DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200076078 by Hamid Reza Tehran et al. (hereinafter Tehran).
Regarding claim 1, Tehran teaches: An electronic device (wireless communication system ¶ 0026) comprising:
an antenna substrate (the third layer 530 is comprised of a substrate ¶ 0077, fig. 5A-5C);
an antenna array (antennas 205a-205n ¶ 0037, 0083, fig. 2) comprising a subarray (sub-array 500 ¶ 0074, fig. 5A-5C), the subarray (sub-array 500 ¶ 0074, fig. 5A-5C) comprising a plurality of antenna elements (first patch and second patch ¶ 0078, 0085, fig. 5A-5C [531-532]);
feeding network circuitry (feed network 550 ¶ 0075, fig. 5C) including a first power divider (power divider (not pictured) ¶ 0079) for a first polarization (vertical polarization ¶ 0010) and a second power divider (power divider (not pictured) ¶ 0080) for a second polarization (horizontal polarization ¶ 0010) different from the first polarization (vertical polarization ¶ 0010); and
network circuitry for decoupling (decoupling elements 535a-535b ¶ 0077, fig. 5A-5C) of a first signal (first transmission line 551 ¶ 0079, fig. 5C) of the first power divider (power divider (not pictured) ¶ 0079) and a second signal (second transmission line 552 ¶ 0080, fig. 5C) of the second power divider (power divider (not pictured) ¶ 0080) (The decoupling elements 535a, 535b assist in isolating the radiation from the sub-array 500 by reducing the coupling between the first patch 531 and the second patch 532. In combination, the functions of the decoupling elements 535a, 535b isolate the resulting radiation and improve the cross-polarization rejection ratio of the sub-array 500 to reduce or cancel the side lobes of the radiation ¶ 0082),
wherein the subarray is disposed on a first side of the antenna substrate (The first patch 531 and the second patch 532 are located in the sub-array 500, and the sub-array of patches (531-532) are disposed on a first side of the third layer 530, wherein the third layer 530 is comprised of a substrate, see ¶ 0074, 0077, fig. 5A-5C),
wherein the feeding network circuitry is disposed on a second side opposite to the first side of the antenna substrate (The feed network 550 is disposed in the first layer 510, which is situated opposite to the third layer 530, see ¶ 0075, fig. 5A-5C), and
wherein the network circuitry for decoupling is disposed in a region between the first power divider and the second power divider in the first side of the antenna substrate (The third layer 530 includes the decoupling elements 535a-535b, which are located on the first side of the third layer 530, between the first and second excitation ports (561-562) situated in the first layer 510 and from where the power is divided in half, see ¶ 0075, 0077, 0079-0080, fig. 5A-5C).
Regarding claim 2, Tehran teaches: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second polarization (horizontal polarization ¶ 0010) is perpendicular to the first polarization (vertical polarization ¶ 0010).
Regarding claim 3, Tehran teaches: The electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the feeding network circuitry is disposed on the first side of the antenna substrate (The feed network 550 is fixed in the first side of the third layer 530 via a plurality of vertical feeds 556 and openings 544 and horizontal feeds 542, see ¶ 0078, fig. 5A-5C),
wherein the network circuitry for decoupling is disposed on the first side of the antenna substrate (The third layer 530 includes the decoupling elements 535a-535b, which are located on the first side of the third layer 530, see ¶ 0077, fig. 5A-5C), and
wherein the feeding network circuitry (feed network 550 ¶ 0075, fig. 5C) and the network circuitry for decoupling (decoupling elements 535a-535b ¶ 0077, fig. 5A-5C) are electrically connected through coupling (The feed network 550 and the decoupling elements 535a-535b are electrically connected through coupling as seeing in figures 5B-5C and 6; wherein the sub-array 600 can be the sub-array 500 described in figures 5A-5C, the feed network 605 can be the feed network 550 described in figures 5A-5C, the decoupling elements 610a, 610b can be the decoupling elements 535a-535b described in figures 5A-5C, the first patch 611 can be the first patch 531 and the second patch 612 can be the second patch 532 described in figures 5A-5C, the first transmission line 630 can be the first transmission line 551 and the second transmission line 640 can be the second transmission line 552 described in figures 5A-5C, the horizontal feeds 622 can be the horizontal feeds 542 described in figures 5A-5C, the plurality of vertical feeds can be the plurality of vertical feeds 556 described in figures 5A-5C, the plurality of openings 624 can be the plurality of openings 544 described in figures 5A-5C, the first excitation port 632 can be the first excitation port 561 and the second excitation port 642 can be the second excitation port 562 described in figures 5A-5C ¶ 0084-0086).
