DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
While the IDS has been considered as provided in MPEP 609, the examiner notes that it appears some of the references are of multiple publications within the same family or otherwise related, and are generally of a culminative nature, rather than providing a substantially differing disclosure.
Claim Objections
In claims 6-8, consider using “separator clip” or another term, other than simply “clip” alone, because claim 1 provides for “a plurality of clips configured to move between a stowed position and an extended position, wherein, in the extended position, each clip of the plurality of clips is configured to engage the vacuum suction device”, and the clip that holds a portion of the separator in place is different than the clip used to attach the vacuum separation device to the vacuum suction device. Applicant, may optionally, amend 13-18 so the terminology is consistent throughout the claim set.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-20 refer to an “vacuum separation device” [including in the preamble], which is not interpreted under 35 USC 112(f), despite the nonce term “device” as the body of the claim structurally defines the “vacuum separation device”. Claims 1, 9, and 16 refer to a “vacuum suction device”, which is not part of the claimed invention, but rather an external item the claimed invention interacts with, and is thus not interpreted under 35 USC 112(f), despite the nonce term “device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grebing (US 20220203382 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Grebing discloses A vacuum separation device (abstract) comprising: a housing having a separator configured to separate debris (housing including a portion 3, fig. 1; [0044] and a separator 4, fig. 3; [0056]), the housing defining an inlet configured to provide the debris to the separator (inlet 5, fig. 7; [0056]) and an outlet (outlet 6, fig. 7; [0056]), wherein the outlet is configured to couple the vacuum separation device to a conduit of a vacuum suction device (conduit 45, suction device 41, fig. 7; [0070] both the conduit and the vacuum suction device are noted not to be part of the claimed invention, but rather what the vacuum separation device is configured to couple to); a flexible conduit configured to couple to the inlet of the housing in a use position (flexible conduit 78, fig. 7; to inlet at 5 [port 9]) ; and a plurality of clips configured to move between a stowed position and an extended position (clips 17, fig. 2; [0050] can swivel/slide [between at least two positions], one of which can be stowed [flat], and an extended position outward), wherein, in the extended position, each clip of the plurality of clips is configured to engage the vacuum suction device (in an extended position, the clips can engage indirectly suction device 41, fig. 7, via adaptor frame 51, figs. 7-8, [0072], if the clips are swiveled [at least slightly] outward but sill touching frame couplers 52, fig. 8, [0078], [0021] also provides that the adaptor frame with the receptacle for a debris container as part of the suction device; indirect engagement otherwise consistent with instant [0037], in any case since the vacuum suction device is not part of the claimed invention, the arrangement can also engage directly with a vacuum suction device that has appropriate couplers).
With respect to claim 2, Grebing discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the vacuum separation device does not include an air source (the vacuums separation device is not disclosed to have a suction source, as in [0010]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grebing (US 20220203382 A1), and further in view of Bearup (US 20180132682 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Grebing discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, however does not explicitly disclose a storage volume formed in an upper surface of the housing, wherein the flexible conduit is configured to attach to the housing within the storage volume in a storage position. In another embodiment, however Grebing suggests that there can be a storage volume for a hose around a handle (see 96, fig. 11; [0096]), and discloses a handle (28, fig. 1; [0059])
Bearup, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of providing a storage volume formed in an upper surface of the housing (storage volume formed 22a,b,d, fig. 1; [0033], around a central handle 22c, [0033, 0009]), wherein the flexible conduit is configured to attach to the housing within the storage volume in a storage position (as described in [0033], for stowage). Bearup teaches that this arrangement allows additional grasps, which may be desirable for emptying, cleaning or servicing the device ([0033]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Grebing with the storage volume of Bearup, increasing grasping locations, which can be desirable for emptying, cleaning or servicing the device.
