DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Application Number 18/918,801 filed on 10/17/2024.
Claims 1-10 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made NON-FINAL.
The examiner would like to note that this application is now being handled by examiner Jeffrey Chalhoub.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 25th, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Bader (DE 102014009772 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Bader teaches:
A method for operating a hybrid vehicle which has a fuel cell and an energy store, comprising: monitoring a state-of-charge of the energy store of the hybrid vehicle when the hybrid vehicle is at a standstill, responsive to the state-of-charge of the energy store being below a first state-of-charge threshold value,, (“an electric hybrid or fuel cell vehicle is known that combines an electrical energy storage device with a fuel cell.” (Bader: Description) Bader further mentions “The above object is also achieved by a method for operating such an electric vehicle according to the invention. As already mentioned, the electric vehicle according to the invention allows the exclusive use of the fuel cell system as a range extender in a very simple and efficient way. The method according to the invention for operating such an electric vehicle accordingly provides that electrical power is used from the electrical energy store when starting the electric vehicle until a cooling medium in the cooling circuit of the fuel cell system has exceeded a predetermined temperature value, and until the state of charge of the electrical energy storage has fallen below a predetermined state of charge, after which the fuel cell system is started to charge the electrical energy storage. Even with operating methods according to the invention, as already mentioned above, it is assumed that an electric vehicle - after a longer service life - is always able to start from the charged electrical energy store. Typically, an electric vehicle is attached to a charger whenever possible, so that the electrical energy storage by this charging, at least one trickle charge, always has a sufficient temperature to go with the electric vehicle. Only after one hand, the temperature of the cooling medium in the cooling system of the fuel cell system has reached a predetermined value and also the state of charge of the electric energy storage has dropped below a predetermined value, the highly efficient fuel cell system is started to recharge the electric energy storage and thus the range of the electric vehicle increase.” (Bader: Description))
operating the fuel cell when the hybrid vehicle is at the standstill to charge the energy store, wherein waste heat is generated by operating the fuel cell,, (“In the electric vehicle according to the invention, it is provided that in addition to an electric battery to provide the electrical drive power, a fuel cell system is present, via which, if necessary, the electrical energy storage can be recharged. In the case of the electric vehicle according to the invention, it is provided that, similarly to the aforementioned prior art, both the fuel cell system and the electrical energy store have their own cooling system. Unlike in the prior art, these cooling systems are formed without direct thermal coupling with each other. Such a direct thermal coupling in the sense of the present invention would be, for example, a coupling via a heat exchanger or an immediate fluidic coupling, in which cooling medium is exchanged between the two cooling systems. The cooling systems are therefore not thermally coupled to each other in the electric vehicle according to the invention. In addition, it is envisaged that, unlike in the prior art, by the cooling system of the fuel cell system and the electric drive machine is cooled. A pure electric vehicle is generally electrically charged in the parking situation, if possible. The electric vehicle thus depends, for example, on a charging station. As a result, even at very low ambient temperatures, a functionality of the electrical energy storage is generally always ensured. The vehicle can therefore start with power from the electrical energy storage directly. This is comparatively simple and efficient, since the constant recharging at standstill, whenever possible, at the same time there is a sufficient temperature control of the battery. The fuel cell system, which may still be very cold under these circumstances, then does not need to be operated. After starting the electric vehicle with power from the electric energy storage, there is now a heating of the cooling medium in the cooling system of the fuel cell system, since in this cooling system, the electric drive motor of the electric vehicle is cooled, and, once it is operated, waste heat to the cooling system of the fuel cell system emits. The fuel cell system or Their fuel cell can then ideally be started only at a later time, in particular if the exhaust heat of the electric drive motor in the cooling system of the fuel cell system already has a sufficiently high temperature for an efficient start of the fuel cell. The fuel cell then does not have to be designed for a cold start or freeze start and can accordingly be made very simple, efficient, cost-effective and optimized in terms of service life.” (Bader: Description))
and heating a vehicle interior of the hybrid vehicle and/or a luggage compartment of the hybrid vehicle using the generated waste heat and/or using an electric heating element for which a first supply current from the energy store is provided., (“Another extremely favorable and advantageous embodiment of the electric vehicle according to the invention now provides, furthermore, that a burner for the thermal conversion of hydrogen is provided, the heat of the cooling system of the fuel cell system and / or, at least indirectly, benefits a vehicle interior. The winter operation of electric vehicles is typically always critical with regard to the range to be achieved. In order to heat up the interior of the vehicle, "valuable" energy stored in the electrical energy store is used. As a result, the range is reduced accordingly. The storage of energy when charging the electrical energy storage in this and the subsequent removal and conversion into thermal energy for heating the interior is not very efficient in terms of the entire efficiency chain. In the case of the electric vehicle according to the invention, if the hydrogen is present in the tank of the fuel cell system, this hydrogen can now be burnt. A suitable burner, for example a catalytic burner or a pore burner, can thus generate heat from the hydrogen with a very high efficiency. This heat can then be used either for heating the cooling system of the fuel cell system in order to heat up the fuel cell system together with the waste heat of the electric drive motor as quickly as possible. Either indirectly via the cooling medium of the cooling system of the fuel cell system or directly with an air / exhaust heat exchanger to the burner, the resulting thermal energy can then also be used to heat