Regarding claim 5, Tehran teaches: The electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the feeding network circuitry is disposed on the second side of the antenna substrate (The feed network’s (550) vertical feeds 556, fixed to the first side of the third layer 530, are located on a second side of the third layer 530, see fig. 5B),
wherein the network circuitry for decoupling is disposed on the first side of the antenna substrate (The third layer 530 includes the decoupling elements 535a-535b, which are located on the first side of the third layer 530, see ¶ 0077, fig. 5A-5C), and
wherein the feeding network circuitry and the network circuitry for decoupling are electrically connected through coupling feeding (The feed network 550 and the decoupling elements 535a-535b are electrically connected through coupling as seeing in figures 5B-5C and 6; wherein the sub-array 600 can be the sub-array 500 described in figures 5A-5C, the feed network 605 can be the feed network 550 described in figures 5A-5C, the decoupling elements 610a, 610b can be the decoupling elements 535a-535b described in figures 5A-5C, the first patch 611 can be the first patch 531 and the second patch 612 can be the second patch 532 described in figures 5A-5C, the first transmission line 630 can be the first transmission line 551 and the second transmission line 640 can be the second transmission line 552 described in figures 5A-5C, the horizontal feeds 622 can be the horizontal feeds 542 described in figures 5A-5C, the plurality of vertical feeds can be the plurality of vertical feeds 556 described in figures 5A-5C, the plurality of openings 624 can be the plurality of openings 544 described in figures 5A-5C, the first excitation port 632 can be the first excitation port 561 and the second excitation port 642 can be the second excitation port 562 described in figures 5A-5C ¶ 0084-0086).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tehran.
Regarding claim 11, Tehran teaches: An electronic device (wireless communication system ¶ 0026) comprising:
a processor (controller/processor 225 ¶ 0037, fig. 2);
a plurality of antenna substrates (The second layer 320 is comprised of a substrate, the fourth layer 340 is comprised of a substrate, and the third layer 530 is comprised of a substrate ¶ 0048, 0053 0077, fig. 3A-3C, 5A-5C; each of the multiple antennas 205a-205n can include one or more antenna panels that includes one or more sub-arrays ¶ 0037, fig. 3A-3C, 5A-5C); and
an array antenna (antennas 205a-205n ¶ 0037, 0083, fig. 2) comprising a plurality of subarrays (sub-array 300/sub-array 500 ¶ 0037, fig. 3A-3C, 5A-5C),
wherein, for each subarray (sub-array 300/sub-array 500 ¶ 0037, fig. 3A-3C, 5A-5C), a subarray (sub-array 500 ¶ 0074, fig. 5A-5C) among the plurality of subarrays (sub-array 300/sub-array 500 ¶ 0037, fig. 3A-3C, 5A-5C) includes:
feeding network circuitry (feed network 550 ¶ 0075, fig. 5C) including a first power divider (power divider (not pictured) ¶ 0079) for a first polarization (vertical polarization ¶ 0010) and a second power divider (power divider (not pictured) ¶ 0080) for a second polarization (horizontal polarization ¶ 0010) different from the first polarization (vertical polarization ¶ 0010), and
network circuitry for decoupling (decoupling elements 535a-535b ¶ 0077, fig. 5A-5C) of a first signal (first transmission line 551 ¶ 0079, fig. 5C) of the first power divider (power divider (not pictured) ¶ 0079) and a second signal (second transmission line 552 ¶ 0080, fig. 5C) of the second power divider (power divider (not pictured) ¶ 0080), (The decoupling elements 535a, 535b assist in isolating the radiation from the sub-array 500 by reducing the coupling between the first patch 531 and the second patch 532 ¶ 0082),
wherein the subarray (sub-array 500 ¶ 0074, fig. 5A-5C) among the plurality of subarrays (sub-array 300/sub-array 500 ¶ 0037, fig. 3A-3C, 5A-5C) is disposed on a first side of an antenna substrate (The first patch 531 and the second patch 532 are located in the sub-array 500, and the sub-array of patches (531-532) are disposed on a first side of the third layer 530, wherein the third layer 530 is comprised of a substrate, see ¶ 0074, 0077, fig. 5A-5C) corresponding to the subarray (sub-array 500 ¶ 0074, fig. 5A-5C) among the plurality of antenna substrates (The second layer 320 is comprised of a substrate, the fourth layer 340 is comprised of a substrate, and the third layer 530 is comprised of a substrate ¶ 0048, 0053 0077, fig. 3A-3C, 5A-5C),
wherein the feeding network circuitry is disposed on a second side opposite to the first side (The feed network 550 is disposed in the first layer 510, which is situated opposite to the third layer 530, see ¶ 0075, fig. 5A-5C), and
wherein the network circuitry for decoupling is disposed in a region between the first power divider and the second power divider in the first side of the antenna substrate (The third layer 530 includes the decoupling elements 535a-535b, which are located on the first side of the third layer 530, between the first and second excitation ports (561-562) situated in the first layer 510 and from where the power is divided in half, see ¶ 0075, 0077, 0079-0080, fig. 5A-5C).