With respect to claim 4, Grebing, as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3 above, and further teaches a carrying handle positioned within the storage volume, wherein the flexible conduit is configured to extend around the carrying handle in the storage position (Bearup, storage is in the middle, around central handle 22c, surrounded by 22a,b,d, fig. 1).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grebing (US 20220203382 A1), and further in view of Valentini (US 20020178536 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Grebing teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches a debris chamber formed within the vacuum separation device (there is a debris chamber inside container 2, fig. 6, [0064], the outer walls of container 33, 34, 35, 36 can be interpreted to also be part of the housing of the vacuum separation device when fully assembled, as instant housing includes a portion 112, fig. 8 in addition to a upper portion 116, fig. 8) wherein the debris chamber is configured to collect the debris from the separator ([0071], via particle outlet 8, fig. 2 [0061]), however does not explicitly disclose a debris door formed in the housing and configured to rotate from a closed position to an open position to facilitate removal of the debris from the housing. Instead, the debris chamber is configured to be open on the top ([0064]).
Valentini, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of providing a debris door formed in the housing (debris door 8, figs. 2-3, on a bottom part 3, fig. 1; [0017-0018]) and configured to rotate from a closed position to an open position to facilitate removal of the debris from the housing (see transition between figs. 2-3, axis of rotation at 9, fig. 2-3; [0019]). Valentini teaches that conventionally, the machines required removal of a cover of a unit, which could be heavy ([0003-0005]), while a lateral door requires less effort to open ([0007-0008]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Grebing with the debris door of Valentini, so that the debris chamber can be serviced laterally, with less effort.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grebing (US 20220203382 A1), and further in view of Yu (WO 2019210545 A1) and Tran (US 20190231159 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Grebing discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses a debris chamber formed within the vacuum separation device (there is a debris chamber inside container 2, fig. 6, [0064], the outer walls of container 33, 34, 35, 36 can be interpreted to also be part of the housing of the vacuum separation device when fully assembled, as instant housing includes a portion 112, fig. 8 in addition to a upper portion 116, fig. 8) wherein the debris chamber is configured to collect the debris from the separator ([0071], via particle outlet 8, fig. 2 [0061]), however does not explicitly disclose a clip movable between a first position in which the separator is in a use position and a second position in which the separator is configured to extend into the debris chamber such that an interior of the separator is accessible.
Yu, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of providing a separator cover movable between a first position in which the separator is in a use position (a cover 6, fig .3; [0063] and a second position in which the separator is configured to extend into the debris chamber such that an interior of the separator is accessible (the cover [which is part of the separator as in [0028] can be detached or opened though a hinged arrangement as in [0016, 0063], and would thus then extend into a debris chamber 111, fig. 4; [0068] immediately after being opened, and once opened the interior of the separator can be accessed). Yu provides that separators can clog ([0060]), teaches that this arrangement is convenient ([0063]), which improves dust handling ([0009]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Grebing with the hinged detachable separator cover of Yu, for convenient and improved dust handling.
As for providing a clip movable between a first position in which the separator is in a use position and a second position in which the separator is configured to extend into the debris chamber such that an interior of the separator is accessible, Tran, in the same field of endeavor, provides for a clip used to operate a cover (clip 52, fig .2, [0031], operates cover 42, which is hinged at 50, the clip is operable in two positions as it can be pressed). Tran teaches that this provides selective release by pressing, also allowing any emptying of debris inside ([0031])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Grebing with the clip of Tran, for allowing selective release of hinged separator cover with a button press and allow dirt out. This arrangement would result in a clip movable between a first position in which the separator is in a use position and a second position in which the separator is configured to extend into the debris chamber such that an interior of the separator is accessible, as the clip would operate the separator cover of Yu, to move it between a second position where it is extending within the debris chamber [when fully assembled with the debris cover open], and a first position where it is covered in use.
With respect to claim 7, Grebing, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 6 above, and further teaches wherein the clip is located within an interior of the housing (the clip would be in an interior of the housing [within the debris chamber] as that is where the separator cover taught by Yu is).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grebing (US 20220203382 A1), Yu (WO 2019210545 A1) and Tran (US 20190231159 A1) and further in view of Valentini (US 20020178536 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Grebing, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 7 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the clip is accessible via a debris door formed in the housing, wherein the debris door is configured to rotate from a closed position to an open position to facilitate removal of the debris from the housing.