the interior of the vehicle. As a result, the electrical energy stored in the electrical energy storage device is not needed for the interior heating, so that the existing due to the electrical energy storage device range of the vehicle is not adversely affected by the interior heating. In addition, the interior heating via the combustion of hydrogen in terms of overall efficiency can be done much more efficiently.” (Bader: Description) Bader further mentions “In the presentation of the 6 is a possibility for heating an interior of the electric vehicle 1 shown. About a principle indicated and with 30 designated air duct, through which a fan 31 Air in the interior of the electric vehicle 1 is promoted, heat can be entered into this air. In the middle of the presentation of the 6 is an electrical heating resistor 32 to recognize. This is from the electrical energy storage device 4 supplied with electric power and heats the air flowing past him. This is the case with electric vehicles 1 general construction for heating the interior. However, it is comparatively energy-intensive and, by using power from the electrical energy storage device, has an immediate effect on the range of the electric vehicle 1 out. In addition, the efficiency chain for charging the electrical energy storage device 4 and for implementation at the electrical heating resistor 32 in heat comparatively bad. For this reason, in addition to or as an alternative to the electrical heating resistor 32 a burner 33 be provided, in particular a pore burner or catalytic burner, where the hydrogen from the compressed gas storage 11 the fuel cell system 6 is implemented directly. Such combustion of the hydrogen can generate heat very efficiently, which can then be used to heat the interior. A third way to introduce heat into the interior is a heat exchanger 34 that of the cooling medium of the cooling system 10 the fuel cell system 6 is flowed through. Due to the entry of waste heat from the electric traction motor 2 and optionally the power electronics 3 into the cooling medium of this cooling system 10 can also via this heat exchanger 34 very quickly heat for the interior to be provided. Optionally, however, this delays the heating of the fuel cell system 6 , which may be undesirable. Nevertheless, in principle, all three options for heating the interior can be combined with each other as desired. In the presentation of the 7 an alternative embodiment can be seen. The construction should be part of the cooling system 10 the fuel cell system 6 represent. Again over the electric heater 32 and / or the burner 33 can now heat in the cooling medium of this cooling system 10 be registered. As a result, if necessary, the heating of the fuel cell system 6 be accelerated so that it reaches its required starting temperature faster. Typically, the heat is removed from the cooling system 10 but now via an indoor heat exchanger 39 and the fan 31 in the interior of the electric vehicle 1 brought in. Thus, as required, all three can also be part of the 6 described heat sources in the electric vehicle, at least indirectly via the cooling medium of the cooling system 10 for heating the interior of the electric vehicle 1 be used. At the same time, the cooling medium can be in the cooling system 10 and thus the fuel cell system 6 This will heat up faster if needed.” (Bader: Description))
Regarding Claim 5:
Bader, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 2. Bader further teaches:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the fuel cell is operated intermittently., (“In the electric vehicle according to the invention, it is provided that in addition to an electric battery to provide the electrical drive power, a fuel cell system is present, via which, if necessary, the electrical energy storage can be recharged. In the case of the electric vehicle according to the invention, it is provided that, similarly to the aforementioned prior art, both the fuel cell system and the electrical energy store have their own cooling system. Unlike in the prior art, these cooling systems are formed without direct thermal coupling with each other. Such a direct thermal coupling in the sense of the present invention would be, for example, a coupling via a heat exchanger or an immediate fluidic coupling, in which cooling medium is exchanged between the two cooling systems. The cooling systems are therefore not thermally coupled to each other in the electric vehicle according to the invention. In addition, it is envisaged that, unlike in the prior art, by the cooling system of the fuel cell system and the electric drive machine is cooled. A pure electric vehicle is generally electrically charged in the parking situation, if possible. The electric vehicle thus depends, for example, on a charging station. As a result, even at very low ambient temperatures, a functionality of the electrical energy storage is generally always ensured. The vehicle can therefore start with power from the electrical energy storage directly. This is comparatively simple and efficient, since the constant recharging at standstill, whenever possible, at the same time there is a sufficient temperature control of the battery. The fuel cell system, which may still be very cold under these circumstances, then does not need to be operated. After starting the electric vehicle with power from the electric energy storage, there is now a heating of the cooling medium in the cooling system of the fuel cell system, since in this cooling system, the electric drive motor of the electric vehicle is cooled, and, once it is operated, waste heat to the cooling system of the fuel cell system emits. The fuel cell system or Their fuel cell can then ideally be started only at a later time, in particular if the exhaust heat of the electric drive motor in the cooling system of the fuel cell system already has a sufficiently high temperature for an efficient start of the fuel cell. The fuel cell then does not have to be designed for a cold start or freeze start and can accordingly be made very simple, efficient, cost-effective and optimized in terms of service life.” (Bader: Description))
Regarding Claim 7:
Bader, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Bader further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the hybrid vehicle has a cooling device which is operated at least temporarily using a second supply current which is produced by the fuel cell or by the energy store., (“In the electric vehicle according to the invention, it is provided that in addition to an electric battery to provide the electrical drive power, a fuel cell system is present, via which, if necessary, the electrical energy storage can be recharged. In the case of the electric vehicle according to the invention, it is provided that, similarly to the aforementioned prior art, both the fuel cell system and the electrical energy store have their own cooling system. Unlike in the prior art, these cooling systems are formed without direct thermal coupling with each other. Such a direct thermal coupling in the sense of the present invention would be, for example, a coupling via a heat exchanger or an immediate fluidic coupling, in which cooling medium is exchanged between the two cooling systems. The cooling systems are therefore not thermally coupled to each other in the electric vehicle according to the invention. In addition, it is envisaged that, unlike in the prior art, by the cooling system of the fuel cell system and the electric drive machine is cooled. A pure electric vehicle is generally electrically charged in the parking situation, if possible. The electric vehicle thus depends, for example, on a charging station. As a result, even at very low ambient temperatures, a functionality of the electrical energy storage is generally always ensured. The vehicle can therefore start with power from the electrical energy storage directly. This is comparatively simple and efficient, since the constant recharging at standstill, whenever possible, at the same time there is a sufficient temperature control of the battery. The fuel cell system, which may still be very cold under these circumstances, then does not need to be operated. After starting the electric vehicle with power from the electric energy storage, there is now a heating of the cooling medium in the cooling system of the fuel cell system, since in this cooling system, the electric drive motor of the electric vehicle is cooled, and, once it is operated, waste heat to the cooling system of the fuel cell system emits. The fuel cell system or Their fuel cell can then ideally be started only at a later time, in particular if the exhaust heat of the electric drive motor in the cooling system of the fuel cell system already has a sufficiently high temperature for an efficient start of the fuel cell. The fuel cell then does not have to be designed for a cold start or freeze start and can accordingly be made very simple, efficient, cost-effective and optimized in terms of service life. According to a very advantageous development of the idea according to the invention, it may also be provided in the electric vehicle that power-electronic components of the vehicle are cooled by the cooling system in the fuel cell system. These power electronic components, in particular a drive converter, generates waste heat at the moment in which the vehicle is traveling. Its waste heat can also be used ideally to quickly heat the cooling system of the fuel cell system when driving off. In regular operation, the cooling capacity of the cooling system of the fuel cell system then suffices to cool both the power electronics and the traction motor and the fuel cell itself, especially if the fuel cell system is constructed in terms of a pure range extender and a correspondingly low power rating, for example in the Magnitude of 10 to 15 kW, maximum 20 kW.” (Bader: Description) Bader further mentions “The fuel cell 7 now has the already mentioned in the representation of 1 indicated cooling system 10 on, which without direct thermal contact with the cooling system 5 the electrical energy storage device 4 is constructed. The cooling system 10 The fuel cell may for example be constructed as shown in the illustration of 4 is indicated. The cooling system is designed as a cooling circuit for a liquid cooling medium. It includes a radiator 21 , which is used as a vehicle radiator of the electric vehicle 1 educated is, and about which waste heat in regular operation in the environment of the electric vehicle 1 is delivered. Via a coolant pump 22 the liquid coolant is pumped around. It then flows through the coolant side, the electric drive machine 2 and optionally the power electronics 3 , Subsequently, the liquid cooling medium by a temperature-controlled rotary valve or preferably an automatically controlling thermostatic valve 23 For example, a wax valve, either by the fuel cell 7 passed through or in a bypass 24 around the fuel cell 7 led around. Also, a corresponding division of the volumes between the fuel cell 7 and the bypass is conceivable in principle and can automatically by the thermostatic valve 23 or an actively controlled rotary valve can be realized. After the liquid cooling medium bypass 24 or the fuel cell 7 has passed through, it passes to another valve, which also serves as a rotary valve or in particular as a thermostatic valve 25 , preferably as a wax valve, may be formed. This valve is the flow through the radiator 21 and / or one parallel to the radiator 21 lying cooler bypass 26 adjusted accordingly. Will the electric vehicle 1 now started, then it goes with power from the electrical energy storage device 4 Come on. As a result, at least in the electric drive motor 2 and, if this in the cooling system 10 the fuel cell system 6 is integrated, also in power electronics 3 Waste heat generated, which is the cooling medium in the cooling system 10 the fuel cell system 6 heated. The thermostatic valves 23 . 25 are now designed so that in this situation the cooling medium around the fuel cell 7 around and around the radiator 21 is pumped around. As a result, the cooling medium in the cooling system heats up 10 correspondingly fast, as a cooling by the cooler 21 not taking place. Once the cooling medium has reached a predetermined temperature at which the fuel cell 7 can be started without significant difficulty, for example, a temperature of more than 5 ° C at the coldest point of the cooling system 10 , then the thermostatic valve 23 switch over so that the fuel cell 7 is also flowed through by the cooling medium and can be started if necessary. The start is simply possible, so that the fuel cell 7 must not be designed for extreme cold starts, which is a decisive advantage in terms of the amount and type of catalysts used in the fuel cell 7 is. The assembly can then in regular operation by opening the thermostatic valve 25 over the radiator 21 be cooled. In the presentation of the 5 is another structure to recognize, which largely with the in the representation of 4 to be compared structure described. The only difference of the cooling system 10 is that the fuel cell 7 from its own small cooling circuit 27 is cooled, which is a separate coolant conveyor 28 and which via a heat exchanger 29 with the main cooling circuit of the cooling system 10 communicates. In particular, by the thermal coupling of the electric drive machine 2 In fact, it can happen that a relatively large ion input into the cooling medium of the cooling system 10 he follows. Although ion exchangers can be provided in the cooling system in a manner known per se, this can however be correspondingly complicated and complex, if a very high ion input from the electric drive machine 2 in the cooling system 10 occurs. For this reason, the in the representation of the 5 selected structure an advantage, since with regard to the cooling medium, a separation of the two cooling circuits of the cooling system 10 the fuel cell system 6 occurs. The problem with regard to the ion entry is therefore not relevant.” (Bader: Description))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bader (DE 102014009772 A1) in view of Hirabayashi (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0244052 A1).
