second top/front side of the cited semiconductor substrate; see [0017] teaching 110 can be p-type);
forming a passivation layer including forming a first passivation layer on the first conductivity-type region (such as first passivation layer 40 depicted in Fig. 5 as formed on the cited first conductivity-type region 32)
forming a first electrode passing through the first passivation layer and electrically connected to the first conductivity-type region (such as depicted in Fig. 5, forming a first electrode 42 passing through the cited first passivation layer 40 and electrically connected to the cited first conductivity-type region 32) and
a second electrode on a second side of a semiconductor substrate (such as depicted in Fig. 5, a second electrode 44 on a second top/front side of a semiconductor substrate 20/110), wherein the forming the first passivation layer includes:
a process of forming a first aluminum oxide layer having hydrogen on the first conductivity-type region (such depicted in Fig. 5, a first aluminum oxide layer 40 formed on the cited first conductivity-type region 32; see [0005] teaching “aluminum oxide containing hydrogen”), and
hydrogen included in the first aluminum oxide layer is implanted into at least one of the first conductivity-type region and the semiconductor substrate, by performing an annealing process in the forming the passivation layer (see [0096-0097] teaching “heat treatment” during formation of cited first passivation layer, cited to read on the claimed “annealing process”, and teaching hydrogen (H), etc. diffuses into the inside of the semiconductor substrate); and wherein
the annealing process is performed at a temperature of 3000C to 6000C (see [0101] teaching “5000C to 8000C” cited to read on the claimed range of “3000C to 6000C” because it includes values with in the claimed range such as 5000C).
Kim et al. does not disclose wherein the forming the first passivation layer includes a first dielectric layer positioned on the first aluminum oxide layer and including a material different from the first aluminum oxide layer.
However, Sun et al. discloses a solar cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a first dielectric layer (108b, Fig. 2) positioned on a first aluminum oxide layer (106b and see [0026]) and including a material different from the first aluminum oxide layer 106b, wherein the first dielectric layer includes silicon nitride (see [0028]).
Sun et al. teaches the first dielectric layer 108b provides for anti-reflection (see [0028]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the first passivation layer in the method of Kim et al. to include a first dielectric layer, as suggested by Sun et al., because it would have provided for anti-reflection.
Kim et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein only the second conductivity-type region of the first conductivity-type region and the second conductivity-type region is formed to include a first region formed in a portion corresponding to the second electrode and having a low resistance or a high doping concentration and a second region positioned in an other portion of the second conductivity-type region and having a higher resistance or a lower doping concentration than the first region.
However, Lee et al. discloses a solar cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches wherein
only the second conductivity-type region of the first conductivity-type region and the second conductivity-type region (see [0035] teaching second conductivity-type region 20 can include first 20a and second 20b regions which would have been an obvious selection because Lee et al. suggest the doping profile for the cited second conductivity-type region 20; see [0046] teaching first conductivity-type region 30 may have uniform doping concentration which would have been an obvious selection because Lee et al. suggest the doping profile for the cited first conductivity-type region 30) is formed to include
a first region formed in a portion corresponding to the second electrode and having a low resistance or a high doping concentration (as depicted in Fig. 6, a first region 20a formed in a portion corresponding to the second electrode 24 and having a low resistance or a high doping concentration; see [0035]) and
a second region positioned in an other portion of the second conductivity-type region and having a higher resistance or a lower doping concentration than the first region (as depicted in Fig. 6, a second region 20b positioned in an other portion of the second conductivity-type region and having a higher resistance or a lower doping concentration than the first region; see [0035]).
Lee et al. teaches the doping profile for the second conductivity-type region improves current density, reduces contact resistance, and maximizes efficiency of the solar cell (see [0036]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the doping profile of the second conductivity-type region in the solar cell of Kim et al., as modified above, to include the doping profiled suggested by Lee et al., because it would have improved current density, reduced contact resistance, and maximized efficiency of the solar cell.