Valentini, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of providing a debris door formed in the housing (debris door 8, figs. 2-3, on a bottom part 3, fig. 1; [0017-0018]) and configured to rotate from a closed position to an open position to facilitate removal of the debris from the housing (see transition between figs. 2-3, axis of rotation at 9, fig. 2-3; [0019]). Valentini teaches that conventionally, the machines required removal of a cover of a unit, which could be heavy ([0003-0005]), while a lateral door requires less effort to open ([0007-0008]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Grebing with the debris door of Valentini, so that the debris chamber can be serviced laterally, with less effort. The arrangement would also result in wherein the clip is accessible via the debris door formed in the housing, as this arrangement would enable one to access the clip, located within the debris chamber at the separator.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grebing (US 20220203382 A1), in view of Valentini (US 20020178536 A1).
With respect to claim 9, Grebing discloses A vacuum separation device (abstract) comprising: a housing having a separator configured to separate debris (housing including a portion 3, fig. 1; [0044] and a separator 4, fig. 3; [0056]), the housing defining an inlet configured to provide the debris to the separator (inlet 5, fig. 7; [0056]) and an outlet (outlet 6, fig. 7; [0056]), wherein the outlet is configured to couple the vacuum separation device to a conduit of a vacuum suction device (conduit 45, suction device 41, fig. 7; [0070] both the conduit and the vacuum suction device are noted not to be part of the claimed invention, but rather what the vacuum separation device is configured to couple to); a flexible conduit configured to couple to the inlet of the housing (flexible conduit 78, fig. 7; to inlet at 5 [port 9]); a debris chamber formed within the vacuum separation device (there is a debris chamber inside container 2, fig. 6, [0064], the outer walls of container 33, 34, 35, 36 can be interpreted to also be part of the housing of the vacuum separation device when fully assembled, as instant housing includes a portion 112, fig. 8 in addition to a upper portion 116, fig. 8) wherein the debris chamber is configured to collect the debris from the separator ([0071], via particle outlet 8, fig. 2 [0061]), however does not explicitly disclose a debris door formed in the housing and configured to rotate from a closed position to an open position to facilitate removal of the debris from the housing. Instead, the debris chamber is configured to be open on the top ([0064]).
Valentini, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of providing a debris door formed in the housing (debris door 8, figs. 2-3, on a bottom part 3, fig. 1; [0017-0018]) and configured to rotate from a closed position to an open position to facilitate removal of the debris from the housing (see transition between figs. 2-3, axis of rotation at 9, fig. 2-3; [0019]). Valentini teaches that conventionally, the machines required removal of a cover of a unit, which could be heavy ([0003-0005]), while a lateral door requires less effort to open ([0007-0008]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Grebing with the debris door of Valentini, so that the debris chamber can be serviced laterally, with less effort.
With respect to claim 10, Grebing as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 9 above, and further teaches wherein the vacuum separation device does not include an air source (Grebing, the vacuum separation device is not disclosed to have a suction source, as in [0010]).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grebing (US 20220203382 A1), in view of Valentini (US 20020178536 A1), and further in view of Bearup (US 20180132682 A1).
With respect to claim 11, Grebing, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 9 above, however does not explicitly teach a storage volume formed in an upper surface of the housing, wherein the flexible conduit is configured to attach to the housing within the storage volume in a storage position. In another embodiment, however Grebing suggests that there can be a storage volume for a hose around a handle (see 96, fig. 11; [0096]), and discloses a handle (28, fig. 1; [0059])
Bearup, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of providing a storage volume formed in an upper surface of the housing (storage volume formed 22a,b,d, fig. 1; [0033], around a central handle 22c, [0033, 0009]), wherein the flexible conduit is configured to attach to the housing within the storage volume in a storage position (as described in [0033], for stowage). Bearup teaches that this arrangement allows additional grasps, which may be desirable for emptying, cleaning or servicing the device ([0033]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Grebing with the storage volume of Bearup, increasing grasping locations, which can be desirable for emptying, cleaning or servicing the device.
With respect to claim 12, Grebing, as modified teaches the limitations of claim 11 above, and further teaches a carrying handle positioned within the storage volume, wherein the flexible conduit is configured to extend around the carrying handle in the storage position (Bearup, storage is in the middle, around central handle 22c, surrounded by 22a,b,d, fig. 1).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grebing (US 20220203382 A1), in view of Valentini (US 20020178536 A1), and further in view of Yu (WO 2019210545 A1) and Tran (US 20190231159 A1).