Regarding Claim 2:
Bader, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Bader further teaches:
[…] wherein the vehicle interior and/or the luggage compartment is then heated exclusively using the electric heating element., (“Another extremely favorable and advantageous embodiment of the electric vehicle according to the invention now provides, furthermore, that a burner for the thermal conversion of hydrogen is provided, the heat of the cooling system of the fuel cell system and / or, at least indirectly, benefits a vehicle interior. The winter operation of electric vehicles is typically always critical with regard to the range to be achieved. In order to heat up the interior of the vehicle, "valuable" energy stored in the electrical energy store is used. As a result, the range is reduced accordingly. The storage of energy when charging the electrical energy storage in this and the subsequent removal and conversion into thermal energy for heating the interior is not very efficient in terms of the entire efficiency chain. In the case of the electric vehicle according to the invention, if the hydrogen is present in the tank of the fuel cell system, this hydrogen can now be burnt. A suitable burner, for example a catalytic burner or a pore burner, can thus generate heat from the hydrogen with a very high efficiency. This heat can then be used either for heating the cooling system of the fuel cell system in order to heat up the fuel cell system together with the waste heat of the electric drive motor as quickly as possible. Either indirectly via the cooling medium of the cooling system of the fuel cell system or directly with an air / exhaust heat exchanger to the burner, the resulting thermal energy can then also be used to heat the interior of the vehicle. As a result, the electrical energy stored in the electrical energy storage device is not needed for the interior heating, so that the existing due to the electrical energy storage device range of the vehicle is not adversely affected by the interior heating. In addition, the interior heating via the combustion of hydrogen in terms of overall efficiency can be done much more efficiently.” (Bader: Description) Bader further mentions “In the presentation of the 6 is a possibility for heating an interior of the electric vehicle 1 shown. About a principle indicated and with 30 designated air duct, through which a fan 31 Air in the interior of the electric vehicle 1 is promoted, heat can be entered into this air. In the middle of the presentation of the 6 is an electrical heating resistor 32 to recognize. This is from the electrical energy storage device 4 supplied with electric power and heats the air flowing past him. This is the case with electric vehicles 1 general construction for heating the interior. However, it is comparatively energy-intensive and, by using power from the electrical energy storage device, has an immediate effect on the range of the electric vehicle 1 out. In addition, the efficiency chain for charging the electrical energy storage device 4 and for implementation at the electrical heating resistor 32 in heat comparatively bad. For this reason, in addition to or as an alternative to the electrical heating resistor 32 a burner 33 be provided, in particular a pore burner or catalytic burner, where the hydrogen from the compressed gas storage 11 the fuel cell system 6 is implemented directly. Such combustion of the hydrogen can generate heat very efficiently, which can then be used to heat the interior. A third way to introduce heat into the interior is a heat exchanger 34 that of the cooling medium of the cooling system 10 the fuel cell system 6 is flowed through. Due to the entry of waste heat from the electric traction motor 2 and optionally the power electronics 3 into the cooling medium of this cooling system 10 can also via this heat exchanger 34 very quickly heat for the interior to be provided. Optionally, however, this delays the heating of the fuel cell system 6 , which may be undesirable. Nevertheless, in principle, all three options for heating the interior can be combined with each other as desired. In the presentation of the 7 an alternative embodiment can be seen. The construction should be part of the cooling system 10 the fuel cell system 6 represent. Again over the electric heater 32 and / or the burner 33 can now heat in the cooling medium of this cooling system 10 be registered. As a result, if necessary, the heating of the fuel cell system 6 be accelerated so that it reaches its required starting temperature faster. Typically, the heat is removed from the cooling system 10 but now via an indoor heat exchanger 39 and the fan 31 in the interior of the electric vehicle 1 brought in. Thus, as required, all three can also be part of the 6 described heat sources in the electric vehicle, at least indirectly via the cooling medium of the cooling system 10 for heating the interior of the electric vehicle 1 be used. At the same time, the cooling medium can be in the cooling system 10 and thus the fuel cell system 6 This will heat up faster if needed.” (Bader: Description))
Bader does not teach but Hirabayashi teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the operation of the fuel cell is terminated responsive to the state-of-charge of the energy store exceeding a second state-of-charge threshold value,, (See (Hirabayashi: Background of the Invention – 5th paragraph and Detailed Description of Embodiments – 50th-56th and 82nd-89th paragraphs))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bader with these above aforementioned teachings from Hirabayashi in order to create an efficient method for operating a hybrid vehicle. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Bader’s electric vehicle with a fuel cell system with Hirabayashi’s hybrid vehicle and method in order to terminate operation of a fuel cell in a hybrid vehicle responsive to a state-of-charge of an energy store exceeding a first threshold value greater than a first and third threshold value and to include a control device coupled to a trajectory planner in the hybrid vehicle. Combining Bader and Hirabayashi would thus provide “a hybrid vehicle that is capable of executing heating control which is appropriate to a CD mode/CS mode, and a method for controlling the same.” (Hirabayashi: Summary of the Invention – 9th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 3:
Bader, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 2. Bader does not teach but Hirabayashi teaches:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the second state-of-charge threshold value is greater than the first state-of-charge threshold value., (See (Hirabayashi: Background of the Invention – 5th paragraph and Detailed Description of Embodiments – 50th-56th and 82nd-89th paragraphs))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bader with these above aforementioned teachings from Hirabayashi in order to create an efficient method for operating a hybrid vehicle. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Bader’s electric vehicle with a fuel cell system with Hirabayashi’s hybrid vehicle and method in order to terminate operation of a fuel cell in a hybrid vehicle responsive to a state-of-charge of an energy store exceeding a first threshold value greater than a first and third threshold value and to include a control device coupled to a trajectory planner in the hybrid vehicle. Combining Bader and Hirabayashi would thus provide “a hybrid vehicle that is capable of executing heating control which is appropriate to a CD mode/CS mode, and a method for controlling the same.” (Hirabayashi: Summary of the Invention – 9th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 4:
Bader, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 2. Bader further teaches:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the operation of the fuel cell is reactivated, responsive to the state-of-charge of the energy store falling below a third state-of-charge threshold value,, (“The above object is also achieved by a method for operating such an electric vehicle according to the invention. As already mentioned, the electric vehicle according to the invention allows the exclusive use of the fuel cell system as a range extender in a very simple and efficient way. The method according to the invention for operating such an electric vehicle accordingly provides that electrical power is used from the electrical energy store when starting the electric vehicle until a cooling medium in the cooling circuit of the fuel cell system has exceeded a predetermined temperature value, and until the state of charge of the electrical energy storage has fallen below a predetermined state of charge, after which the fuel cell system is started to charge the electrical energy storage. Even with operating methods according to the invention, as already mentioned above, it is assumed that an electric vehicle - after a longer service life - is always able to start from the charged electrical energy store. Typically, an electric vehicle is attached to a charger whenever possible, so that the electrical energy storage by this charging, at least one trickle charge, always has a sufficient temperature to go with the electric vehicle. Only after one hand, the temperature of the cooling medium in the cooling system of the fuel cell system has reached a predetermined value and also the state of charge of the electric energy storage has dropped below a predetermined value, the highly efficient fuel cell system is started to recharge the electric energy storage and thus the range of the electric vehicle increase.” (Bader: Description) Bader further mentions “The fuel cell system 6 is in the with 35 designated box off and the electrical energy storage device 4 will not load. This is followed by a query of the state of charge (SOC) of the electrical energy store 4 namely, whether it is smaller than a predetermined value X. This value can be specified in particular with approximately 60-80% of the full charge, in particular approximately 70% of the full charge. Is the state of charge of the electrical energy storage device 4 fallen below this predetermined value of, for example, 70%, then the flowchart jumps to a second query 37 , In this query, the temperature of the cooling system 10 the fuel cell system 6 compared with a default value. Is the temperature (Temp), ideally at the coolest point of the cooling system 10 measured, above this predetermined temperature (Y) of particular about 5 ° C, then the fuel cell system 6 warm enough to immediately without any significant problems and without degradation of the life of the fuel cell 7 , to start. If not, the query starts again. If both points are satisfied, that is the state of charge (SOC) of the electrical energy storage device 4 less than, for example, 70% of the full charge and the temperature (Temp) of the refrigeration system 10 the fuel cell system 6 is above 5 ° C, then in the with 38 designated box recharging the electrical energy storage device 4 via the fuel cell system 6 started. Ideally, the energy content of the compressed gas storage 6 used up before the electrical energy storage device 4 with its state of charge falls below a critical value. This can then ensure that always the full power for the electric vehicle 1 is available, and that there are no situations in which this with the pure maximum power of the fuel cell system 6 of 15 kW, for example, would have to be operated. This power would not be enough for a standard electric vehicle 1 in the form of a passenger car with the dynamic expected by the user.” (Bader: Description)
Bader does not teach but Hirabayashi teaches:
[…] wherein the third state-of-charge threshold value is less than the second state-of-charge threshold value., (See (Hirabayashi: Background of the Invention – 5th paragraph and Detailed Description of Embodiments – 50th-56th and 82nd-89th paragraphs))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bader with these above aforementioned teachings from Hirabayashi in order to create an efficient method for operating a hybrid vehicle. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Bader’s electric vehicle with a fuel cell system with Hirabayashi’s hybrid vehicle and method in order to terminate operation of a fuel cell in a hybrid vehicle responsive to a state-of-charge of an energy store exceeding a first threshold value greater than a first and third threshold value and to include a control device coupled to a trajectory planner in the hybrid vehicle. Combining Bader and Hirabayashi would thus provide “a hybrid vehicle that is capable of executing heating control which is appropriate to a CD mode/CS mode, and a method for controlling the same.” (Hirabayashi: Summary of the Invention – 9th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 8:
Bader, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Bader further teaches:
[…] and wherein the control device, knowing when the standstill of the hybrid vehicle is to occur, prevents operation of the fuel cell before the hybrid vehicle is at the standstill, so that locomotion of the hybrid vehicle is provided exclusively based on the energy store., (“In the electric vehicle according to the invention, it is provided that in addition to an electric battery to provide the electrical drive power, a fuel cell system is present, via which, if necessary, the electrical energy storage can be recharged. In the case of the electric vehicle according to the invention, it is provided that, similarly to the aforementioned prior art, both the fuel cell system and the electrical energy store have their own cooling system. Unlike in the prior art, these cooling systems are formed without direct thermal coupling with each other. Such a direct thermal coupling in the sense of the present invention would be, for example, a coupling via a heat exchanger or an immediate fluidic coupling, in which cooling medium is exchanged between the two cooling systems. The cooling systems are therefore not thermally coupled to each other in the electric vehicle according to the invention. In addition, it is envisaged that, unlike in the prior art, by the cooling system of the fuel cell system and the electric drive machine is cooled. A pure electric vehicle is generally electrically charged in the parking situation, if possible. The electric vehicle thus depends, for example, on a charging station. As a result, even at very low ambient temperatures, a functionality of the electrical energy storage is generally always ensured. The vehicle can therefore start with power from the electrical energy storage directly. This is comparatively simple and efficient, since the constant recharging at standstill, whenever possible, at the