Tehran does not explicitly teach in the embodiment of the figure 5 a metal plate.
However, in the embodiment of figure 3 Tehran teaches the ground plane 305 is comprised of metal and is positioned on the underside of the first layer 310 (¶ 0046, fig. 3A-3C).
Tehran further teaches each antenna element may be able to provide one or more polarizations, for example vertical polarization, horizontal polarization or both vertical and horizontal polarizations at or around the same time. Vertical and horizontal polarizations at or around the same time can be refracted to an orthogonally polarized antenna (¶ 0010).
The sub-array 600 can be the sub-array 500 described in figures 5A-5C, the feed network 605 can be the feed network 550 described in figures 5A-5C, the decoupling elements 610a, 610b can be the decoupling elements 535a-535b described in figures 5A-5C, the first patch 611 can be the first patch 531 and the second patch 612 can be the second patch 532 described in figures 5A-5C, the first transmission line 630 can be the first transmission line 551 and the second transmission line 640 can be the second transmission line 552 described in figures 5A-5C, the horizontal feeds 622 can be the horizontal feeds 542 described in figures 5A-5C, the plurality of vertical feeds can be the plurality of vertical feeds 556 described in figures 5A-5C, the plurality of openings 624 can be the plurality of openings 544 described in figures 5A-5C, the first excitation port 632 can be the first excitation port 561 and the second excitation port 642 can be the second excitation port 562 described in figures 5A-5C (¶ 0084-0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the embodiment of figure 3 of Tehran to include the ground plane with the sub-array the embodiment of figure 15 of the art of Tehran with the benefit of providing a shielding layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the embodiments of Tehran to obtain the invention:
a metal plate (ground plane 305 is comprised of metal ¶ 0046, fig. 3A-3C).
Regarding claim 12, Tehran makes obvious the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the second polarization (horizontal polarization ¶ 0010) is perpendicular to the first polarization (vertical polarization ¶ 0010).
Regarding claim 13, Tehran makes obvious the electronic device of claim 11,
wherein the feeding network circuitry is disposed on the first side of the antenna substrate (The feed network 550 is fixed in the first side of the third layer 530 via a plurality of vertical feeds 556 and openings 544 and horizontal feeds 542, see ¶ 0078, fig. 5A-5C),
wherein the network circuitry for decoupling is disposed on the first side of the antenna substrate (The third layer 530 includes the decoupling elements 535a-535b, which are located on the first side of the third layer 530, see ¶ 0077, fig. 5A-5C), and
wherein the feeding network circuitry and the network circuitry for decoupling are electrically connected through coupling (The feed network 550 and the decoupling elements 535a-535b are electrically connected through coupling as seeing in figures 5B-5C and 6; wherein the sub-array 600 can be the sub-array 500 described in figures 5A-5C, the feed network 605 can be the feed network 550 described in figures 5A-5C, the decoupling elements 610a, 610b can be the decoupling elements 535a-535b described in figures 5A-5C, the first patch 611 can be the first patch 531 and the second patch 612 can be the second patch 532 described in figures 5A-5C, the first transmission line 630 can be the first transmission line 551 and the second transmission line 640 can be the second transmission line 552 described in figures 5A-5C, the horizontal feeds 622 can be the horizontal feeds 542 described in figures 5A-5C, the plurality of vertical feeds can be the plurality of vertical feeds 556 described in figures 5A-5C, the plurality of openings 624 can be the plurality of openings 544 described in figures 5A-5C, the first excitation port 632 can be the first excitation port 561 and the second excitation port 642 can be the second excitation port 562 described in figures 5A-5C ¶ 0084-0086).
