DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Receipt is acknowledged of an amendment, filed on 03/23/2026, which has been placed of record and entered in the file.
Status of the claims:
Claims 1-5 and 9-10 are pending for examination.
Claims 6-8 are cancelled.
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
03/23/2026 has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cai (CN 105564703 A).
Regarding claim 1, Cai discloses a cap rotating equipment (Fig. 1) comprising:
a power rotating shaft (1);
a cap rotating housing (3) connecting to the power rotating shaft (1), wherein the cap rotating housing (3) comprises an opening (opening of 3); and
a cap fixing device (2) installed in the opening (Fig. 1) of the cap rotating housing (3) to clamp and hold a bottle cap (Fig. 1) of a bottle (Fig. 1); wherein the cap rotating housing (3) comprises:
a bottle storage area (8 and region beneath the housing where the bottle is received);
a first guiding portion (See Annotated Fig. 1 below) connected to the bottle storage area to guide a bottle body of the bottle into the bottle storage area (Fig. 4);
a bottle cap storage area (See Annotated Fig. 1 below); and
a second guiding portion (See Annotated Fig. 1 below) connected between the bottle cap storage area and the bottle storage area to guide the bottle cap of the bottle into the bottle cap storage area (See Annotated Fig. 1 below),
wherein a diameter of the bottle storage area (See Annotated Fig. 1 below) is greater than a diameter of the bottle cap storage area (See Annotated Fig. 1 below),
wherein a height of the bottle storage area (See Annotated Fig. 1 below) plus the first guiding portion (See Annotated Fig. 1 below) is greater than a height measured from a bottle cap (C) top surface to a bottle shoulder of the bottle body (See Annotated Fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the cap fixing device (1; Fig. 1) comprises a pneumatic expansion ring (5) to clamp or release the bottle cap of the bottle according to a value of air pressure in the pneumatic expansion ring (Fig. 1; Page 11 lines 46-49 of Cai).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heebner (US 5353665 A).
Regarding claim 1, Heebner discloses a cap rotating equipment (10), comprising:
a power rotating shaft (25);
a cap rotating housing (18, 26) connecting to the power rotating shaft (25), wherein the cap rotating housing (18, 26) comprises an opening (cavity of 20, 18); and
a cap fixing device (20) installed in the opening (416) of the cap rotating housing (18) to clamp and hold a bottle cap (C) of a bottle (B; Fig. 2); wherein the cap rotating housing (18, 26) comprises:
a bottle storage area (Area between 16A and 16A);
a first guiding portion (12, 14) connected to the bottle storage area (Area between 16A and 16B) to guide a bottle body of the bottle into the bottle storage area (Fig. 2);
a bottle cap storage area (Area inside of 20; See Annotated Fig. 4 below); and
a second guiding portion (See Annotated Fig. 4 below) connected between the bottle cap storage area and the bottle storage area (Area between 16A and 16B) to guide the bottle cap (C) of the bottle (B; Fig. 2) into the bottle cap storage area (Area inside of 20; See Annotated Fig. 4 below),
wherein a diameter of the bottle storage area (Area between 16A and 16A) is greater than a diameter of the bottle cap storage area (See Annotated Fig. 4 below),
wherein a height of the bottle storage area (Area inside of 20; See Annotated Fig. 4 below) plus the first guiding portion (12, 14) is greater than a height measured from a bottle cap (C) top surface to a bottle shoulder of the bottle body (Fig. 2; See Annotated Fig. 4 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heebner (US 5353665 A) in view of Cai (CN 105564703 A).
Regarding claim 2, Heebner discloses a cap rotating equipment (10), including the cap fixing device (20) to clamp or release the bottle cap of the bottle (Col 3 lines 40-50 and Col 4 lines 38-61).
However, Heebner is silent with regards to wherein the cap fixing device comprises a pneumatic expansion ring to clamp or release the bottle cap of the bottle according to a value of air pressure in the pneumatic expansion ring.