With respect to claim 13, Grebing, as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9 above, however does not explicitly teach a clip movable between a first position in which the separator is in a use position and a second position in which the separator is configured to extend into the debris chamber such that an interior of the separator is accessible.
Yu, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of providing a separator cover movable between a first position in which the separator is in a use position (a cover 6, fig .3; [0063] and a second position in which the separator is configured to extend into the debris chamber such that an interior of the separator is accessible (the cover [which is part of the separator as in [0028] can be detached or opened though a hinged arrangement as in [0016, 0063], and would thus then extend into a debris chamber 111, fig. 4; [0068] immediately after being opened, and once opened the interior of the separator can be accessed). Yu provides that separators can clog ([0060]), teaches that this arrangement is convenient ([0063]), which improves dust handling ([0009]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Grebing with the hinged detachable separator cover of Yu, for convenient and improved dust handling.
As for providing a clip movable between a first position in which the separator is in a use position and a second position in which the separator is configured to extend into the debris chamber such that an interior of the separator is accessible, Tran, in the same field of endeavor, provides for a clip used to operate a cover (clip 52, fig .2, [0031], operates cover 42, which is hinged at 50, the clip is operable in two positions as it can be pressed). Tran teaches that this provides selective release by pressing, also allowing any emptying of debris inside ([0031])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Grebing with the clip of Tran, for allowing selective release of hinged separator cover with a button press and allow dirt out. This arrangement would result in a clip movable between a first position in which the separator is in a use position and a second position in which the separator is configured to extend into the debris chamber such that an interior of the separator is accessible, as the clip would operate the separator cover of Yu, to move it between a second position where it is extending within the debris chamber [when fully assembled with the debris cover open], and a first position where it is covered in use.
With respect to claim 14, Grebing, as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9 above, and further teaches wherein the clip is located within an interior of the housing (the clip would be in an interior of the housing [within the debris chamber] as that is where the separator cover taught by Yu is).
With respect to claim 15, Grebing, as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9 above, and further teaches wherein the clip is accessible via the debris door (the arrangement with the door of Valentini would enable one to access the clip, located within the debris chamber at the separator).
Claim(s) 16, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grebing (US 20220203382 A1), in view of Yu (WO 2019210545 A1) and Tran (US 20190231159 A1).
With respect to claim 16, Grebing discloses A vacuum separation device (abstract) comprising: a housing having a separator configured to separate debris (housing including a portion 3, fig. 1; [0044] and a separator 4, fig. 3; [0056]), the housing defining an inlet configured to provide the debris to the separator (inlet 5, fig. 7; [0056]) and an outlet (outlet 6, fig. 7; [0056]), wherein the outlet is configured to couple the vacuum separation device to a conduit of a vacuum suction device (conduit 45, suction device 41, fig. 7; [0070] both the conduit and the vacuum suction device are noted not to be part of the claimed invention, but rather what the vacuum separation device is configured to couple to); a flexible conduit configured to couple to the inlet of the housing (flexible conduit 78, fig. 7; to inlet at 5 [port 9]); a debris chamber formed within the vacuum separation device (there is a debris chamber inside container 2, fig. 6, [0064], the outer walls of container 33, 34, 35, 36 can be interpreted to also be part of the housing of the vacuum separation device when fully assembled, as instant housing includes a portion 112, fig. 8 in addition to a upper portion 116, fig. 8) wherein the debris chamber is configured to collect the debris from the separator ([0071], via particle outlet 8, fig. 2 [0061]), however does not explicitly disclose a clip movable between a first position in which the separator is in a use position and a second position in which the separator is configured to extend into the debris chamber such that an interior of the separator is accessible.
Yu, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of providing a separator cover movable between a first position in which the separator is in a use position (a cover 6, fig .3; [0063] and a second position in which the separator is configured to extend into the debris chamber such that an interior of the separator is accessible (the cover [which is part of the separator as in [0028] can be detached or opened though a hinged arrangement as in [0016, 0063], and would thus then extend into a debris chamber 111, fig. 4; [0068] immediately after being opened, and once opened the interior of the separator can be accessed). Yu provides that separators can clog ([0060]), teaches that this arrangement is convenient ([0063]), which improves dust handling ([0009]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Grebing with the hinged detachable separator cover of Yu, for convenient and improved dust handling.