same time there is a sufficient temperature control of the battery. The fuel cell system, which may still be very cold under these circumstances, then does not need to be operated. After starting the electric vehicle with power from the electric energy storage, there is now a heating of the cooling medium in the cooling system of the fuel cell system, since in this cooling system, the electric drive motor of the electric vehicle is cooled, and, once it is operated, waste heat to the cooling system of the fuel cell system emits. The fuel cell system or Their fuel cell can then ideally be started only at a later time, in particular if the exhaust heat of the electric drive motor in the cooling system of the fuel cell system already has a sufficiently high temperature for an efficient start of the fuel cell. The fuel cell then does not have to be designed for a cold start or freeze start and can accordingly be made very simple, efficient, cost-effective and optimized in terms of service life.” (Bader: Description) Bader further mentions “In the presentation of the 1 is very heavily schematized an electric vehicle 1 indicated, which via an electric drive motor 2 is driven. The electric drive motor 2 is about a power electronics 3 with electrical power from an electrical energy storage device 4 provided. The electrical energy storage device 4 can be designed in particular in the form of one or more batteries. It would also be conceivable, so-called high-performance capacitors for the electrical energy storage device 4 use. A combination of capacitors and battery is conceivable, in which combination the capacitors can be charged and discharged for a short time with correspondingly high power, while the battery is provided for the long-term storage of electrical energy. In the training of the electric vehicle 1 as a passenger car, the electrical energy storage device 4 In particular, have an energy content of about 60 kWh. As with electric vehicles 1 is common practice, the electrical energy storage device 4 typically in the longer standstill of the electric vehicle 1 always recharged, for example, by connecting the vehicle to a charging station. When driving off the vehicle so this is ideally always fully charged and is due to the charge on at least for the start of the electric vehicle 1 suitable temperature level available. The waste heat of the electrical energy storage device arising during charging and discharging during normal operation 4 is via a with the electrical energy storage device 4 connected per se known cooling system 5 , which in the representation of the 1 merely indicated, dissipated.” (Bader: Description))
Bader does not teach but Hirabayashi teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein a control device is provided, which controls the operation of the fuel cell and of the energy store, wherein the control device is coupled to a trajectory planner,, (See (Hirabayashi: Summary of the Invention – 10th-22nd paragraphs and Detailed Description of Embodiments – 50th paragraph))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bader with these above aforementioned teachings from Hirabayashi in order to create an efficient method for operating a hybrid vehicle. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Bader’s electric vehicle with a fuel cell system with Hirabayashi’s hybrid vehicle and method in order to terminate operation of a fuel cell in a hybrid vehicle responsive to a state-of-charge of an energy store exceeding a first threshold value greater than a first and third threshold value and to include a control device coupled to a trajectory planner in the hybrid vehicle. Combining Bader and Hirabayashi would thus provide “a hybrid vehicle that is capable of executing heating control which is appropriate to a CD mode/CS mode, and a method for controlling the same.” (Hirabayashi: Summary of the Invention – 9th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 9:
Bader, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 8. Bader further teaches:
[…] prevents the operation of the fuel cell only to the extent that a minimum state-of-charge of the energy store is guaranteed., (“The fuel cell system 6 is in the with 35 designated box off and the electrical energy storage device 4 will not load. This is followed by a query of the state of charge (SOC) of the electrical energy store 4 namely, whether it is smaller than a predetermined value X. This value can be specified in particular with approximately 60-80% of the full charge, in particular approximately 70% of the full charge. Is the state of charge of the electrical energy storage device 4 fallen below this predetermined value of, for example, 70%, then the flowchart jumps to a second query 37 , In this query, the temperature of the cooling system 10 the fuel cell system 6 compared with a default value. Is the temperature (Temp), ideally at the coolest point of the cooling system 10 measured, above this predetermined temperature (Y) of particular about 5 ° C, then the fuel cell system 6 warm enough to immediately without any significant problems and without degradation of the life of the fuel cell 7 , to start. If not, the query starts again. If both points are satisfied, that is the state of charge (SOC) of the electrical energy storage device 4 less than, for example, 70% of the full charge and the temperature (Temp) of the refrigeration system 10 the fuel cell system 6 is above 5 ° C, then in the with 38 designated box recharging the electrical energy storage device 4 via the fuel cell system 6 started. Ideally, the energy content of the compressed gas storage 6 used up before the electrical energy storage device 4 with its state of charge falls below a critical value. This can then ensure that always the full power for the electric vehicle 1 is available, and that there are no situations in which this with the pure maximum power of the fuel cell system 6 of 15 kW, for example, would have to be operated. This power would not be enough for a standard electric vehicle 1 in the form of a passenger car with the dynamic expected by the user.” (Bader: Description))
Bader does not teach but Hirabayashi teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the control device, (See (Hirabayashi: Summary of the Invention – 10th-22nd paragraphs and Detailed Description of Embodiments – 50th paragraph))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bader with these above aforementioned teachings from Hirabayashi in order to create an efficient method for operating a hybrid vehicle. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Bader’s electric vehicle with a fuel cell system with Hirabayashi’s hybrid vehicle and method in order to terminate operation of a fuel cell in a hybrid vehicle responsive to a state-of-charge of an energy store exceeding a first threshold value greater than a first and third threshold value and to include a control device coupled to a trajectory planner in the hybrid vehicle. Combining Bader and Hirabayashi would thus provide “a hybrid vehicle that is capable of executing heating control which is appropriate to a CD mode/CS mode, and a method for controlling the same.” (Hirabayashi: Summary of the Invention – 9th paragraph)
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bader (DE 102014009772 A1) in view of Patel (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0298523 A1).