With regard to claim 2, independent claim 1 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Lee et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Kim et al. discloses wherein the forming the passivation layer further includes
forming a second passivation layer on the second conductivity-type region (as depicted in Fig. 5, forming a second passivation layer 24/26 on the cited second conductivity-type region), and the forming the second passivation layer includes
a process of forming a second aluminum oxide layer on the second conductivity-type region (such as depicted in Fig. 5, forming a second aluminum oxide layer 24 positioned on the cited second conductivity-type region, top half of 110; see [0005] teaching “aluminum oxide”; see [0037] teaching first and second aluminum oxide layers have same material and structure/thickness), and
a process of forming a second dielectric layer positioned on the second aluminum oxide layer, the second dielectric layer including a material different from the second aluminum oxide layer (such as depicted in Fig. 5, forming a second dielectric layer 26 positioned on the cited second aluminum oxide layer 24; see [0072] teaching the cited dielectric layer 26 can be a silicon nitride film which is a material different from the cited second aluminum oxide layer).
With regard to claim 4, dependent claim 2 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Lee et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Kim et al. discloses
the process of forming the first aluminum oxide layer and the process of forming the second aluminum oxide layer are performed together by a same process (see [0037] teaching “may be formed together in the same process”).
With regard to claim 5, dependent claim 2 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Lee et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Kim et al. discloses wherein
the process of the forming the second dielectric layer includes a first annealing process in which hydrogen included in the first aluminum oxide layer is implanted into at least one of the first conductivity-type region and the semiconductor substrate (see [0096-0097] teaching “heat treatment” cited to read on the claimed “first annealing process” which hydrogen (H), etc. diffuses into the inside of the semiconductor substrate).
Kim et al. does not teach wherein in the forming the passivation layer, the process of the forming the first dielectric layer is performed after the process of forming the second dielectric layer is performed.
However, the selection of any order of performing process steps provides a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.04 IV C); especially since the claimed order is one in a finite number of immediately recognizable options, finite options being the process of the forming the first dielectric layer after, before, and/or at the same time as the process of forming the second dielectric layer is performed (note MPEP 2143 E).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have tried performing the process of the forming the first dielectric layer after the process of forming the second dielectric layer is performed because the selection of any order of performing process steps provides a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.04 IV C).
With regard to claim 6, dependent claim 5 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Lee et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Kim et al. does not teach wherein after performing the first annealing process, a deposition process of the first dielectric layer is performed.
However, the selection of any order of performing process steps provides a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.04 IV C); especially since the claimed order is one in a finite number of immediately recognizable options, finite options being after, before, and/or at the same time of performing the first annealing process, the deposition process of the first dielectric layer is performed (note MPEP 2143 E).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have tried a deposition process of the first dielectric layer after performing the first annealing process because the selection of any order of performing process steps provides a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.04 IV C).
Claim(s) 3 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20160010198 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed September 25, 2024) in view of Sun et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0165855 A1) and Lee et al. (KR 20140110230 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed October 17, 2024), and in further view of Dai et al. (CN 108987490 A).
With regard to claim 3, dependent claim 2 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Lee et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Kim et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein the process of forming the second dielectric layer is performed at a temperature of 550°C in a nitrogen atmosphere.
However, Dai et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a solar cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a process of forming a dielectric layer is performed at a temperature of 550°C in a nitrogen atmosphere (see [0018] teaching a process including a temperature at “450-600°C” and a nitrogen atmosphere).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the process for forming the second dielectric layer in the method of Kim et al., as modified above, for the process of forming a dielectric layer exemplified by Dai et l. because the simple substitution of a known element known in the art to perform the same function, in the instant case a process for forming a dielectric layer in a solar cell, supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2143 B).
With regard to claim 21, independent claim 1 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Lee et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Kim et al. discloses wherein
forming the passivation layer further includes forming a second passivation layer on the second conductivity-type region (forming a second passivation layer 24/26 on the second conductivity-type region, such as the top half of 110, depicted in Fig. 5; see [0017] teaching 110 can be p-type); wherein forming the second passivation layer includes:
a process of forming a second aluminum oxide layer on the second conductivity-type region (such as depicted in Fig. 5, forming a second aluminum oxide layer 24 positioned on the cited second conductivity-type region, top half of 110; see [0005] teaching “aluminum oxide”; see [0037] teaching first and second aluminum oxide layers have same material and structure/thickness); and
a process of forming a second dielectric layer positioned on the second aluminum oxide layer, the second dielectric layer including a material different than the second aluminum oxide layer (such as depicted in Fig. 5, forming a second dielectric layer 26 positioned on the cited second aluminum oxide layer 24; see [0072] teaching the cited dielectric layer 26 can be a silicon nitride film which is a material different from the cited second aluminum oxide layer).