Regarding claim 15, Tehran makes obvious the electronic device of claim 11,
wherein the feeding network circuitry is disposed on the second side of the antenna substrate (The feed network’s (550) vertical feeds 556, fixed to the first side of the third layer 530, are located on a second side of the third layer 530, see fig. 5B),
wherein the network circuitry for decoupling is disposed on the first side of the antenna substrate (The third layer 530 includes the decoupling elements 535a-535b, which are located on the first side of the third layer 530, see ¶ 0077, fig. 5A-5C), and
wherein the feeding network circuitry and the network circuitry for decoupling are electrically connected through coupling feeding (The feed network 550 and the decoupling elements 535a-535b are electrically connected through coupling as seeing in figures 5B-5C and 6; wherein the sub-array 600 can be the sub-array 500 described in figures 5A-5C, the feed network 605 can be the feed network 550 described in figures 5A-5C, the decoupling elements 610a, 610b can be the decoupling elements 535a-535b described in figures 5A-5C, the first patch 611 can be the first patch 531 and the second patch 612 can be the second patch 532 described in figures 5A-5C, the first transmission line 630 can be the first transmission line 551 and the second transmission line 640 can be the second transmission line 552 described in figures 5A-5C, the horizontal feeds 622 can be the horizontal feeds 542 described in figures 5A-5C, the plurality of vertical feeds can be the plurality of vertical feeds 556 described in figures 5A-5C, the plurality of openings 624 can be the plurality of openings 544 described in figures 5A-5C, the first excitation port 632 can be the first excitation port 561 and the second excitation port 642 can be the second excitation port 562 described in figures 5A-5C ¶ 0084-0086).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-10, 14, 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious claim 4 because although the art Tehran teaches a feed network fixed in a first side of the third layer via a plurality of vertical feeds, openings and horizontal feeds; and a third layer comprising a plurality of decoupling elements, wherein the plurality of decoupling elements are located on a first side of the third layer. However, the modification of the art of Tehran is incompatible with “wherein the feeding network circuitry and the network circuitry for decoupling are electrically connected through direct feeding”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features.
The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious claim 6 because although the art Tehran teaches a first patch and second patch, wherein the first and second patches can comprise a dielectric material; a third layer; and a plurality of decoupling elements, wherein the plurality of decoupling elements are located on a side of the third layer. However, the modification of the art of Tehran is incompatible with “wherein the dielectric substrate comprises a protrusion portion for supporting each of the antenna elements on a first side of the dielectric substrate”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features. Claims 7-10 depend from claim 6 and would also then be allowable if claim 6 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious claim 14 because although the art Tehran teaches a feed network fixed in a first side of the third layer via a plurality of vertical feeds, openings and horizontal feeds; and a third layer comprising a plurality of decoupling elements, wherein the plurality of decoupling elements are located on a first side of the third layer. However, the modification of the art of Tehran is incompatible with “wherein the feeding network circuitry and the network circuitry for decoupling are electrically connected through direct feeding”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features.
The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious claim 16 because although the art Tehran teaches a plurality of decoupling elements; a third layer; and a sub-array. However, the modification of the art of Tehran is incompatible with “wherein the network circuitry for decoupling comprises a metal strip, and wherein a length and a width of the metal strip are specified based on a structure of the antenna substrate, physical properties of a dielectric substrate, and an operating frequency”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features. Claims 17-19 depend from claim 16 and would also then be allowable if claim 16 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious claim 20 because although the art Tehran teaches a hollow enclosure with a plurality of openings, wherein the hollow enclosure is located on a side of a first layer below a third layer. However, the modification of the art of Tehran is incompatible with “wherein the array antenna includes a deformable structure on a dielectric substrate around a power divider”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features.
Conclusion
/JOSE A. MIRANDA GONZALEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2844
/JASON M CRAWFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844