Regarding Claim 6:
Bader, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Bader further teaches:
[…] using the waste heat and at least temporarily using the first supply current., (“Another extremely favorable and advantageous embodiment of the electric vehicle according to the invention now provides, furthermore, that a burner for the thermal conversion of hydrogen is provided, the heat of the cooling system of the fuel cell system and / or, at least indirectly, benefits a vehicle interior. The winter operation of electric vehicles is typically always critical with regard to the range to be achieved. In order to heat up the interior of the vehicle, "valuable" energy stored in the electrical energy store is used. As a result, the range is reduced accordingly. The storage of energy when charging the electrical energy storage in this and the subsequent removal and conversion into thermal energy for heating the interior is not very efficient in terms of the entire efficiency chain. In the case of the electric vehicle according to the invention, if the hydrogen is present in the tank of the fuel cell system, this hydrogen can now be burnt. A suitable burner, for example a catalytic burner or a pore burner, can thus generate heat from the hydrogen with a very high efficiency. This heat can then be used either for heating the cooling system of the fuel cell system in order to heat up the fuel cell system together with the waste heat of the electric drive motor as quickly as possible. Either indirectly via the cooling medium of the cooling system of the fuel cell system or directly with an air / exhaust heat exchanger to the burner, the resulting thermal energy can then also be used to heat the interior of the vehicle. As a result, the electrical energy stored in the electrical energy storage device is not needed for the interior heating, so that the existing due to the electrical energy storage device range of the vehicle is not adversely affected by the interior heating. In addition, the interior heating via the combustion of hydrogen in terms of overall efficiency can be done much more efficiently.” (Bader: Description) Bader further mentions “In the presentation of the 6 is a possibility for heating an interior of the electric vehicle 1 shown. About a principle indicated and with 30 designated air duct, through which a fan 31 Air in the interior of the electric vehicle 1 is promoted, heat can be entered into this air. In the middle of the presentation of the 6 is an electrical heating resistor 32 to recognize. This is from the electrical energy storage device 4 supplied with electric power and heats the air flowing past him. This is the case with electric vehicles 1 general construction for heating the interior. However, it is comparatively energy-intensive and, by using power from the electrical energy storage device, has an immediate effect on the range of the electric vehicle 1 out. In addition, the efficiency chain for charging the electrical energy storage device 4 and for implementation at the electrical heating resistor 32 in heat comparatively bad. For this reason, in addition to or as an alternative to the electrical heating resistor 32 a burner 33 be provided, in particular a pore burner or catalytic burner, where the hydrogen from the compressed gas storage 11 the fuel cell system 6 is implemented directly. Such combustion of the hydrogen can generate heat very efficiently, which can then be used to heat the interior. A third way to introduce heat into the interior is a heat exchanger 34 that of the cooling medium of the cooling system 10 the fuel cell system 6 is flowed through. Due to the entry of waste heat from the electric traction motor 2 and optionally the power electronics 3 into the cooling medium of this cooling system 10 can also via this heat exchanger 34 very quickly heat for the interior to be provided. Optionally, however, this delays the heating of the fuel cell system 6 , which may be undesirable. Nevertheless, in principle, all three options for heating the interior can be combined with each other as desired. In the presentation of the 7 an alternative embodiment can be seen. The construction should be part of the cooling system 10 the fuel cell system 6 represent. Again over the electric heater 32 and / or the burner 33 can now heat in the cooling medium of this cooling system 10 be registered. As a result, if necessary, the heating of the fuel cell system 6 be accelerated so that it reaches its required starting temperature faster. Typically, the heat is removed from the cooling system 10 but now via an indoor heat exchanger 39 and the fan 31 in the interior of the electric vehicle 1 brought in. Thus, as required, all three can also be part of the 6 described heat sources in the electric vehicle, at least indirectly via the cooling medium of the cooling system 10 for heating the interior of the electric vehicle 1 be used. At the same time, the cooling medium can be in the cooling system 10 and thus the fuel cell system 6 This will heat up faster if needed.” (Bader: Description))
Bader does not teach but Patel teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the hybrid vehicle has an air-conditioning device which is operated at least temporarily, (See (Patel: Detailed Description of Preferred Embodiments – 24th-25th paragraphs))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bader with these above aforementioned teachings from Patel in order to create an effective method for operating a hybrid vehicle. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Bader’s electric vehicle with a fuel cell system with Patel’s auxiliary heating system for vehicles in order to include an air-conditioning device which is temporarily operated using waste heat and temporarily operated using a supply current. Combining Bader and Patel would thus provide “operation of an auxiliary heater during times that an internal combustion engine of the vehicle is off.” (Patel: Background of the Invention – 4th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 10:
Bader teaches:
A hybrid vehicle comprising; a fuel cell; an energy store,, (“an electric hybrid or fuel cell vehicle is known that combines an electrical energy storage device with a fuel cell.” (Bader: Description))
monitor, based on output from the state-of-charge sensor, a state-of-charge of the energy store of the hybrid vehicle when the hybrid vehicle is at a standstill,, (“The above object is also achieved by a method for operating such an electric vehicle according to the invention. As already mentioned, the electric vehicle according to the invention allows the exclusive use of the fuel cell system as a range extender in a very simple and efficient way. The method according to the invention for operating such an electric vehicle accordingly provides that electrical power is used from the electrical energy store when starting the electric vehicle until a cooling medium in the cooling circuit of the fuel cell system has exceeded a predetermined temperature value, and until the state of charge of the electrical energy storage has fallen below a predetermined state of charge, after which the fuel cell system is started to charge the electrical energy storage. Even with operating methods according to the invention, as already mentioned above, it is assumed that an electric vehicle - after a longer service life - is always able to start from the charged electrical energy store. Typically, an electric vehicle is attached to a charger whenever possible, so that the electrical energy storage by this charging, at least one trickle charge, always has a sufficient temperature to go with the electric vehicle. Only after one hand, the temperature of the cooling medium in the cooling system of the fuel cell system has reached a predetermined value and also the state of charge of the electric energy storage has dropped below a predetermined value, the highly efficient fuel cell system is started to recharge the electric energy storage and thus the range of the electric vehicle increase.” (Bader: Description))