Kim et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein the process of forming the second dielectric layer is performed at a temperature of about 550°C in a nitrogen atmosphere.
However, Dai et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a solar cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a process of forming a dielectric layer is performed at a temperature of about 550°C in a nitrogen atmosphere (see [0018] teaching a process including a temperature at “450-600°C” and a nitrogen atmosphere).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the process for forming the second dielectric layer in the method of Kim et al., as modified above, for the process of forming a dielectric layer exemplified by Dai et l. because the simple substitution of a known element known in the art to perform the same function, in the instant case a process for forming a dielectric layer in a solar cell, supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2143 B).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20160010198 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed September 25, 2024) in view of Sun et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0165855 A1) and Lee et al. (KR 20140110230 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed October 17, 2024), and in further view of Cho et al. (KR 20180091691 A).
With regard to claim 19, independent claim 1 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Lee et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Kim et al., as modified above, dose not disclose wherein a glass frit content of the first electrode is different from a glass frit content of the second electrode.
However, the glass frit content in the first and second electrode is a result effective variable and Cho et al. teaches the glass frit content directly affects the depth at which the electrode is fired through (see [0024]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the glass frit content in the first and second electrode in the method of Kim et al., as modified above, and arrive at the claimed relative range through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the depths at which each the first and second electrodes first through.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20160010198 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed September 25, 2024) in view of Sun et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0165855 A1) and Lee et al. (KR 20140110230 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed October 17, 2024), and in further view of Ito et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0014175 A1).
With regard to claim 20, independent claim 1 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Lee et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Kim et al. does not disclose hydrogen included in the first aluminum oxide layer is implanted into at least one of the first conductivity-type region and the semiconductor substrate, by performing an other annealing process in the forming the first electrode.
However, Ito et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a solar cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a first electrode can be formed by an other annealing process (see [0065] teaching firing conductive paste at a temperature of 600°C to 800°C).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the process of forming the first electrode in the method of Kim et al. for the firing process suggested by Ito et al. because the simple substitution of an element known in the art to perform the same function, in the instant case a process of forming a first electrode, supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2143 B).
Kim et al., as modified above, teaches the claimed “hydrogen included in the first aluminum oxide layer is implanted into at least one of the first conductivity-type region and the semiconductor substrate, by performing an other annealing process in the forming the first electrode” because during the cited other annealing process (recall firing process of Ito et al. at a temperature of 600°C to 800°C), the hydrogen included in the cited first aluminum oxide layer necessarily is implanted into at least one of the cited first conductivity-type region and the cited semiconductor substrate due to the relatively higher temperature of the firing process.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20160010198 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed September 25, 2024) in view of Sun et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0165855 A1), Lee et al. (KR 20140110230 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed October 17, 2024), and Ito et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0014175 A1).
With regard to claim 22, Kim et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a solar cell, comprising:
forming a first conductivity-type region composed of a polycrystalline silicon layer having an n-type conductivity on a first side of a semiconductor substrate (first conductivity-type region 32 depicted in Fig. 5 as formed on a first bottom/rear side of a semiconductor substrate 20/110; see [0026] teaching polycrystalline silicon; see [0027] teaching cited first conductivity type region can be “n-type”) and
forming a second conductivity-type region at or on the second side of the semiconductor substrate (forming a second conductivity-type region, such as the top half of 110 which constitutes a doped region apart of the semiconductor substrate, as depicted in Fig. 5 as at the second top/front side of the cited semiconductor substrate; see [0017] teaching 110 can be p-type);
forming a passivation layer including forming a first passivation layer on the first conductivity-type region (such as first passivation layer 40 depicted in Fig. 5 as formed on the cited first conductivity-type region 32)
forming a first electrode passing through the first passivation layer and electrically connected to the first conductivity-type region (such as depicted in Fig. 5, forming a first electrode 42 passing through the cited first passivation layer 40 and electrically connected to the cited first conductivity-type region 32, wherein the forming the first passivation layer includes:
a process of forming a first aluminum oxide layer having hydrogen on the first conductivity-type region (such depicted in Fig. 5, a first aluminum oxide layer 40 formed on the cited first conductivity-type region 32; see [0005] teaching “aluminum oxide containing hydrogen”).
