CTNF 18/918,820 CTNF 92548 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Yamada et al. (US 5,986,377 A) . Regarding claim 1, Yamada discloses a stator core (111) formed by stacking and then bending a plurality of straight core pieces (111A-F) having a plurality of bending portions (112), wherein the core pieces (111A-F) each comprise: a plurality of first core pieces (odd layer in FIG. 100), and a plurality of second core pieces (even layers in FIG. 100) stacked between the plurality of first core pieces, PNG media_image1.png 320 394 media_image1.png Greyscale wherein the bending portions (112) each comprise: a connecting portion (113a, b) formed at the same position of the plurality of first core pieces and the plurality of second core pieces when the plurality of first core pieces and the plurality of second core pieces are stacked, a first bending portion (left side cuts in FIG. 100; see annotation below) formed by cutting the plurality of first core pieces and formed on one side of the connecting portion (113a, b) with respect to the center of the connecting portion, and a second bending portion (right side cuts in FIG. 100; see annotation below) formed by cutting the plurality of second core pieces and formed on the other side of the connecting portion (113a, b) with respect to the center of the connecting portion, and PNG media_image2.png 322 394 media_image2.png Greyscale wherein based on the plurality of first core pieces and the plurality of second core pieces being stacked, the first bending portion (the first bending portion is between the ends 113b in the axial direction) is entirely covered by the second core pieces, and the second bending portion (the second bending portion is between the ends 113b in the axial direction) is entirely covered by the first core pieces (FIG. 100). Regarding claim 2/1, Yamada was discussed above in claim 1. Yamada further discloses the first bending portion and the second bending portion are formed to have shapes that are symmetrical with respect to the connecting portion (113a, b; FIG. 99). Regarding claim 3/1, Yamada was discussed above in claim 1. Yamada further discloses the first bending portion and the second bending portion are formed at positions that are symmetrical with respect to the connecting portion (113a, b; FIG. 99). Regarding claim 4/1, Yamada was discussed above in claim 1. Yamada further discloses the core pieces (111A-F) are formed by bending a plurality of core pieces (111A-F) into an arc shape (FIG. 99, 101), and wherein the plurality of core pieces (111A-F) bent into the arc shape are assembled into an annular shape (FIG. 101). Regarding claim 5/4, Yamada was discussed above in claim 4. Yamada further discloses the core pieces (111A-F) include an arc-shaped yoke (113), and a plurality of teeth (114) protruding radially from the yoke (113) and on which a coil (18) is wound. Regarding claim 6/5, Yamada was discussed above in claim 5. Yamada further discloses the bending portion (112) is formed in the plurality on the yoke (113) so as to be positioned between the plurality of teeth (114). Regarding claim 7/6, Yamada was discussed above in claim 6. Yamada further discloses the connecting portion (113 a, b) connects the yoke (113) cut by the first bending portion and the second bending portion (FIG. 101). Regarding claim 8/7, Yamada was discussed above in claim 7. Yamada further discloses the connecting portion (113a, b) includes a first bending groove (see annotation below) formed to be radially recessed inwardly on an outer circumferential surface of the yoke (113), and a second bending groove (see annotation below) formed on a lower portion of the first bending groove so as to be connected to the first bending portion and the second bending portion (FIG. 99). PNG media_image3.png 230 430 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 9/1, Yamada was discussed above in claim 1. Yamada further discloses the core pieces (111A-F) are stacked with the plurality of first core pieces (odd layer) and the plurality of second core pieces (even layer) alternating one by one (FIG. 100). Regarding claim 10/1, Yamada was discussed above in claim 1. Yamada further discloses the core pieces (111A-F) are stacked with the plurality of first core pieces (odd layer) and the plurality of second core pieces (even layer) alternating in multiples (FIG. 103). Regarding claim 11/1, Yamada was discussed above in claim 1. Yamada further discloses the core pieces (113A-F) include an overlapping portion (113c) that overlaps between the first bending portion and the second bending portion when the plurality of first core pieces and the plurality of second core pieces are stacked (FIG. 101). Regarding claim 12/11, Yamada was discussed above in claim 11. Yamada further discloses the overlapping portion (113c) is formed on a side of the plurality of first core pieces facing the connecting portion (113a, b) of the first bending portion with respect to the center of the connecting portion (113a, b), and wherein the overlapping portion (113c) is formed on a side of the plurality of second core pieces facing the connecting portion (113a, b) of the second bending portion with respect to the center of the connecting portion (113a, b; FIG. 100). Regarding claim 13/12, Yamada was discussed above in claim 12. Yamada further discloses the overlapping portion (113c) is formed to have a larger area when the core pieces (111A-F) are bent (FIG. 101; overlap completely) than when the core pieces (111A-F) are in a straight shape (FIG. 99; no overlap) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 5,986,377 A) in view of Ahn (US 8,833,112 B2) . Regarding claim 14/5, Yamada was discussed above in claim 5. Yamada does not disclose the core pieces include an assembly protrusion formed at one end of the yoke and an assembly groove formed at the other end of the yoke into which the assembly protrusion is assembled when the plurality of core pieces are formed into the annular shape. Anh discloses the core pieces include an assembly protrusion (252) formed at one end of the yoke (250) and an assembly groove (253) formed at the other end of the yoke (250) into which the assembly protrusion (252) is assembled when the plurality of core pieces are formed into the annular shape (FIG. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada in view of Anh to disclose the core pieces include an assembly protrusion formed at one end of the yoke and an assembly groove formed at the other end of the yoke into which the assembly protrusion is assembled when the plurality of core pieces are formed into the annular shape, for the advantages of no waste of materials and not needing large-size winding equipment. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MINKI CHANG whose telephone number is (571)270-0521. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Seye Iwarere can be reached at (571) 270-5112. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/918,820 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/918,820 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/918,820 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/918,820 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/918,820 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/918,820 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834