Cai in a related invention teaches a cap fixing device (1; Fig. 1) comprises a pneumatic expansion ring (5) to clamp or release the bottle cap of the bottle according to a value of air pressure in the pneumatic expansion ring (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cap fixing device of Heebner by incorporating a pneumatic expansion ring as taught by Cai in order to greatly improve the tightening of the bottle cap and prevent damage during clamping (Page 11 lines 46-49 of Cai)
Regarding claim 3, wherein the cap fixing device (20 of Heebner) further comprises: a corrosion-resistant contact layer formed inside the pneumatic expansion ring (Heebner in Col 3 lines 25-30 describes element 20 as made from resilient elastomeric polymer as a form of silicon rubber-which is known to be corrosion resistant).
Claims 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heebner (US 5353665 A) in view of Cai (CN 105564703 A), and in further view of Fadeev et al. (US 9428302 B2).
Regarding claim 4, Heebner as modified discloses the cap rotating equipment (10 of Heebner), including the cap fixing device (20 of Heebner) having a corrosion resistant layer.
However, Heebner as modified is silent with regards to wherein the corrosion-resistant contact layer is a perfluoroalkoxy alkane (PFA) contact layer.
Fadeev in the analogous art of pharmaceutical bottle teaches to provide a corrosion resistance layer as a perfluoroalkoxy alkane (PFA) layer as a coating for heat resistance coating layer (Col 38 lines 57-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the corrosion-resistant contact layer of Heebner as modified by incorporating perfluoroalkoxy alkane (PFA) as taught by Fadeev in order to provide superior chemical and thermal resistance suitable for pharmaceutical capping, preventing corrosion. This would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because it involves simple substitution of one known corrosion resistant material for another to yield predictable results of enhanced longevity in bottle cap contact surfaces.
Claims 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heebner (US 5353665 A) in view of Cai (CN 105564703 A), and in further view of Naaber (US 20110225928 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Heebner as modified discloses the cap rotating equipment (10 of Heebner), including the cap fixing device (20 of Heebner) having a corrosion resistant layer (silicone rubber, 20 of Heebner).
However, Heebner as modified is silent with regards to wherein the corrosion-resistant contact layer comprises a corrugated surface complementary to a texture on a side surface of the bottle cap.
Naaber teaches corrosion-resistant contact layer (17) comprises a corrugated surface (21; Fig. 3) complementary to a texture on a side surface of the bottle cap (3; Fig. 3 and [0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the contact layer of Heebner as modified by incorporating a corrugated surface as taught by Naaber which allows at least a partial form fit by interlocking of opposing surface contours. ([0002]).
Claims 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heebner (US 5353665 A) in view of Choueirl (US 20200207601 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Heebner as discloses the cap rotating equipment (10 of Heebner).
However, Heebner is silent with regards a bottle cap sensor equipped in the bottle cap storage area of the cap rotating housing to detect the bottle cap of the bottle.
Choueirl teaches a bottle cap sensor (206) equipped in the bottle cap storage area (Fig. 2) of the cap (301) rotating housing to detect the bottle cap of the bottle ([0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cap rotating equipment of Heebner by incorporating a bottle cap sensor) as taught by Choueirl in order to capture an image of the cap and provide data about the beverage and/or cap (Abstract and [0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the bottle cap sensor (206 of Choueirl) is a limit switch, a proximity switch, an optical sensor, a laser sensor or an infrared sensor ([0042] Choueirl).
Response to Arguments
Rejection under 35 USC 102 and 103:
Applicant's arguments, see pages 4-11 of the Remarks, filed on 09/16/2025, with respect to the rejections of the independent claim under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered but are deemed moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Applicant has amended claim 1, therefore Application of Heebener and Cai is now relied upon for teaching the newly added subject matter. Please see the new rejection above.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS E IGBOKWE/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/ANDREW M TECCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731