Kim et al. does not disclose hydrogen included in the first aluminum oxide layer is implanted into at least one of the first conductivity-type region and the semiconductor substrate, by performing an annealing process in the forming the first electrode.
However, Ito et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a solar cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a first electrode can be formed by an annealing process (see [0065] teaching firing conductive paste at a temperature of 600°C to 800°C).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the process of forming the first electrode in the method of Kim et al. for the firing process suggested by Ito et al. because the simple substitution of an element known in the art to perform the same function, in the instant case a process of forming a first electrode, supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2143 B).
Kim et al., as modified above, teaches the claimed “hydrogen included in the first aluminum oxide layer is implanted into at least one of the first conductivity-type region and the semiconductor substrate, by performing an annealing process in the forming the first electrode” because during the cited annealing process (recall firing process of Ito et al. at a temperature of 600°C to 800°C), the hydrogen included in the cited first aluminum oxide layer necessarily is implanted into at least one of the cited first conductivity-type region and the cited semiconductor substrate due to the relatively higher temperature of the firing process.
Kim et al. does not disclose wherein the forming the first passivation layer includes a first dielectric layer positioned on the first aluminum oxide layer and including a material different from the first aluminum oxide layer.
However, Sun et al. discloses a solar cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a first dielectric layer (108b, Fig. 2) positioned on a first aluminum oxide layer (106b and see [0026]) and including a material different from the first aluminum oxide layer 106b, wherein the first dielectric layer includes silicon nitride (see [0028]).
Sun et al. teaches the first dielectric layer 108b provides for anti-reflection (see [0028]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the first passivation layer in the method of Kim et al. to include a first dielectric layer, as suggested by Sun et al., because it would have provided for anti-reflection.
Kim et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein only the second conductivity-type region of the first conductivity-type region and the second conductivity-type region is formed to include a first region formed in a portion corresponding to the second electrode and having a low resistance or a high doping concentration and a second region positioned in an other portion of the second conductivity-type region and having a higher resistance or a lower doping concentration than the first region.
However, Lee et al. discloses a solar cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches wherein
only the second conductivity-type region of the first conductivity-type region and the second conductivity-type region (see [0035] teaching second conductivity-type region 20 can include first 20a and second 20b regions which would have been an obvious selection because Lee et al. suggest the doping profile for the cited second conductivity-type region 20; see [0046] teaching first conductivity-type region 30 may have uniform doping concentration which would have been an obvious selection because Lee et al. suggest the doping profile for the cited first conductivity-type region 30) is formed to include
a first region formed in a portion corresponding to the second electrode and having a low resistance or a high doping concentration (as depicted in Fig. 6, a first region 20a formed in a portion corresponding to the second electrode 24 and having a low resistance or a high doping concentration; see [0035]) and
a second region positioned in an other portion of the second conductivity-type region and having a higher resistance or a lower doping concentration than the first region (as depicted in Fig. 6, a second region 20b positioned in an other portion of the second conductivity-type region and having a higher resistance or a lower doping concentration than the first region; see [0035]).
Lee et al. teaches the doping profile for the second conductivity-type region improves current density, reduces contact resistance, and maximizes efficiency of the solar cell (see [0036]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the doping profile of the second conductivity-type region in the solar cell of Kim et al., as modified above, to include the doping profiled suggested by Lee et al., because it would have improved current density, reduced contact resistance, and maximized efficiency of the solar cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, in light of the Specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would clearly understand “about” does not have to be exactly or precisely 550 °C but some amounts of tolerances such as manufacturing and/or measuring tolerances, would fall within the scope of the claims. However, this argument is not persuasive.
The specification does not teach “about” 550 °C, let alone describe “about” 550 °C as not having to be exactly or precisely 550 °C but some amounts of tolerances such as manufacturing and/or measuring tolerances, would fall within the scope of the claims.
Applicant notes the newly added claimed limitations are not found within the previously cited prior art references. However, this argument is addressed in the rejections of the claims above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 October 14, 2026