As for providing a clip movable between a first position in which the separator is in a use position and a second position in which the separator is configured to extend into the debris chamber such that an interior of the separator is accessible, Tran, in the same field of endeavor, provides for a clip used to operate a cover (clip 52, fig .2, [0031], operates cover 42, which is hinged at 50, the clip is operable in two positions as it can be pressed). Tran teaches that this provides selective release by pressing, also allowing any emptying of debris inside ([0031])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Grebing with the clip of Tran, for allowing selective release of hinged separator cover with a button press and allow dirt out. This arrangement would result in a clip movable between a first position in which the separator is in a use position and a second position in which the separator is configured to extend into the debris chamber such that an interior of the separator is accessible, as the clip would operate the separator cover of Yu, to move it between a second position where it is extending within the debris chamber [when fully assembled with the debris cover open], and a first position where it is covered in use.
With respect to claim 17, Grebing, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 16 above, and further teaches wherein the clip is located within an interior of the housing (the clip would be in an interior of the housing [within the debris chamber] as that is where the separator cover taught by Yu is).
With respect to claim 19, Grebing, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 16 above, and further teaches wherein the vacuum separation device does not include an air source (Grebing, the vacuum separation device is not disclosed to have a suction source, as in [0010]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grebing (US 20220203382 A1), in view of Yu (WO 2019210545 A1) and Tran (US 20190231159 A1), and further in view of Valentini (US 20020178536 A1).
With respect to claim 18, Grebing, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 17 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the clip is accessible via a debris door formed in the housing, wherein the debris door is configured to rotate from a closed position to an open position to facilitate removal of the debris from the housing.
Valentini, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of providing a debris door formed in the housing (debris door 8, figs. 2-3, on a bottom part 3, fig. 1; [0017-0018]) and configured to rotate from a closed position to an open position to facilitate removal of the debris from the housing (see transition between figs. 2-3, axis of rotation at 9, fig. 2-3; [0019]). Valentini teaches that conventionally, the machines required removal of a cover of a unit, which could be heavy ([0003-0005]), while a lateral door requires less effort to open ([0007-0008]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Grebing with the debris door of Valentini, so that the debris chamber can be serviced laterally, with less effort. The arrangement would also result in wherein the clip is accessible via the debris door formed in the housing, as this arrangement would enable one to access the clip, located within the debris chamber at the separator.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grebing (US 20220203382 A1), in view of Yu (WO 2019210545 A1) and Tran (US 20190231159 A1), and further in view of Bearup (US 20180132682 A1).
With respect to claim 20, Grebing, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 16 above, however does not explicitly teach a storage volume formed in an upper surface of the housing, wherein the flexible conduit is configured to attach to the housing within the storage volume in a storage position. In another embodiment, however Grebing suggests that there can be a storage volume for a hose around a handle (see 96, fig. 11; [0096]), and discloses a handle (28, fig. 1; [0059])
Bearup, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of providing a storage volume formed in an upper surface of the housing (storage volume formed 22a,b,d, fig. 1; [0033], around a central handle 22c, [0033, 0009]), wherein the flexible conduit is configured to attach to the housing within the storage volume in a storage position (as described in [0033], for stowage). Bearup teaches that this arrangement allows additional grasps, which may be desirable for emptying, cleaning or servicing the device ([0033]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Grebing with the storage volume of Bearup, increasing grasping locations, which can be desirable for emptying, cleaning or servicing the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rizzitello (US 4960149 A) provides for stacking extendable capacity containers for collecting debris.
It may be helpful (in terms of overcoming Grebing) to define the claims to include both the separator portion of the housing and the debris chamber portion of the housing and how appears to be connected in a “flush” manner, as well as the clip to mate with the vacuum suction device being part the debris chamber portion of the housing (whether it overcomes Grebing would depend on the exact claim language). Rizzitello should also be considered, and it may also be helpful, claim language dependent, defining how the clips to mate with the vacuum suction device are structured (it appears that in the instant invention, the clips are recessed, and swivel outward and downward to engage the vacuum suction device).
/Steven Huang/Examiner, Art Unit 3723