operate the fuel cell when the hybrid vehicle is at the standstill to charge the energy store, at least as long as the state-of-charge of the energy store is below a first state-of-charge threshold value, wherein waste heat is generated by operating the fuel cell,, (“In the electric vehicle according to the invention, it is provided that in addition to an electric battery to provide the electrical drive power, a fuel cell system is present, via which, if necessary, the electrical energy storage can be recharged. In the case of the electric vehicle according to the invention, it is provided that, similarly to the aforementioned prior art, both the fuel cell system and the electrical energy store have their own cooling system. Unlike in the prior art, these cooling systems are formed without direct thermal coupling with each other. Such a direct thermal coupling in the sense of the present invention would be, for example, a coupling via a heat exchanger or an immediate fluidic coupling, in which cooling medium is exchanged between the two cooling systems. The cooling systems are therefore not thermally coupled to each other in the electric vehicle according to the invention. In addition, it is envisaged that, unlike in the prior art, by the cooling system of the fuel cell system and the electric drive machine is cooled. A pure electric vehicle is generally electrically charged in the parking situation, if possible. The electric vehicle thus depends, for example, on a charging station. As a result, even at very low ambient temperatures, a functionality of the electrical energy storage is generally always ensured. The vehicle can therefore start with power from the electrical energy storage directly. This is comparatively simple and efficient, since the constant recharging at standstill, whenever possible, at the same time there is a sufficient temperature control of the battery. The fuel cell system, which may still be very cold under these circumstances, then does not need to be operated. After starting the electric vehicle with power from the electric energy storage, there is now a heating of the cooling medium in the cooling system of the fuel cell system, since in this cooling system, the electric drive motor of the electric vehicle is cooled, and, once it is operated, waste heat to the cooling system of the fuel cell system emits. The fuel cell system or Their fuel cell can then ideally be started only at a later time, in particular if the exhaust heat of the electric drive motor in the cooling system of the fuel cell system already has a sufficiently high temperature for an efficient start of the fuel cell. The fuel cell then does not have to be designed for a cold start or freeze start and can accordingly be made very simple, efficient, cost-effective and optimized in terms of service life.” (Bader: Description))
and heat the vehicle interior of the hybrid vehicle and/or the luggage compartment of the hybrid vehicle using the generated waste heat and/or using the electric heating element for which a first supply current from the energy store is provided., (“Another extremely favorable and advantageous embodiment of the electric vehicle according to the invention now provides, furthermore, that a burner for the thermal conversion of hydrogen is provided, the heat of the cooling system of the fuel cell system and / or, at least indirectly, benefits a vehicle interior. The winter operation of electric vehicles is typically always critical with regard to the range to be achieved. In order to heat up the interior of the vehicle, "valuable" energy stored in the electrical energy store is used. As a result, the range is reduced accordingly. The storage of energy when charging the electrical energy storage in this and the subsequent removal and conversion into thermal energy for heating the interior is not very efficient in terms of the entire efficiency chain. In the case of the electric vehicle according to the invention, if the hydrogen is present in the tank of the fuel cell system, this hydrogen can now be burnt. A suitable burner, for example a catalytic burner or a pore burner, can thus generate heat from the hydrogen with a very high efficiency. This heat can then be used either for heating the cooling system of the fuel cell system in order to heat up the fuel cell system together with the waste heat of the electric drive motor as quickly as possible. Either indirectly via the cooling medium of the cooling system of the fuel cell system or directly with an air / exhaust heat exchanger to the burner, the resulting thermal energy can then also be used to heat the interior of the vehicle. As a result, the electrical energy stored in the electrical energy storage device is not needed for the interior heating, so that the existing due to the electrical energy storage device range of the vehicle is not adversely affected by the interior heating. In addition, the interior heating via the combustion of hydrogen in terms of overall efficiency can be done much more efficiently.” (Bader: Description) Bader further mentions “In the presentation of the 6 is a possibility for heating an interior of the electric vehicle 1 shown. About a principle indicated and with 30 designated air duct, through which a fan 31 Air in the interior of the electric vehicle 1 is promoted, heat can be entered into this air. In the middle of the presentation of the 6 is an electrical heating resistor 32 to recognize. This is from the electrical energy storage device 4 supplied with electric power and heats the air flowing past him. This is the case with electric vehicles 1 general construction for heating the interior. However, it is comparatively energy-intensive and, by using power from the electrical energy storage device, has an immediate effect on the range of the electric vehicle 1 out. In addition, the efficiency chain for charging the electrical energy storage device 4 and for implementation at the electrical heating resistor 32 in heat comparatively bad. For this reason, in addition to or as an alternative to the electrical heating resistor 32 a burner 33 be provided, in particular a pore burner or catalytic burner, where the hydrogen from the compressed gas storage 11 the fuel cell system 6 is implemented directly. Such combustion of the hydrogen can generate heat very efficiently, which can then be used to heat the interior. A third way to introduce heat into the interior is a heat exchanger 34 that of the cooling medium of the cooling system 10 the fuel cell system 6 is flowed through. Due to the entry of waste heat from the electric traction motor 2 and optionally the power electronics 3 into the cooling medium of this cooling system 10 can also via this heat exchanger 34 very quickly heat for the interior to be provided. Optionally, however, this delays the heating of the fuel cell system 6 , which may be undesirable. Nevertheless, in principle, all three options for heating the interior can be combined with each other as desired. In the presentation of the 7 an alternative embodiment can be seen. The construction should be part of the cooling system 10 the fuel cell system 6 represent. Again over the electric heater 32 and / or the burner 33 can now heat in the cooling medium of this cooling system 10 be registered. As a result, if necessary, the heating of the fuel cell system 6 be accelerated so that it reaches its required starting temperature faster. Typically, the heat is removed from the cooling system 10 but now via an indoor heat exchanger 39 and the fan 31 in the interior of the electric vehicle 1 brought in. Thus, as required, all three can also be part of the 6 described heat sources in the electric vehicle, at least indirectly via the cooling medium of the cooling system 10 for heating the interior of the electric vehicle 1 be used. At the same time, the cooling medium can be in the cooling system 10 and thus the fuel cell system 6 This will heat up faster if needed.” (Bader: Description))
Bader does not teach but Patel teaches:
a state-of-charge sensor, a vehicle interior and/or a luggage compartment, an air-conditioning device which includes an electric heating element, and a control device configured to:, (See (Patel: Background of the Invention – 6th-7th paragraphs and Detailed Description of Preferred Embodiments – 24th-28th and 35th paragraphs, FIG. 1-4))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bader with these above aforementioned teachings from Patel in order to create an effective method for operating a hybrid vehicle. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Bader’s electric vehicle with a fuel cell system with Patel’s auxiliary heating system for vehicles in order to include an air-conditioning device which is temporarily operated using waste heat and temporarily operated using a supply current. Combining Bader and Patel would thus provide “operation of an auxiliary heater during times that an internal combustion engine of the vehicle is off.” (Patel: Background of the Invention – 4th paragraph)
Conclusion
/J.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667 January 30, 2026